TSbenny888
post Mar 28 2011, 12:56 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Mar 28 2011, 12:17 AM)
but if lets say one day i need send back for warranty, where can i get back to stock rom or revert back? issit during the process of changing kernel, there is function for doing the backup of stock rom?

Added on March 28, 2011, 12:19 am

mine is unet..but i tried maxisbb also work for me..
Take down the details of your firmware and baseband. Checkup whether these are on samfirmware.com. If so, download a copy of it , keep on PC. You need odin to flash back these files. Once you change kernel, the new kernel will be backup together with your original rom - so just by looking at the kernel version - Samsung will know you have flash the rom even with same firmare and baseband

My advise to all is always if you worry about warranty, don't root and don't flash. In the event something unfortunate happen, just got to live with the consequences of possible need to pay for repair etc. My experience with Samsung and even with HTC has been very good - I never have problem with claiming warranty even with phone rooted and phone flashed

HTC : Old model Dopod U1000 - i brick the unit as my negligence forgot to take out simcard. It is a Msian unit - I sent in to HTC Harbour Court ; straightaway they knew I flash a rom . I just told them the truth. The motherboard was " fried" and I got a replacement MB FREE of charge. I bought a HTC Touch Pro AP set rooted and on cook rom - GPS was erratic and most of time fails. I sent it back to the seller at Subang Square and similarly motherboard replace FOC

Samsung Galaxy S : This is the best and I always repeat it here in the forum - I brick it 3 times due to my experiments testing flashing rom ( beyond what the developer's instructions just to see result ). And in all 3 occasions , I sent in to Samsung Service Centre - they just flash back and I got it back 2-4 hours later and again is free all three times.

TSbenny888
post Mar 28 2011, 01:35 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Mar 28 2011, 01:31 AM)
which samsung service center ? KL/Selangor one ? i have super bad experience with samsung service center (PG), same issue they take two month x 3 time  but problem never fix ........ btw is samsung omnia
AP set bought in lowyat but I send to spore Singapura plaza as nearer my place vs KL

TSbenny888
post Mar 28 2011, 03:14 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Mar 28 2011, 03:00 PM)
Got new problem. Just collected my tab from service center & all settings are gone.  they flash new firmware DXKM2. i made backup using titanium backup so now i wanna restore back. First step is install z4root but i can't get it to root. Both temp & permanent cannot. Could the new firmware block it? What shall i do now.? Thnx
Use Superoneclick to root it
TSbenny888
post Mar 28 2011, 08:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(cicakman07 @ Mar 28 2011, 07:08 PM)
need some help here...my samsung tab is taiwan version which is plug is same with US one...what should i do to charge my tab? is it ok if using malaysia charger or it'll burn my tab???please help...at back my tab rated: 5V / 2A...thanx in advance...
NO problem - just use the Msian charger as same specs
TSbenny888
post Mar 28 2011, 11:50 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Kamikaze2 @ Mar 28 2011, 09:21 PM)
Guys,

Where do you guys download super one click ?
I tried xda but not allowed to due to fewer than 10 posts.

Tried megaupload and other websites download successful but was prompted virus found in a few files and unable to unzip successfully.

Really lost here .........please help
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=803682

Or give me your email address - I will send you the zip file

Added on March 28, 2011, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(darkcroation @ Mar 28 2011, 10:50 PM)
should i root my galaxy tab?just bought it not more than 3 days..duno should root or not..anyway guys can share home screen pic of ur sgt? i dun have much widget to put..not like HTC...got alot of nice widgetT_T..miss my HTC>.<

and another question..which custom rom u guys using?
Read post #3 Q2 on rooting issues and benefits - few links posted there

The most popular/stable rom :

Maintain default RFS file system : Rotohammer JMI ( you need to flash modem separately )

EXT4 file system: Modaco R1 or Overcome 1.4.0

Refer post#3 for a quick guide on issues related to roms

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 28 2011, 11:56 PM
TSbenny888
post Mar 29 2011, 12:36 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Mar 29 2011, 12:30 AM)
Sorry if this has been asked before, but same scenario as the above, only difference its DiGi Broadband.

Anyone knows what's the APN?

Browsed thru the posts but can't find any answer.
Refer post #4 :

For Digi as far as I know there are 2 types of APN : diginet is the common one for postpaid and prepaid accounts

the Digi Internet package ( RM 2/day ) APN is 3gdgnet

Actually you can refer to the small booklet supplied with the simcard - the APN is listed inside the instructions
TSbenny888
post Mar 31 2011, 09:10 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lennox @ Mar 30 2011, 11:57 PM)
Really? good news for me, planing to get 1 for my GF, she love my tab very well. i think she will more happier if she can own 1 too
Lucky gf
Should buy her stuff with appreciating value not such depreciating value gadget.

