Nissan Sentra vs Toyota Vios, Need advise

amad108
post Jan 13 2011, 05:17 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

hehe.. dont like or not is quite subjective question bro.. as long its fulfill nowadays people needs then gud enough edi.. for me, as long the location for meter easy to look n feel comfortable then ok oredy..
Jinster
post Jan 13 2011, 05:25 PM

Saber <3 VioletEvergarden <3
902 posts

different people have different taste tongue.gif
that's why every kind of car models also is sellable in malaysia~
cheers!
xshiro
post Jan 13 2011, 05:30 PM

133 posts

sentra - bigger and more comfortable...
geforce88
post Jan 13 2011, 05:43 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(ravager877 @ Jan 13 2011, 12:13 PM)
I'm planning on getting a new car and have to choose between Nissan Sentra or a Toyota Vios. Does anyone have any advise on this matter?
sentra:

1. old car, interior oso looks dated
2. very reliable
3. steering over assisted
4. conservative and safe styling (suitable for those non-flashy driver)

vios:

1. dont wanna comment about other things, the outlook already make me vomit
Oldskolboyz
post Jan 13 2011, 05:59 PM

1,422 posts

Be patient & wait for afew month ETCM will bring Sunny new generation to compete with Vios & City... Price wise expected lower than Vios & City

This post has been edited by Oldskolboyz: Jan 13 2011, 05:59 PM
jimmy.soo
post Jan 13 2011, 10:10 PM

Happy Go Lucky
1,050 posts

sentra - multilink suspension
vios - torsion beam
blackmarket
post Jan 13 2011, 10:26 PM

892 posts

hmm no offense but the nissan looks very old fashion, at least to me. reliable yes but the tech is quite old. iinm it cost rm80K+ with that budget u have many choice actually. ford fiesta, peageot etc. just my 2 cents

This post has been edited by blackmarket: Jan 13 2011, 10:27 PM
TSravager877
post Jan 14 2011, 09:15 AM

66 posts

I've actually gone through and had a look at all the car models I can afford for a budget of about 80k. For the most part, the discussion keeps coming back to Nissan and Toyota since the quality is the best among all the manufacturers according to most users users.

I agree the Sentra looks rather dated but I hear it's very reliable and has a lot of power compared to the Vios. The Vios looks very modern but lacks power and not as spacious. Either way, I will be taking both for a test drive this weekend and we'll see if I can make up my mind based on the feel of the car.
pedanglaut
post Jan 14 2011, 09:19 AM

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Jan 13 2011, 10:10 PM)
sentra - multilink suspension
vios - torsion beam
Sure or not? whistling.gif
nissan just wanna dupe us stated in their spec the rear suspension use multilink BEAM..actually N16 sentra use torsion beam oso hehe laugh.gif
XionCity
post Jan 14 2011, 10:20 AM

171 posts

if in term of 80k, u can afford new FL Forte EX with 6 spd now, and Ford fiesta sedan. Instead of Old tech Sentra, u can choose newer model = Forte EX, and instead of VIOS, u can choose Fiesta Sedan, both cost less than 80k, yet i think interest now still low, increasing soon, plz make ur choice.
SUSgogo2
post Jan 14 2011, 10:42 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

may I know how much is Sentra now?
jimmy.soo
post Jan 14 2011, 11:40 AM

Happy Go Lucky
1,050 posts

QUOTE(pedanglaut @ Jan 14 2011, 09:19 AM)
Sure or not? whistling.gif
nissan just wanna dupe us stated in their spec the rear suspension use multilink BEAM..actually N16 sentra use torsion beam oso hehe laugh.gif
ahhhhh really? blush.gif haha screw the broucher then tongue.gif
stormlcc
post Jan 14 2011, 12:13 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

if u want new car in the 80k region, there are tons of choices now, why choose a very old model (sentra) and a very overpriced ugly piece of shxt (vios)? i highly recommend ford fiesta (although the interior is a bit crap, but hey, cars in this region all has crap interior). look, i drive a nissan, and i dared say sentra is a super reliable car, but it's old. not that vios is a bad car, but for that price (and specs) it's kinda hard considering why u should buy it when other competitors gives such a good bargain, even the forte wins it hands down on everything. seriously, go for a test drive on every brand before considering what car u wanna buy, 80k is a lot of dough u know.

