129 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V10, All About Tennis. (gears, courts, etc)

praetorian
post Jan 28 2011, 12:22 PM

866 posts

Hahahah I am just playing with you guys, its good to see some competitive spirit! Of course to a certain extent lah, if battle hard make sure its on the court only, don't say lost a match later beat the winner in parking lot.....no sportsmanship lah, tennis as they say is a gentlemans game.

Regarding Edberg, his serve and volley game made you cry he was smooth and glided on the court, almost Federer like, but Federer has slightly better footwork, most likely due to new found techniques.

Edberg's serve was a kick serve, on his 1st and 2nd serve, apparently more on his 2nd.If you compare his kick to, today's game may be you can say ahhh kacang his serve, but Edberg could back his serve up very well, the reason was his forward movement to the net, his 1st volley usually is inside the service box, or closer...people have a huge misconception the harder they serve the more easier the 1st volley depending on the return that may be true, but in actual fact the bigger the serve, the bigger the return, the less time you have to move forward, and close in at the net, Edberg's serve allowed him to get in nice and tight, he did not care if you could return his serve, if you passed him on the return and or if he committed a unforced error, that did not change his mentality, he lived and died serving and volleying, only later in life did he sometime's not serve and volley 100%...

Edberg's serve when he first started out I suspect he was using a continental grip, he arched his back and his tennis ball toss was very far out in front hence he was sometimes called for footfaults, he would kick the ball very high and wide to his opponents backhand, you must remember during his era there were not that many double handed backhand players, so it was pretty difficult to return serve with a single handed backhand.

During his era the people that were using Double handers were Mats Wilander, Anders Jarryd,Joakim Nystrom,Mikael Pernfors, these are all Swedish players who played a Bjorn Borg game, only Stefan was different.

Here are some youtube video's of Edberg.

karim_pin
post Jan 28 2011, 12:58 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jan 28 2011, 12:22 PM)
Edberg's serve was a kick serve, on his 1st and 2nd serve, apparently more on his 2nd.If you compare his kick to, today's game may be you can say ahhh kacang his serve, but Edberg could back his serve up very well, the reason was his forward movement to the net, his 1st volley usually is inside the service box, or closer...people have a huge misconception the harder they serve the more easier the 1st volley depending on the return that may be true, but in actual fact the bigger the serve, the bigger the return, the less time you have to move forward, and close in at the net, Edberg's serve allowed him to get in nice and tight, he did not care if you could return his serve, if you passed him on the return and or if he committed a unforced error, that did not change his mentality, he lived and died serving and volleying, only later in life did he sometime's not serve and volley 100%...
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Kacang (to some) to produce the same effect, but a suicide to copy the same movement. i think he bend his back outrageously in comparison to others. If not mistaken, i read somewhere maybe, maybe tt.tennis-warehouse.com mentioning edberg were doing 1000 sit up per day during his teen.

So kid, please dont do this at home, only at tennis court. biggrin.gif

Apart from edberg, mcenroe and sampras has a really nice serve motion.

lelucky
post Jan 28 2011, 02:39 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(karim_pin @ Jan 28 2011, 11:54 AM)
Lelucky, tolong jangan belasah aku. Hang ada baju edberg? So hang umoq mesti dah 50 tahun. Hang ni la, nak tenguk orang main S&V la, dunk smash la... dulu masa zaman S&V, hang komplen match terlampau cepat. La ni hang komplen pasal baseline ball basher. Hang nak apa sebenarnya?? Cuba hang bagitau kat aku, nanti aku hantar sophis and akughi untuk entertain hang.

mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
haha aku nak hg balik, mai la belasah aku, tau la hg NTRP 3.0..aku still 2.5

bukan komplen laa, aku nak tengok varieties of stroke, baseline stroke is boring to see (for me laa), no drama

takat akughi, soh dia upgrade jd 4.5 dulu baru bleh challenge aku, heheh
karim_pin
post Jan 28 2011, 03:06 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(lelucky @ Jan 28 2011, 02:39 PM)

bukan komplen laa, aku nak tengok varieties of stroke, baseline stroke is boring to see (for me laa), no drama

Nak tenguk drama tenguk "The real housewives" la... hahahhaha

k3vin82
post Jan 28 2011, 06:31 PM

92 posts

Hey angel,

I'm hitting tmr morning at sunway. Monday night if u free to hit let me know.

Cya guys there.

Naskie
post Jan 28 2011, 10:29 PM

42 posts

kev and inv.. sorry guys i cant make it tomorrow. just now play tennis and sorta injured my back + right arm + right ankle.. so i wont be joining you guys.. plus roddick stick tension 55 is a bit difficult compare to dunlop aerogel 200 tension 57.. damn.. need to get use to that roddick stick..
vobs
post Jan 28 2011, 10:30 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(lelucky @ Jan 28 2011, 02:39 PM)

wow, 4.5? come come join the doubles kat CTO.....sure can win the tournament:) pm me if interested:)

Added on January 28, 2011, 10:57 pm
QUOTE(Naskie @ Jan 28 2011, 10:29 PM)
kev and inv.. sorry guys i cant make it tomorrow. just now play tennis and sorta injured my back + right arm + right ankle.. so i wont be joining you guys.. plus roddick stick tension 55 is a bit difficult compare to dunlop aerogel 200 tension 57.. damn.. need to get use to that roddick stick..
sound so fake....hahahha.....

