128 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

❤~((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER v8 )))~❤, gathering people of a 1st gathering

TSxavi5567
post Jan 25 2011, 06:39 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(CutiePie69 @ Jan 25 2011, 05:48 PM)
Wah...! Thank you so much!
Currently I only have two GP's who are living inside a zoo zone which has grown a little bit small for them.
Inside the zoo zone  I have one little hut, one toilet and food bowl all inside and its too small for my little (no longer little) GP's.
I like the daiso cubes ones and prefer to have a close top or else my cats would be jumping in and play with my GP's. 
Mmmm what size would you recommend for them.
Since I am living in an apartment, I prefer the cage not too big but just comfortable for Timi and Mimi.
I think a coroplast bottom would be ideal as I am using recycled paper pellets for them.
Btw... how does a tray system look like?
Something you can pull out and clean is it?
Thank you so much for your offer to design and make.
Please let me know how much you will be charging too.
But I definitely want one for my babies.
there two type of cubes at daiso.. square or rectangular.. if not mistaken square is abit higher .. but if u wanna save plus u wan close top (require more cube) i suggest just take the rectangular 1.. ( 10 pieces rm 50 liao) which will give u a 1 by 2 cube cage which 4 cube on top..coroplast roughly bout rm50 oso.. estimate cost rm100 plus plus..
design is something like this.. very simple only all tie up together using cable tie..

weikent
post Jan 25 2011, 06:52 PM

20 posts

Wow...v8
CutiePie69
post Jan 25 2011, 08:39 PM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jan 25 2011, 07:39 PM)
there two type of cubes at daiso.. square or rectangular.. if not mistaken square is abit higher .. but if u wanna save plus u wan close top (require more cube) i suggest just take the rectangular 1.. ( 10 pieces rm 50 liao) which will give u a 1 by 2 cube cage which 4 cube on top..coroplast roughly bout rm50 oso.. estimate cost rm100 plus plus..
design is something like this.. very simple only all tie up together using cable tie..
Wow.... I am already excited.
So I will get the stuff from Daiso but can only do this after CNY la...
Now so busy as going back to kampung lor.....
You must also be busy cause want to celebrate CNY too.... smile.gif
Just let me know what stuff to get like cubes, cable ties
But where to get coroplast?
Any other items?
Timi and Mimi would be soooooo happy to get a new bungalow.
Now they are squatting tongue.gif
ukiya
post Jan 25 2011, 09:59 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

Wow!!! V8 ... tats fast!

Wish have bigger space for them...
Faith+1
post Jan 25 2011, 10:50 PM

1,420 posts

Hi, greetings! biggrin.gif
TSxavi5567
post Jan 25 2011, 11:11 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(CutiePie69 @ Jan 25 2011, 08:39 PM)
Wow.... I am already excited.
So I will get the stuff from Daiso but can only do this after CNY la...
Now so busy as going back to kampung lor.....
You must also be busy cause want to celebrate CNY too....  smile.gif
Just let me know what stuff to get like cubes, cable ties
But where to get coroplast?
Any other items?
Timi and Mimi would be soooooo happy to get a new bungalow.
Now they are squatting  tongue.gif
items needed,
-cubes (if square 16 pieces) (if rectangular 10 pieces) but i not very sure with the dimension of the cubes.. if able to wait.. i will check out the dimension of the rectangular 1st.. might need less..
-cable ties( available at daiso also rm5 for 150 pcs)
-coroplast ( depend on u .. if u dont mind joined pcs.. then can get it from stationary shop.. if u wan whole pieces 1.. need to find at advertising shop.. will try to source this c..)
tat all.. sweat.gif

Added on January 25, 2011, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Jan 25 2011, 10:50 PM)

Hi, greetings!  biggrin.gif
cute.. look like having blue eyes..

This post has been edited by xavi5567: Jan 25 2011, 11:12 PM
ZhuZhuStuds
post Jan 26 2011, 02:05 AM

WOW VERSION 8 in only few months time!

_ _ _ _ _

some new photos of new born "Baby ABBYRUVIANS" sheby mini yaks

ABBYRUVIAN626"flowerball"user posted image

ABBYRUVIAN899"snowshoe"user posted image

For link code, can copy here: < http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1512142 >
photos taken less than 3 weeks old.

1st-generation 'hybrid' Abbyruvians of pure bred pure blooded parents.

