6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Heat-Away Thermal Insulation Underneath the Roof, Anyone heard before? Any review?

escargo75
post Apr 26 2011, 04:10 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Apr 26 2011, 03:46 PM)
radent shield by Monier... can get from any hardware shop selling monier tiles...
http://www.monier.com.my/products-services...nt-barrier.html

DuoFoil by HongLeong Industry. Also by any hardware shop
http://www.hlm.com.my/Duofoil.html

N.B dont even call the number on the web to buy.. unless you are goin to buy >100 roll from them.....

p/s insulation roof come in a system... not a single product.... so, you can use a super duper radient barrier but not efficient system/installation wont show how effective the super duper product is...

it is like attach a F1 tyre onto a kancil...
Thanks man! I wonder who can do the installation for me or I have to DIY wink.gif
PangurBan
post Apr 26 2011, 04:17 PM

584 posts

I've had the cellulose insulation done by TCL and I've also had exhaust fans installed to suck cool air from outside into the bedrooms at night, and in the stairwell, to vent hot air out - a lot of hot air rises and used to get stuck there. I'm not the sort who would have the aircon on every day as a matter of course, but even then, both methods of heat control have enabled me to reduce my aircon use even more, quite significantly in fact.
Awakened_Angel
post Apr 27 2011, 10:29 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(escargo75 @ Apr 26 2011, 05:10 PM)
Thanks man! I wonder who can do the installation for me or I have to DIY  wink.gif
Any contractor can do this job.... and you don have to do it.. the job is not hard but difficult in the sense that labour demanding that you need to climb, sustain ray from burning sun etc.

what roof are you using? concrete? metaldec?

a typical sandwich system is more than sufficient for insulation...

top layer- roof
2nd layer polywool fibreglass density=24kg/m^3
3rd layer- aluminium foil, reflectivity >95%
4th layer- S/S mesh to withheld the above(aluminium foil & fibre wool)

another factor also factor in.. air ventilation

Added on April 27, 2011, 10:30 am
QUOTE(PangurBan @ Apr 26 2011, 05:17 PM)
I've had the cellulose insulation done by TCL and I've also had exhaust fans installed to suck cool air from outside into the bedrooms at night, and in the stairwell, to vent hot air out - a lot of hot air rises and used to get stuck there.  I'm not the sort who would have the aircon on every day as a matter of course, but even then, both methods of heat control have enabled me to reduce my aircon use even more, quite significantly in fact.
heat enters house via roof with significantly >50%

wall another 30-40%

so, material selection is very important

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Apr 27 2011, 10:30 AM
Drian
post Apr 27 2011, 02:12 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Apr 26 2011, 03:33 PM)
Foil type of thermal insulation is usually installed between roof truss and batten. It follows the gradient of the roof, hence does not sit on top of the ceiling. Other insulations may sit on top of the ceiling. Usually they cut holes where the downlights protrude.
Can this type be installed after the house is fully done up and renovated. Do you have to remove all the roof tiles to install this type of insulation?
wdarke
post Apr 27 2011, 04:18 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Apr 27 2011, 02:12 PM)
Can this type be installed after the house is fully done up and renovated. Do you have to remove all the roof tiles to install this type of insulation?
Yes, it's possible, just more troublesome. They can climb into the roof cavity and staple the foil to the bottom of the roof trusses. Another option they will propose is laying the foil down flat on top of the ceiling, like how they do with cellulose insulation.
Jo_da48
post Jun 5 2011, 09:13 AM

1,529 posts

Anyone recent done any similar isolation? Mind to share the contact and cost?

edwin32us
post Jun 5 2011, 11:23 AM

593 posts

Why not installing Galvanized Steel.

- Anti Theft
- Anti Heat

http://ezinearticles.com/?Galvanized-Metal...Know&id=1193788

weikee
post Jun 5 2011, 04:27 PM

12,019 posts

I will be using some metal strip for my roof, not sure what exactly is it, it could be the Galvanized steel roll. My contractor told me is sufficient to block the heat and also help prevent thief coming in.
Awakened_Angel
post Jun 5 2011, 05:37 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edwin32us @ Jun 5 2011, 12:23 PM)
Why not installing Galvanized Steel.

