5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V9, NOW UPDATING MODEL n PRICE

Trance4eva
post Jan 14 2011, 10:49 PM

1,801 posts

hey guys I need some help here
I need a laptop that can run 3Dmax, Autocad, Ilustrator, CS5, etc smoothly
my budget only around RM3k++....any recommendation????

oh yea, and what should i look at for a good laptop for graphic design??? CPU???, GPU????, RAM???????
Trance4eva
post Jan 14 2011, 11:10 PM

1,801 posts

yea I was thinking of Asus but there are kinda too expensive...im on a tight budget and i need it ASAP for college, lecturer asking to bring laptop on Friday sleep.gif'''

hmmm i am seriously thinking bout Acer 5750G. What is the screen resolution??
Trance4eva
post Jan 14 2011, 11:20 PM

1,801 posts

hmmm how about Lenovo Y560P???

Acer or Lenovo better???
im also looking at quality not just performance

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Jan 14 2011, 11:21 PM
Trance4eva
post Jan 14 2011, 11:26 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Jan 14 2011, 11:23 PM)
Acer equip wif intel latest sandy bridge..
The Lenovo model is also equip with sandy bridge if im not wrong.....found an advertisment bout this laptop in today Star paper, Price also 2999 but ATI 6570m
Trance4eva
post Jan 14 2011, 11:36 PM

1,801 posts

lol, no worries. Its already in the market. Saw it in an advertisement newspaper
I think i will get the Lenovo Y560p....great price with a great performance

hey thx for the help, i think going out to buy tmr tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Jan 14 2011, 11:37 PM
Trance4eva
post Jan 14 2011, 11:55 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(klk89 @ Jan 14 2011, 11:48 PM)
Is it really out in the market? I am currently hunting a SB based lappy. I had set my eyes on either Asus A43SV or the Acer 5750G. But it seems Asus model is not yet available. Even the older i5-480M Asus U41JF will only available end of this month. Urgently needed a laptop by 1 or 2 weeks time. =(
Yea its definitely out in the market, CNY promotion summore

IMO, if you wan the best and awesome quality go for ASUS(expensive). If you wan a good performance but ok ok quality go for Lenovo, Acer or Toshiba (price ok la). DELL and HP sucks !!!Don't even bother bout Sony Vaio, its more on looks than performance

Added on January 14, 2011, 11:59 pmoh yea just to confirm
ATI 6570m or Nvidia GT540m better????

GT540m got benchmark on notebookcheck.net but 6570m don't have. Somehow the 6570m is higher than GT540m

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Jan 14 2011, 11:59 PM
Trance4eva
post Jan 15 2011, 12:50 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jan 15 2011, 12:22 AM)
there's 2 variants of 6570M, 1 is GDDR3 and GDDR5...

540M is slightly better than the GDDR3 6570M... However the GDDR5 6570M pawns them both...

http://h20386.www2.hp.com/MalaysiaStore/Pr...95&pid=C338007&
I would get this if dv6 improved their ventilation since the last model...

The benchmark
http://3dmark.com/3dm06/15217436

apparenly the Lenovo one is GDDR3 according to a forummer... So HP dv6 wins handsdown for RM3299...
OMG la, now i got problem again

Acer 5750G (GDDR 3 or GDDR5????) - RM3000
Lenovo Y560P (GDDR3) - RM3000
HP dv6 (GDDR 5) - RM 3299

HELP!!!!!!! WHICH WANT TO GET!!!! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Trance4eva
post Jan 15 2011, 12:53 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(klk89 @ Jan 15 2011, 12:51 AM)
Same here. Desperate getting one by end of this month. Going overseas next month. ==
I worse la, need before Friday. Weekdays not free because of college
only tmr can

I NEED HELP ASAP!!
Trance4eva
post Jan 15 2011, 12:59 AM

1,801 posts

but im also looking at the quality of the brand.
Lenovo stands out the most next is Acer and last is HP

so this is bugging me.
Plus i dunno if Acer is GDDR3 or GDDR5. I check google all said nothing bout this
Trance4eva
post Jan 15 2011, 01:06 AM

1,801 posts

i think Acer is GDDR3

Added on January 15, 2011, 1:08 amwa No.1
All brand claim they all No.1 all this crap la
Honestly based on review and feedback Asus is the best......but expensive la

