The Sony Alpha Thread V50!, The Orange Legion

chiahau
post Feb 23 2011, 05:25 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Gear head in making lol~

Anyway, i would prefer the Tammy 17-50 over the CZ16-80.

The cz 16-80 offers slight sharpness overall but for its pricetag, can get another F58 lol.

The 16-105 however, is a pretty good walkabout lens. Hurmp....
lwliam
post Feb 23 2011, 05:26 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Feb 23 2011, 05:07 PM)

Added on February 23, 2011, 5:20 pmLens IS is better than Body's IS eh?

http://www.photomalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121333
so what are you going to do now? buy panacanikon and pay the premium so that every lens you get in the future have to have built in IS? when EVERY single lens u buy for alpha system from 8mm fisheye to 500mm tele is stablized..

This post has been edited by lwliam: Feb 23 2011, 05:28 PM
chiahau
post Feb 23 2011, 05:27 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Feb 23 2011, 05:26 PM)
so what are you going to do now? buy panacanikon and pay the premium of getting IS in every lens you will get in the future?
Nvm. He can afford it ma...... tongue.gif
hazril
post Feb 23 2011, 05:29 PM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

so what are you going to do now? buy panacanikon and pay the premium so that every lens you get in the future have to have built in IS? when EVERY single lens u buy for alpha system from 8mm fisheye to 500mm tele is stablized..
buy now,regret later...
eddybeh
post Feb 23 2011, 05:32 PM

830 posts

guys, 85mm n 135mm are portrait lens, rite? but then i found that it's very tight for portrait example in studios. does the portrait lens mean head portrait?
Newbieeeeee
post Feb 23 2011, 05:35 PM

:)
1,286 posts

Nono. Not planning to jump ship. no plans to jumpship for the next 10 years. Just wanna know whether its really better or.. you know. nod.gif

QUOTE(lwliam @ Feb 23 2011, 05:23 PM)
my honest advice, get the 17-50.. you have the 55-200 to cover your tele range. and sooner or later you will feel that the dark aperture at the tele end of the 16-105 will bother you (at least for me it will). its a pretty easy desicion to make actually..
i thought a flash coult fix the problem? blink.gif
lwliam
post Feb 23 2011, 05:37 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(eddybeh @ Feb 23 2011, 05:32 PM)
guys, 85mm n 135mm are portrait lens, rite? but then i found that it's very tight for portrait example in studios. does the portrait lens mean head portrait?
portrait lenses doesnt necessary mean shooting head shots... its portrait because it is very easy for the lens to separate the subject from the background making the subject pop out from the clutter in the background. in studios, i'd prefer to have a 50mm for apsc or 85 for FF - thats for me.

this was shot using 135mm... notice that its a half body shot...

This post has been edited by lwliam: Feb 23 2011, 05:43 PM
chiahau
post Feb 23 2011, 05:39 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Feb 23 2011, 05:35 PM)
Nono. Not planning to jump ship. no plans to jumpship for the next 10 years. Just wanna know whether its really better or.. you know.  nod.gif
i thought a flash coult fix the problem?  blink.gif
This topic had been discussed alot.

IS in lens would be slightly better as you can see a steady view from the OVF/EVF compared to stabilization in body which depends solely on the tilt-shift sensor to snap the accurate moment.

Pardon me if I did not explained correctly.
lwliam
post Feb 23 2011, 05:39 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Feb 23 2011, 05:35 PM)
Nono. Not planning to jump ship. no plans to jumpship for the next 10 years. Just wanna know whether its really better or.. you know.  nod.gif
i thought a flash coult fix the problem?  blink.gif
flash is not the answer to every low light scenario... imagine in a high class candle lit restaurant... you're there to cover an event. are you going to blast the night away with flash? 1stly everyone will be annoyed... 2ndly, you can say bye bye to your ambient already

Added on February 23, 2011, 5:41 pm
QUOTE(chiahau @ Feb 23 2011, 05:39 PM)

IS in lens would be slightly better as you can see a steady view from the OVF/EVF compared to stabilization in body which depends solely on the tilt-shift sensor to snap the accurate moment.

i wouldnt worry about that too much. if u look into your viewfinder, on the bottom right, there will be a graph that shows how much the camera is moving about, thus how much harder the SSS is compensating for the shake. snap when the bars have the lowest amount...