Last 5 ekors (only got 20 pax January 2011 - rest ALL HABIS)

- those interested can PM with your own "offer price" for inviting your own piggies home. Before / around Chinese New Year Rabbit year starts.

Note:
Extremely human friendly personalities and each and everyone of them whistles on high pitch and can do so loudly.
Perfect age for bonding with new human owner, training, and starting an entire new life.

Black eyes.
Extremely fine very soft hair [coat].

p/s:
Only 5 left. For the Abbyruvians above, both parents are specifically selected (over a 3 years period), and of course originated and imported of pure-blood and pure-breeds.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

PM for more private piggy shots [for the above 3 selected piggies].

- - - thanks for sharing the love! - - -

wheek! rclxms.gif wheek! rclxms.gif wheek! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ZhuZhuStuds: Jan 26 2011, 02:23 AM
orion18
post Jan 26 2011, 05:46 AM

24 posts

congrats on the new version smile.gif rclxms.gif

i also have baby guimea pigs.. check out the link smile.gif
TSxavi5567
post Jan 26 2011, 08:45 AM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(ZhuZhuStuds @ Jan 26 2011, 02:05 AM)
WOW VERSION 8 in only few months time!

_ _ _ _ _
some new photos of new born "Baby ABBYRUVIANS" sheby mini yaks

ABBYRUVIAN626"flowerball"user posted image
ABBYRUVIAN899"snowshoe"user posted image

For link code, can copy here: < http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1512142 >
photos taken less than 3 weeks old.

1st-generation 'hybrid' Abbyruvians of pure bred pure blooded parents.
Last 5 ekors (only got 20 pax January 2011 - rest ALL HABIS)

- those interested can PM with your own "offer price" for inviting your own piggies home. Before / around Chinese New Year Rabbit year starts.

Note:
Extremely human friendly personalities and each and everyone of them whistles on high pitch and can do so loudly.
Perfect age for bonding with new human owner, training, and starting an entire new life.

Black eyes.
Extremely fine very soft hair [coat].
p/s:
Only 5 left. For the Abbyruvians above, both parents are specifically selected (over a 3 years period), and of course originated and imported of pure-blood and pure-breeds.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

PM for more private piggy shots [for the above 3 selected piggies].
- - - thanks for sharing the love! - - -

wheek!  rclxms.gif  wheek!  rclxms.gif  wheek!  rclxms.gif
ur term them as pure blood.. ? shakehead.gif once u have mix them.. it is no longer pure blood.. and abbyruvian is not sheba mini yak... sheba mini yak is produced from mixing two now extinct breeds, the “Wombat-Faced Peruvian” (a Sheltie-type cavy) and the old-style Abyssinian... so dont get mixed up saying abbyruvian is a sheba mini yak..
Juztiny
post Jan 26 2011, 11:16 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jan 26 2011, 08:45 AM)
ur term them as pure blood.. ? shakehead.gif once u have mix them.. it is no longer pure blood.. and abbyruvian is not sheba mini yak... sheba mini yak is produced from mixing two now extinct breeds, the “Wombat-Faced Peruvian” (a Sheltie-type cavy) and the old-style Abyssinian... so dont get mixed up saying abbyruvian is a sheba mini yak..
Fully agreed with you, Abbyruvian is not similar to Sheba Mini Yak breed.

From what I observed, nowadays many Shelties sold in PLC petshops the quality has been dropped. The nose part all very sharp pointy like normal shorthair, and the fur is not very long type. The body size of my own Shelties which I bought from a home breeder is much larger size than the adult Sheltie I bought from PLC last year. Base on my own observation, those Shelties that I bought from PLC, not long life. The grey Chinchilla color already died last year with no apparent reason losing weight, same goes with the white polar bear now is losing weight even though have appetite to eat, pump with vit C eat Oxbow, but yet still very skinny. I doubt it will live as long as my Lao-Ta Sheltie.

