my house renovation, - journey

TSjojozep
post May 12 2011, 02:02 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(hhaf @ May 11 2011, 04:47 PM)
Major renovation quite headache~ my house also under renovation and i estimated 250 k ~~~ but look still no enough... rclxub.gif  the contractor last year oct starting the work  until now 8 month already~ just finish 80% .  vmad.gif   most of problem is the contractor not too enough manpower...  doh.gif

Added on May 11, 2011, 5:39 pmThe contractor quote for renovation
1.extend kitchen and add 1 new room in first floor-55k
2.fence wall 26k
3.rewiring and auto gate ,alram-15k
4.change window glass and tempered glass-15k
5.painting inc roof / fence wall-15k
6.repair roof and inc aluminium sheet -10k
7.tile interior and carpark-75 k
8.addition cost the concrete 13k  ( he just tell me the concrete is no in the tile item so 75k not inc concrete) .it is differ item ??

a lot of item didn't mention ~~

rclxub.gif
I think he is trying to suck your blood. Same with mine..the quotes becomes more and more expensive.

When first quote , it was cheaper than others...once work started mid-way, they feel confident they have caught you,like a spider., the quotes becomes more expensive than others,sometime 30% more..celaka...

Added on May 12, 2011, 2:34 am
QUOTE(weikee @ May 10 2011, 08:45 AM)
Maybe because you have a long house, my front was not that "long" did not get it approved. Or perhaps the MPSJ just want to make some delay and find some fault. Anyway is approve with normal roof.

But plan to use the Glass awning instead of RC roof to let more light in.

I got a contractor working now, already tearing down the house. Hope he is good, as of 1 month work, he still have not ask me for payment yet.
haha...don't talk too soon...he don't need to collect payment, he will leave your house in a big muddy mess and then suddenly, he slow down to a stop and you will become more desperate than him...after that your hand will reach into the pocket and give to him just to progress on the job...this is their technique....like magic..

this is what happened to me..these guys do this everyday and 'cari makan'. I realized that you cannot let them know too much..
as they will use anything..I been managing vendors and workers for last 8 years and I thought I can handle these construction workers.
I realize that they are 'even wilder' and they will exploit any opportunities...there is no gentlemen rule...

Also seem to want to play games..lucky for me, I am an arrogant bastaxd, I hate to lose. I can take 1 year off work to play with him.

This Friday, I will make a police report, kick his ass and take back my house, let us see who loses the most. mad.gif vmad.gif

This post has been edited by jojozep: May 12 2011, 02:34 AM
jj5
post May 12 2011, 08:44 AM

17 posts

jojozep, may I know have you select doors for your house? Can share with me your contact? Thanks
Jo_da48
post May 12 2011, 02:36 PM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(jojozep @ May 12 2011, 02:02 AM)
I think he is trying to suck your blood. Same with mine..the quotes becomes more and more expensive.

When first quote , it was cheaper than others...once work started mid-way, they feel confident they have caught you,like a spider., the quotes becomes more expensive than others,sometime 30% more..celaka...
I just read this yesterday, and today my contractor informed me that few items quotation need to change due to wrong estimation or additional items I asked.
I have no problem to pay addition if the task is asking by me, but it make not sense if quote wrong which involved additional of 3-4K mad.gif
Than ask him quote for front gate beam (make the Gate bigger), it change from 1K to 1.4K, painting the house from 5-6K to 8K, secure the roof top (additional wood & aluminium) keep given reason and try get 3K from me vmad.gif

&&^^%%&* rclxub.gif
edwardsiow
post May 12 2011, 07:56 PM

180 posts

I also gaduh with my contractor...I hate his style like buaya, always want money from me....I can't tahan...Gaduh with him....

luckily he still do my works....
Jo_da48
post May 13 2011, 12:20 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(edwardsiow @ May 12 2011, 07:56 PM)
I also gaduh with my contractor...I hate his style like buaya, always want money from me....I can't tahan...Gaduh with him....

luckily he still do my works....
Because you still pay him what he want???

weikee
post May 13 2011, 08:50 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(jojozep @ May 12 2011, 02:02 AM)

Added on May 12, 2011, 2:34 am
haha...don't talk too soon...he don't need to collect payment, he will leave your house in a big muddy mess and then suddenly, he slow down to a stop and you will become more desperate than him...after that your hand will reach into the pocket and give to him just to progress on the job...this is their technique....like magic..

this is what happened to me..these guys do this everyday and 'cari makan'. I realized that you cannot let them know too much..
as they will use anything..I been managing vendors and workers for last 8 years and I thought I can handle these construction workers.
I realize that they are 'even wilder' and they will exploit any opportunities...there is no gentlemen rule...

Also seem to want to play games..lucky for me, I am an arrogant bastaxd, I hate to lose. I can take 1 year off work to play with him.

This Friday, I will make a police report, kick his ass and take back my house, let us see who loses the most. mad.gif  vmad.gif
If things turn sour, worse is just not move in earlier. Not that i don't have place to stay.

