Do you put your child in a carseat?

TSphythia79
post Jan 15 2011, 11:37 AM, updated 14y ago

398 posts

Hi Parents!

Just wanted to check if anyone of you here really make it a point to get your child to sit in the car seat..seeing noticeably that the road accidents are on the rise. Overseas, it's mandatory to have baby and kids in a carseat whereas here is still not needed.

I started putting my son into a carseat ever since he was born. Started first with the rear-facing carseat and then when he reached 1yo..i upgraded to the forward-facing carseat.

I spent about Rm600 for a Halford brand (i think i got the name right) which is a British brand for the forward-facing one. I feel that the money spent on the carseat is worth it as it's for safety reasons.

What about you parents out there?

This post has been edited by phythia79: Jan 15 2011, 11:40 AM
elninotorres
post Jan 15 2011, 01:13 PM

109 posts

Yes Im also put my child into the carseat..just follow the manual..and drive carefully..

moorish
post Jan 15 2011, 01:43 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

ditto, otherwise how to go kai kai with my bb
nicKit
post Jan 15 2011, 01:44 PM

374 posts

i wish i could brain wash my hubby to buy me a car seat...
Syd G
post Jan 15 2011, 01:47 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(nicKit @ Jan 15 2011, 01:44 PM)
i wish i could brain wash my hubby to buy me a car seat...
Get someone to give it to you brows.gif

Yes for me. Since Day 1.

nicKit
post Jan 15 2011, 01:59 PM

374 posts

syd, like who? u? whistling.gif
Learjet35
post Jan 15 2011, 02:01 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

yes,u should put your child in the carseat in case anything happen,but the price quiet expensive.but still,to compared with your child life,its really worth the money.. smile.gif
auhckw
post Jan 15 2011, 05:34 PM

1,008 posts

My son (soon to be 15 months) cannot sit in the car seat for more than 5 minutes. Will struggle to get out. If we force him to be in there, he will cry cry cry... sigh...
TSphythia79
post Jan 16 2011, 08:21 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(moorish @ Jan 15 2011, 01:43 PM)
ditto, otherwise how to go kai kai with my bb
Yups...that's the first thing I had to get so that I don't need to depend on my hubby to bring me go Kai Kai.

Nickit: yeah... Shd get one of your family or friends to buy wink.gif.

Maybe you can also get some articles about the importance of a babyseat. It's not only when u go out alone but for every time that the baby travels with u and hubby in the car. I read somewhere that if u carry your baby in your arms and if an accident happens...the baby acts like an airbag to protect u. So which means your baby will still get hurt quite bad.

You can also tell your hubby an example if u don't wear seatbelt you'll get flung out..so is the same if a baby/child is not buckled up.

Added on January 16, 2011, 8:30 am
QUOTE(auhckw @ Jan 15 2011, 05:34 PM)
My son (soon to be 15 months) cannot sit in the car seat for more than 5 minutes. Will struggle to get out. If we force him to be in there, he will cry cry cry... sigh...
He cries because he's not used to it and probably hates being confined. It's quite normal. My son does cry when the journey is long or is just bored. it's quite distracting but I'm quite firm and just let him cry. Eventually he would stop.

For long journeys, if he has sat in the caraway for more than 2 hrs, I'll stop at a resthouse for him just to stretch his legs.

Another thing...if u wanna try to put him in the carseat..make sure he's contented (well fed and rested) and then try driving nearby first.

This post has been edited by phythia79: Jan 16 2011, 08:30 AM
moorish
post Jan 16 2011, 09:45 AM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Jan 15 2011, 02:01 PM)
yes,u should put your child in the carseat in case anything happen,but the price quiet expensive.but still,to compared with your child life,its really worth the money.. smile.gif
you can buy the cheaper local brands like sweetcherry, my bb first year car seat RM108, then switch to front facing seat RM299.

Added on January 16, 2011, 9:48 am
sometimes my bb gets cranky as well, keep her occupied with things, toys, handphone, biscuit - food yeah it works most time.

This post has been edited by moorish: Jan 16 2011, 09:48 AM
mghong
post Jan 16 2011, 06:16 PM

450 posts

at first we also think of that, but once our baby sit on it and each time she will fall sleep on it...smile.gif

remember those carseat are all make from country where temp is cold , alway blow the aircon to the back(my carseat is behind my driver seat) .

sometime she also like to sit there for snack n play with her toy . Put something to let them feel enjoy instead of boring sitting there...ahahah

TSphythia79
post Jan 16 2011, 10:11 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(mghong @ Jan 16 2011, 06:16 PM)
at first we also think of that, but once our baby sit on it and each time she will fall sleep on it...smile.gif

remember those carseat are all make from country where temp is cold , alway blow the aircon to the back(my carseat is behind my driver seat) .

sometime she also like to sit there for snack n play with her toy . Put something to let them feel enjoy instead of boring sitting there...ahahah
Hi mghong,

Out of curiosity..why do you place your carseat behind the driver seat? Coz i was wondering that it may be difficult if you are driving..and you need to take a look at your baby..

merchant9
post Jan 17 2011, 09:42 AM

628 posts

I want to ask, how old only can a baby sit on a car seat? Or rather, how many months old only it is safe to bring baby outdoors to shopping and etc?
Joey Christensen
post Jan 17 2011, 09:48 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

Many parents worry about taking a very young baby outside the house. In fact, in some cultures moms and babies are sequestered inside for a month or longer. But there’s no medical reason not to take a healthy baby out of the house.

Fresh air and a change of pace can be good for people of any age, including babies. It's exposure to other people that can cause a baby to become sick.

To avoid exposing your baby to unwanted germs, limit the time you spend in close quarters with crowds. Make sure anyone who wants to hold or touch your baby washes his/her hands. Finally, stay away from anyone who's sick.

Jennifer Shu, Pediatrician

Regards, Joey
TSphythia79
post Jan 17 2011, 09:49 AM

398 posts

there are 2 types of car seat- rear-facing ad forward facing. For newborns till 1 yr old, they should be in the rear facing. After 1 yr, you can upgrade it to forward facing.

You can read more about car seats at www.babycenter.com. This the site where I get lots of information.

It depends on each parents to decide when to bring their baby out. I brought my son out in his 2nd month..but just to a restaurant. During that time was the Influenza-A outbreak, so i avoided crowded places.

I started bringing him out when he was about 3 months plus but usually with someone along - hubby or mom.
hyzam1212
post Jan 17 2011, 10:03 AM

**Fantasista**
1,681 posts

Yep, my son also (2years plus) and he likes to stand at the back sit with my wife. I agreed about the functionality of babay seat and most of them dont like to be confined but is it the best way to let your child cries until he or she stop in order to train them to sit on the car seat? And my son does not sleep easily.
Syd G
post Jan 17 2011, 10:13 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(hyzam1212 @ Jan 17 2011, 10:03 AM)
Yep, my son also (2years plus) and he likes to stand at the back sit with my wife. I agreed about the functionality of babay seat and most of them dont like to be confined but is it the best way to let your child cries until he or she stop in order to train them to sit on the car seat? And my son does not sleep easily.
That's where parenting comes in. Kids dont want to do a lot of stuff, it's our job to make them do what's right.

I have a cousin whom had 32 stitches on her head when she was 2 because she was flung around the car when it hit a cow at 70km/h. Her mom, sitting in front with baby on lap died because of head trauma - she didnt wear seat belt. The couple had 4 kids under 4.

So I'm buckling my kids down - no negotiations. Scream all you want - I'd rather tolerate a noisy child than a dead child.

faceless
post Jan 17 2011, 10:46 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

QUOTE(nicKit @ Jan 15 2011, 01:59 PM)
syd, like who? u? whistling.gif
Friends who had used it and now their infants had turn into children.
moorish
post Jan 17 2011, 11:08 AM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

when I first started training my bb oso seem impossible, she kept on crying and every chance I get I've to turn around, its quite dangerous and seem impossible to achieve. The crying oso damn stressful when you're driving.

Then we put her on the front seat, tried to disable the passenger airbag but tak boleh, so we took a chance, push the car seat all the way behind, only when she is in the front seat and can see me she can seat quietly.
TSphythia79
post Jan 17 2011, 11:12 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jan 17 2011, 10:13 AM)
That's where parenting comes in. Kids dont want to do a lot of stuff, it's our job to make them do what's right.

I have a cousin whom had 32 stitches on her head when she was 2 because she was flung around the car when it hit a cow at 70km/h. Her mom, sitting in front with baby on lap died because of head trauma - she didnt wear seat belt. The couple had 4 kids under 4.

So I'm buckling my kids down - no negotiations. Scream all you want - I'd rather tolerate a noisy child than a dead child.
Syd G...I totally agree with you. Sometime, we as human..tend to think that it won't happen to us..but..like the saying goes "Malang tidak berbau".

I too rather tolerate a noisy child than a dead one.

ijnek
post Jan 17 2011, 02:06 PM

566 posts

my children r against the child seat.
they will struggle to get out.
so no child seat in the car.
but i hv a rotan in the car, works magic...hahahah

born in the 80s, i grew up with the rotan.
still ok, they won't really run riot in the car
TSphythia79
post Jan 17 2011, 02:13 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(ijnek @ Jan 17 2011, 02:06 PM)

Hmmm..even with the help of the rotan..if there's an accident (touchwood)...i doubt it is safe..as they aren't using any seat belts. Forgive me if i'm wrong..even if a child behaves like an angel in a car...but is not using the seatbelt/ car seat..it's still dangerous.