Now I only left with 5 Shelties at home. One is going to her adopted parent this weekend, and then another 2 is under Intensive Care Unit (unhealthy condition need intensive care). Only left with a pair that is healthy and chubby. I really hope they do produce offspring soon, or else my quality Sheltie generation no more inheritance.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jan 26 2011, 11:22 AM
CutiePie69
post Jan 26 2011, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jan 26 2011, 12:11 AM)
items needed,
-cubes (if square 16 pieces) (if rectangular 10 pieces) but i not very sure with the dimension of the cubes.. if able to wait.. i will check out the dimension of the rectangular 1st.. might need less..
-cable ties( available at daiso also rm5 for 150 pcs)
-coroplast ( depend on u .. if u dont mind joined pcs.. then can get it from stationary shop.. if u wan whole pieces 1.. need to find at advertising shop.. will try to source this c..)
tat all.. sweat.gif
Once again thank you Xavi! smile.gif
Will start shopping for the stuff when I come back from CNY.
I will PM you once I have the things.
Thank you again.
Timi and Mimi says thank you too tongue.gif
ZhuZhuStuds
post Jan 26 2011, 12:30 PM

Exactly.

A pure blood pure breed is a tracked heridary lineage for at least 30 decendents, of the same genus family. Say a Peruvian pure blood would have to be of 30 generations of pure peruvians, same as the other genus.

Hence, their 1st-generation off spring, called a hybrid will no longer be called pure bred, but specifically termed "1st-Generation Hybrid", OF both pure blooded individuals parents each.

Again, it's a humble advice don't get into genetic engineering and selective breeding of GPs... unless you've the facilities, systems, capacity, and in it for the long haul.

Subsequent breeders will then only want to mate 1st-Gen with other proven 1st-Gen, in all their proper systematic methods.

_ _ _

And the reason from version 6, version 7, to let the northern hemisphere countries (Holland, UK, etc.) to do the breeding, and enjoy their nice weather.
We just simply import them into Malaysia at bulk, and everyone can enjoy the low price of imported GPs.

Yes, the weather matters. From the same parents, our cavies in Japan and beijing tends to be rounder, fatter, and bigger. All given the same food formula.

_ _ _ _ _

And you are both correct, the "Sheby Mini Yaks" is not abbyruvian, but common misused term in the US (and Canada) general petshops, the Down Under and films. Commonly misused to refer to what some buyers thinks they are looking for.
In the earlier years, families use the term "the small cow" or "xiao niu" to refer to that cute furry snuffle that resemble the north american yaks - at miniature size...

temp writeup link info here: http://home.netspeed.com.au/reguli/Shebas.htm (source)
Apart from the fact they are products of the 1960s, they tend to be adored by the public and many of those who work with them but are cordially detested by some of the Powers That Be in their respective worlds. In the case of the Daleks, some actors and directors hate them and in the case of the Sheba Mini Yaks some judges and some breeders pour on them a similar level of scorn the aforementioned actors and directors reserve for the Daleks. On the other hand, their respective aficionados become quite passionate, even one-eyed and irrational in their defence. Put simply: you either love ‘em or hate ‘em.

The Sheba Mini Yak is an Australian breed, created by Mrs Wynne Eecen (founder of the NSW Cavy Club) in 1969 from crossing an old-style Abyssinian with the "Wombat Faced Peruvian" which was really a rather bad Sheltie from an era before we were allowed to import stock from Britain. (We can’t do that these days, either). Basically, it is a semi-longhaired Abyssinian.

The original breed standard (which can be found in Mrs Eecen’s book, Pigs Isn’t Pigs, Favoretta Publications, 1974) is said to have been based around one animal, presumably "Marmaduke" (star of television, book and song – probably the only cavy to have a pop song written and sung about him). If so, this is no real problem. After all the breed standard for the Norwegian Forest Cat is based on one animal, "Pan Truls".

The breed standard as given in Pigs Isn’t Pigs calls for a "Heavy, sturdy thick set animal" with a head described as "squarish in aspect, with parakeet frontal and mutton-chop whiskers". The fur is to be "medium texture, thick and luxuriant." and the animal to be shown "Rosetted, in a natural state, not to be highly groomed or to have hair parted in the middle". The ideal length of coat is to cover the feet or floor level. They appear to have been classed as longhairs at that time.