Hope you get things settle.

maxguy
post May 13 2011, 11:49 AM

822 posts

i have similar problem with my wet work contractor too, although i consistent make the progress payment to him. But he dragged my work and do others people houses, make me damn pissed.

all the minor touch up works, i need to hired daily indon labour to do. indon is smart now, they always ask lot of money even is a minor work.

renovation is really make me mad, haha
edwardsiow
post May 13 2011, 09:28 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ May 13 2011, 12:20 AM)
Because you still pay him what he want???
Yes..I give him half from what he requested...because I believe he is a good guy...so far, 95% of my work done...just plastering not satisfy...so, I want him to touch up for me first...

vincentjaya
post May 14 2011, 10:38 PM

37 posts

Reading all this really make me worry. I've only just started my reno.
munmzzz
post May 15 2011, 01:10 AM

QUOTE(vincentjaya @ May 14 2011, 10:38 PM)
Reading all this really make me worry. I've only just started my reno.
I feel you vincentjaya. I'm going to start reno by July/August too... After reading this, I realize I didnt know a lot of stuff even though I have read a lot to be prepared.. Haiya, scared kena con la.... sad.gif

Btw, thanks jojozep for sharing your experiences..
davidtron
post May 16 2011, 03:30 PM

18 posts

Currently i'm doing my house reno at BK9, Puchong. Its a new house. So i choose the contractor which are currently doin the reno at this area. Their name and contact number was hang at the frt gate of the house which they are renovating. The reason i choose them is because they know exactly how to hack certain place and make you feel comfortable. So far they have started reno my house and comes to the 2nd week and already goin to finish their work soon, perhaps for another week. What i did was to extend my kitchen and to change whole frt entrance. The material they use also good. So far the estimated cost is RM31k and i only pay him rm5k as requested by him. So far he's quite good in PR and also din drag the work.
mpyw
post May 24 2011, 08:55 AM

3,603 posts

wow...i am sorry to hear what happen after all the work almost done and contractor turn their face like that....

I guess I am a lucky guy as I always use the same contractor for my past 3 houses reno (and even recommend him to my ex-boss for his house reno)

I knew his price is not the cheapest but he always give his best service and response and his workers already with for like 10-15 years. A good fellow.

My old neighbor who saw what he did for my end-lot water resisting treatment finally ask him to do for them too as the houses as the back who did the treatment also by other contractor (chepare by RM400), the layer starting to peel off after 1.5 year, and mine still good as new.

Sometime saving a little from the initial does not worth the repair work to be done in 1-2 years time.
escargo75
post May 24 2011, 01:49 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(jojozep @ Feb 18 2011, 05:52 PM)
Ok, some pictures of the architect plans - this is submitted and approved. But you can see that the extensions are colored in RED.
I spoke to a few architects before I spoke to him. He suits me as I had no idea what I wanted as a beginner, and I kept changing his drawings. He did not get angry. He had them in A4 first before we finalised and he drew the final one for submission.
Basically, he will try to make sure it is based on input of your design as well. Not all architects can do this...some insist their designs only.
Can you give your architect contact to me? How does he charge?
CAPTAIN JJ
post May 24 2011, 03:20 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(davidtron @ May 16 2011, 03:30 PM)
Currently i'm doing my house reno at BK9, Puchong. Its a new house. So i choose the contractor which are currently doin the reno at this area. Their name and contact number was hang at the frt gate of the house which they are renovating. The reason i choose them is because they know exactly how to hack certain place and make you feel comfortable. So far they have started reno my house and comes to the 2nd week and already goin to finish their work soon, perhaps for another week. What i did was to extend my kitchen and to change whole frt entrance. The material they use also good. So far the estimated cost is RM31k and i only pay him rm5k as requested by him. So far he's quite good in PR and also din drag the work.
hi davidtron can u pls provide me ur contractors number ..
after reading this thread really worry to simply appoint any contractors.

weikee
post May 24 2011, 03:47 PM

12,019 posts

Captain JJ, you doing the reno now? or still searching for contractor?

Mine is still renovating and i can't comment if my contractor is good, so so, or bad. So far ok dealing with him but need to remind him of things i need and what to do.

If you need mine, let me know. Or if you wait another 2 months i let you know how is turn out.
CAPTAIN JJ
post May 24 2011, 04:14 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 24 2011, 03:47 PM)
Captain JJ, you doing the reno now? or still searching for contractor?

Mine is still renovating and i can't comment if my contractor is good, so so, or bad. So far ok dealing with him but need to remind him of things i need and what to do.

If you need mine, let me know. Or if you wait another 2 months i let you know how is turn out.
hi weikee, i'm still searching for contractors and really thanks for your offer smile.gif
period8
post May 27 2011, 12:31 AM

157 posts

Hi Jojo, so how the progress
really worried man when i see ur case
actually out of 10 main contractor 9 is using the same tactic to suck money
unless u deal with the sub con individually, but that u need to become the main con urself

BTW may i know how long it takes for the drawing approval to finish? 6 months?

Can I have the architect contact?

and last but not least, if wanna do tiling let me know, my uncle is doing it. i even reccomend to my neighbour so far no complain but the prob is, he oni do tiling
corniecorn
post May 27 2011, 02:23 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(period8 @ May 27 2011, 12:31 AM)
unless u deal with the sub con individually, but that u need to become the main con urself

and last but not least, if wanna do tiling let me know, my uncle is doing it. i even reccomend to my neighbour so far no complain but the prob is, he oni do tiling
can pm me ur uncle's contact number? thanks..
vincentjaya
post May 28 2011, 12:26 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(period8 @ May 27 2011, 12:31 AM)

Please PM me your uncle's contact too. Doing tiling for the whole house.

Cheers.
escargo75
post May 29 2011, 03:52 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(period8 @ May 27 2011, 01:31 AM)

Your uncle do tiling only? How much he charge per square feet, can PM me his price and contact?

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0255sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:54 PM