7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Projector no more hot as Home Theater?, last time so many thread. Now no more.y?

SUSgogo2
post Jan 21 2011, 11:16 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jan 21 2011, 09:13 PM)
To me..

It is.. considerin blck lvls, brightness/contrast n lcos tech [dila, if u r gonna be anal..] wif 'dust-no-issue' n no rbe's.. ya, I d say tis is my dream PJ [I m a poor man .. u see tongue.gif ]

Of cos its not for everybdy.. n proj issues r stil ther in bulb life/ambient lite..

D
oh, but my budget is not rm8k... got anything around rm4k? 720p also I dun mind. But I don't want the color wheel because
I'm very sensitive to rainbow effect. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 21 2011, 10:50 PM)
Hope this kills the myth that Plasma is on the way out and all those 'obsolete' tech rubbish once and for all. As far as PQ is concern, Plasma is still top dog.

"Plasma televisions have seen a major decrease in pricing. The price difference and aggressive LCD TV marketing has given the illusion that plasma televisions are on their way out. But that's not true. Plasma televisions are known for their true-to- life picture quality and affordability over the alternatives."

http://www.ehow.com/about_5379396_plasma-vs-led-tvs.html
I'm all for PQ. I'm Plasma afficianados. So each time people ask me I'll said buy plasma. But 9 out of 10 people will said buy LCD/LED.
This is deep into the society already. I believe that its hard to shake this off. At least in Malaysia, I believe people just buy LCD because
of bad advice from people around them. If can, I wanna shoot everyone that say LCD is better. sad.gif
Andrewtst
post Jan 22 2011, 09:26 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,781 posts

Just seen high end model of plasma yesterday, I go check all model as I can seen without checking it is plasma or LCD/LED. I still can know it is plasma or LCD/LED. Not the reflection issue as few LED model also with reflection.

It was too easier to spot it is plasma even with correct distance stand. I know how smooth and how black are plasma. Sorry to said it is still not my liking.

Let wait and see which tech will be 1st out. No point argue here, anymore this is projector thread.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 22 2011, 09:50 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 22 2011, 09:26 AM)
Just seen high end model of plasma yesterday, I go check all model as I can seen without checking it is plasma or LCD/LED. I still can know it is plasma or LCD/LED. Not the reflection issue as few LED model also with reflection.

It was too easier to spot it is plasma even with correct distance stand. I know how smooth and how black are plasma. Sorry to said it is still not my liking.

Let wait and see which tech will be 1st out. No point argue here, anymore this is projector thread.
So do you get to see those lines you mentioned earlier? And which model did you check out?

And yes, I think you are right to say it's possible to tell which is which. For me, watching LED for any length of time literally brings tear to my eyes because they are far too bright/harsh for me.

To me, the LED pictures are very sharp and in fact, can be excessively sharp sometimes to the point of being artificial and watching Transformer2 is pretty obvious. For that, I think LED super sharp image would be more suitable to those playing video game or watching cartoons. But when it comes to watching human skin tones as in movies, I am not so sure super-sharp is a good thing.

This situation is similar to these other interest of mine:
1. Vinyl vs CD sound. CD sound can be super clean but ultimately, sounded clinical to me and devoid of much emotion. As for vinyl, despite it's crackle and pop 'dirty' sound due to scratches etc, sound more musical or analog to me. LED is like the digital CD. Plasma is like the analogy vinyl. And we can agree vinyl is really an obsolete tech.

2. Pocket digital camera without touch up. Nikon's tends to be super sharp due to more software sharpening but skin tones are less natural. Canon tends to be softer but color is more natural. In this case, LED are like Nikon whereas Plasma are like the Canon.

So at the end of the day, it's up to individual's preference. And all those ridiculous talk about Plasma being 'obsolete' tech shouldn't have anything to do with decision nor perpetrated as urban myth.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 22 2011, 09:52 AM
Andrewtst
post Jan 22 2011, 10:05 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,781 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 22 2011, 09:50 AM)
So do you get to see those lines you mentioned earlier? And which model did you check out?

And yes, I think you are right to say it's possible to tell which is which. For me, watching LED for any length of time literally brings tear to my eyes because they are far too bright/harsh for me.

To me, the LED pictures are very sharp and in fact, can be excessively sharp sometimes to the point of being artificial and watching Transformer2 is pretty obvious. For that, I think LED super sharp image would be more suitable to those playing video game or watching cartoons. But when it comes to watching human skin tones as in movies, I am not so sure super-sharp is a good thing.

This situation is similar to these other interest of mine:
1. Vinyl vs CD sound. CD sound can be super clean but ultimately, sounded clinical to me and devoid of much emotion. As for vinyl, despite it's crackle and pop 'dirty' sound due to scratches etc, sound more musical or analog to me. LED is like the digital CD. Plasma is like the analogy vinyl. And we can agree vinyl is really an obsolete tech.