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Jan 15 2011, 01:09 AM
Trance4eva
post Jan 15 2011, 01:16 AM

1,801 posts

Asus is mostly best based on quality and performance. Price.....expensive la
My friend drop his Asus G71 then go for RMA. The technician offer a CPU upgrade and add 2 years warranty just for RM50.......

anyways....i dunno la HP or Acer or Lenovo
My head really gonna explode la

Added on January 15, 2011, 1:17 am
QUOTE(klk89 @ Jan 15 2011, 01:14 AM)
Yeap would prefer Asus...but their product releasing date is very unpromising. Some retailers told me they are not quite sure, some said end of this month only releasing the SB lappy such as A43SV. As for time constraint, I think if you want better quality go for Lenovo Y560P. If you don't mind of quality and prefer cheaper alternative with some good reviews about this model, go for Acer 5750G. Plus if you really wanted the NVIDIA's Optimus technology, go for Acer.  smile.gif
i dun really care bout Optimus. Its just power consumtion. ATI also should have i think

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Jan 15 2011, 01:17 AM
Trance4eva
post Jan 15 2011, 12:32 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jan 15 2011, 01:40 AM)
If you talk about specs and hardwares, all brands are the same.
All hardwares are OEM. You need to pay more for brand and better hardware. It's common sense.

If you talk about hardware compatibility, make sure you stay away from HP/Compaq.
Acer and Asus are quite good in that.

If you talk about after sales service, I think Asus 2-year warranty seems to play a big part in her reputation of service quality.
There are good comments from users that local service centre of Asus did offer excellent solutions to users.

If you talk about price, Acer seems to be quite consistent in delivering the product at the right time, right place and right price tag.
HP really not that good meh???????

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jan 15 2011, 02:38 AM)
i7-2630 is here. Are you going to wait for i7-2720 or i5?
Do you need the notebook urgently? What's your budget again?

Besides, for CAD, I'd advise you to stick to nVidia GPU.
4820TG has ATI Radeon GPU.
shocking.gif Nvidia or ATI better arr for graphic design
Trance4eva
post Jan 15 2011, 01:07 PM

1,801 posts

wa i dun think i will be getting HP then

im sure i will be using OpenGL
Trance4eva
post Jan 15 2011, 01:21 PM

1,801 posts

when will it be release and what do you think the price would be??
Trance4eva
post Jan 16 2011, 03:53 PM

1,801 posts

hey guys i just got my Lenovo y560p with the 2nd gen i7 for RM3100 ytd. Got the 2nd Last unit. The other wan is the display tongue.gif . This model selling fast btw, they said they just got it the day b4 i bought it and now no more stock. Plus the seller told me in a few weeks time the price might go up to Rm3.8k.

This laptop can play black ops at 1080p smoothly and high settings but the temps go up very fast la

IMO i think this lenovo is better than Acer 5750g even though Acer is cheaper(RM2900) cause Lenovo got bigger HD and nice features

Added on January 16, 2011, 3:55 pm
QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Jan 16 2011, 02:33 PM)
u r making me wanna sell off my 5750g to buy the dv6 already, LOL
even though HP gpu is better than Acer, but HP laptops got lots a problem with drivers etc.....

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Jan 16 2011, 03:58 PM
Trance4eva
post Jan 16 2011, 07:37 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(klk89 @ Jan 16 2011, 05:48 PM)
Hi Trance4eva. May I know where you purchased your Lenovo Y560P laptop? It's because I found out some shops they don't have any unit of Lenovo Y560P yet...they said it will arrived end of this month coz its not launched yet. I am like O.O And I thought they already advertised on the newspaper the other day? Weird.  hmm.gif  Just managed to see and play around with the actual Acer 5750G tho...imho the keyboard is the drawback. May I know it is hot easily during idle and how heavy is it with battery attached on it? Thanks for replying. smile.gif
hey i bought mine from digital mall, PJ. The shop is on the ground floor. They sell Asus, Acer and Lenovo laptops. They said there will be a stock coming in tmr so you might want to drop by to buy it. If you want to buy the Lenovo you better buy it quick because their stock can finish in 2 days and thre price will increase in a few weeks time (the seller told me that) because its still a new laptop, ppl dun know how good it is yet. If many people find out, the demand will be high so the price increase. From what i can see, its really selling dam fast...just 2 days and no stock!!!!!! Dun bother bout Acer, it sucks.