Until recently, they were classed as Coarse Coats, along with the Rex and the Abyssinian. The most recent standard (Australian National Cavy Council Approved Standards for Exhibition Cavies August 1994 edition) calls for the coat’s texture "to be as coarse as possible but with lustre", the density to be "even all round", the length "to cover the feet only, even all round with no sweep", the fringe "to be forward over the face", the moustache "to be likened to Mutton Chop Whiskers"; the head "to be broad with short nose, eyes to be large bold and wide spaced. Ears to be large, rose petal shaped and drooping with good width between" and the shape and size "to be cobby, thick set and firm fleshed, broad at the shoulders and large throughout. Presentation is to be "without a parting and in a natural rosetted state". Additional remarks state" The hair should be sufficiently coarse to prevent impression of flatness. It should stand away from the body around rosettes at neck, sides and rump. The fringe is not required to cover the face completely, features and moustache (Mutton Chop Whiskers) should be visible…"

A request was made to the Standards Review Panel of the Australian National Cavy Council to review the standard. For some reason (I am not sure how or why) this resulted in the breed being de-standardised so from Sept. 2005 it can only be shown in the Unstandardised Class while a new breed standard is worked on with a view to being submitted to the Standards Review Panel. A draft standard has already been submitted but it is by no means satisfactory to all Sheba breeders and the discussions among those breeders with email certainly revealed some differences in what we all think a Sheba should be. My own view is that we really need to get together physically and have a hands-on workshop. Possibly we should set aside some time at the National Cavy Show this year, though not all Sheba breeders go to that.

There are problems with the Sheba, of course. One is coat length. Shebas often have coats longer than their feet, some even have sweeps. Another is getting the right lift in the coat (the presence of rosettes and their placement influences this) while at the same time they should have partial frontals ("parakeets") and mutton chops. Those with the good parakeets and mutton chops often have flatter, heavier coats (the Peruvian in their heritage).

It is generally thought that the use of imported Peruvians or Abyssinians in Sheba lines damaged the breed, though some old timers say that even in the 1970s, Shebas often had coats growing past their feet and photos in Pigs Isn’t Pigs show Shebas with flat, heavy "Peruvian" type coats. Certainly the original breeds they were derived from no longer exist and, most likely, neither do the original Sheba lines.

A third sticking point is that all too many have been shown with dirty coats in a quite disgusting way as it is commonly believed that washing a Coarse Coat robs it of its coarseness. I’ve certainly come across some very smelly specimens at some shows and can’t really blame those judges who dislike them if they have had to handle such grotty little pigs.

One issue is what group they should be in. In Queensland they show them as Longhairs and the provisional standard wants them to be placed in that group. I can’t see the logic myself, except that it would allow the coats to be trimmed but as trimmed coats in Longhairs can and often are penalised, I can’t see the point. The other Longhairs’ coats grow at 2.5cm a month. The Sheba’s hair is much slower growing and just does not present with the wealth of a Peruvian, Sheltie, Texel or Coronet in full coat. In my view, they should no more be in Longhair than a Somali or Balinese should be in Group 1 (Persians, Maine Coons, etc.). Coarse Coat doesn’t quite cut it either.

In fact, the problem is with the title "Coarse Coat" as really, only the Rex has a coarse coat. Often Abyssinians are not that ‘coarse’. I have been told that originally this group was called "Coat Cavies", in other words, the coat carried most of the points so perhaps they should resume that name and leave the Sheba where it is.

So what’s my idea of a Sheba, then? It should be a big, cobby animal with a broad face – I aim to work to get bigger faces and more solid bodies on mine. The coat should look tousled, rumpled, scruffy, the worst case of "bad hair day". This is down to the rosettes and their placement to get the correct lift to the coat to create this effect. Heavy flat coats with centre partings (or even without centre partings) are not on. The coat should not have a sweep nor grow too long. In addition, the animal should have "mutton chops" growing forward and a partial frontal, a parakeet also growing forward over the face. Getting a frontal of a decent length is hard. As I said above the ones with the better frontals and mutton chops are those with the heavy flat Peruvian coats.

Of course, one of the most frustrating things about Shebas is that they chew their coats. Even if kept on their own with plenty of hay, they still chew.

temp writeup link info here: http://micheline76.multiply.com/photos/alb.../Sheba_Mini_Yak (source with photos)
"The sheba mini yak originated in Australia. It was bred from the "Wombat" peruvian and the old style abyssinian (please note that these are NOT the same as the modern breeds).

The sheba has a medium length coat which isn't meant to grow any longer than floor length. Due to the shorter coat they don't require as much grooming as other long haired breeds. The body is covered in rosettes just like the abyssinian. These rosettes lift the coat up giving it the desired "shaggy mop" appearance. The sheba has a frontal which lays to one side of the face unlike other breeds where total coverage is wanted. Along with the frontal they also have "mutton chops" or moustache, giving a completely covered face."