2. Pocket digital camera without touch up. Nikon's tends to be super sharp due to more software sharpening but skin tones are less natural. Canon tends to be softer but color is more natural. In this case, LED are like Nikon whereas Plasma are like the Canon.

So at the end of the day, it's up to individual's preference. And all those ridiculous talk about Plasma being 'obsolete' tech shouldn't have anything to do with decision nor perpetrated as urban myth.
Haha. ..... agree.....

I not remember the model. It is Panasonic 40inch around RM3.7k
The line not that obvious in correct distance stand and ok.... from your Point...maybe it not sharp enough for me.

From all your sample given, I more digital maybe. I choose CD over vinyl. Pocket camera I do choose Canon but DSLR is Nikon for me.

I prefer LCD/LED as it is sharp enough and bright enough for me. I don't feel non comfortable but less bright do give me uncomfortable.

For me human skin need to be sharp to see the clarity. But cartoon (not 3D) need to less sharp as sharpness on cartoon sometimes given artifacts on it.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jan 22 2011, 10:08 AM
anfieldude
post Jan 22 2011, 10:13 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 22 2011, 10:05 AM)
Haha. ..... agree.....

I not remember the model. It is Panasonic 40inch around RM3.7k
The line not that obvious in correct distance stand and ok.... from your Point...maybe it not sharp enough for me.

From all your sample given, I more digital maybe. I choose CD over vinyl. Pocket camera I do choose Canon but DSLR is Nikon for me.

I prefer LCD/LED as it is sharp enough and bright enough for me. I don't feel non comfortable but less bright do give me uncomfortable.

For me human skin need to be sharp to see the clarity. But cartoon (not 3D) need to less sharp as sharpness on cartoon sometimes given artifacts on it.
Andrew,

Enjoy what u like as its the most important criteria.
DannyOP
post Jan 22 2011, 10:31 AM

5,220 posts

IMHO picture should mirror reality that's why purists will choose plasma over LCD or led anytime. When u are in the real world you don't see super sharp or super vivid images. So in a way LCD and led looks fake and cartoon like. I believe projector image also is more accurate compared to LCD/led.
ericcc
post Jan 22 2011, 10:50 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(ariff_tech @ Jan 21 2011, 03:39 PM)
projector Lamp "tak tahan lama", 5000hrs only.
LCD can go up to 100000hrs.

now we all talking about 3D tech, 3D lcd and plasma easy to get, 3D projector hard to find

the only display consider obsolete is CRT( now who want to argue with me on this) he. he.

PS. My AC-outlet extension/expansion cable oledy burn two month ago, i oledy bought new one and now it already producing bzzzzzzzz... sound. its KHIND brand. Any one can suggest me a good AC-outlet extension/expansion cable,
i need for ganged socket with total power consumption around 2000W.
HI,

try Belkin, its good quality, higher price but it works perfectly, protects yr eqpmt against power surges, lightning strikes,etc . it also ensures the exact voltage gets supplied. AND got insurance for your stuff too! AND got life-time warranty rclxms.gif I use that for my PC get-up, 24-7 for 3 years now smile.gif

on the other hand my cheap one (Nesly, those hypermarket brands) for the TV giving problems (power point not working after one month) so time to go to Belkin reseller soon.

This post has been edited by ericcc: Jan 22 2011, 10:56 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 22 2011, 10:59 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ariff_tech @ Jan 21 2011, 03:39 PM)

the only display consider obsolete is CRT( now who want to argue with me on this) he. he.
I want. I want. CRT is not obsolete when you want to watch Standard Definition program. They still have superior picture quality when viewing those compared to Plasma/LCD/LED tongue.gif
Andrewtst
post Jan 22 2011, 12:59 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,781 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 22 2011, 10:31 AM)
IMHO picture should mirror reality that's why purists will choose plasma over LCD or led anytime. When u are in the real world you don't see super sharp or super vivid images. So in a way LCD and led looks fake and cartoon like. I believe projector image also is more accurate compared to LCD/led.
We are living in reality, they is no point seing reality. Some more most movie ain't real, how many movie capture in real color? Most is unrealistic color tone. If so love on reality then just open window see out, that is reality. Don't ever watch any movie as it is unreal.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 22 2011, 01:09 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 22 2011, 12:59 PM)
We are living in reality, they is no point seing reality. Some more most movie ain't real, how many movie capture in real color? Most is unrealistic color tone. If so love on reality then just open window see out, that is reality. Don't ever watch any movie as it is unreal.
I don't buy that. If what you said is correct then we will all be watching vivid colored cartoon instead of movies with real human actor with dull colored skin tones. Likewise, we should all be listening to synthesized music instead of piano etc. For us buying Plasma, while we know we can never get 100% natural color, we try to get a TV that comes closes to it.