We may be driving cautiously but we don't know about the other drivers that may hit into our cars (ie drunk drivers, mat rempits).
nicKit
post Jan 17 2011, 02:23 PM

374 posts

phythia, no one wanna give me car seat cry.gif

faceless, err... frens i still keep in contact have kids like mine... how to ask them give their car seat? sigh...
qarezma
post Jan 17 2011, 02:47 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Jan 17 2011, 09:42 AM)
I want to ask, how old only can a baby sit on a car seat? Or rather, how many months old only it is safe to bring baby outdoors to shopping and etc?
baby can sit in carseat as earlier as newborn, the infant seats come with head support.

I started bringing my baby travelling in the car during 1 month old, and after 2 month old i started bringing him out shopping or makan2. Baby needs to get used to the environment outside, see people and kind of build earlier social skills, otherwise, one fine day when u hv a large crowd at your house, your baby might get shocked and fuss a lot. Of course, make sure all hygiene, safety, etc is practiced when u go out with baby.

Added on January 17, 2011, 2:48 pm
QUOTE(nicKit @ Jan 17 2011, 02:23 PM)
phythia, no one wanna give me car seat cry.gif

faceless, err... frens i still keep in contact have kids like mine... how to ask them give their car seat? sigh...
invest in a simple car seat la... sweet cherry or mydear can get <rm300, u can use it for your next baby oso

This post has been edited by qarezma: Jan 17 2011, 02:48 PM
hyzam1212
post Jan 17 2011, 04:02 PM

**Fantasista**
1,681 posts

Yep, I agreed with you, i am considering taking the babyseat for my son coz the second one is coming soon. no place for him at d back in d future. You have more than one child I presumed, must be a ruckus in the car rclxub.gif

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jan 17 2011, 11:12 AM)
Syd G...I totally agree with you.  Sometime, we as human..tend to think that it won't happen to us..but..like the saying goes "Malang tidak berbau". 

I too rather tolerate a noisy child than a dead one.
I totally agreed with your saying icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(ijnek @ Jan 17 2011, 02:06 PM)

Thats a good way for your children, old school method brows.gif I am planning to introduce the seat to my son but I'm suggesting like better start with a short journey first, let him play with toys and books. I think find the way to make them concentrate on the seat is the better way to go rite. If not we go to step number two, the harsh treatment icon_idea.gif
ijnek
post Jan 17 2011, 04:28 PM

566 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jan 17 2011, 02:13 PM)
Hmmm..even with the help of the rotan..if there's an accident (touchwood)...i doubt it is safe..as they aren't using any seat belts. Forgive me if i'm wrong..even if a child behaves like an angel in a car...but is not using the seatbelt/ car seat..it's still dangerous. 

We may be driving cautiously but we don't know about the other drivers that may hit into our cars (ie drunk drivers, mat rempits).
i agreed with u.
never over-estimated our own driving ability.
if kids r in car, i drive slow and jus give way give way give way.
it's annoying, but no choice.
richpro
post Jan 18 2011, 04:51 AM

Hi, I hope you did get the cars eat for your baby. It is a small investment for the safety of your child. Both of my children are in car seats since day one. In North America, it is the law. If that doesn't change your mind, please look at the following article. Accidents do happen even if you are a careful driver.

http://www.carseat.se/a-swedish-rear-facin...s-another-life/

I live in US, and I would be glad to help you to get one if you can't find a suitable one in Malaysia. Remember to get one with a side impact feature.

Please get the car seat.

TSphythia79
post Jan 18 2011, 09:27 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(richpro @ Jan 18 2011, 04:51 AM)
Hi, I hope you did get the cars eat for your baby. It is a small investment for the safety of your child. Both of my children are in car seats since day one. In North America, it is the law. If that doesn't change your mind, please look at the following article. Accidents do happen even if you are a careful driver.

http://www.carseat.se/a-swedish-rear-facin...s-another-life/

I live in US, and I would be glad to help you to get one if you can't find a suitable one in Malaysia. Remember to get one with a side impact feature.

Please get the car seat.
I agree with you. My carseat has the side impact feature too.

Which comes to the next question, the locally made ones like Sweet Cherry..i wonder if theirs are as compatible with the imported ones? For the fact that since in overseas, it is mandatory to have car seat for children, the car seats manufacturer over there will have to undergo tests to make sure that it meets all the safety requirements. Whereas, since in Malaysia it's not the law, manufacturers here may not manufacture the seats up to par, though it's cheaper.
moorish
post Jan 18 2011, 10:19 AM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jan 18 2011, 09:27 AM)
I agree with you.  My carseat has the side impact feature too.

Which comes to the next question, the locally made ones like Sweet Cherry..i wonder if theirs are as compatible with the imported ones?  For the fact that since in overseas, it is mandatory to have car seat for children, the car seats manufacturer over there will have to undergo tests to make sure that it meets all the safety requirements.  Whereas, since in Malaysia it's not the law, manufacturers here may not manufacture the seats up to par, though it's cheaper.
obviously you cannot compare sweet cherry and combi, but then if you're driving a proton or likewise, its good enuf then:P if you're driving a beemer than get a combi and it'll served its purpose blush.gif
TSphythia79
post Jan 18 2011, 04:50 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(moorish @ Jan 18 2011, 10:19 AM)
obviously you cannot compare sweet cherry and combi, but then if you're driving a proton or likewise, its good enuf then:P  if you're driving a beemer than get a combi and it'll served its purpose blush.gif
You got a point too..

I think the greatest battle first is to emphasize the importance of a carseat.
budakjahat
post Jan 19 2011, 08:04 AM

617 posts

I don't put my kids on baby seats, mostly because when they were smaller, there is usually someone else in the car. Like, hubby will be driving, the baby will sit with me or I carry the baby [edit : We usually sit at the back]. Now my kids are 6+ and almost 3, so am thinking of getting booster seat for the 3 year old... Anybody with experience with booster seats?

This post has been edited by budakjahat: Jan 19 2011, 08:05 AM
SUSeuthanasia
post Jan 20 2011, 01:24 AM

136 posts

I envy u all. My wife and MIL don't like to put my 7 mth old son into the car seat. It annoys me every time but i can't out argue them cause its 2 against 1, and besides my son don't like the seat as well. So i have to endure, my MIL or wife, carrying my son on their laps while i try my best to be as cautious a driver as i possibly can. But u know, shit happens, other cars might run into u.
nicKit
post Jan 20 2011, 01:02 PM

374 posts

euthanasia, u're the opposite from my hb >.<
TSphythia79
post Jan 20 2011, 02:18 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(euthanasia @ Jan 20 2011, 01:24 AM)
I envy u all. My wife and MIL don't like to put my 7 mth old son into the car seat. It annoys me every time but i can't out argue them cause its 2 against 1, and besides my son don't like the seat as well. So i have to endure, my MIL or wife, carrying my son on their laps while i try my best to be as cautious a driver as i possibly can. But u know, shit happens, other cars might run into u.
I agree with you..shit happens. This is the thing that most ppl don't get...they will say that they will drive cautiously but they forget that there are other drivers too that may not be as careful as them. Worst is..if child is on your lap..child is acting as an airbag for you..
SUSeuthanasia
post Jan 23 2011, 03:10 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(nicKit @ Jan 20 2011, 01:02 PM)
euthanasia, u're the opposite from my hb >.<
How so? smile.gif

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jan 20 2011, 02:18 PM)
I agree with you..shit happens. This is the thing that most ppl don't get...they will say that they will drive cautiously but they forget that there are other drivers too that may not be as careful as them. Worst is..if child is on your lap..child is acting as an airbag for you..
Which is why my sister did not bring out her baby out anywhere for 1 whole year. Imagine that.
nicKit
post Jan 23 2011, 10:07 AM

374 posts

euthanasia, my hb dun want a carseat coz he thinks my boy won't even sit in it~! doh.gif but every now n then i'll try to brainwash him... slowly at a time... *evil smile*
Syd G
post Jan 23 2011, 03:47 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(nicKit @ Jan 23 2011, 10:07 AM)
euthanasia, my hb dun want a carseat coz he thinks my boy won't even sit in it~! doh.gif but every now n then i'll try to brainwash him... slowly at a time... *evil smile*
Try put in car seat @ malls. I did that with the Bumbo seat brows.gif
VT-Ten
post Jan 24 2011, 11:53 AM

520 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jan 23 2011, 03:47 PM)
Try put in car seat @ malls. I did that with the Bumbo seat brows.gif
i've had my baby in the carseat when ever he's going out since infant, even if it's a five minute drive to babysitter's home.
you might drive careful and make way for others, but not all drivers drive sensibly.

he's 10 mths old now and doesnt mind the cramp space at the seat. i wonder if that would change when he started to walk?
TSphythia79
post Jan 24 2011, 12:46 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(VT-Ten @ Jan 24 2011, 11:53 AM)
i've had my baby in the carseat when ever he's going out since infant, even if it's a five minute drive to babysitter's home.
you might drive careful and make way for others, but not all drivers drive sensibly.

he's 10 mths old now and doesnt mind the cramp space at the seat. i wonder if that would change when he started to walk?
My son is now 1.5 yo..and so far..he's good in his car seat..though he hates it when it's stationary (ie jam or traffic lights). But I rather tolerate a screaming child. On long journeys, i'll stop at a rest house for him to stretch his legs..for a toddler to sit in the car quietly for abotu 2 hrs plus is considered very good..so that's the award i give him..let him run about for about 15 mins or so before we start the journey again. He'll scream but i'll just let him scream...and then he'll just be quiet..and soon fall asleep.

