Need Guide and Recommendation, HD Media Player

TSfaridkl3447
post Jan 14 2011, 10:20 AM, updated 15y ago

Hi. Recently, i've bought 32' LCD TV and i'm looking for a media player that can play movies from my external drive. All my movies dimention in 720px width. So, my question :

1. Is it going to reduce the movie picture/sound quality when playing these movies with the media player?
2. I'm currently looking for NON HD BASE and NON WIFI. What is your best recommendations?
3. Can i connect these HD Media Player to old TV models (box version)?

icon_question.gif

azbro
post Jan 14 2011, 10:44 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(faridkl3447 @ Jan 14 2011, 10:20 AM)
Hi. Recently, i've bought 32' LCD TV and i'm looking for a media player that can play movies from my external drive. All my movies dimention in 720px width. So, my question :

1. Is it going to reduce the movie picture/sound quality when playing these movies with the media player?
2. I'm currently looking for NON HD BASE and NON WIFI. What is your best recommendations?
3. Can i connect these HD Media Player to old TV models (box version)?

icon_question.gif
Answer:
1. Quite the opposite, most Media Player will upscale it to 1080p (or what ever you selected)
2. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1681494 or http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1680108 . Of course got more expensive sets.
3. Of course can...those Yellow, Red and White connection are basically a requirement.

Anyway, why play with 720?...get 1080p movies smile.gif

Andrewtst
post Jan 14 2011, 10:48 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,781 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 14 2011, 10:44 AM)
1080P movie file size so big, for 32 inch, you seen not much different in 720P or 1080P movie...

1080P sure superior than 720P but it just as maybe 15% better in 32inch LCD but size wise is double for downloaded movie.

Even watching 720P downloaded movie at 40inch LCD still ok.

----------------------------

In my view, if your TV size is between 32inch to 40inch, for download material, go for 720P is far than enough.

If want true HD resolution, then buy origin BD & play BD, BD is trueHD 1080P source, download one no need, it just waste your time download double size but get slightly better only.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jan 14 2011, 10:55 AM
TSfaridkl3447
post Jan 14 2011, 11:08 AM

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 14 2011, 10:44 AM)
Answer:
1. Quite the opposite, most Media Player will upscale it to 1080p (or what ever you selected)
2. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1681494 or http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1680108 . Of course got more expensive sets.
3. Of course can...those Yellow, Red and White connection are basically a requirement.

Ohhh i.c... thankz a lot for the info AZBRO...

Added on January 14, 2011, 11:17 am
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 14 2011, 10:48 AM)
1080P movie file size so big, for 32 inch, you seen not much different in 720P or 1080P movie...

1080P sure superior than 720P but it just as maybe 15% better in 32inch LCD but size wise is double for downloaded movie.

Even watching 720P downloaded movie at 40inch LCD still ok.

----------------------------

In my view, if your TV size is between 32inch to 40inch, for download material, go for 720P is far than enough.

If want true HD resolution, then buy origin BD & play BD, BD is trueHD 1080P source, download one no need, it just waste your time download double size but get slightly better only.
Thank you Andrewtst biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by faridkl3447: Jan 14 2011, 11:17 AM
DarkNite
post Jan 14 2011, 02:36 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Any budget consideration?
TSfaridkl3447
post Jan 14 2011, 03:33 PM

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 14 2011, 02:36 PM)
Any budget consideration?
Actually i don't want to be "Kedekut" or "Tangkai Jering" what so ever. But when it comes to value for money, i must consider coz i'm actually new in this HD Media Player thingy thing. So, to be honest my budget around RM300 and below as long as the thing can perform tremendously and no hassle. Cheh... dah la nak yang murah, cakap banyak pulak tuh (i'm referring to myself) ...He he he.

Thanks DarkNite.
AjkR06
post Jan 14 2011, 04:40 PM

that's me
1,561 posts

QUOTE(faridkl3447 @ Jan 14 2011, 03:33 PM)
Actually i don't want to be "Kedekut" or "Tangkai Jering" what so ever. But when it comes to value for money, i must consider coz i'm actually new in this HD Media Player thingy thing. So, to be honest my budget around RM300 and below as long as the thing can perform tremendously and no hassle. Cheh... dah la nak yang murah, cakap banyak pulak tuh (i'm referring to myself) ...He he he.