Now I can truly understand why you don't like the more natural color of Plasma. You prefers vivid (I called it less natural) color of LCD/LED. Nothing wrong with that. Just personal preference.

Andrewtst
post Jan 22 2011, 01:17 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,781 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 22 2011, 01:09 PM)
I don't buy that. If what you said is correct then we will all be watching vivid colored cartoon instead of movies with real human actor with dull colored skin tones.  Likewise, we should all be listening to synthesized music instead of piano etc. For us buying Plasma, while we know we can never get 100% natural color, we try to get a TV that comes closes to it.

Now I can truly understand why you don't like the more natural color of Plasma. You prefers vivid (I called it less natural) color of LCD/LED. Nothing wrong with that. Just personal preference.
Actually all new TV can fine tune as you like to more vivid or more natural. Normatter is plasma or LCD/LED.

I do love vivid and nature, I love in between. smile.gif

Plasma the only win is it motion smoothness.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jan 22 2011, 01:19 PM
dirtrun
post Jan 22 2011, 01:17 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 21 2011, 11:16 PM)
oh, but my budget is not rm8k... got anything around rm4k? 720p also I dun mind. But I don't want the color wheel because
I'm very sensitive to rainbow effect. tongue.gif

Bro,

Hv u tried d 3 color wheel dlps.. they r supposed to minimize rbe to a certain extent..

I dont tink u can get any projs b-lo 4k here in bolehland.. hd 20 oso abv tat.. I tink..
I d suggest to tompang a frnd/buddy/brother who is goin to US.. Over there, a basic epson 1080p [8100/8350] lcd pj is less than USD1k..

D

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 22 2011, 01:22 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 22 2011, 01:17 PM)
Actually all new TV can fine tune as you like to more vivid or more natural. Normatter is plasma or LCD/LED.

Sure you can fine tune all you want till the cows come home but at the end of the day, Plasma's picture is generally still more natural than LCD/LED. This is a pretty much accepted fact.

So there you have it. You are 70% into vivid color and I am 70% into natural color so we choose different TV.

p.s I bet you also play video game (requires vivid color) whereas I don't. Another reason why you picked LCD/LED and I didn't.

DannyOP
post Jan 22 2011, 01:56 PM

5,220 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 22 2011, 12:59 PM)
I don't buy this either. I can't imagine anyone tuning the colour till human skin turns orange so it becomes vivid. In most cases movie reproduction mimics reality and what is intended for us to view is as close as possible to it. Unless u like everyone looking like homer Simpson then I understand why. If most movie u watch is unrealistic colour tone then somethings wrong with your tv. Time to upgrade to plasma tongue.gif

This post has been edited by DannyOP: Jan 22 2011, 01:59 PM
piscesguy
post Jan 22 2011, 02:55 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

For movies, my preference is Projector > Plasma > LCD.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 22 2011, 03:27 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 22 2011, 02:55 PM)
For movies, my preference is Projector > Plasma > LCD.
Was it because of size or color?

piscesguy
post Jan 22 2011, 03:34 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 22 2011, 03:27 PM)
Was it because of size or color?
Projector > Plasma because of size.

Plasma > LCD because of it's natural color.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 22 2011, 04:24 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 22 2011, 01:17 PM)

Just a thought. If you love vivid color, why don't you buy Sony? IMHO, Sony's HDTV has one of the the sharpest and most vivid color amongst them all. Personally I can't stand Sony because their colors are so unnatural, most suited for cartoon and video games.
SUSgogo2
post Jan 22 2011, 05:20 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jan 22 2011, 01:17 PM)
Bro,

Hv u tried d 3 color wheel dlps.. they r supposed to minimize rbe to a certain extent..

I dont tink u can get any projs b-lo 4k here in bolehland.. hd 20 oso abv tat.. I tink..
I d suggest to tompang a frnd/buddy/brother who is goin to US.. Over there, a basic epson 1080p [8100/8350] lcd pj is less than USD1k..

D
I'm going to Taiwan soon. Not sure if Taiwan cheaper. hmm.gif

bro, I realised if you get LED DLP, the lamp last 20,000 hours or more. I saw the Acer 10k is rm1700 but is wvga only. sad.gif

Not sure if got DLP LED for 720p in Malaysia or not =.=||
dirtrun
post Jan 22 2011, 05:43 PM

3,136 posts

Haha..

If u r goin to buy pjs based on d no of hrs, its bulb life is.. then happy huntin...

Better stay wif flat panels
D

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0252sec    1.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:02 AM