This post has been edited by stormlcc: Jan 14 2011, 12:17 PM
TSravager877
post Jan 14 2011, 02:12 PM

66 posts

Thanks for mentioning the Fiesta, actually I took a look at it after you mentioned it and I like it a lot. The only thing is that I asked my agent about it and he mention that Ford usually got problem with resale value and parts also a bit hard to find since Ford isn't all that popular in Malaysia.
omara86
post Jan 14 2011, 02:22 PM

0mg nicotine juice
707 posts

Ford fiesta > vios & sentra

Edit: oh shiieettt... Got ppl mentioned about it alrdy...

This post has been edited by omara86: Jan 14 2011, 02:23 PM
jimmy.soo
post Jan 14 2011, 02:27 PM

Happy Go Lucky
1,050 posts

Fiesta is the only car in B-segment that equipped Electronic Stability Control (ESP) in our market
Deja Vu
post Jan 14 2011, 02:33 PM

1,864 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Jan 14 2011, 11:40 AM)
ahhhhh really? blush.gif  haha screw the broucher then tongue.gif
Nothing wrong wit d brochure. In fact, if u peep at the under carriage, u can actually see d torsion beam with d so called 'multilink' in terms of an additional diagonal bar. Even d older AD Resort has this setup for 'improved' cornering ability.
FamousLastWords
post Jan 14 2011, 02:46 PM

932 posts

another choice within the 80k budget, Peugoet 207 Sedan
stormlcc
post Jan 14 2011, 03:05 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

QUOTE(ravager877 @ Jan 14 2011, 02:12 PM)
Thanks for mentioning the Fiesta, actually I took a look at it after you mentioned it and I like it a lot. The only thing is that I asked my agent about it and he mention that Ford usually got problem with resale value and parts also a bit hard to find since Ford isn't all that popular in Malaysia.
ford is currently fighting aggressively for market share, just like naza / kia is doing, parts won't be a problem anymore. plus ford is one of the most reliable brands out there. 2nd hand value isn't very good, but u r not going to change car every 3 years right? depreciation is definitely a pain in the arse in the first 3 years, but after that the price will stabilize and ur wallet won't feel so hurt if u sell the car. plus nowadays the younger generation is changing towards European or Korean cars, the demand for brand H and T will start to drop in a few years, so the prices of these H and T brands will definitely go down, but not by much. Don't waste your chance of getting a good car just because u r scared of depreciation, if u play safe and buy a safe brand like the vios, u'll regret it when one of your friends buys a fiesta. this is so true because few of my friends told me (half a year ago) they should have waited for a couple of months to get the fiesta, and now all they drive is a boring+expensive vios or city.

go for test drive, u'll be amazed how this car handles, it is the most planted car in it's segment. I'm not talking about street racing or any kind of fast driving, i'm talking about stability and cornering ability. i once followed a fiesta sedan going down cameron highlands and it is way too fast for a car of this segment, i've never seen anyone drive a vios or city or even altis / accord drive this fast, it is unbelievably stable at the corners doing more than 90kmph.

i seldom praise car of this segment (+-80k) because all of them are rubbish at handling and rubbish on power and responsiveness. this is the only car in this price range that gets my approval.

seriously again, go for a test drive

P.S: i'm NOT a ford salesman

This post has been edited by stormlcc: Jan 14 2011, 03:14 PM
dc28yk
post Jan 14 2011, 03:21 PM

269 posts

My Vote.

Vios J.

Manual 69k? Auto 73k?

Pick Manual if you can.

Top speed can reach 200km/r.

Yes is a very light car... but.. City or Sentra or Latio also cannot reach. This shows that the engine maybe looks lower hp on paper, but in fact is kind of fast for such a small car.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0206sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:02 AM