Added on January 24, 2011, 12:48 pmI believe it's all about letting them get used to it..you can't expect them to get used to it in a day or two...but if you are firm with them..then they'll know that you meant business when it comes to buckling them in the car seat.

This post has been edited by phythia79: Jan 24 2011, 12:48 PM
merchant9
post Jan 24 2011, 02:53 PM

628 posts

Every time we put him into the car seat, he falls asleep, which is a good thing! smile.gif

I'm so glad we got a stroller and the car seat.
budakjahat
post Mar 22 2011, 10:54 AM

617 posts

http://health.yahoo.net/news/s/ap/us_med_car_seats_children
grinner
post Mar 22 2011, 11:53 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(budakjahat @ Mar 22 2011, 10:54 AM)
hrmmm... that gives me something to ponder... since just switched my youngest (9 months old now, but a big, strong baby) from a rear-facing to a front-facing, due mostly to the fact that he looks to have positively out-grown the rear-facing one, and in a small part due to his reluctance to stay lying down i.e. keeps trying to get up. Mind you, my three other children have all been strapped in from the day they left the hospital, so it's not like I am doing it out of ignorance (or apparently I am?).

...anyway, always keep your young uns in the car-seat, however they argue,scream or throw tantrums... the younger they start, the easier it will be... my first child was born in the uk, and the first thing the hospital gave to us was a proper child-seat when they found out we had none (actually, they gave us a whole bunch of stuff, from clothes, diapers, medicines, and even a stroller... yeah I know... it was a used one but still... but that's another story) and were taking him home via taxi. So, coming home I stuck with the whole rigmarole, even when I apparently was the only one interested in the safety of my kids, since both sets of grandparents were tsk'ing and tut'ing, looking at their grandchild being strapped in, especially when they start fussing or crying. Even the wife tries to persuade me to let the aby ride sans carseat for all sorts of reasons e.g. short distance, baby screaming etc but hey, what's the use of being the head of the household when you can't put your foot down especially on something as essential as your child's safety?

...keep'em strapped in... malang memang tidak berbau... it really rankles me when I see apparently educated and loving parents letting their children un-strapped in the car, or even worse, stick their heads/hands out of the window or even the sunroof... I am like, my god doh.gif
TSphythia79
post Mar 22 2011, 12:01 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(grinner @ Mar 22 2011, 11:53 AM)

...keep'em strapped in... malang memang tidak berbau... it really rankles me when I see apparently educated and loving parents letting their children un-strapped in the car, or even worse, stick their heads/hands out of the window or even the sunroof... I am like, my god  doh.gif
Yups..grinner...i'm the same with you..i gelengkan kepala when i see those kids...and sometimes see 2 young kids sitting in the front passenger's seat. I always say..even though we try to be a careful driver when our kids are in the car..but you just don't know about other drivers.
grinner
post Mar 22 2011, 12:15 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Mar 22 2011, 12:01 PM)
Yups..grinner...i'm the same with you..i gelengkan kepala when i see those kids...and sometimes see 2 young kids sitting in the front passenger's seat.  I always say..even though we try to be a careful driver when our kids are in the car..but you just don't know about other drivers.
...Well, kids being kids, they're just doing what's natural for them i.e monsters whistling.gif ... it's the parents I don't understand... everyday when I pick up my two kids from school, I frequently see this lady in a viva, stop her car leaving half on it on the road, leave a small kid on the passanger seat then bring literally a whole brood of kids into the car. there must've been about 7 in the back seat, i kid you not. and each time i am like rclxub.gif ...just came out in the papers today, the 4-yo kid being taken when the car he was in was hijacked after the dad left the car with the engine running to go to the shops for a few minutes... if not for the fact that there was a real kid involved, I would have said 'serves you right' if anything nasty happened... brainless...

... not saying I am anywhere the perfect father of course, but stuff like this really makes me wonder how adults like these function...

This post has been edited by grinner: Mar 22 2011, 12:16 PM
TSphythia79
post Mar 22 2011, 12:26 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(grinner @ Mar 22 2011, 12:15 PM)
...Well, kids being kids, they're just doing what's natural for them i.e monsters  whistling.gif ... it's the parents I don't understand... everyday when I pick up my two kids from school, I frequently see this lady in a viva, stop her car leaving half on it on the road, leave a small kid on the passanger seat then bring literally a whole brood of kids into the car. there must've been about 7 in the back seat, i kid you not. and each time i am like  rclxub.gif ...just came out in the papers today, the 4-yo kid being taken when the car he was in was hijacked after the dad left the car with the engine running to go to the shops for a few minutes... if not for the fact that there was a real kid involved, I would have said 'serves you right' if anything nasty happened... brainless...

... not saying I am anywhere the perfect father of course, but stuff like this really makes me wonder how adults like these function...
It's not the first time this carjack with a kid inside has happened..and really...we never learn from it.
budakjahat
post Mar 24 2011, 11:24 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(budakjahat @ Mar 22 2011, 10:54 AM)
I meant to post something about this, rather than just put up the link, but got called away for something else in the middle of it.

I was interested when the article mentioned kids under 13 should sit at the back seat.. My 6+ sits in front once in a while, and it just occurred to me, that much like her baby brother who's 3, the seat belt doesn't fit her that well too... so how? booster seat too ke?

Though I did see this thingamajig at Jusco once, some kind of seat belt adjuster thingy for small kids.. Alas, didn't bother to read the instructions or labels...

TSphythia79
post Mar 24 2011, 11:28 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(budakjahat @ Mar 24 2011, 11:24 AM)
I meant to post something about this, rather than just put up the link, but got called away for something else in the middle of it.

I was interested when the article mentioned kids under 13 should sit at the back seat.. My 6+ sits in front once in a while, and it just occurred to me, that much like her baby brother who's 3, the seat belt doesn't fit her that well too... so how? booster seat too ke?

Though I did see this thingamajig at Jusco once, some kind of seat belt adjuster thingy for small kids.. Alas, didn't bother to read the instructions or labels...
I think booster seat will be ideal..though i've not come to that stage yet to really look for it. what's this thingamjig that you saw? probably..the next time round..can you please post a picture of it?
budakjahat
post Mar 24 2011, 11:32 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Mar 24 2011, 11:28 AM)
I think booster seat will be ideal..though i've not come to that stage yet to really look for it.  what's this thingamjig that you saw? probably..the next time round..can you please post a picture of it?
It's something like this.. Dunno if it is as safe as having them sit on the booster seat and wear seat belt normally...
TSphythia79
post Mar 24 2011, 11:40 AM

398 posts

Hmmm..interesting. However, i have my doubts when it comes to these kind of 'inventions'. I'd rather get the real mccoy..then something that may look of similar function but not sure if it really functions the same.

Judging from the photo..it looks like the seatbelt is still lose and the child can still wriggle his way out. Whereas, if a booster seat..i think it can be adjusted to snugly fit the child.

That's my personal point of view.
tang niu
post Mar 24 2011, 02:04 PM

87 posts

since 1 mth give him car carrier and turn 1 change to car seat.
i told him that he need to be stay in car seat and will bring him go gai gai
fortunely, he very co-operate with me. so far very enjoy bring him out alone
grinner
post Mar 24 2011, 04:53 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(budakjahat @ Mar 24 2011, 11:24 AM)

...think booster seat is the way to go. My 4 yo just graduated from a carseat to using a booster seat, and though he pleads once in a while to not use the booster seat like his two older siblings, I told him he does not fit in the seatbelts yet and if anything happens, he might get hurt. And I tell him he does not want to end up like the kakak in the safety commercials that were on not that long ago (about this girl who came into class with a bruised and knocked up face due to her parents not using seatbelts on her). Works every time whistling.gif
digitax
post Aug 12 2011, 12:00 PM

512 posts

anyone interested?

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1994998
metaltooth
post Sep 21 2011, 04:10 PM

45 posts

hi sifus -

i've got few questions :

1) can we put the newborn(between 1-14days old) into the carseat? i need to travel 3hrs journey
2) there are few models that can't fully recline to flat or the design is a bit curve..can the baby sleep in the not flat position? will it hurt the back or spine?
3) do you need to buy another carseat as your child grows-up?

appreciate your wise answer/advise. thanks
nicKit
post Sep 21 2011, 04:54 PM

374 posts

metaltooth, u can get either baby car seat cum carrier (usually stated 0-13kg) or those car seat that can be reclined (usually stated there 0-18kg or some sort)... hope i'm giving the rite advice tongue.gif i'm planning to sell my baby car seat cum carrier that i've gotten from phythia so i can get another car seat for my growing boy... anyone interested? planning to sell abt RM30-40... still in good condition la...
Divas
post Sep 21 2011, 09:27 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(metaltooth @ Sep 21 2011, 04:10 PM)
hi sifus -

i've got few questions :

1) can we put the newborn(between 1-14days old) into the carseat? i need to travel 3hrs journey
2) there are few models that can't fully recline to flat or the design is a bit curve..can the baby sleep in the not flat position? will it hurt the back or spine?

