34 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations HP Pavilion dv6-4003TX NB PC, WITH INTEL SANDY BRIDGE! COMMENT PLS!

lester
post Feb 8 2011, 11:32 PM

292 posts

i got myself dv6 4003tx, try to connect to my external HDD via esata but it doesn't power up the drive, can some1 confirm that we need to use additional power source to power up the drive in order to connect via esata?
eugenechiuu
post Feb 8 2011, 11:48 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(A-hole @ Feb 8 2011, 10:04 PM)
Just got this laptop today. Well didn't know of the SB chip issue till i viewed lowyat. But it dosent seems to be a great issue for me i guess.

ANYWAYS, how to do a clean up, to remove all the unnecessary program and also how do i do a recovery backup?

Also, what program to download  to view temperatures?
Hw monitor to view temperatures..

Just uninstall programs u dun want?

Anyways please please do some review or pictures pls!
A-hole
post Feb 9 2011, 12:09 AM

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Feb 8 2011, 11:48 PM)
Hw monitor to view temperatures..

Just uninstall programs u dun want?

Anyways please please do some review or pictures pls!
will do, just give me some time, have some other stuff to do as well.

thanks for the reply!
lee_what2004
post Feb 9 2011, 07:45 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(lester @ Feb 8 2011, 11:32 PM)
i got myself dv6 4003tx, try to connect to my external HDD via esata but it doesn't power up the drive, can some1 confirm that we need to use additional power source to power up the drive in order to connect via esata?
You would need additional power source for e-sata unless you got some specific casing that can support power from usb/e-sata combo and your e-sata/usb combo is powered...
ThisIsBoletaria
post Feb 9 2011, 04:12 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(destee88 @ Feb 3 2011, 12:15 PM)
u can buy one and test ur self .. the heat issue still persists good also not used cos most my customer complaint abt it . yes the 6570 is hotter but the dv6 qc could cos the GC break down easily ... not like lenovo Y560P .... the bottom base still dun have enough vent for hot air to flow out .. only nice but QC is nono .... buy to believe if not trust .. mayb u are the lucky one to stand 1 year or two ... ddr3 or dd5 for vram so ?? for wat i noe there is their market strategy methold i belive watever ddr version both also can perform very well .. but this is not the issue the issue still at the heat and qc on the hp or compaq .. still not solve yet .....
Simple way to settle this: take a screenshot of the temperatures for both the Lenovo Y560P and the HP dv6 under these test conditions in an air-conditioned room set to 24 degrees C:

1) Idle
2) Normal load (playing music, surfing)
3) High load (playing hi definition video)
4) Extreme load (playing very hi-requirement game/benchmark at max settings)

Then post the screenshots and we'll see lah. The question of heat management and cooling is quite important to us in hot Malaysia.

Also, can anyone with the dv6 check which of the SATA slots the HDD and optical drive are connected to? The Sandy Bridge problem affects only ports 2-5, so if the HDD and optical drive are connected to ports 0 and 1, the dv6 should be okay. See here for instructions on how to check it.

This post has been edited by ThisIsBoletaria: Feb 9 2011, 04:19 PM
lester
post Feb 9 2011, 11:16 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(ThisIsBoletaria @ Feb 9 2011, 04:12 PM)
Also, can anyone with the dv6 check which of the SATA slots the HDD and optical drive are connected to?  The Sandy  Bridge problem affects only ports 2-5, so if the HDD and optical drive are connected to ports 0 and 1, the dv6 should be okay.  See here for instructions on how to check it.
HDD on port0, optical drive on port4 but unfortunately esata on port5.

eugenechiuu
post Feb 9 2011, 11:27 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(lester @ Feb 9 2011, 11:16 PM)
Pls post some temperatures or pictures plss! Has AmD released the driver for switchable graphics yet?
ThisIsBoletaria
post Feb 10 2011, 12:32 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(lester @ Feb 9 2011, 11:16 PM)
Crap. I don't care much about the eSATA because I don't have anything that uses it anyway, but the optical drive is a problem.

Has HP said anything to you about replacing the motherboard once the fixed motherboards come out?
A-hole
post Feb 10 2011, 12:49 AM

alright, just some brief review.

Temperatures :

During Idle : 42-46
Normal Usage (music, internet ) : 49-51

Room condition : Air-cond with U2 cooler

Well dont have time to play game with it yet, but will update it soon.

Port info

0-HDD
1-
2-
3-
4- optical drive
5-eSata

This post has been edited by A-hole: Feb 10 2011, 12:50 AM
eugenechiuu
post Feb 10 2011, 02:37 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(A-hole @ Feb 10 2011, 12:49 AM)
alright, just some brief review.

