News Intel finds Sandy Bridge chipset design flaw

astria
post Feb 28 2011, 07:09 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(shahiryusoff @ Feb 28 2011, 12:29 AM)
For Graphics it's GDDR3 (Graphics Double Data Rate, version 3) or GDDR5 (Graphics Double Data Rate, version 5).

DDR3 ( Double Data Rate 3) term is used for RAM.
icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
DDR3 is used in GPU as well... my GPU is using it (though GPU-Z detect it as GDDR3)...

Added on February 28, 2011, 7:15 am
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 28 2011, 02:23 AM)
So are there huge performace dif between them??
I thought some GPU also uses DDR3 like the GT550M on the N53SN

GT550M  http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.42264.0.html

HD6870M has all 3 http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon-HD...0M.43733.0.html

between GDDR3 and DDR3, not that much... DDR3 usually runs at up to 1333MHz, while GDDR3 used to be in the range of 1200-1500MHz (when DDR2 was mainstream), and GDDR4 running at 1700-2000MHz... but as GDDR4 has been retired, GDDR3's clock has been pushed to around 2000MHz as well...

GDDR5, technically speaking it should be called QDR instead - Quad Data Rate, as it provides twice the bandwidth compared to the DDR variants (DDR1-DDR3, GDDR2-GDDR4)... instead of transmitting 2 pieces of data, GDDR5 can transmit 4 pieces, thus doubling the effective bandwidth, giving u speed like 3600-4000MHz... so try to look for GDDR5 if possible... it improves the performance significantly... a pretty close comparison would be Acer Aspire Ethos 5943G (Radeon HD5850 GDDR3) and AW m15x (Radeon HD5850 GDDR5)

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 28 2011, 07:16 AM
astria
post Feb 28 2011, 02:19 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 28 2011, 02:12 PM)
oh i see
then the GT550M 2gb DDR3 in N53SN better than the Hp dv6????
Now abit conflicted with HP dv6 and the N53SN. Does the GDDR5 and DD3 play an important role???
GDDR5 >> GDDR3 > DDR3

pick GDDR5 whenever possible...
astria
post Feb 28 2011, 04:27 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 28 2011, 02:34 PM)
so GT550M DDR3 or HD6570 GDDR5 better??cause i check at notebookcheck.net the GT550 is class 1 and 6570 is class 2.
pretty hard call... i can't tell juz by the hardware... if both are using DDR3/GDDR3, i suppose GT 550M will ve an edge, but GDDR5 juz mix up everything... it's the first time i see GDDR5 being used in a mainstream GPU...
astria
post Mar 4 2011, 04:51 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ Mar 4 2011, 04:29 PM)
fren,

want to ask, if G470 using SB chip, why its still selling at pc fair mid valley?
i dun see any reason y not...
astria
post Mar 4 2011, 05:08 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ Mar 4 2011, 05:00 PM)
forgive my noobness..... I taught as per this thread it got some flaw
yes, it got flaws, but y should shops stop selling them? all they care is if they can get rid of it and earn profit...

that's reality...

This post has been edited by astria: Mar 4 2011, 05:11 PM
astria
post Mar 11 2011, 05:44 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Mar 7 2011, 06:09 PM)
oh, means actually no big deal for buying the chipset problem proc but just have to replace the motherboard after that rite?
well, it juz dun feel good to know that a brand new laptop needs servicing... that's all...

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0297sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:48 PM