SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB Official Thread V1, ..best and most portable Android tablet

TSbenny888
post Mar 20 2011, 09:56 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Mar 20 2011, 09:45 AM)
Thanks, will it be sufficient to charge TAB and N8 after charging the power bank?
Never tried but I'd think it will really be slow on the TAB . The unit max output is 1000mA which is minimum for the TAB. It can cahrge 2 devices same time - definitely OK if both needs max 500mA

Added on March 20, 2011, 11:00 amThose on Overcome roms, note that ver 1.3.0 with kernel 2.02 released on 17 March has fixed the MD5 error - you can now do a successful nandroid backup
If you have updated to ver 1.3.0 and unsure about kernel : check settings/about - it should read # 96. If it is # 97 or 95 - your kernel is not the latest release

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 20 2011, 11:10 AM
TSbenny888
post Mar 20 2011, 11:10 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Repost : Posted at post #1

PROPOSED Tabbers meetup:

26 March 2011 at JAYAONE , Jln Universiti at 5 pm to 7 pm
The BEE , 2A-G Block K, Jaya One 72 Jln University, Petaling Jaya

PM me your interest to attend and I will update post #1 attendees

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 20 2011, 11:11 AM
TSbenny888
post Mar 20 2011, 06:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Mar 20 2011, 05:53 PM)

I have also updated to v1.3.0, when I went into recovery, select update from Zip, it cant file from SD Card. But the file is on the memory card. The I tried to copy the file onto the internal memory, then only it finds the update, is it normal for the updated ROM?
Yes , it is already mentioned by the developer : QUOTE
Default to Internal SD (NOTE: the External SD is mounted, just not easily accessible. If you MUST install from External SD, go into Mounts and Storage menu and Unmount SD-Card. Redo whatever you were doing and it will now find the external SD.)
TSbenny888
post Mar 20 2011, 09:42 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shiwamoto @ Mar 20 2011, 09:29 PM)
Dear all sifus,

im just a new owner of TAB..
Just try to root it as per shown on the 1st post using z4root.
But its fail. So now I need some help.
I also try to install papago version used on my desire hd. But after finish install, cannnot open due to unsupported screen size.. Pls help.
Please refer to post # 2 n # 3 for answers to these

Root - try Superoneclick
Papago - enabled spare parts and make mods to map files

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 20 2011, 09:48 PM
TSbenny888
post Mar 21 2011, 10:24 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shiwamoto @ Mar 21 2011, 10:18 AM)
Dear Master Benny,

Thanks for your reply.
Will test it out this afternoon.
But spareparts had been install. and already done as per tag video.
so papago need to set anything again on spareparts?

notworthy.gif
You need to change the folder names in PapagoX5 - clear instructions given in post#3 Q3

Added on March 21, 2011, 10:25 am
QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Mar 21 2011, 03:01 AM)
Sygic ? If i remember correctly , no internet connection needed like papago
Correct. Only first time you launch program , you need to sign in with email and password
I am also assuming the maps have been downloaded first using the aura download app

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 21 2011, 10:27 AM
TSbenny888
post Mar 21 2011, 12:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(muffdiver @ Mar 21 2011, 12:26 PM)
Finally! After about a month of usage and various fixes. My SGT is finally a well oiled machine.

Just a quick question. Now that I want to add on an SD Card, what is the fastest type can the SGT use? Is it possible to have a Class 10 card installed?

Thanks!
I am using a class 10 since day one
TSbenny888
post Mar 22 2011, 09:13 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Mar 22 2011, 08:50 AM)
is the tabbers meet up still on? coz i'll b there also for arc launch =X
YES. See you. Response poor
TSbenny888
post Mar 22 2011, 12:24 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(anellyza @ Mar 22 2011, 11:42 AM)
after i read through all these posts,
i think i cancel to sell my SGT
heheh
wanna join the meet up
26 mac right??
You are most welcome to join us. A few of us are attending the Sony Xperia Arc launch at 3 to 5 pm at the same place. The organizers limit to only 30 attendees to the event and all places already takenup
TSbenny888
post Mar 24 2011, 04:53 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(anellyza @ Mar 24 2011, 03:25 PM)
My firmware code is P1000XXJMA
what does that means?

Added on March 24, 2011, 3:27 pm
my firmware code is P1000XXJMA
what does that means?
try to check by referring post #1/2/
cant find the answer ;(

Added on March 24, 2011, 3:34 pm
benny,

mine is anellyza/P1000XXJMA/froyo.XWJMI
Yours is west Europe set . So consider AP set here and you should not b paying more than 1.8k for it. Guys at garage sales selling 1.6 to 1.7k now

TSbenny888
post Mar 24 2011, 10:47 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Just hot from the oven : Overcome 1.40 and kernel 2.10. Downloading now as I write this
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=932082

Version 1.4.0
JMK Base
Overcome Kernel v2.1.0 included
Updated Thinkfree Office Suite
Updated Hosts file (ad-blocking)
Updated SamsungApps
Updated Adobe Flash Player to v10.2

Version 2.1.0
Overcome CWM 3.0.1.9 (Custom built ClockworkMod 3.0.1.9)
ALL features now work in Recovery
Version number in "About Phone" tab: #148
TSbenny888
post Mar 25 2011, 03:26 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sooieweng @ Mar 25 2011, 11:46 AM)
HI,

can Tab using papago? where i download the software with malaysia map?
Please refer post #3 guide and links is there

Added on March 25, 2011, 3:31 pm
QUOTE(skyhush @ Mar 25 2011, 12:02 AM)
what code for ori?...
So far based on users feedback, Maxis sets and Digi sets firmwares are DX.... The other firmware codes for Msian sets are DZ....