Temperatures :

During Idle : 42-46
Normal Usage (music, internet ) :  49-51

Room condition : Air-cond with U2 cooler

Well dont have time to play game with it yet, but will update it soon.
Port info

0-HDD
1-
2-
3-
4- optical drive
5-eSata
Great!! seems like there is switchable graphics?... And this freaking settles the 'overheating' myth as commented by those ppl and so called HP sellers who never even used it before and judging it based on the previous generation! Now let's just wait for gaming temperatures..
shauyan
post Feb 10 2011, 10:28 AM

178 posts

In US, HP already pushed back the release of SB laptop including DV6 and DV7, that is why HP dealer mention is limited units but not actually limited.

http://www.crn.com/news/client-devices/229...ge-versions.htm
eugenechiuu
post Feb 10 2011, 10:30 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(shauyan @ Feb 10 2011, 10:28 AM)
In US, HP already pushed back the release of SB laptop including DV6 and DV7, that is why HP dealer mention is limited units but not actually limited.

http://www.crn.com/news/client-devices/229...ge-versions.htm
I dont think this is related? Hp-dv6 SB was out since early January... The SB issue was only announced a week ago...

The one mentioned in the news is a newer variant with different SB processors and slightly different design and also got USB 3.0... It's not talking about the current one with i7-2630QM, and same design as previous generation ones..

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Feb 10 2011, 10:32 AM
shauyan
post Feb 10 2011, 01:58 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Feb 10 2011, 10:30 AM)
I dont think this is related? Hp-dv6 SB was out since early January... The SB issue was only announced a week ago...

The one mentioned in the news is a newer variant with different SB processors and slightly different design and also got USB 3.0... It's not talking about the current one with i7-2630QM, and same design as previous generation ones..
Maybe you are right, anyway i tried to browse through HP US website and seems like all SB processor option had been removed.
Trance4eva
post Feb 10 2011, 07:16 PM

1,801 posts

wow after seeing all this review, i think the y560p and hp dv6 have the same temp. Kinda weird seeing that y560p is GDDR3 and dv6 is GDDR5. The y560p can shoot up to 90C during gaming btw, maybe the hp dv6 too??

btw i own a y560p and now i feel like getting the hpdv6 seeing the specs diff and only like RM300-RM500 diff. Hope during the recall can refund la for my laptop
lester
post Feb 10 2011, 09:10 PM

292 posts

The hdd of this laptop is quite slow, only 5400rpm.
eugenechiuu
post Feb 10 2011, 09:12 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(lester @ Feb 10 2011, 09:10 PM)
The hdd of this laptop is quite slow, only 5400rpm.
5400RPM n 7200RPM don't really have notable differences one lar... Instead I prefer 5400RPM over 7200RPM because it's cooler n lower power consumption... You want faster HDD, Momentus XT or SSD..

How's the battery life???
Trance4eva
post Feb 10 2011, 09:57 PM

1,801 posts

the y560p and the 5750g also is 5400rpm la. Don't really notice any diff also. The y560p HDD brand is WD, but the hp-dv6 not sure la.

I hate seagate, had a very bad experience with them. Made my whole 250GB of files gone. Not even a year yet and it spoiled. Wan backup also the files are corrupted. mad.gif mad.gif . I never drop it btw.Kept it like a baby. Anyway just sharing my exp with seagate and for me right now WD is the best
lester
post Feb 10 2011, 10:17 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 10 2011, 09:57 PM)
the y560p and the 5750g also is 5400rpm la. Don't really notice any diff also. The y560p HDD brand is WD, but the hp-dv6 not sure la.

I hate seagate, had a very bad experience with them. Made my whole 250GB of files gone. Not even a year yet and it spoiled. Wan backup also the files are corrupted. mad.gif  mad.gif  . I never drop it btw.Kept it like a baby. Anyway just sharing my exp with seagate and for me right now WD is the best
DV6 is using samsung HDD, What i meant is this laptop came with a fast processor and it is good to pair with a fast HDD to get the most of it. I actually upgraded mine to 8GB ram and intel 160GB SSD.
TStoobad
post Feb 11 2011, 12:17 AM

291 posts

anyways! got myself this laptop too! got a great deal as i bought with 2 other friends.

will do some review later!
Trance4eva
post Feb 11 2011, 12:25 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(toobad @ Feb 11 2011, 12:17 AM)
anyways! got myself this laptop too! got a great deal as i bought with 2 other friends.

will do some review later!
wow yes do a reveiw please speacially bout the temps as I want to compared it to my y560p

btw how much did you bought it and from where, which shop. And does it bundle with anything else??

34 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:00 PM