The keyboard on the Lenovo laptop is not that bad, can get use to it. This laptop also can lock your screen by sliding ur finger on the navigaion pad. Quite cool features, better than Acer.

As for the temps, im not sure bout the actual temp value but i can tell you this, when in gaming it gets really really hot. I can only feel the heat on the left side of the laptop and not the right side. Somehow the right side is quite cool and the ventilation is on the left side.

The battery is 6 cell so it is not really that heavy

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Jan 16 2011, 07:40 PM
Trance4eva
post Jan 16 2011, 11:16 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(klk89 @ Jan 16 2011, 10:05 PM)
Thanks for your reply. I've got another few questions to ask. What is the retailer name that you had purchased the laptop? And when you got the time, can you review how long the battery last when using minimal web surfing and word processing. Enjoy your new lappy!  biggrin.gif
the shop name is D-Fusion. I think they also have another shop in Low Yat. I think the battery could last more than 2 hours. Have not try in battery yet, right now is plug with the Ac adapter. Maybe i try tmr at college. 1 think good bout this laptop is that it has a energy management. The touch button for this app is located on the top of the laptop. It enables you to change the laptop to Energy Star mode, High Performance, Balanced, Power Saver and Super Power Saver.
Trance4eva
post Jan 16 2011, 11:39 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(karyaw @ Jan 16 2011, 10:15 PM)
HI Trance4eva, mind to do a review for ur new laptop? pls
thanks you!
Yea sure.

Specs:
i7 2630QM
ATi HD6570
4GB RAM DDR3
HD 750GB 5400 rpm
resolution 1366x768

Well at 1st look the design of the laptop is not to bad. The keyboard is okay but 1 thing i dun like is the Fn is located on the bottom left of the keyboard. Usually is suppose to be Ctrl at the bottom left...somehow its Fn, can be quite annoying sometimes.

The touchpad is nice. Its big and the left and right button feels like a mouse button when i click it.

On the left side is there is the on off button, and the recovery button. The recovery button is really small. You have to be carefull not to press it. But somehow if you press it, it needs o confirm twice b4 u use the windows recovery

On the right side is the volume control and mute. For windows media player, if you press the mute button, it will pause the song,video etc

On the top there is a hidden line where you can slide your finger to navigate. Its quite cool. You can add shortcut to the app and use ur finger to navigate by sliding. You can also lock the screen by sliding left to right. Sliding Right to left enables you to change the desktop background.

This laptop has a ethernet pot, 3 USB 2.0, USB 2.0 combo with Esata, VGA port, HDMI port, DVDRW drive, audio and headphone port. The ventilation is located at the left side.

This laptop comes with a JBL speaker (never heard of it). Its just like other laptop speaker. Not that bad but i cant really hear the bass. I dun think there is a subwoofer.

Also got webcam, 1.3MP. Theres a app that comes with this laptop for the webcam. Quite fun to use it. Can add some stuff on your face that move around with your fac..lol

This laptop also comes with a bluetooth and wireless, might want to turn them off when not using.

When gaming, the heat can go up to 80+ celcius. So you might wan to play in an aircon room equip with a notebook fan.
1 thing i like bout the CPU is that it has 8 CORES. 2nd gen i7 with sandy bridge....what do you expect, lol.
The GPU is ok la. Play MOH, Black OPS can run smoothly. But play Lost Planet 2 the FPS is 15 and below on High setting DX11.

Overall the laptop is really good. Looking at the 2nd generation i7 with sandy bridge for only RM3100......really worth it. Compare to other brand with same price, they do not have the Sandy Bridge yet. So getting this is worth it.

The downside is the Fn key for me and the Temp. Need to keep a constant look on the temp when playing in high graphics gaming. As for the battery life.....have not try it yet, maybe sooon.
Trance4eva
post Jan 16 2011, 11:47 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(klk89 @ Jan 16 2011, 11:46 PM)
Thumbs up for the review. Thanks and hope you enjoyed your lappy.  rclxms.gif
biggrin.gif thanks
Trance4eva
post Jan 16 2011, 11:49 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(karyaw @ Jan 16 2011, 11:48 PM)