Added on March 31, 2011, 9:13 am
QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Mar 31 2011, 12:14 AM)
What drop so fast......maybe HTC flyer is coming fast and nowday too many accessories for Tab now selling.
Well the next one up is galaxy tab 8.9
My guts feeling samsung will cease producing the 7 in and promote the 8.9 as alternative

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 31 2011, 09:13 AM
TSbenny888
post Mar 31 2011, 11:27 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shinzan @ Mar 31 2011, 10:56 AM)
just wanna share, after upgraded to Overcome v1.4.1, i realized that i dont have to set the APN for Celcom...automatically can connect to 3G/HSDPA...
It is now 1.4.2 , the only change from 1.4.1 is the revised kernel 2.1.2 which features:

Version 2.1.2
Fix battery temp issue
Fix charging issue
Version number in "About Phone" tab: #167

Can just flash kernel alone to update it if you wish
TSbenny888
post Mar 31 2011, 12:00 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(LuthfiMY @ Mar 31 2011, 11:59 AM)
Hi, New Samsung Galaxy Tab's user report here!
From Penang. Nice to meet you all smile.gif
Welcome to the Tabbers club. I have just recorded you as the 124th user

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 31 2011, 12:02 PM
TSbenny888
post Mar 31 2011, 01:26 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(azmil @ Mar 31 2011, 01:03 PM)
hi...i'm new here...

how to upgrade my tab? coz not many apps i can install

firmware: 2.2
baseband: P1000DXJJ2
kernel: 2.6.32.9 root@SE-S604 #1
build: FROYO.DXJK2

TQ
You can install many apps - what do you mean " not many apps " ?? Your Tab has 2 GB space to install apps - this means you can install up to 1000 apps or more !!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=933400 : this is master guide on various things you can do with your TAB

Please refer also post # 2 and # 3 for some specific answers

Your question is too general. Anyway here is a quick rundown :

Apps - install download and install directly from Market. You need to have a gmail account for this.
If you have access to apps APK files, just copy it over to your card, tap on the said apk and it will auto install
If you wish to access paid apps market - download install MarketAccess or MarketEnavler to simulate foreign telco - refer post # 2 Q11 for steps

You can upgrade your tab :

1. Change kernel
2. Change default RFS file system to EXT4
3. Change roms

Refer post # 3 on Rom Flashing , FAQ for quick guides or refer to the XDA link I have given above

Do read first before attempting these stuffs. It is not difficult
TSbenny888
post Mar 31 2011, 10:00 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(hkboey @ Mar 31 2011, 09:02 PM)
Ya, I can confirm that digi 3g will have problem on tab.

You can go for digi + edge if u want to have good battery life as I find that digi edge is best among other celco.

But if u want 3g speed, then don go for digi coz u're gonna regret like me for signing my life to them. Tried at least 4 diff digi sim and tried both diginet & 3gdgnet on all sim, buy also the same. Seeking help from digi is even worse, such waste of time and whatever they ask u to do or troubleshoot are rubbish.
I think you are making a blanket statement just based on your experience. Digi is perfect for me since day one using their data services not only on the TAB but also on my other android, iphone for family
TSbenny888
post Apr 1 2011, 10:34 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

[quote=ronalho2003,Apr 1 2011, 10:28 AM]
[quote=Noobi3,Apr 1 2011, 01:16 AM]
Easiest way is look for SME logo around the tab or on your accessories . Ori or SME units will normally have this sticker . Pls correct me if I'm wrong especially traders

there is no SME sticker at all...he told me this is ori and i dunno how to verify what he said is true...send it to Samsung center to ask? there is only iSmart distributor sticker on my phone....
can any trader help me? cry.gif

[/quote]

Just check your firmware but if you have bought it sealed new and boots up Vodaphone, it is obviously not SME set. There are many 3rd party imports or so called AP sets
M'sian SME sets firmware are DZ and DX . You can compare your firmware code with the listing in post#1 and you will know country of origin of your set
TSbenny888
post Apr 1 2011, 11:11 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ronalho2003 @ Apr 1 2011, 11:05 AM)
Benny, how do i check firmware code? smile.gif

damn...he must have cheated me as it boot up with vodafone logo...once confirmed, i will tell you guys who is it and don't ever buy from him... mad.gif
To check your TAB’s firmware : Launch Phone and Dial *#1234#
Look for PDA - it should read , for example my set P1000......
Important are the 2 alphabets after 1000
Msian sets will be DX or DZ