1. My almost 2 week old loves his car seat. We have a Recaro Akuna (stroller) which comes with a Profi Plus (Infant carseat/stroller attachment). Your one should be fine, we introduced Cyrus to the seat in our room and let him sit in it for a few minutes when he was clean and well fed. You will probably want to plan a stop or 2 on your trip to give him a change and feed, depending on how often he needs to eat and stuff (with our schedule i would give him a good long feed before we left and then have a break half way through the trip).

2. Our seat isn't a fully reclined one (like a bassinet) as they only last until 3months old so not so worth while. Generally the slightly reclined/curved ones (that usually work as a rocker on the floor as well) generally seem to last until around 9months which is a little more worth it. Obviously don't let your baby sleep in the seat all day and night, but for a day trip or a car ride won't do any harm at all. As for sleep, as soon as the car (or stroller for that matter) starts moving, Cyrus is fast asleep and will stay that way until we stop.

3. We will be switching to a Recaro ProRide (hopefully, still need to arrange to get one into the country) which is rated for newborn to around 5years (after which we may still need to use a booster seat for a couple of years depending) once he grows out of the Profi Plus... if you weren't set on a specific brand like we are you would probably be able to get a seat that didn't suit a newborn but would last until older to switch to once you grow out of the first one.

I hope that helps. Basically make sure the seat you are looking at is suitable for your age range and hopefully will last for a decent amount of time. Also try to find one that has had some safety testing done.
ahspear
post Sep 22 2011, 01:15 PM

38 posts

hi sifus -

i've got few questions :

Hey Metaltooth,

My baby travel'ed from Ipoh to KL in baby car seat before 14days old.
We change to a bigger car seat when he's around 4th month (Can't really recall the exact month).

strawbeley
post Sep 22 2011, 06:42 PM

hi sifus -

i've got few questions :

hi metaltooth,

1) it's fine to put your newborn into the carseat. my cousin was staying at Pahang. the day she discharge from hospital, she travelled with her baby all the way back to Johor, her hometown for confinement. anyway, it's more safety.

2) i'm not too sure if the design will hurt the baby's back or spine but Sweet Cherry brand carseat that i bought from Jusco is not bad. my girl (2YO) still sit in the carseat when we travel around.

3) i think some carseat really can be used for newborn until about 4-5 yrs old. for me, i will only consider to get another one if i have 2 small kids wink.gif
sjn hassan
post Sep 22 2011, 06:56 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

i'm using a child's booster seat for my 3yo son and a bucket type for 7m baby..so far no problem
scoop7
post Sep 23 2011, 12:29 AM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 22 2011, 06:56 PM)
i'm using a child's booster seat for my 3yo son and a bucket type for 7m baby..so far no problem
Booster seat is for taller or older kids right? Ur 3ye old got be quite tall huh?
svage98
post Sep 23 2011, 03:33 PM

432 posts

I couldn't agree with you more. The awareness about child safety amongst Malaysia is so alarming low. vmad.gif You can even see parents riding motocycles with their baby between them. sweat.gif So not safe at all! Can't parents think for their child carefully? We can see a lot of careless acts by parents everywhere. Or do they want to wait for law enforcing child safety first then only will act?! doh.gif
DM3
post Sep 23 2011, 04:34 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

yea its very important to have the proper safety seats based on the childs age. been doin that since my 2 kids are babies.
did u all read on the seats that has some toxin from the major child safety seats makers? the studies from US.
blooswift
post Sep 23 2011, 05:20 PM

14 posts

Stumbled onto this thread by "accident". tongue.gif

I just wanted to add that when I was around 5-6 years old (I think) and living in Singapore in the mid-80s. Can't remember if they had implemented the rear passenger seatbelt rules yet.

I don't know why but I asked my Dad if he could get a VHS videotape of those actual crash tests from his Volvo dealer. He got me one and I must've watched it a dozen times once I got it. Like a kid who received his latest cartoon.

After that, I told my dad that I still needed a booster seat as advised by the video and he must've been stunned by me giving that suggestion but anyhow, the next thing I remember is that the booster seat was in the car and it was there till I passed the height requirement to start using the seatbelt without booster.

I'm not sure about current seatbelts and whether booster seats still have benefits. Just a story to share... smile.gif
fishu00
post Sep 24 2011, 06:49 PM

20 posts

seems like in malaysia its not that popular with children car seats.. hmm but its always safe to do so!
kelvinfixx
post Sep 25 2011, 04:14 PM

1,585 posts

It is important, I bought Halford too.
DM3
post Sep 25 2011, 09:36 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

ya i cringed when i see parents let their kids sit all around the car, even my 7 yr old sits on a booster seat
katijar
post Sep 28 2011, 01:43 PM

2,294 posts

Please note that there is a expiry date of car seat.

So when you are buying a "new" car seat, please check the manufacture date.

And if people give you their used car seat, please ask when did they buy it.
DM3
post Sep 29 2011, 02:45 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(katijar @ Sep 28 2011, 01:43 PM)
Please note that there is a expiry date of car seat.

So when you are buying a "new" car seat, please check the manufacture date.

And if people give you their used car seat, please ask when did they buy it.
why due to material wear?
most seats comes with manufacturing dates or expiry dates?
sfchoi
post Sep 29 2011, 10:03 PM

66 posts

My son now is 2yr, every time also sit on he car sit. Car sit is safe for Child.
katijar
post Sep 30 2011, 10:40 AM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Sep 29 2011, 02:45 PM)
why due to material wear?
most seats comes with manufacturing dates or expiry dates?
click the spoiler

source

m|key
post Sep 30 2011, 10:42 AM

271 posts

my kid start using the car seat since young, i think when she was few months old until now. i am using halford as well.
katijar
post Sep 30 2011, 10:43 AM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(sfchoi @ Sep 29 2011, 10:03 PM)
My son now is 2yr, every time also sit on he car sit. Car sit is safe for Child.
did he cry alot in the car seat?

Added on September 30, 2011, 10:44 am
QUOTE(m|key @ Sep 30 2011, 10:42 AM)
my kid start using the car seat since young, i think when she was few months old until now. i am using halford as well.
got cry? how old is she now?

This post has been edited by katijar: Sep 30 2011, 10:44 AM
DM3
post Sep 30 2011, 10:58 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

its matter of training and habit. i always talk to them on safety etc, eldest is 6 ,youngest just turn 3.

Katijar,
Thanks for the info
TSphythia79
post Sep 30 2011, 12:23 PM

398 posts

I agree..it's all about training..I trained my son ever since he was a baby. And now..he knows that if he gets into the car...he needs to be buckled up. Of coz..being children, there are times (rarely, though) that he refuses and cries..but i'm adamant in putting him into the car seat.

It's a good habit..coz if he is going into another car (that doesn't have a car seat), he asked to be buckled up with the safety belt.
katijar
post Sep 30 2011, 12:29 PM

2,294 posts

one more tip to share:

Installing your rear-facing child car safety seat on a proper angle

Most child car safety seats have a recline position that must be used when in the rear-facing position for an infant (up to 9kg or 20lb). Check your child car safety seat owner's manual for instructions. For rear-facing seats, if necessary, use a tightly rolled towel or a foam bar (pool noodle) under the base of the child car safety seat to adjust the angle to 45 degrees. A forward-facing child car safety seat should be in the upright position. Make sure that when the seat is turned from rear-facing to forward-facing, the recline feature is adjusted to the upright position.

source

m|key
post Sep 30 2011, 02:24 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(katijar @ Sep 30 2011, 10:43 AM)

Added on September 30, 2011, 10:44 am

got cry? how old is she now?
she is coming to 3 years old soon and she still like to be on her seat. anyway, they are seated higher and can see more things.
DM3
post Sep 30 2011, 03:17 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

yea here in msia enforcement on child safety seat hardly done unlike singapore.
sfchoi
post Sep 30 2011, 05:33 PM

66 posts

[quote=katijar,Sep 30 2011, 10:43 AM]

Since he 2nd mth already start sit, until now no problem.
Must let them feel this is he sit.
wandzul
post Oct 2 2011, 12:28 AM

152 posts

wont cry if ur baby is not hungry.. bcos the he/she got goyang2 when the car moves.. my son even fell asleep when i put him on.. plus i put a thermometer inside my car so that i can accurately adjust cabin temperature by varying aircond setting, not too cold or not too hot, just nice..
DM3
post Oct 2 2011, 10:08 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

ya its good u guys uses it, i think we all here need to educate our friends & family on the safety aspect. we may be safe drivers but we cant predict what kind of drivers out there.
m|key
post Oct 2 2011, 06:28 PM

271 posts

Well, that's why is called accident smile.gif

Btw, I think the combi range is pretty nice
TSphythia79
post Oct 3 2011, 02:51 PM

398 posts

I just read this in The Star online - Parenting Section. A personal story from a reader on the importance of a carseat.

http://parenthots.com/parents_corner/soapb...y-car-seat.aspx

SUSedwardstevens
post Oct 4 2011, 11:48 PM

366 posts

yeap

luckily for me, my sister bought one for me as a present. this carseat is the type that can attach to a stroller.

i only started to bring my son out after he's around 2 and half month. but only to parks or relative house. no supermarket or shopping complexes.
DM3
post Oct 5 2011, 12:15 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

as the kids grow a different kind of seats needed from baby to toddler and young child above 4 yrs old

This post has been edited by DM3: Oct 5 2011, 08:41 AM
wandzul
post Oct 5 2011, 12:47 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 5 2011, 12:15 AM)
as the kids grow a different kind of seats needed from baby to toddler and young child above 4 yrs old
correct, also the seating angle varies with age

TSphythia79
post Oct 11 2011, 12:25 PM

398 posts

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...1942&sec=nation

Another reason for kids to be buckled up..for her age..8 years old..should be using a booster seat. And..i wont be surprised if she was standing or movign about..just like how we see in vehicles..kids jumping here and there.

