4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

WTA - Celebrity Fitness, Doubts on membership fee

TSlolz1120
post Jan 23 2011, 02:23 PM, updated 15y ago

633 posts

Alright, here goes the story. I signed up for a 7 days trial membership in Celebrity Fitness (Sunway branch). The guy that attended me offered me a membership fee of 199 per month, and it is for the basic membership which means there is no personal coach or any other privileges. However he said that if i sign up before Feb he can give me a so called "special price" of 150. I was like wtf because my friend is paying only 138 per month. Another thing that seems really fishy is that when i asked for the membership price and packages list, he said it is not printed and available. I feel like i'm being scammed, please enlighten me. I'm new to gym and i literally don't know a thing but well, nobody wants to be fooled rite? Thanks alot! smile.gif
chicaman
post Jan 23 2011, 02:26 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

Are you sure you are committed enough to go to the gym? RM138 is for student if not mistaken and I would really go to a ghetto gym instead because its cheaper.
swks26
post Jan 23 2011, 02:39 PM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

Well, it's kinda more like bargaining to get your price here.
odengerrard
post Jan 23 2011, 02:46 PM

79 posts

haha.
i had an experience as i went to Celebrity Fitness, True Fitness and Fitness first.

Trust me, all the packages are so damn linear.

it is very flexible.

they always come and say this package very good kaw2. n then regarding the price, i always berlakon to considering it. then i will refuse to sign by giving need time to consider, want to join with friends and also better offer at other place.

surely, then the staff will go n talk to his/her manager and then you will get even better price.

i got no drillz to show you, but trust me, by kawtim like this, i manage to go subscribe to truefitness at jaya33 for only RM65 per month. reg fee got lower down to rm50 as time itu, got promotion reg fee for rm99 as compared to normal rm150.

so moral of the story =

try to bring few friends and ask them to berlakon like they all want to join, n berlakon calling parents bla3. and after few stages, until the staff sudah percaya sama lu, then u go ask n try to talk to the manager direct. LOL.
i had awesome time there tho!

just to my cent.

kthxbai.
winkybear
post Jan 23 2011, 03:52 PM

489 posts

I'm paying 109/month at True Fitness. It's the same MO. Appear disinterested, have a ballpark figure of how much you're willing to pay, bargain and be ready to walk off if it's not a satisfactory price. Everyone is paying a different price.

Edit: I asked the guys opposite me how much they were quoted as the salesperson dealing with me was printing my receipt. They got quoted 265/month and 700 registration fee.

This post has been edited by winkybear: Jan 23 2011, 05:42 PM
LadyVanity
post Jan 23 2011, 06:57 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(winkybear @ Jan 23 2011, 03:52 PM)
I'm paying 109/month at True Fitness. It's the same MO. Appear disinterested, have a ballpark figure of how much you're willing to pay, bargain and be ready to walk off if it's not a satisfactory price. Everyone is paying a different price.

Edit: I asked the guys opposite me how much they were quoted as the salesperson dealing with me was printing my receipt. They got quoted 265/month and 700 registration fee.
winkybear, r u passport or home membership??
im paying 34x/month (cant remember exact price) at TF, on bank loan. buuuut.... i only have to pay it for a year, and im getting 2.5 yrs "free" - round it all up divide by the total of 42 mths il b there.... thats less than rm100/month, platinum membership. i thought it was a real good deal!

i wanted to go to celeb but it was rm190/month, 1 yr contract. they said they'd waive my registration and admin fee.... but this was just 190/month, no other perks, no free this free that, no extension etc. so TF was the obvious choice for me
winkybear
post Jan 23 2011, 09:08 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(LadyVanity @ Jan 23 2011, 06:57 PM)
im paying 34x/month (cant remember exact price) at TF, on bank loan. buuuut.... i only have to pay it for a year, and im getting 2.5 yrs "free" -  round it all up divide by the total of 42 mths il b there.... thats less than rm100/month, platinum membership. i thought it was a real good deal!

i wanted to go to celeb but it was rm190/month, 1 yr contract. they said they'd waive my registration and admin fee.... but this was just 190/month, no other perks, no free this free that, no extension etc. so TF was the obvious choice for me
Home membership, 24 months contract. Yeah your deal sounds better, though I cant afford to pay that much at one go lol. My budget was 150/month at most, and the passport membership they offered was more than that.
TrutHatHand
post Jan 25 2011, 07:49 AM

67 posts

it should be 139 a month for celeb fitness in pyramid, including 2 free personal trainer sessions
~Curious~
post Feb 2 2011, 02:33 AM

1,744 posts

izzit possible to bargain on monthly fees once u joined already but plan on renewing the contract?
derrick-c
post Feb 9 2011, 08:37 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(odengerrard @ Jan 23 2011, 02:46 PM)
haha.
i had an experience as i went to Celebrity Fitness, True Fitness and Fitness first.

