Better get custom made n with good
material. U can add whatever accessories
by yourself...,Blum ...grass etc.
Don't take melamine wood lor, if can
IKEA kitchen cabinets, any previous experience? quality?
Jun 17 2011, 12:45 AM
1,811 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Better get custom made n with good
material. U can add whatever accessories by yourself...,Blum ...grass etc. Don't take melamine wood lor, if can |
May 24 2012, 09:20 AM
5 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
hi..i used ikea wall cabinet (Avsikt aluminium). Almost 7 years old now but still look great and i had no problem with doors, hinges or else.
Why i chose ikea cabinet? I had survey the same design but the price much higher. Finally i bought from ikea and my hubby did the installation. I only spend over rm980 for 8 feets (240cm) wall cabinet which have good quality aluminium compared to my base cabinet door (not from IKEA). I'm not obsessed with IKEA but it honestly from my experience. I plan to revamp my kitchen this july and definitely i will choose IKEA cabinet for my dry kitchen. I had started my measuring to get the perfect design and i free to choose which doors and style i want. For me that's the beauty of mix and match cabinets. Thank you |
May 24 2012, 09:50 AM
427 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(weemax @ May 24 2012, 09:20 AM) hi..i used ikea wall cabinet (Avsikt aluminium). Almost 7 years old now but still look great and i had no problem with doors, hinges or else. Thanks for the valuable feedback.Why i chose ikea cabinet? I had survey the same design but the price much higher. Finally i bought from ikea and my hubby did the installation. I only spend over rm980 for 8 feets (240cm) wall cabinet which have good quality aluminium compared to my base cabinet door (not from IKEA). I'm not obsessed with IKEA but it honestly from my experience. I plan to revamp my kitchen this july and definitely i will choose IKEA cabinet for my dry kitchen. I had started my measuring to get the perfect design and i free to choose which doors and style i want. For me that's the beauty of mix and match cabinets. Thank you I also plan to get my kitchen and maybe most of the stuff (if can find) from Ikea. I've also calculated and planned for everything for the kitchen and it should cost me around the most 5k+ only including installation. All bottom cabinets. I also have another friend who is an ikea fan as well, having everything ikea in his apartment. So far, there is not a complain from him on the kitchen cabinets. I guess it's doing quite well. |
May 24 2012, 10:27 PM
281 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(Shazzac @ May 24 2012, 09:50 AM) Thanks for the valuable feedback. IKEA have 10% now up to July 2012.I also plan to get my kitchen and maybe most of the stuff (if can find) from Ikea. I've also calculated and planned for everything for the kitchen and it should cost me around the most 5k+ only including installation. All bottom cabinets. I also have another friend who is an ikea fan as well, having everything ikea in his apartment. So far, there is not a complain from him on the kitchen cabinets. I guess it's doing quite well. |
May 24 2012, 10:44 PM
427 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Oct 28 2012, 11:21 PM
190 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Saw a very simple kitchen cabinet complete with hob and hood ( gas cooker, not electric type) around 5k+ including installation. Thought of getting it for my condo to be rented out. Is it advisable? Are the hob and hood of good quality?
Jan 3 2016, 10:41 PM
1,146 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Anymore review from Ikea Kitchen Cabinet?