Thanks DarkNite.
Eh, if your budget are about RM300, better take WDTV Live terus...
"alang-alang" u know... hehehe tongue.gif

ronaldkwok
post Jan 14 2011, 06:20 PM

656 posts

Can check my HD Media Player Blog to get a general idea. If you do not need networking, the two Realtek 1055 models given by bro azbro in his thread are good buys. thumbup.gif
DarkNite
post Jan 15 2011, 11:47 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jan 14 2011, 04:40 PM)
Eh, if your budget are about RM300, better take WDTV Live terus...
"alang-alang" u know... hehehe  tongue.gif
Ya either WDTV Live or Yangxi's

Both have good support, checkout their individual thread and comment from owners.
TSfaridkl3447
post Jan 15 2011, 04:41 PM

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Jan 14 2011, 06:20 PM)
Can check my HD Media Player Blog to get a general idea. If you do not need networking, the two Realtek 1055 models given by bro azbro in his thread are good buys.  thumbup.gif
Hi bro, Thanks for the reply. Today my friend bought the Modeo HD Media Player. The player shape are not like other players (Boxy or Square). But it's round like tayar or cd. The price is RM159 and can play all kinds of format with non Hardrive base and no WiFi. Just now he tells me that he connect the thing to his 40' TV and plays excellent with his 720p movie. Where he bought it? Low Yatt of course.

Maybe want to check it now tomorrow la... he he he

Thanks again bro rclxms.gif

Added on January 15, 2011, 4:46 pm
QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 15 2011, 11:47 AM)
Ya either WDTV Live or Yangxi's

Both have good support, checkout their individual thread and comment from owners.
Today, i managed to check the player in Carrefour. Price RM350 and RM270. A bit pricey but the player it's non harddrive and no wifi. So, to me it's bit pricey la. Another thing, the sales person did know much about the player. So, i think better go Low Yatt la...

Anyway, thanks for the info and recommendation rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by faridkl3447: Jan 15 2011, 04:46 PM
azbro
post Jan 15 2011, 07:29 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(faridkl3447 @ Jan 15 2011, 04:41 PM)

Today, i managed to check the player in Carrefour. Price RM350 and RM270. A bit pricey but the player it's non harddrive and no wifi. So, to me it's bit pricey la. Another thing, the sales person did know much about the player. So, i think better go Low Yatt la...

Anyway, thanks for the info and recommendation  rclxms.gif
Which player..WDTV live or Yangxi?

not all players are the same...dun simply buy..some have older chips and very picky with movies
cschuang
post Jan 17 2011, 03:25 PM

104 posts

Hi All,

I have just bought my 1st home theatre system, Denon 1911 + BA Soundware XS 5.1. Just discovered that I can't set up as my old & cheap Philips DVD player needs another cable (digital in cable something like tat) to connect to amp in order to test the 5.1, currently just detected as stereo. Therefore, have been thinking of getting a new player; a bluray player or HD Media player to replace this old DVD player. Some questions as I'm still very new to this player...appreciate your reply and comment.

1) Bluray player of Media player? hmm.gif
or any player that support both; 2 in 1? Any recommendation?

2) For media player, if I play a movie file (avi/mkv) that is about 700MB-1.4GB, mostly in stereo sound, will my amp still output as 5.1? or I must select and download those movie file with decoded 5.1 sound, which normally file size is very huge?

3) For media player that supports external HD, does it matters what type of external HD to buy? compatibility? software? or any external HD will do?

4) What are the benefits of onboard wifi in media player? movie streaming and media sharing only? Are they same as LAN?

5) Media player with built-in HD space (movies/files store in the player) vs without HD space? Pros & cons?

Sorry for all the noob questions here, newbies here. smile.gif

Any reply is very much appreciated. rclxms.gif

Have a good day!

Thanks!

CSC

azbro
post Jan 17 2011, 07:57 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(cschuang @ Jan 17 2011, 03:25 PM)
Hi All,

I have just bought my 1st home theatre system, Denon 1911 + BA Soundware XS 5.1. Just discovered that I can't set up as my old & cheap Philips DVD player needs another cable (digital in cable something like tat) to connect to amp in order to test the 5.1, currently just detected as stereo. Therefore, have been thinking of getting a new player; a bluray player or HD Media player to replace this old DVD player. Some questions as I'm still very new to this player...appreciate your reply and comment.

1) Bluray player of Media player?  hmm.gif
or any player that support both; 2 in 1? Any recommendation?

2) For media player, if I play a movie file (avi/mkv) that is about 700MB-1.4GB, mostly in stereo sound, will my amp still output as 5.1? or I must select and download those movie file with decoded 5.1 sound, which normally file size is very huge?

3) For media player that supports external HD, does it matters what type of external HD to buy? compatibility? software? or any external HD will do?

4) What are the benefits of onboard wifi in media player? movie streaming and media sharing only? Are they same as LAN?