I will be at sunway to collect CTO payment:) those who join please show me the MONEYYYYYYYYY!:) tqtq

This post has been edited by vobs: Jan 28 2011, 10:58 PM
Naskie
post Jan 28 2011, 11:24 PM

42 posts

what sounds fake? the excuse hahaha.. really la.. long time didnt play then play three and a half hour straight.. bound to be injury.. haha..

my back hurts coz i tried to smash and ends up over stretch.. lol
my ankle coz i weight more than i should..
my arm because trying to serve like the pros.. haha..
tiangkim
post Jan 28 2011, 11:35 PM

50 posts

for me......
since the 80's the best in sequence are:

serve: Becker, Sampras, Goran, Fed
fh: agassi, fed
sbh: edberg, fed, lubijic
dbh: agassi, safin, nalby
fv: becker
bh: edberg
return: agassi

ugliest fh but strongest: nadal....

just discharged from hospital 2 days of food poisoning......

This post has been edited by tiangkim: Jan 28 2011, 11:39 PM
vobs
post Jan 28 2011, 11:38 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Naskie @ Jan 28 2011, 11:24 PM)
what sounds fake? the excuse hahaha.. really la.. long time didnt play then play three and a half hour straight.. bound to be injury.. haha..

my back hurts coz i tried to smash and ends up over stretch.. lol
my ankle coz i weight more than i should..
my arm because trying to serve like the pros.. haha..
u sound older than mc enroe...true la, long time no play bound to have injury, take good care of yourself, i myself a victim of my stupidity of not warming up before play:) take good care ya....

Added on January 28, 2011, 11:40 pm
QUOTE(tiangkim @ Jan 28 2011, 11:35 PM)
for me......
since the 80's the best in sequence are:

serve: Becker, Sampras, Goran, Fed
fh: agassi, fed
sbh: edberg, fed, lubijic
dbh: agassi, safin, nalby
fv: becker
bh: edberg

ugliest fh but strongest: nadal....

just discharged from hospital 2 days of food poisoning......
u must be now thin handsome and fit, try to maintain so youre lighter and faster for CTO:)

This post has been edited by vobs: Jan 28 2011, 11:40 PM
tiangkim
post Jan 28 2011, 11:47 PM

50 posts

we will see the 1st Brit Slammer in seven hundred thousand years........
k3vin82
post Jan 29 2011, 12:51 AM

92 posts

go murray n li na... smile.gif
shannon.kan
post Jan 29 2011, 12:52 AM

see u guys tml!
Naskie
post Jan 29 2011, 01:25 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(vobs @ Jan 29 2011, 12:38 AM)
u sound older than mc enroe...true la, long time no play bound to have injury, take good care of yourself, i myself a victim of my stupidity of not warming up before play:) take good care ya....

Added on January 28, 2011, 11:40 pm

u must be now thin handsome and fit, try to maintain so youre lighter and faster for CTO:)
will do bro.. will do.. now im stocking up on meat so that the muscle tissues will generate back haha..
praetorian
post Jan 29 2011, 01:47 AM

866 posts

I support Novak......I want him be have more than 1 grandslam, otherwise people call him one slam wonder all the time.......
tiangkim
post Jan 29 2011, 01:58 AM

50 posts

If Murray still can't win this time, he could only blame himself. I m sick of the English media on how they potray him like the national english futbal team.
ckseong80
post Jan 29 2011, 07:21 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(vobs @ Jan 28 2011, 10:30 PM)
wow, 4.5? come come join the doubles kat CTO.....sure can win the tournament:) pm me if interested:)

Added on January 28, 2011, 10:57 pm

sound so fake....hahahha.....

I will be at sunway to collect CTO payment:) those who join please show me the MONEYYYYYYYYY!:) tqtq
Aiyooo along come kutip hutang.
tiangkim
post Jan 29 2011, 11:16 AM

50 posts

we will see the 'modern' game attacker and defender in tmr OZO!!!!!

My mojo tells me d attacker should win.......

but emotionally, give the Brits a break...... they r starving for a slammer for seven hundred thousand years...........

Added on January 29, 2011, 5:11 pm李娜,加油!!!!

Added on January 29, 2011, 5:21 pmIf I were Babolat I would want Lina to win cox i could capture the massive China market.... think bout that, is the 1st Chinese to win a slam and with Babolat..... yummy yummy......

I think its matter of time Babolat will surpass Wilson as market leader (maybe after Fed retire)....

This post has been edited by tiangkim: Jan 29 2011, 05:21 PM
lelucky
post Jan 29 2011, 05:34 PM

73 posts

1st set goes to LiNa

but i kind a dislike her motivation factor which is prize money, not because of winning a grand slam or other tournament.

This post has been edited by lelucky: Jan 29 2011, 05:37 PM
angel-ice
post Jan 29 2011, 07:50 PM

who won between li na and kim>?

129 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:16 PM