Jan 10 2016, 10:51 PM
1,936 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: KL |
Just get the cost for installation works
- outstation charge outside KV rm100 - install base cabinet rm90/m run - install cover panel rm37/m run - install sink & tap rm170 set - install hob rm85/unit - install hood rm85/unit, if drill hole rm350/hole, if install ducting rmxx..can't remember - cutting worktop rm85/hole (for hob or sink) Modification inlet for kitchen sink rm85. If your current sink is around 80-90cm, no need to modified That's all... |
Jan 15 2016, 12:36 PM
1,146 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(potenza10 @ Jan 10 2016, 10:51 PM) Just get the cost for installation works If my sink & tap is not source from Ikea, they will install it? Or I have to find my own contractor to do it?- outstation charge outside KV rm100 - install base cabinet rm90/m run - install cover panel rm37/m run - install sink & tap rm170 set - install hob rm85/unit - install hood rm85/unit, if drill hole rm350/hole, if install ducting rmxx..can't remember - cutting worktop rm85/hole (for hob or sink) Modification inlet for kitchen sink rm85. If your current sink is around 80-90cm, no need to modified That's all... Also, their counter top, I found kinda expensive. If I jz purchase cabinet from them, counter top source from outside, how is it? |
Jan 15 2016, 01:58 PM
1,936 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: KL |
QUOTE(veron4best @ Jan 15 2016, 12:36 PM) If my sink & tap is not source from Ikea, they will install it? Or I have to find my own contractor to do it? They will install even u bought kitchen sink from outside. For counter top, not sure if it will affecting the warranty if u install non Ikea counter top.Also, their counter top, I found kinda expensive. If I jz purchase cabinet from them, counter top source from outside, how is it? |
May 7 2016, 07:48 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
330 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
QUOTE(veron4best @ Jan 15 2016, 01:36 PM) If my sink & tap is not source from Ikea, they will install it? Or I have to find my own contractor to do it? I thought they will not drill hole for hood?Also, their counter top, I found kinda expensive. If I jz purchase cabinet from them, counter top source from outside, how is it? |
May 7 2016, 08:45 PM
2,006 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(potenza10 @ Jan 10 2016, 10:51 PM) Just get the cost for installation works what is cover panel? the panel in between each cabinet? how about wall cabinet? separate cost?- outstation charge outside KV rm100 - install base cabinet rm90/m run - install cover panel rm37/m run - install sink & tap rm170 set - install hob rm85/unit - install hood rm85/unit, if drill hole rm350/hole, if install ducting rmxx..can't remember - cutting worktop rm85/hole (for hob or sink) Modification inlet for kitchen sink rm85. If your current sink is around 80-90cm, no need to modified That's all... |
May 8 2016, 08:46 AM
63 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
love ikea kitchen cabinets.
good if you are a DIYer. you can start of with just their basic cabinet without doors and frills - very cheap. once you have budget then you can add the doors yourself [its the doors etc that are expensive]. door are very easy to install. you can even go to a granite shop ask them to install a granite countertop for you. and best of all if you are fed up with the design, change the doors etc every so often. - very good if you are a DIYer and makes you feel like a MAN |
May 15 2016, 10:29 AM
942 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
anyone compare ikea cabinet with outside cabinet contractor?
how is ikea feedbaclk? |
May 15 2016, 10:28 PM
8,740 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
May 19 2016, 02:10 PM
3,988 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL |
Anyone wanna show more photo and review their IKEA kitchen?
Jun 5 2016, 11:48 PM
11,308 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(NewEdgeSafetyDoor @ Jun 5 2016, 02:06 PM) Ikea furniture. If IKEA kitchen cabinets can only last couple of years, why would they give a 25 years warranty?It's all about making furnitures with designer looks and sell at affordable prices. As long as you understand, the equation of QUALITY VS PRICE. then you will get the answer you want. Good Quality NOT CHEAP BAD Quality NOT ALWAYS CHEAP too. Good Quality AND CHEAP = something wrong. Bad Quality AND EXPENSIVE = hmm.. IKEA furniture is good to use for couple of years, not a lifetime. =) |
Jun 6 2016, 10:51 AM
2,034 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
IKEA furniture can absolutely last a lifetime. 25 years is no problem - I know ppl with a 30 year old IKEA kitchen. surprisingly its in great condition still. only thing that looks a bit worn are the doors. some good use a new coat of laquer but that is all. just understand that IKEAS sells cheap stuff too (i.e. the low end kitchen) which is meant as a first time kitchen in your first one-bedroom apartment, sthg like that. the good kitchen is ment to last and it wont be cheap either
Jun 6 2016, 04:35 PM
269 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
As long no water and air can get into the boards, it will be fine for a long time. It is slightly expensive but it is a more superior product in comparison of the similar likes in the market.
The problem I always have with Ikea prodcts is there are some manufacturers that provides similar quality or better with way better looks though. For that I usually don't buy Ikea products..... |
Jun 6 2016, 05:32 PM
2,034 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
this thread is about the kitchen cabinets right? if you look at faktum or their current replacement kitchen i seriously doubt you can get any better (with professional installation) from a kitchen cabinet maker for the price. if you buy their (crappy) entry level kitche you should not be surprised its not a miele kitchen
but their proper kitchen is - imho - unbeatable value. we spend only approx. 1/4 of what we would have to pay for a similar design with a reputable competitor. we got a great service and good installation with the workers waterproofing every single cut they made. they even installed all the appliances despite none of them being from IKEA. if you know of a better offer for a kitchen cabinet with better quality, installation and after-sales-support (sparepart and warranty) - please do let everyone know. i searched high end low when we did ours 12 yrs ago and essentially had no choice. the next best offer was 4x as much. |
| Change to: | 0.0252sec
5 queries
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:48 PM |