Even if you have rotan in the car..it won't be effective as the porsche driver rammed the toyata unser from the back..i hope those parents who claims that the use rotan to make sure the kids sit quietly see the importance of the carseats.

This post has been edited by phythia79: Oct 11 2011, 12:26 PM
DM3
post Oct 11 2011, 03:44 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

its all matter of setting the priorities right as in safety 1st.

cokelatpanda
post Feb 29 2012, 05:15 PM

292 posts

Nania car seat for combination group 0+ and 1. Anybody bought, is it good? Searching the internet, not found any physical store selling.

This post has been edited by cokelatpanda: Feb 29 2012, 05:20 PM
Dannyl
post Mar 4 2012, 11:18 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Some people don't use seat belts and don't use car seats for their kids. Yet kids all grown up and everybody still alive.

The question is - do you feel as lucky? Better safe than sorry.
lesboutons
post Mar 4 2012, 04:17 PM

88 posts

i deem it a necessity
moorish
post Mar 4 2012, 07:26 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Mar 4 2012, 11:18 AM)
Some people don't use seat belts and don't use car seats for their kids.  Yet kids all grown up and everybody still alive.

The question is - do you feel as lucky?  Better safe than sorry.
like riding motorcycle, its not like everyday you gonna crash so why bother with the helmet? rclxms.gif
botak_matrix
post Mar 6 2012, 08:29 PM

Try find convertible car seat, can used up to 32kg (approximately 4years old)

Previous experiences on near missed, crazy toyota camry overtake at corner, i pumped brake very hard, luckily baby is buckle up at the car seat, sleep comfortably eventhough her mom & dad heart beat wants to explode already...I'm using recaro proride,purchased at recaro dealer sunway.

Please do not compromised on safety.
Chester
post Apr 13 2012, 09:26 PM

2,380 posts

child seat aside,

heard pregnant ladies can be excused from carseat? anyone can verify? this is useful if mummy is feeling discomfort, but i think should not be encouraged
TSphythia79
post Apr 14 2012, 09:58 AM

398 posts

Chester do you mean seatbelt?

I used seatbelt till the day i delivered..and I was overdue for a week plus
kazama82
post Apr 14 2012, 10:03 AM

1,427 posts

mine since new born in car seat...now 1 year old still using car seat..my mom bought for baby gift..from new born to 3-4 years old
paktam
post Apr 14 2012, 11:17 AM

451 posts

I also using car seat...
Chester
post Apr 14 2012, 02:11 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Apr 14 2012, 09:58 AM)
Chester do you mean seatbelt?

I used seatbelt till the day i delivered..and I was overdue for a week plus
Yes, i actually mean seatbelt for pregnant ladies..wondering if there's a law that pregnany ladies not compulsory to wear seat belt?
UniqueBaby
post Apr 14 2012, 04:23 PM

38 posts

Car seat is very important. We will never know when the driver will push on emegency brake and when you are losing grip during emergency. if you think your child will be bored during the journey, talk and interact to him, bringing some toys in the journey would be useful.
gto
post Apr 14 2012, 04:51 PM

39 posts

if you are looking for car seat online, beware of this seller:
http://www.alibaba.com/member/my1009546920.html
TSphythia79
post Apr 16 2012, 09:22 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Apr 14 2012, 02:11 PM)
Yes, i actually mean seatbelt for pregnant ladies..wondering if there's a law that pregnany ladies not compulsory to wear seat belt?
I don't recall any law..but why risk your life and baby's life by not wearing the belt? just put the belt below the tummy..not over the tummy if it's uncomfortable.
boonhao88
post Apr 16 2012, 10:07 AM

46 posts

some car seat can be use as a baby carrier for baby less than 4 or 3 months...
after tat u can find for other seat..
is better buy a cheapo stroller.. or don buy stroller..
but if u r bring ur baby out wif car..
car seat is a mz
nelienuxe_sara
post Apr 16 2012, 10:48 AM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

i always use the carseat
but some time forgot to bring it in to the car
TSphythia79
post Apr 16 2012, 02:02 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Apr 16 2012, 10:48 AM)
i always use the carseat
why don't you straigtaway install it in the car. I have two carseats...1 in my car..and the other in my hubby's car.
nelienuxe_sara
post Apr 16 2012, 02:21 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Apr 16 2012, 02:02 PM)
why don't you straigtaway install it in the car.  I have two carseats...1 in my car..and the other in my hubby's car.
i buy the Rearward-facing Baby Seats
can be use as a rocker
planning to buy another child seat Forward-facing child seat type soon
as my baby grow up the old 1 is to small for her

extremepower
post Apr 16 2012, 03:26 PM

545 posts

In western countries, the law is pretty strict. I guess locals 'bo chap' much here. wink.gif Good luck. wink.gif
firdz
post Apr 16 2012, 03:58 PM

68 posts

its a must.. safer.. and i would say its much more comfortable to be in that
vey99
post Apr 16 2012, 07:58 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Apr 16 2012, 10:48 AM)
i always use the carseat
wah u got kid liao!
nelienuxe_sara
post Apr 16 2012, 08:01 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Apr 16 2012, 07:58 PM)
wah u got kid liao!
dey u never open facebook is it?
vey99
post Apr 16 2012, 08:04 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Apr 16 2012, 08:01 PM)
dey u never open facebook is it?
sorry lar.. hehe.. seldom open due to work busy, check also once a week everything also i missed

congrats anyway ^__^
Chester
post Apr 16 2012, 09:39 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Apr 16 2012, 09:22 AM)
I don't recall any law..but why risk your life and baby's life by not wearing the belt? just put the belt below the tummy..not over the tummy if it's uncomfortable.
true also..was just looking if wifey really not comfort maybe can hang loose for a while but then..yea guess will just need to hang on for another month then will be ok..tks!
TSphythia79
post Apr 18 2012, 10:09 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Apr 16 2012, 02:21 PM)
i buy the Rearward-facing Baby Seats
can be use as a rocker
planning to buy another child seat Forward-facing child seat type soon
as my baby grow up the old 1 is to small for her

I hope you install this rear-facing type properly.

Anyways..forward facing ones are from 1 yr and above though it's best to prolong the rear-facing position as long as possible.
tang niu
post Apr 18 2012, 03:23 PM

87 posts

my son being train to be in car carrier / car seat since 2 mths old
as we need to travel 2 hours back to hometown
so it become a must for him
when 1 yrs++, i being told him that if he dont sit in car seat and put on the safety belt, he will be catch by the police and cannot sleep with daddy & mummy
so far so good to said, he is follow the instruction till now 2.5yrs
m3mphiz23z
post Apr 20 2012, 05:07 PM

87 posts

Get a carseat that is for different ages like adjustable sizing so that you won't have to buy a new one as the child grows. Maybe not for a few years or so.

Having a car seat is a must
furezarh
post Apr 26 2012, 07:52 AM

139 posts

indeed, having a carseat for you baby is essential, especially if you are driving alone.
intanardy
post Jun 20 2012, 11:44 AM

94 posts

I need recommendations on car seats.. Maybe reviews on the ones that ure using.. Im eyeing halford brand as theyre not so expensive but have good specs.. Hubby wanna get a recaro young profi but i think its not neccessary as baby will outgrow it fast.. Pls share ur experiance on car seat.. Tq in advance..smile.gif
mmshop
post Jun 20 2012, 11:55 AM

18 posts

must force him to sit on, let him cry...few crying then he know there was useless to cry for get out from there then..he will get use to it..
Syd G
post Jun 20 2012, 12:05 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(mmshop @ Jun 20 2012, 11:55 AM)
must force him to sit on, let him cry...few crying then he know there was useless to cry for get out from there then..he will get use to it..
Wa.... very keng rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

My hubby cannot tahan la baby crying. After a while he'll "free" the baby sad.gif
intanardy
post Jun 20 2012, 12:13 PM

94 posts

Which car seat ure using? Mind to share.. smile.gif
Aqidah
post Jun 20 2012, 12:18 PM

No Gender
730 posts

QUOTE(intanardy @ Jun 20 2012, 11:44 AM)
I need recommendations on car seats.. Maybe reviews on the ones that ure using.. Im eyeing halford brand as theyre not so expensive but have good specs.. Hubby wanna get a recaro young profi but i think its not neccessary as baby will outgrow it fast.. Pls share ur experiance on car seat.. Tq in advance..smile.gif
I'm using Halford stroller..its gud !

Didnt bought the car sear coz already got one as a gift..

But i think worth to try tho..price is ok compare to other branded one biggrin.gif
THISME
post Jun 20 2012, 12:22 PM

28 posts

I place my baby in the car seat for as long as i remember. Then I will play his favourite music. He will sit quietly and look out the scenery. Keep talking or sing together with him is an added advantage.