This post has been edited by lwliam: Feb 23 2011, 05:41 PM
eddybeh
post Feb 23 2011, 05:41 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Feb 23 2011, 05:37 PM)
portrait lenses doesnt necessary mean shooting head shots... its portrait because it is very easy for the lens to separate the subject from the background making the subject pop out from the clutter in the background. in studios, i'd prefer to have a 50mm for apsc or 85 for FF - thats for me.
ic.. tqtq. i oso think 50mm work better for apsc in studios.
Newbieeeeee
post Feb 23 2011, 05:42 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Feb 23 2011, 05:39 PM)
flash is not the answer to every low light scenario... imagine in a high class candle lit restaurant... you're there to cover an event. are you going to blast the night away with flash? 1stly everyone will be annoyed... 2ndly, you can say bye bye to your ambient already

i wouldnt worry about that too much. if u look into your viewfinder, on the bottom right, there will be a graph that shows how much the camera is moving about, thus how much harder the SSS is compensating for the shake. snap when the bars have the lowest amount...
I agree with this. Thanks, got yr point on why F2.8 is better. smile.gif

QUOTE(chiahau @ Feb 23 2011, 05:39 PM)

I see. So its just the seeing laa?
chiahau
post Feb 23 2011, 05:44 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Feb 23 2011, 05:39 PM)

Frankly, I don't give a damn bout IS in lens or body. Most important for me is the shot comes out perfectly the way I want it.

Blasting flash is not a very good idea in posh places. Most likely you will piss people off. That's where the f2.8 helps alot.

lwliam
post Feb 23 2011, 05:45 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Feb 23 2011, 05:42 PM)
I agree with this. Thanks, got yr point on why F2.8 is better. smile.gif
I see. So its just the seeing laa?
not only the 'view' in the OVF of course... its main reason that in-lens IS is better is because IS, VR, OIS, they are all designed and tuned for optimized stabilization on the very lens they are in. whereas SSS is one setting fits all... so you do the math..
chiahau
post Feb 23 2011, 05:47 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Feb 23 2011, 05:45 PM)
not only the 'view' in the OVF of course... its main reason that in-lens IS is better is because IS, VR, OIS, they are all designed and tuned for optimized stabilization on the very lens they are in. whereas SSS is one setting fits all... so you do the math..
No matter what also, which type of stabilization, both does helps and therefore, if the photographer is good, then he is able to use any.

So far, I have not much problem with the SSS or any other type of IS from diff brand camera.

But its rather good to have a stable view at the end of the tele lens.
Newbieeeeee
post Feb 23 2011, 05:49 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Feb 23 2011, 05:45 PM)
Right. blush.gif

Added on February 23, 2011, 5:51 pmWanna ask, Between the ori battery grip(RM630) and the 3rd party(Rm250), Which is more worth it? Is there a BIG difference between these two?

This post has been edited by Newbieeeeee: Feb 23 2011, 05:51 PM
chiahau
post Feb 23 2011, 05:53 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Feb 23 2011, 05:49 PM)
Right. blush.gif

Added on February 23, 2011, 5:51 pmWanna ask, Between the ori battery grip(RM630) and the 3rd party(Rm250), Which is more worth it? Is there a BIG difference between these two?
If you are using A700, then the original BG is better for you

If you are using cheapo camera like me, Phottix one also boleh jadi la.
Newbieeeeee
post Feb 23 2011, 05:55 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Feb 23 2011, 05:53 PM)
If you are using A700, then the original BG is better for you

If you are using cheapo camera like me, Phottix one also boleh jadi la.
I see. Is it because of the buttons? Easier for the local AF eh?
chiahau
post Feb 23 2011, 05:56 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Feb 23 2011, 05:55 PM)
I see. Is it because of the buttons? Easier for the local AF eh?
Something like that la. Plus A700's BG is made from magnesium or something solid, i think....
lwliam
post Feb 23 2011, 06:00 PM

6,075 posts

compare this

to this

and this