Trust me, all the packages are so damn linear.

it is very flexible.

they always come and say this package very good kaw2. n then regarding the price, i always berlakon to considering it. then i will refuse to sign by giving need time to consider, want to join with friends and also better offer at other place.

surely, then the staff will go n talk to his/her manager and then you will get even better price.

i got no drillz to show you, but trust me, by kawtim like this, i manage to go subscribe to truefitness at jaya33 for only RM65 per month. reg fee got lower down to rm50 as time itu, got promotion reg fee for rm99 as compared to normal rm150.

so moral of the story =

try to bring few friends and ask them to berlakon like they all want to join, n berlakon calling parents bla3. and after few stages, until the staff sudah percaya sama lu, then u go ask n try to talk to the manager direct. LOL.
i had awesome time there tho!

just to my cent.

kthxbai.

I JOINED FITNESS FIRST FOR RM168 PER MONTH
I THINK FITNESS FIRST MEMBERSHIP IS THE MOST EXPENSIVE OF ALL.
IN ADDITION ALL THE STAFF THERE ONLY INTERESTED ABOUT YOUR MONEY
HOW ABOUT YOUR OPINION?

mikehuan
post Feb 9 2011, 05:36 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(derrick-c @ Feb 9 2011, 08:37 AM)

I JOINED FITNESS FIRST FOR RM168 PER MONTH
I THINK FITNESS FIRST MEMBERSHIP IS THE MOST EXPENSIVE OF ALL.
IN ADDITION ALL THE STAFF THERE ONLY INTERESTED ABOUT YOUR MONEY
HOW ABOUT YOUR OPINION?
my opinion is that you should either fix your caps button or smash your keyboard on your head.
derrick-c
post Feb 9 2011, 09:16 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Feb 9 2011, 05:36 PM)
my opinion is that you should either fix your caps button or smash your keyboard on your head.
mike huan Oh,look you try it before You're so studpit

-Dan
post Feb 9 2011, 10:24 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(derrick-c @ Feb 9 2011, 09:16 PM)
Riiiight. blush.gif
mikehuan
post Feb 9 2011, 11:13 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(derrick-c @ Feb 9 2011, 09:16 PM)
lol. entertainment at its finest. now your keyboard is missing full stops. ate it by mistake?
dakim
post Sep 22 2011, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(LadyVanity @ Jan 23 2011, 06:57 PM)
im paying 34x/month (cant remember exact price) at TF, on bank loan. buuuut.... i only have to pay it for a year, and im getting 2.5 yrs "free" -  round it all up divide by the total of 42 mths il b there.... thats less than rm100/month, platinum membership. i thought it was a real good deal!

how to get 34x/month? which TF?
SUSPepper
post Sep 22 2011, 03:21 PM

427 posts

i student i pay 165 permonth in celeb fitness in pyramid coz im over 25, tunaseng. i hope the indian white shirt guy crash his car everyday
mezzi-quan
post Sep 22 2011, 03:24 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(lolz1120 @ Jan 23 2011, 02:23 PM)
Alright, here goes the story. I signed up for a 7 days trial membership in Celebrity Fitness (Sunway branch). The guy that attended me offered me a membership fee of 199 per month, and it is for the basic membership which means there is no personal coach or any other privileges. However he said that if i sign up before Feb he can give me a so called "special price" of 150. I was like wtf because my friend is paying only 138 per month. Another thing that seems really fishy is that when i asked for the membership price and packages list, he said it is not printed and available. I feel like i'm being scammed, please enlighten me. I'm new to gym and i literally don't know a thing but well, nobody wants to be fooled rite? Thanks alot! smile.gif
its like dat wan, they dun wan to print out or display their price cos they always chnge their price........today it might b rm138, then tomoro it wil chnge to rm190..........if u r lucky, then u get the lower price, if u r unlucky, then u wil hav to pay more
Dharmain
post Sep 22 2011, 03:32 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(mezzi-quan @ Sep 22 2011, 03:24 PM)
its like dat wan, they dun wan to print out or display their price cos they always chnge their price........today it might b rm138, then tomoro it wil chnge to rm190..........if u r lucky, then u get the lower price, if u r unlucky, then u wil hav to pay more
Dang!!... honestly the pricing for a gym membership these days is becoming a rip-off. Paying 175 myself at Fitness First. Even though its a passport member, still feel it a tad bit too pricey.
SUSPepper
post Sep 22 2011, 03:35 PM

427 posts

i wonder how come the ppl who's trying to sell you gym membership doesn't lift weight themselves?
mikehuan
post Sep 22 2011, 04:28 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(Pepper @ Sep 22 2011, 03:35 PM)
i wonder how come the ppl who's trying to sell you gym membership doesn't lift weight themselves?
because they arent required to.

my experience:
went to celebrity fitness in subang parade for a walkaround, because i got bored walking around. naturally a salesperson jumped at the chance to give me a tour around the place, which i did.

now, since i was already a FF member i was absolutely not interested in joining, and the sales guy sensed that. when he sat me down to talk about joining i was already ready to leave. i gave a lot of reasons of not joining the place. told them i live too far from there and i am already going to one of those ghetto gyms.

he ended up discounting so much from the starting price, RM200+ to around RM130 or RM140?

so act like you are REALLY not interested and really eager to get out of there, might be a good tactic heh

oh he gave me a 7 day trial coupon when i said no and left >.<

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:52 AM