My carseat was passed by my sis who got it from her sis-in-law who got it from somebody else. So no wastage haha
Aqidah
post Jun 20 2012, 12:41 PM

No Gender
730 posts

Same like mine liao..

I ignore him..after a while he'll keep quite.

Sumtime when driving i'll talk to him..of coz he wont understand..but he likes it wub.gif
msjtye
post Jun 20 2012, 12:48 PM

We also put our child on car seat when she is 1 month old. It was ok until when she is about 8 months when she struggle to get out of the car seat. She would cry when we put her in but after 3-4 times as we ignore her, she got use to it. Now, when we going out, she will climb on her car seat.
I think it is good to start as early as possible and need to be a little "cruel" to let them cry though it melts our heart. But after a few times, they will give up and sit in the car seat.
I notice that one of the reason why my baby cry after a while is because she wants to see outside. So we need to change the carrier to a car seat. Hope this helps.
mmshop
post Jun 20 2012, 02:41 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(intanardy @ Jun 20 2012, 12:13 PM)
Which car seat ure using? Mind to share..   smile.gif
need to check very long time ppl given..first baby is ok..willing to sit but the 2nd , too active n cant sit tide over 3 min..but now okay..let her sit since she was about 1.

Added on June 20, 2012, 2:43 pm
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 20 2012, 12:05 PM)
Wa.... very keng  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

My hubby cannot tahan la baby crying. After a while he'll "free" the baby sad.gif
wat to do...for ur child safety..is a must...even u drive safe n careful...but not all other driver are..

This post has been edited by mmshop: Jun 20 2012, 02:43 PM
intanardy
post Jun 20 2012, 06:29 PM

94 posts

Yep.. Fr their safety, we hv to strap them up.. I wish i would do d same fr my baby later.. Ill start as early as his first ride home from hosp.. smile.gif.. But first, which carseat should i buy.. Hm... sweat.gif
friedbeef
post Jun 20 2012, 08:42 PM

147 posts

I use Aprica... I like the fact that it can turn sideways so its easy to put the child in and out and can easier to change diapers @ car.
wke002
post Jun 23 2012, 11:28 AM

116 posts

Be it cheap car child seats or for those with budget the more expensive one, to have one is better than none. Also for new buyer, check, there is expiry date for car seats ! every Driver thinks they are careful when on the road with kids/toddler, be it an expert in driving or casual, its more on other drivers whom is not careful to cause an accident or some big animals running across ! So be it a cheap car child seat, does not matter, invest in one.
Aqidah
post Jun 25 2012, 09:36 AM

No Gender
730 posts

Yeahh..at last..my boy can sit in his child seats as long as i put lots of toy beside him..keep him occupied biggrin.gif
intanardy
post Jun 25 2012, 09:48 AM

94 posts

Will def try ur toys method..smile.gif
laughiebean
post Jun 25 2012, 02:15 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(wke002 @ Jun 23 2012, 11:28 AM)
Be it cheap car child seats or for those with budget the more expensive one, to have one is better than none. Also for new buyer, check, there is expiry date for car seats ! every Driver thinks they are careful when on the road with kids/toddler, be it an expert in driving or casual, its more on other drivers whom is not careful to cause an accident or some big animals running across ! So be it a cheap car child seat, does not matter, invest in one.
hi,

What does it mean by expiry date for car seats? Like expiry date for food or can use up to a certain weight or age for the baby?

wke002
post Jul 3 2012, 06:42 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(laughiebean @ Jun 25 2012, 02:15 PM)
hi,

What does it mean by expiry date for car seats? Like expiry date for food or can use up to a certain weight or age for the baby?

Yes, it's mainly made of plastic the frame, with heat in the car etc, the plastic strength will deteriorate.

Try checking out those graco, britax at the back, look at the plastic frame, there is manufacturer and expiry date.
sanfan
post Jul 19 2012, 04:31 PM

71 posts

In some countries, The hospital will not allow you take your baby home unless you have a car seat.
jessie2012
post Aug 22 2012, 12:43 AM

55 posts

Am thinking of changing the current car seat cause LO has outgrown it. Any recommendations? smile.gif
sammesul81
post Aug 23 2012, 12:46 AM

67 posts

I have 3years old son and a 1 half year daughter. To be honest i struggled to make my son in his car seat and sometimes i lost my temper, but for my daughter also i strugled a lot to put her inside it. Let say government makes this mandatory in Malaysia, do you agree on this?
merchant9
post Aug 23 2012, 11:56 PM

628 posts

Initially, we had plans to get a good car seat for our nearly 2 years old son but he's always moving around and quite hard to get him to sit quietly, so in the end, we got this for him instead - only RM78++

http://www.onebabyworld.com/vr-babies-baby...lue-p-2181.html

For our second child, we will put him in a baby basket that comes with our Graco Travel System. Depends how is his acceptance with car seat and of course his character (whether can sit quietly or not), we will then decide to buy / not to buy car seat.

Yes, car seat is mandatory in many countries. It should be compulsory here too from a security perspective but I've noticed many still reject car seat due to too expensive, too bulky, children too active (my excuse! hehe!), etc.

For me, I only bring my son around town area, car cannot go very fast, I just end up getting something that can hold him down that he's comfortable in. Somehow, I just dont buy that 5 point security thing that's being highlighted by car seat manufacturer. Around town, cannot drive very fast, got osmething to secure him and something else to distract him is good enough in my humble opinion.
TSphythia79
post Aug 27 2012, 03:54 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Aug 23 2012, 11:56 PM)
Initially, we had plans to get a good car seat for our nearly 2 years old son but he's always moving around and quite hard to get him to sit quietly, so in the end, we got this for him instead - only RM78++

http://www.onebabyworld.com/vr-babies-baby...lue-p-2181.html

For our second child, we will put him in a baby basket that comes with our Graco Travel System. Depends how is his acceptance with car seat and of course his character (whether can sit quietly or not), we will then decide to buy / not to buy car seat.

Yes, car seat is mandatory in many countries. It should be compulsory here too from a security perspective but I've noticed many still reject car seat due to too expensive, too bulky, children too active (my excuse! hehe!), etc.

For me, I only bring my son around town area, car cannot go very fast, I just end up getting something that can hold him down that he's comfortable in. Somehow, I just dont buy that 5 point security thing that's being highlighted by car seat manufacturer. Around town, cannot drive very fast, got osmething to secure him and something else to distract him is good enough in my humble opinion.
It's not us that is careless..it's the other drivers. just imagine, if there is a hard collision from the back or side - even in city centre (as some drivers just like to drive fast even in a 60kmh zone), wouldn't the car seat be safer than the baby pouch?
cheno
post Aug 27 2012, 06:13 PM

601 posts

we use carseat for our son since day 1. we have two carseats, britax advocate for hubby's car and mydear carseat for my car.. both are convertible carseats, can be use from newborn till toddler or the suggested weight.

whenever we put our son in the carseat, he will sleep soundly. at first he will cry, but then when the car moves he'll keep quiet. but to keep him happy, we bought a toy that can be hang in the car, so when he's awake, there's something for him to play with and keep him from being bored in the seats.

taken whe he is two m.o

taken whe he's six m.o

This post has been edited by cheno: Aug 27 2012, 06:20 PM
DesBebe
post Aug 27 2012, 06:27 PM

22 posts

The answer is Yes, we use carseat.

Wow cheno, ur kid damn adorable.

------------
WTS HABA Baby Wooden Toys, Made in Germany, made of natural wood, not plastic.

cheno
post Aug 28 2012, 10:17 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(DesBebe @ Aug 27 2012, 06:27 PM)
The answer is Yes, we use carseat.

Wow cheno, ur kid damn adorable.

------------
WTS HABA Baby Wooden Toys, Made in Germany, made of natural wood, not plastic.
thanks smile.gif all babies are adorable

Added on August 28, 2012, 10:19 am
QUOTE(sammesul81 @ Aug 23 2012, 12:46 AM)
I have 3years old son and a 1 half year daughter. To be honest i struggled to make my son in his car seat and sometimes i lost my temper,  but for my daughter also i strugled a lot to put her inside it. Let say government makes this mandatory in Malaysia, do you agree on this?
agree 100%, but first the government has to makesure to lower the tax for the imported carseats, so the price won't be too expensive for the parents to buy.

This post has been edited by cheno: Aug 28 2012, 10:19 AM
amd2105
post Aug 28 2012, 11:21 AM

Great thread indeed rclxms.gif After reading the whole thread it advisable to have this car seat for the young ones. In my case, we bought Halford (i'll update the pics later) for the purpose. Having a twin is not an easy task as everything should be doubled but more importantly our precious one.

The idea to have those seats are simply because my wife can't hold both of them at the same time (the major concern is their safety of course) . Forgot the price tag but somewhere around RM200++ as me and my wife are not very sure of what is the best at that moment. To make things even interesting, my wife's car is just a Myvi so you can guess how much space we need to fit our childs stuff, its cramped! Plus the twin stroller (Esprit) eats the entire cargo area cry.gif

After quite sometimes of debating, we agreed to trade the car with a bigger one, the Proton Exora. Some says its a waste for changing to a bigger one, but not for us as we need space to throw everything in it.