5) Media player with built-in HD space (movies/files store in the player) vs without HD space? Pros & cons?

Sorry for all the noob questions here, newbies here.  smile.gif

Any reply is very much appreciated.  rclxms.gif

Have a good day!

Thanks!

CSC
First...congrats on your set... rclxms.gif

1) You can actually get separates or combined if you like. For Combined..there is no best of both worlds...sure one function is better than the other...it depends on Brand and Model
If i were you i go for a Media player first.

2) If you play stereo...of course the amp can convert it to 5.1 using PLII...but its not real surround like intended by the producers of the movie.
But why play so small sized files?....get yourself 1080p movies that are abt 8GB for better impact.

3) Media players that support a certain type of External HDD only should be put in the garbage can...so far, I've not seen one that only supports a certain type of external drive.
But some media players like the WDTVlive and the Seagate looks pretty if matched with their own brand of external HDD.

4) Wifi for media player?...well..i can say the technology not there yet for high bit rate movies...but for avi and 720p I think it should be OK.
Yes, suppose to be same as LAN...but not as fast.

5) Both also OK..but i dislike built in HDD due to difficult to access...heat generated...and a hassle copying files into it...and worst is...depend on model...upgrading the firmware is a hassle when you accidentally format the HDD

Cheers

willkso
post Jan 17 2011, 11:19 PM

993 posts

Maybe can have a check on the HiMedia HD 200A.. Check out the sales thread below:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1462384
cschuang
post Jan 18 2011, 09:37 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 17 2011, 07:57 PM)
First...congrats on your set...  rclxms.gif

1) You can actually get separates or combined if you like. For Combined..there is no best of both worlds...sure one function is better than the other...it depends on Brand and Model
If i were you i go for a Media player first.

2) If you play stereo...of course the amp can convert it to 5.1 using PLII...but its not real surround like intended by the producers of the movie.
But why play so small sized files?....get yourself 1080p movies that are abt 8GB for better impact.

3) Media players that support a certain type of External HDD only should be put in the garbage can...so far, I've not seen one that only supports a certain type of external drive.
But some media players like the WDTVlive and the Seagate looks pretty if matched with their own brand of external HDD.

4) Wifi for media player?...well..i can say the technology not there yet for high bit rate movies...but for avi and 720p I think it should be OK.
Yes, suppose to be same as LAN...but not as fast.

5) Both also OK..but i dislike built in HDD due to difficult to access...heat generated...and a hassle copying files into it...and worst is...depend on model...upgrading the firmware is a hassle when you accidentally format the HDD

Cheers
Thanks for your reply Azbro, appreciate it very much.

For media player that supports HDD, does it support portable hard disk as well?

Also, I have just moved in to a new house and thinking of applying a phone line & broadband service (Streamyx / Unifi). currently using maxis broadband but speed is super low at the area (Serdang). Anything to consider in terms of networking and integration of all media? I'm a mac user, so far I know I cant use PPS stream to watch live movie using my macbook. I believe there are media players that support PPS stream independently, not need to go thorough my macbook?? just connect wifi / ethernet?

Thanks in advance for your reply.

Cheers.

CSC

Added on January 18, 2011, 9:39 am
QUOTE(willkso @ Jan 17 2011, 11:19 PM)
Maybe can have a check on the HiMedia HD 200A.. Check out the sales thread below:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1462384
Thanks for the link Willkso! Really a good reference. thumbup.gif

Cheers.

CSC

This post has been edited by cschuang: Jan 18 2011, 09:39 AM
azbro
post Jan 18 2011, 11:01 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(cschuang @ Jan 18 2011, 09:37 AM)
Thanks for your reply Azbro, appreciate it very much.

For media player that supports HDD, does it support portable hard disk as well?

Also, I have just moved in to a new house and thinking of applying a phone line & broadband service (Streamyx / Unifi). currently using maxis broadband but speed is super low at the area (Serdang). Anything to consider in terms of networking and integration of all media? I'm a mac user, so far I know I cant use PPS stream to watch live movie using my macbook. I believe there are media players that support PPS stream independently, not need to go thorough my macbook?? just connect wifi / ethernet?

Thanks in advance for your reply.

I'm sure nowadays 99% media player supports external HDD...but a few portable ones only support internal HDD...but that doesn't stop you from Modding it.

If you are considering high speed line it comes at a cost....and a contract tongue.gif
And dun think once that it will forever be 'high speed'. Once TM throttles you then its gonna be a bit messy. sweat.gif

If you want a media player to watch PPS then PM this guy:

Yangxi...he sells a few models of Media Player that may cater for your requirements
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/986399

0.0193sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:24 PM