This post has been edited by ZhuZhuStuds: Jan 26 2011, 01:27 PM
ZhuZhuStuds
post Jan 26 2011, 01:12 PM

As for Pet Shop Equipment, C&C cages, Supplies,

You can also checkout China's BAIDU.com, and can be automatically translated every page.

Checkout the incredible prices there, as their business industry and the government already formed consortiums to manufacture new GP requirement designs, mass manufactured (improvements over designs on italian Marchioro, japanese Marukan, and the much improved double layered tray (seperation of urine & poo) and cold weather nonalloy cages). These are all the new designs petitioned for bulk production over the past 4 years. Good stuff for GP owners, and finally at publicly affordable prices.

C&C cages, panels, binders, even direct from the plastics patent holder in Brazil.

Get home personal shipping services back to Malaysia, and you are pretty much 'tax free' if you arrange properly, and economical.

Dudes, get a group of people in Malaysia, form a small GP supplies consortium , offer it as a business.

( will add more photos later, all these photos, brand names, information already available in Baidu.com )
--- Later will link or paste it over.

To add on top of it, there's an updated supplier-factories' list from all 6 parts of the world for the original and OEM equipment makers.

Meanwhile, our local petstores is already at very healthy numbers, it's oredi worth your effort to enjoy with them.
TSxavi5567
post Jan 26 2011, 03:02 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

i cannot brain this tl;dr... shocking.gif pls use spoiler nex time.. if there is long list of text pls jus direct reader to the site u copy from.. sweat.gif

CutiePie69:
i will be going to damansara this weekend.. so i will check out the cubes dimension 1.. then only i confirm u again ..
this is my newest addition -->

CutiePie69
post Jan 26 2011, 03:21 PM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jan 26 2011, 04:02 PM)

i cannot brain this tl;dr...  shocking.gif pls use spoiler nex time.. if there is long list of text pls jus direct reader to the site u copy from..  sweat.gif

CutiePie69:
i will be going to damansara this weekend.. so i will check out the cubes dimension 1.. then only i confirm u again ..
this is my newest addition  -->

Wow.... looks good!
I like rclxms.gif
TSxavi5567
post Jan 26 2011, 03:32 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(CutiePie69 @ Jan 26 2011, 03:21 PM)
Wow.... looks good!
I like  rclxms.gif
but this 1 i think suitable for 1 adult only.. hahaha.. if for two adult i think need to double its size.. so u got an idea of wat i mean right.. the 1 i show above is a tray system cage (close top) (the size of the floor is two toilet mat) it was an upgrade from my 1 toilet mat jail last time ahhahaha... the size now is the same as a rm60 rabit cage. jus shorter ceiling.. hahaha..
xuanyu9
post Jan 26 2011, 10:56 PM

35 posts

ughhh~

want to adopt guinea pig from uk.the airplanes cost and others cost 1 guinea pig around rm1000.expensive. and minimum have to be 3 pairs,because companies in air flight so they wont be stress.

but her guinea pigs are very good quality,and have vet health cert. flex.gif

anyone interested?hahahaha biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by xuanyu9: Jan 27 2011, 01:32 AM
Juztiny
post Jan 26 2011, 11:41 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(xuanyu9 @ Jan 26 2011, 10:56 PM)
ughhh~

want to adopt guinea pig from uk.the airplanes cost and others cost 1 guinea pig around rm1500+.expensive. and minimum have to be 3 pairs,because companies in air flight so they wont be stress.

but her guinea pigs are very good quality,and have vet health cert. flex.gif

anyone interested?hahahaha biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Do you currently own any guinea pig as pet yet?

If you're not, then very risky to bring in such an expensive exotic pet, when you are inexperience in handling it.
xuanyu9
post Jan 27 2011, 12:18 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Juztiny @ Jan 26 2011, 11:41 PM)
Do you currently own any guinea pig as pet yet?

If you're not, then very risky to bring in such an expensive exotic pet, when you are inexperience in handling it.
i have help my friend take care before,so basically i know what gp needs.do guide me too.as i will buy a pair in april .
already doing a lot of research laugh.gif

and i will just get a pair in malaysia,because yes,import is expensive. unsure.gif

if i visit to their farm,ill upload some picture here the guinea pigs^^ wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by xuanyu9: Jan 27 2011, 05:04 PM
Starblazex
post Jan 27 2011, 10:45 PM

17 posts

hi..got a question..is it okay if they eat newspaper??lolx..
i let them out in the playpen..use newspaper to layer..but they keep eating the newspaper..

128 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:10 PM