Heat-Away Thermal Insulation Underneath the Roof, Anyone heard before? Any review?

Jo_da48
post Apr 23 2011, 12:29 AM

1,529 posts

I'm using those alumine type on my existing house, it does cool down but noticed heat is there because of without airflow...(just like without wind at home).

Looking at the product, is can easily DIY since it just lay on the roof floor instead of roof top itself
http://www.csrcoolbatts.com.my/installation_process.html

WHat the cost like?

This post has been edited by Jo_da48: Apr 23 2011, 12:29 AM
Jo_da48
post Jun 5 2011, 09:13 AM

1,529 posts

Anyone recent done any similar isolation? Mind to share the contact and cost?

Jo_da48
post Jun 12 2011, 09:48 AM

1,529 posts

I'm plan to ask ground of Indo to lay the zink + aluminium foil, any hint how the measurement should be calculate so that I could buy the material from the hardware shop.

Jo_da48
post Jun 12 2011, 11:11 PM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(edwin32us @ Jun 12 2011, 12:02 PM)
Once completed do mind to provide the contact and quotation because i am planning to find ppl to do it. I got a quaotation from Heat away for rm 8.50 per sqft .

So my house about 22x75 ( Roof surface estimated about 1000 sqft) cost about RM 8500  shocking.gif
Almost similar to when I asked those folks at the house road show. Crazy.
Estimated roof are around 1100 sf, hence meterial it self will cost me not more than 2K depend of what type of aluminium foil I get.

that no quotation at all, you just need to estimate around 3 days work x daily labour for the Indo x number of Indo. my estimation with be 3 Days x RM 100 X 3 Indo = RM900 or 100.

Jo_da48
post Jun 13 2011, 01:45 PM

1,529 posts

Today one of my contractor highlighted this to me, but from this treat I didn't see the outcome whether it do void the insurance.

The main question is "If lay Zink sheet under the roof tile, will this again insurance policy?"

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/525358

Jo_da48
post Jun 18 2011, 12:03 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Jun 17 2011, 11:29 PM)
already installed the radenshield woven met..the house become cooler...now i am thinking to put the
CSR coolbatt RM3-20 per sq ft ..above the ceiling...to make it even cooler....  thumbup.gif
how many layer you plan to put lah? sweat.gif

Added on June 19, 2011, 12:32 amJust got a quotation from a Indo for remove and retile the roof with Zink and aluminium, as he asking for RM2,700 only LABOUR cost. Material on me.

It seem like on high side, any comments or still consider cheap?
* My roof estimate was 22 x (75-30)...

This post has been edited by Jo_da48: Jun 19 2011, 12:32 AM
Jo_da48
post Jul 10 2011, 02:23 PM

1,529 posts

My roof work with start tomorrow by Indo with price of RM2K,

Material on my
1) Zink code: 30
2) Aluminium foil
http://www.foil-laminate.com/products_serveces_mf2.htm
3) Wood (2" x 2") in case old one broken, else will be use to close those gaps between it...
4) etc

So far about material already cost RM 1600.
GUess it shoud reduce income heat plus secure my roof top too...

Jo_da48
post Jul 19 2011, 05:05 PM

1,529 posts

Finally the roof done with Zink and Aluminium foil. Now wait for a heavy rain to check whether any leaking or not before in place plaster ceiling

Some photo share with you...

External view

Internal view

Jo_da48
post Jul 25 2011, 12:57 PM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Jul 19 2011, 11:16 PM)
All these different types of insulation, I see the thin aluminium foil type and the thick wolly type.
Do they all need to follow the roof gradient (more meterage) or can they be laid flat above the ceiling (less meterage) cool2.gif
Which type cheaper ?!? icon_question.gif
On the roof type for sure the most expensive, as they need to take out the roof tiles / wood out from there if want proper way lol, and labour cost for Indo is around 2K (at least on my case), which take them almost 5 days. But you may able to get cheaper.

As for aluminium foil depend on quality than you purchase...

0.0181sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:02 PM