Added on March 25, 2011, 3:33 pm
QUOTE(myzer0 @ Mar 25 2011, 11:53 AM)
hey benny, do you know where they keep the bootsound for the ROM?? cant find it anywhere... i tried all the default directories, wont work...
No idea. And the only way you can access this files is using root explorer not thro the default myfiles or normal file explorer apps such as astro

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 25 2011, 03:33 PM
TSbenny888
post Mar 25 2011, 04:13 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(keteputih @ Mar 25 2011, 04:08 PM)
angry bird rio is out for android but only available in amazon, try to download but it said that it still not supported for the region....

anyone already download it?
There is a link to download at the Dell Streak thread
TSbenny888
post Mar 25 2011, 05:54 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Honeycomb port to the TAB : Finally we see the first boot screen up. The developer is still working on issues related to video drivers, fix memory issues (crashes), touch screen and wifi.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=977046

TSbenny888
post Mar 25 2011, 06:53 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mramyli87 @ Mar 25 2011, 06:47 PM)
i miss place my charger, anyone know where can i get one in kl? need it badly
Just get those with USB port that can charge the ipad will do the job too. LowYat best place to look for these stuffs

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 25 2011, 06:53 PM
TSbenny888
post Mar 25 2011, 10:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Charizard @ Mar 25 2011, 10:24 PM)
But still need the wall charger right? or can plug into USB charge? hmm.gif
I mean those wall chargers with USB port. The computer USB port in most Windows desktop PC will be too weak to charge the TAB unless you try it by installing the ASUS software ( http://event.asus.com/mb/2010/ai_charger/ ) . However if you are using an iMAC their USB port can charge it
TSbenny888
post Mar 26 2011, 07:19 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Mar 26 2011, 07:10 AM)
make sure you buy good quality one. i tried generic wall charger with usb & it won't charge. same goes with car charger. i already had 2 car chargers & one with stated current of 1A. it won't charge either. i bought RM60 car charger at low yat brand SUN-I which has a model for samsung tab & ipad. it has a non-detachable cable that connects to the tab as well as a usb slot. rated current is 2100mA (2.1A).

the tab needs > 1A current. hence if you buy a 2A one it should charge. a good quality 1A should also charge probably because the actual output is higher than 1A. a poor quality 1A charger might give less than 1A output & not enough to charge. this applies both wall & car charger.
Right - if it is cheap , most probably can charge slowly only. I bought mine a dual usb slot unit rated output 2100mA for ipad - it cost me s$85 . Even though is expensive it charges all my gadgets well . The common types goes for only S$20 to S$30
TSbenny888
post Mar 26 2011, 01:56 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(twokick @ Mar 26 2011, 01:22 PM)
Hi guys, i need help.

Im on Digi data plan for my TAB, but it seems i can only receive emails. Can't browse the web.

However when on wifi, the browsing is fine. A friend told me it is a 'dns' problem.

Any idea how to solve this?

Thanks in advance.
check your APN settings refer post #4
TSbenny888
post Mar 27 2011, 11:56 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Mar 27 2011, 01:54 AM)
Anyone seen this ?  rclxm9.gif

not sure if i'm lagging or i posted wrongly , i only see white screen . Anyway here is the link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HYFZSw1Swrs
edited:

TSbenny888
post Mar 27 2011, 06:54 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Mar 27 2011, 06:23 PM)
benny, if i have root my tab but still in stock rom, and i wan to do a nandroid backup..is the CHAINFIRE CF Root v2.2 the only way to do it now?
Rotobackup is your best choice but involves issuing a long list of commands from terminal

In order to use Chainfire CF Root - you must have a compatible rom - he has make it for KA1, JME, JMG, JJ7 ; howeverr I have tested on JMI - works too. If you do this - you are changing the kernel.
Actually since you are already changing kernel, might as well take it one level higher flash Modaco R1 kernel and have the ClocworkMod recovery installed. Just changing kernel will not delete your data. Form recovery than you can do a nandroid backup. Using Modaco R1 gives you another option to change the default RFS file system to EXT4

And if you wish to change kernel, have a recovery installed plus a FS change to ext4 - do the fastest and easiest way - flash Overcome rom above 1.2.0

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 27 2011, 06:55 PM
TSbenny888
post Mar 27 2011, 09:45 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(puteri301 @ Mar 27 2011, 09:32 PM)
Hi all,
Need your help. I am new user to SGT. how i want to set the connection (im using Maxis 3G broadband simcard).
What should I do first as I insert the card? Appreciate if you could guide step by step.
I just found as per below Setting. But when I view the Access Point Name, it says no items.
Please help.Thanks
Settings/Wireless & Network/Mobile Networks/Access Point : Press Menu - select New APN - after you have done that, MEnu - select save

20 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0529sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:18 PM