If you see others, refer post #1 listing to check

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 1 2011, 11:12 AM
TSbenny888
post Apr 1 2011, 11:34 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ronalho2003 @ Apr 1 2011, 11:18 AM)
i manage to find out the firmware code....p1000BUJI3
where is BU set from?
This is T-Mobile Vodaphone - US or UK set . And check whether your sets can make calls as as far as I know US sets phone call is disabled. You need to flash a new rom and than several other steps to enable phone calls
TSbenny888
post Apr 1 2011, 12:04 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ronalho2003 @ Apr 1 2011, 11:49 AM)
i can make call with it and it is UK unit i guess.
now i am asking the seller what he can do to solve this problem..if he can give back my money and sell it as ap set, i will not name anyone here...i do not want to destroy anyone reputation in the forum... mad.gif

thank you Benny...please do add my name in...i love my tab... icon_idea.gif

Benny, i can't configure Digi MMS with the setting you gave...but the 3g setting works...haha...just video called and it works great... biggrin.gif
thank you for your effort.... tongue.gif
How much did you pay for it. Current AP around 1.6 to 1.7k
TSbenny888
post Apr 2 2011, 10:13 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(waeguk @ Apr 2 2011, 08:17 AM)
Anyone knows ebook app that can read mobi (kindle) books?

Added on April 2, 2011, 8:39 am
Ok i think i found it ... kindle app biggrin.gif
Anyone been reading ebooks? Which format is best .... epub, mobi, pdf, cbr ?
Epub follow by mobi
TSbenny888
post Apr 2 2011, 06:43 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(seijiseimura84 @ Apr 2 2011, 06:32 PM)
YESSSS!!!!

The display prize is RM 1999 pc fair johor bahru
shit///  never trust pcfair sell cheaper

anyway.....whats the real prize actually?
SENQ now selling original set RM 1599 since last week
TSbenny888
post Apr 3 2011, 10:40 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Kamikaze2 @ Apr 3 2011, 02:38 AM)
Guys,

Help needed. I am trying to convert ext4 based on link below until step 13. System backuo, restore and now it is backing up again. Is this normal ? Looks like it is repeating the same steps. I have already run the bootloader patch before this.  rclxub.gif

http://samsung-galaxy.net/how-to-install-o...ung-galaxy-tab/

What should I do now ?

Added on April 3, 2011, 2:58 amGuys,

More update. I rebooted the system but now failed to get into Recovery mode

rclxub.gif
Overcome 1.3 needs your zip file on INTERNAL sdcard not external sd card. The repeated steps indicate the zip file cannot be found
TSbenny888
post Apr 3 2011, 10:51 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Apr 3 2011, 09:53 AM)
Can we lost our IMEI number?  I thought this is a hardcoded number in the phone.  Also, I have a few curious questions:

1. I flashed my SGT to Rotohammer JME and then proceed to convert the kernel to EXT4. How do I confirm that both the Internal and External SD is on EXT4?
2. If I use *#272*(IMEI)#, I found that it only has got a few ISP.  How do I get it to be on Singtel ISP?
3. Is there anyway to find out where to download the original Stock ROM?
The conversion to ext4 is only on the tab NOT on the external sd card

2. Those you can see are just the country codes : spore singtel is XSO

3. You can check it at www.samfirmware.com - you need your codes for PDA and Phone - check this: Launch Phone and Dial *#1234#

Added on April 3, 2011, 10:55 am
QUOTE(azmil @ Apr 3 2011, 10:50 AM)
Hi everyone,need some help here

i have installed market access on my tab,the problem is i can't access the market because it sayi dont have su..so i installed superuser 2.3.6.1

but when i enter to superuser it says that another superuser 2.3.1-signed.zip has in my sdcard..it says that i need to update mu su binary thru recovery mode and flash it but i have try so many times in recovery mode but it keep failing

someone,need help here
Is your TAB rooted ? How did you installed superuser as this is only done through rooting not be separate installation

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 3 2011, 10:55 AM
TSbenny888
post Apr 3 2011, 11:18 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(azmil @ Apr 3 2011, 11:12 AM)
how to know my tab roote or not?
I have download from xda forum..it's a zip file and i unzip it before transfered to my tab and then i install it

is it wrong?
Is there a app Supersuser in menu - it will be there after root ?? You don't root by just installing an app to create superuser . Can you point me the link where you download so that we know what you are actually installing

Added on April 3, 2011, 11:19 am
QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Apr 3 2011, 11:03 AM)
Hi Benny,
  Thank you for the information.  I managed to find the Stock ROM P1000DXJJ2 :-).  After going through the forum, it seems that the next best thing to do after the EXT4 kernel is to have either Overcome or Modaco ROM.  I will be migrating to those ROM :-).  As for the performance now, I am getting about 1661. (With JME and EXT4).

Also, just another question, if I were to port back to the Stock ROM, do I need to reverse to the actualy kernal now that I am on EXT4?
When you install back stock rom, the kernel will revert back to RFS file system

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 3 2011, 11:19 AM

20 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0708sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:13 PM