As my wife drive the car to her workplace and nursery daily, we decided to let the seats permanently installed at the rear passenger seat (2nd row) simply to save us from trouble to install it again and again. BTW, the twins are reaching 5 months of their age by the end of this month and still counting laugh.gif

So far, the girls don't have any trouble as at they sleep most of the time when we travelling from here to there. The distance from the nursery to our place is just around 10 minutes. Parents should have this thing in their vehicle, safety first because we never knows what comes ahead or behind. God bless us all smile.gif
cheno
post Aug 28 2012, 11:44 AM

601 posts

carseats should be install at the rear passenger seats and not at the front seats especially if you have airbag. and should be install rear facing untill baby is 1.

notice some parents install their carseat wrongly..
billie bonka
post Aug 28 2012, 04:25 PM

129 posts

My LO cannot sit still for too long, always need to pack a lot of stuffs to keep her entertain when she is in car seat. rclxub.gif
This is wat we have for 4 hours journey from Penang to KL... until the last 30 mins she started to be really cranky wanna come out already, luckily we were approaching our destination... sweat.gif

merchant9
post Aug 30 2012, 12:12 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Aug 27 2012, 03:54 PM)
It's not us that is careless..it's the other drivers.  just imagine, if there is a hard collision from the back or side - even in city centre (as some drivers just like to drive fast even in a 60kmh zone), wouldn't the car seat be safer than the baby pouch?
I dont disagree with you but we (my husband and I) have been discussing this. We bought this to encourage our son to accept the idea of a car seat before buying the actual thing. He's 22 months old and about 14kg. He's very tall so at his age, may not need booster sit cause he can sit with seat belt already. With me, he always move around. With my husband only, he will diam diam sit down all the way across town. Takes about 20 - 30 minutes ride.

Car seat / baby pouch is to hold him in a stationary position. Similarly the seat belt. People encourage me to get him booster seat but he seem like no need booster cause he is big size. Hahaha!! smile.gif

zasszuss
post Mar 5 2014, 05:53 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(billie bonka @ Aug 28 2012, 04:25 PM)
My LO cannot sit still for too long, always need to pack a lot of stuffs to keep her entertain when she is in car seat.  rclxub.gif
This is wat we have for 4 hours journey from Penang to KL... until the last 30 mins she started to be really cranky wanna come out already, luckily we were approaching our destination... sweat.gif

I'm at wits end trying to put my 9 month old baby on the car seat. Put everything, toys, finger food, songs even got grandma sitting behind to pacify. Baby will cry throughout the journey. If I stop and carry him to male him stop crying, until when don't know when can sampai destination, worst late for any appointment. Sigh..any tips anyone?
dp82
post Mar 5 2014, 07:25 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(zasszuss @ Mar 5 2014, 05:53 AM)
I'm at wits end trying to put my 9 month old baby on the car seat. Put everything, toys, finger food, songs even got grandma sitting behind to pacify. Baby will cry throughout the journey. If I stop and carry him to male him stop crying, until when don't know when can sampai destination, worst late for any appointment. Sigh..any tips anyone?
Did u try to let ur baby sit on da car seat when he's like 1mth+ and when he is in good mood? Do it like 2-3 times per week?
talexeh
post Mar 6 2014, 10:41 AM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,076 posts

How long has this been going on? My baby used to be carried in the car by my wife whenever we bring him home from babysitter. Even though we have a baby car seat, he will make noise & prefer to be carried instead. However, recently due to my wife's hectic work schedule, I've been fetching him home by myself & even though he initially did make some noise, he was OK with it after 3 / 4 days.
zasszuss
post Mar 6 2014, 09:31 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Mar 6 2014, 10:41 AM)
How long has this been going on? My baby used to be carried in the car by my wife whenever we bring him home from babysitter. Even though we have a baby car seat, he will make noise & prefer to be carried instead. However, recently due to my wife's hectic work schedule, I've been fetching him home by myself & even though he initially did make some noise, he was OK with it after 3 / 4 days.
During his younger months, we did put him in the car seat, but then he now learn to be mobile I.e crawling, standing up, and he wants to be mobile. Did try to put him strapped on but can't tahan the crying as I would tensed up and can't concentrate driving or with the husband is the one driving, I would take him out to try nurse him.

Now, im trying to train him again, day 1-3 crying like hell. Day 4 cry but then fell asleep. Should I just keep ignoring him and let him cry in order to train him? How long should I continue this? I'm SAHM bit I need to run my errands.
Opakut Fan
post Mar 11 2014, 05:54 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Jan 15 2011, 02:01 PM)
+1
ollie-capollie
post Mar 12 2014, 11:33 AM

87 posts

the problem is that my baby dont want to stay in the car seat. she felt insecure. how?
mtee7
post Mar 12 2014, 01:53 PM

54 posts

I always put my baby girl on to the car seat every time we get into the car. There should not be any exception especially if it involves going out to main roads/highway etc.

Most babies/toddlers will not like being strapped on to the car seats. Some babies will take it...some will fight it...some will scream and cry all the way..but please, dun give in to your LO. Let them cry, scream, yell. If you take them out, they win and will always win.

It only takes 1 accident (be it your fault or other people's fault) for you to regret your decision of not strapping your LO to their car seats FOREVER. FYI, a mother/caretaker carrying your baby will not be able to protect your LO even from emergency braking situation (dun even need an accident).

At the end of the day, as a parent/guardian, we should be able to take charge on most things our LO does. Part and parcel of being a parent is to discipline them from young. Most of the time, our babies don't make the choice...we make choices for them.
ollie-capollie
post Mar 12 2014, 02:45 PM

87 posts

true
^pomen_GTR^
post Mar 12 2014, 03:34 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Jan 15 2011, 11:37 AM)
Hi Parents!

Just wanted to check if anyone of you here really make it a point to get your child to sit in the car seat..seeing noticeably that the road accidents are on the rise.  Overseas, it's mandatory to have baby and kids in a carseat whereas here is still not needed.

I started putting my son into a carseat ever since he was born.  Started first with the rear-facing carseat and then when he reached 1yo..i upgraded to the forward-facing carseat. 

I spent about Rm600 for a Halford brand (i think i got the name right) which is a British brand for the forward-facing one.  I feel that the money spent on the carseat is worth it as it's for safety reasons. 

What about you parents out there?
why the need for upgrade...

why didnt u just buy those reclineable child seat which can cater for infant up to 3yo if i remember correctly...

this is what i use

otomo baby car seat..retail i forgot but less than rm300....

suits many position:

1-fully reclined rear facing for infant (<6month)
2-mildly reclinded rear facing >6month
and other 3 level of recline for foward facing >1year
abubin
post Mar 12 2014, 03:54 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(^pomen_GTR^ @ Mar 12 2014, 03:34 PM)
why the need for upgrade...

why didnt u just buy those reclineable child seat which can cater for infant up to 3yo if i remember correctly...
this is what i use

otomo baby car seat..retail i forgot but less than rm300....

suits many position:

1-fully reclined rear facing for infant (<6month)
2-mildly reclinded rear facing >6month
and other 3 level of recline for foward facing >1year
This design is good!! At less than RM300, I think it should be perfect. No need to invest so much in a carseat. This design have all the features there is that you would need. If you can train your child well, this car seat can last until your child is 6-7 years old. They would sit quietly in the car seat and not make trouble. Don't say it's not possible to train cause my son who is hyperactive (ADHD) can sit in his car seat the whole journey without making any problem or want to get out from his seat. In fact, the seat is a small world of his and he enjoy sitting it it.
^pomen_GTR^
post Mar 13 2014, 10:18 AM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Mar 12 2014, 03:54 PM)
This design is good!! At less than RM300, I think it should be perfect. No need to invest so much in a carseat. This design have all the features there is that you would need. If you can train your child well, this car seat can last until your child is 6-7 years old. They would sit quietly in the car seat and not make trouble. Don't say it's not possible to train cause my son who is hyperactive (ADHD) can sit in his car seat the whole journey without making any problem or want to get out from his seat. In fact, the seat is a small world of his and he enjoy sitting it it.
quite hard actually to find this kind of seat that have all those recline/foward-rear position.....

because last time while searching all i found only either for infant type (with carrying handle) or those for >1year foward facing position only.....

but manage to found that atlast thumbup.gif
DrBarbarian
post Mar 13 2014, 03:48 PM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

QUOTE(^pomen_GTR^ @ Mar 13 2014, 10:18 AM)
quite hard actually to find this kind of seat that have all those recline/foward-rear position.....

because last time while searching all i found only either for infant type (with carrying handle) or those for >1year foward facing position only.....

but manage to found that atlast  thumbup.gif
I got this type from Jusco..... around RM300......
bengang13
post Mar 14 2014, 07:39 AM

624 posts

I think there is no easy way than just let him cried out. The earlier you gets it done the easier it would be in the future.
I would say 3/4 times my boy is ok. Except for long journey where he can only last 2 hours. After that need to be carried.
Other times I just let him cry the whole journey.
hanishoney
post Mar 14 2014, 11:44 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Mar 14 2014, 07:39 AM)
I think there is no easy way than just let him cried out. The earlier you gets it done the easier it would be in the future.
I would say 3/4 times my boy is ok. Except for long journey where he can only last 2 hours. After that need to be carried.
Actually, it's recommended to stop the car every 2 hours, and have everybody get out and stretch/move their body for 15-20 minutes, then only get back into car and continue journey. It's better for everyone's health. Even sitting at work, in the office, you should get up and walk around every 2 hours. Sitting too long actually shortens your lifespan.