- Anti Theft
- Anti Heat

http://ezinearticles.com/?Galvanized-Metal...Know&id=1193788
says who? a thief can open the metal fooring by looseining the screws..... anti heat? if no insulation(aluminium foil & fibrewool), then itll be as hot as sahara
HW-Racer
post Jun 5 2011, 05:43 PM

729 posts

i got quotation from Mr. Eugene Koh 012-6550757 heat shield... on Axis foil (manufactured by Axisjaya Ipoh)
for double sided aluminium foil, with bubble in the middle...RM2--80 per sq ft... but the foil is kind of thin..compared to the one i saw
at the recent mid valley reno expo... called Miron A+ insulation manufactured by M-PE Industry (Penang) ..RM3-20 per sq ft
contact Nicole Lee 019-557 1268/012-562 9031 Heat Shield Solution..

any experience on both products ?? cause I have yet to decide
scouser7
post Jun 5 2011, 07:36 PM

233 posts

if the gap between my ceiling and roof is only a few cm's apart, what is the best solution to use to reduce heat in the house? My concern is that my ceiling is not flat..its follows the roof steep incline. doh.gif

Hope somebody can offer advise. TQ.
HW-Racer
post Jun 6 2011, 12:08 AM

729 posts

any idea which brand or company offer good value for money thermal insulation for the roof ?? looks like many company doing it...
monier, hong leong , axisjaya, M-PE Industry, etc...
weikee
post Jun 6 2011, 10:35 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Jun 5 2011, 05:37 PM)
says who? a thief can open the metal fooring by looseining the screws..... anti heat? if no insulation(aluminium foil & fibrewool), then itll be as hot as sahara
Nothing can stop the thief to come in. It just slow them down. I got any idea from the Architect when I ask him for opinion. His house is using rebar (Reinforcing bar) on the roof. You know the thick steel mesh that contractor use for putting Reinforce Concrete. He put this on the wood that hold the clay roof. What he did is "Clay roof -> wood -> Rebar"

I was considering this option, but the cost is higher and need to do lots of reinforcing on the wood to stand the weight of the roof and medium thick Rebar.

IF anyone is rebuilding a house, this is also one good option to slow down the thief entering your house.

Jo_da48
post Jun 12 2011, 09:48 AM

1,529 posts

I'm plan to ask ground of Indo to lay the zink + aluminium foil, any hint how the measurement should be calculate so that I could buy the material from the hardware shop.

edwin32us
post Jun 12 2011, 12:02 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Jun 12 2011, 09:48 AM)
I'm plan to ask ground of Indo to lay the zink + aluminium foil, any hint how the measurement should be calculate so that I could buy the material from the hardware shop.
Once completed do mind to provide the contact and quotation because i am planning to find ppl to do it. I got a quaotation from Heat away for rm 8.50 per sqft .

So my house about 22x75 ( Roof surface estimated about 1000 sqft) cost about RM 8500 shocking.gif
Jo_da48
post Jun 12 2011, 11:11 PM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(edwin32us @ Jun 12 2011, 12:02 PM)
Once completed do mind to provide the contact and quotation because i am planning to find ppl to do it. I got a quaotation from Heat away for rm 8.50 per sqft .

So my house about 22x75 ( Roof surface estimated about 1000 sqft) cost about RM 8500  shocking.gif
Almost similar to when I asked those folks at the house road show. Crazy.
Estimated roof are around 1100 sf, hence meterial it self will cost me not more than 2K depend of what type of aluminium foil I get.

that no quotation at all, you just need to estimate around 3 days work x daily labour for the Indo x number of Indo. my estimation with be 3 Days x RM 100 X 3 Indo = RM900 or 100.

HW-Racer
post Jun 12 2011, 11:19 PM

729 posts

I am planning to get the cheapest range of Monier RadianShield Met...RM200 per roll..which is available at most
hardware shops, too bad they don't carry the more expensive range !
Awakened_Angel
post Jun 13 2011, 08:57 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Jun 13 2011, 12:19 AM)
I am planning to get the cheapest range of Monier RadianShield Met...RM200 per roll..which is available at most
try bubble series.....
Jo_da48
post Jun 13 2011, 01:45 PM

1,529 posts

Today one of my contractor highlighted this to me, but from this treat I didn't see the outcome whether it do void the insurance.

The main question is "If lay Zink sheet under the roof tile, will this again insurance policy?"

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/525358

HW-Racer
post Jun 17 2011, 11:29 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Jun 12 2011, 11:19 PM)
already installed the radenshield woven met..the house become cooler...now i am thinking to put the
CSR coolbatt RM3-20 per sq ft ..above the ceiling...to make it even cooler.... thumbup.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:24 AM