The best way to train your kid not to cry in the car seat is to start short and sweet. EVERY day, strap your baby in the carseat according to instructions and drive at MOST 10 minutes away, to a fun place the kid will like, e.g. nearby playground, nearest mall, candy/toy shop, swimming pool, whatever la. This way, even if your kid cries, he/she is only crying for 10 minutes, and he/she will learn that after getting strapped in carseat, he/she gets to a fun place! Make sure to also strap in properly on the way home!

Once your kid stops crying for the 10 minute daily ride in the car seat, you go to a different place 20 minutes away, just as fun and exciting. Then if kid is ok with 20 minutes away, go 30 minutes away! Work your way up slowly until kid can go 2 hours. But please don't go for more than 2 hours unless asleep, ya. Like I said above, sitting still for more than 2 hours when not asleep is not good for your health. Always take frequent journey breaks. That's why our highways have lots of rest stops. When you have kids, your lifestyle has to change and your driving style also has to change, but at least when your kids are properly strapped in, you can drive at normal speeds, not slowly (which is not safe either), so the stops shouldn't affect the final time of arrival.

This method best works if you ALWAYS strap your kid in. If your kid thinks that as long as he cries long/hard enough he'll get out of being strapped in, then he will cry the whole way. If he knows that you WILL let him cry himself sick rather than let him be out of the carseat, he will give up eventually.

For more tips and tricks on keeping kids happy in their carseat, I love http://thecarseatlady.com/keeping-your-kids-happy/.

This post has been edited by hanishoney: May 20 2015, 05:53 PM
zasszuss
post Mar 16 2014, 09:22 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Mar 14 2014, 07:39 AM)
Finally, after two and a half weeks of non stop crying, baby finally accepted the seat. Only if it's for 15mins! I really need to persevere throughout the period. So do husband who is on the wheel.

I think the keyword here for those who is trying first time, like me, ehem..is PERSERVERANCE!!

My bag is now like Doraemon bag as I need to take out new toy every 3 mins when baby gets bored.
zasszuss
post Mar 16 2014, 09:27 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ Mar 14 2014, 11:44 AM)
Actually, it's recommended to stop the car every 2 hours, and have everybody get out and stretch/move their body for 15-20 minutes, then only get back into car and continue journey. It's better for everyone's health. Even sitting at work, in the office, you should get up and walk around every 2 hours. Sitting too long actually shortens your lifespan.

The best way to train your kid not to cry in the car seat is to start short and sweet. EVERY day, strap your baby in the carseat according to instructions and drive at MOST 10 minutes away, to a fun place the kid will like, e.g. nearby playground, nearest mall, candy/toy shop, swimming pool, whatever la. This way, even if your kid cries, he/she is only crying for 10 minutes, and he/she will learn that after getting strapped in carseat, he/she gets to a fun place! Make sure to also strap in properly on the way home!

Once your kid stops crying for the 10 minute daily ride in the car seat, you go to a different place 20 minutes away, just as fun and exciting. Then if kid is ok with 20 minutes away, go 30 minutes away! Work your way up slowly until kid can go 2 hours. But please don't go for more than 2 hours unless asleep, ya. Like I said above, sitting still for more than 2 hours when not asleep is not good for your health. Always take frequent journey breaks. That's why our highways have lots of rest stops. When you have kids, your lifestyle has to change and your driving style also has to change, but at least when your kids are properly strapped in, you can drive at normal speeds, not slowly (which is not safe either), so the stops shouldn't affect the final time of arrival.

This method best works if you ALWAYS strap your kid in. If your kid thinks that as long as he cries long/hard enough he'll get out of being strapped in, then he will cry the whole way. If he knows that you WILL let him cry himself sick rather than let him be out of the carseat, he will give up eventually.

For more tips and tricks on keeping kids happy in their carseat, I love www.thecarseatlady.com/tips_and_tricks/tips_and_tricks_6.html.
Noted, I think because I travel sg.buloh-klang using NKVE often I don't think I can stop unless at the exit. Nevertheless, stop for a rest really takes the tension off.
zasszuss
post Mar 16 2014, 09:32 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(ollie-capollie @ Mar 12 2014, 11:33 AM)
the problem is that my baby dont want to stay in the car seat. she felt insecure. how?
How about the mother sits very near to the baby as if like hugging while both strapped? I tried with me sitting at the middle of back sit, leaning towards baby try to comfort him. But it will take a while.
ollie-capollie
post Mar 17 2014, 10:04 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(zasszuss @ Mar 16 2014, 09:32 PM)
How about the mother sits very near to the baby as if like hugging while both strapped? I tried with me sitting at the middle of back sit, leaning towards baby try to comfort him. But it will take a while.
will try. tq biggrin.gif
hanishoney
post Mar 17 2014, 10:27 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(zasszuss @ Mar 16 2014, 09:32 PM)
This is very dangerous to the mother. Anyone sitting BESIDE a carseat should be strapped in as tightly as the baby in the carseat. Let me tell you, I know of one mother who died in a car accident because her head smashed into her child's carseat.

Car safety is designed to work assuming that everyone is following all the rules. Airbags work safely IF you're strapped in but can kill you if you're not wearing your seatbelt. Same thing with carseats. They can kill you if you're not wearing your seatbelt. And by wearing your seatbelt, I mean wearing it properly with your shoulder belt on. WHEN SITTING NEXT TO A CHILD'S CAR SEAT, ALWAYS USE SHOULDER RESTRAINT AND SIT UP STRAIGHT AGAINST THE BACK OF YOUR SEAT. Also try to always put the seatbelt over bone, because that's the strongest part of your body. Lap belt over your hip bones, and shoulder belt over shoulder bone.

Here's a picture: user posted image from http://www.800bucklup.org/bucklingup/teens-and-adults.asp, where you can find more info on how to buckle up adults properly and safely.

If the seat beside your child's carseat only has a lap belt, DO NOT USE IT.

This post has been edited by hanishoney: Mar 17 2014, 10:28 AM
hanishoney
post Mar 17 2014, 12:29 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(zasszuss @ Mar 16 2014, 09:27 PM)
Noted, I think because I travel sg.buloh-klang using NKVE often I don't think I can stop unless at the exit. Nevertheless, stop for a rest really takes the tension off.
Waze app for smart phones is a genius thing. When you select your destination, it tells you how long your journey will probably take, taking into account current traffic. And it even updates on the spot if there's an accident ahead on your journey, or whatever. Waze will also direct you through routes that are faster than the jam area, if any.

So whenever I see on waze that my journey will take more than 2 hours due to terrible traffic, I immediately cancel the destination and pick a nearer destination, somewhere that is less than 2 hours, so I can stop and take my child out to play sekejap. Then we get back into the car and I set waze for my actual destination.

After all, if my trip is going to take more than 2 hours, what's just another 15 minutes?

If you don't have a smart phone, google maps is incorporating waze technology now. Don't know how much is in yet, but the current traffic part seems up already. You can check your computer for how long the journey will take just before you put your baby into your car.
twohens
post Mar 27 2014, 03:27 PM

71 posts

I don't think it has anything to do with how young the baby starts to use the car seat. My baby has been using it since she was about two months old and she used to sleep every single time the car started moving but now that she's mobile she hates being strapped down. So now I give her snacks and she keeps quiet biggrin.gif

We bought a Maxi-Cosi for RM1,600 because we wanted something for newborn to as old as possible. I think it's quite expensive but in Kuching quite hard to find convertible car seat. Hopefully it lasts for many, many, many years! When we bought the car seat we heard some guy commenting about 'what if the baby doesn't want to use it'. I was quite annoyed lah because the baby doesn't know what's good or bad and that doesn't mean we should just follow what the baby wants especially when it comes to safety!! hahaha but one thing we had to compromise, we turned the car seat around a bit early, she seems to like it a bit more and screams much less. But it's not good to turn around the car seat at all, best would be until the maximum that the car seat allows lah..
TitanRev
post Mar 28 2014, 06:29 PM

My daughter started to use car seat when she's 1 month old. 1st started with a baby carrier. She's now already 11 months old and is in her car seat already. She usually falls a sleep when we tuck her into the seat and if she's not asleep then she look out the scenery, baby talk, playing with her saliva, chewing on her teether or just watch me drive. If she's tired then she will just sleep on her own in the seat all the way until we reach our destination.
senseiz
post Apr 1 2014, 05:29 AM

Always did from day 1. Get them used to it and they will not complain. I started with the Britax B-Agile Travel system,

and now, changed to Britax Advocate.

My own experience, there is no 1 car seat fit for all ages. There will be a compromise in safety and protection somewhere.

In US, the nurse actually comes down and check to make sure the car seat is secured before letting you drive off. No car seat, no departure from hospital.

Also, some countries are starting to state that rear facing car seat to be used till 2 years old.

here is a good video comparing front and rear facing car seats. No imagine a baby with no car seat for those who are willing to risk it.
psychicd
post Apr 3 2014, 12:27 PM

105 posts

my son really like sitting in the carseat..rarely cried..put some hanging toys..a couple of miles later, he'll sleep..

0.0813sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:42 PM