Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V12, Please read FAQ at 1st page!

nasrulbond
post Jan 25 2011, 12:20 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

the cube thingy in Launcher pro plus really turns me on! woot woot!
nasrulbond
post Jan 25 2011, 05:42 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

Edit : btw how youtube treat u guys in malaysia using 3g? Mine here smetimes can load, smtimes cannot. Aigoo

This post has been edited by nasrulbond: Jan 25 2011, 05:46 AM
nasrulbond
post Jan 25 2011, 08:29 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jan 25 2011, 02:21 AM)
Flashed to Darky V9.02 last night using no wipe. Feel better and smoother than Darky V8.0. Slow gallery is gone after I woke up this morning. So strange. Batt consumption also good. Drop about 4% overnight with my alarm ring twice. GPS ok, Wifi also ok, so far no problem found.  thumbup.gif

Added on January 25, 2011, 8:22 am

Youtube is fast on wifi and 3g. Where are you?
aiyoyo, tempted to flash to 9.02, but need to test doc. and still quiet satisfy with 8.0 . hehe, well im in egypt and it seems like my gps and youtube cannot function well lah in here on 3g. when using wifi, both is okay. even the gps test i only got 4 satellites,the gps on 3g can off about 3000m++. maybe its egypt problem. doh.gif

oh ya, speedmod k12q stable one already out. go try, its kinda smooth. brows.gif
nasrulbond
post Jan 25 2011, 08:39 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Jan 25 2011, 02:35 AM)
contact gmhafiz for zombie attack! .... and nasrulbond for mummy attack! ... sounds like the great old metal slug game ... hahaha

just put on my apron, 1m tall chef hat, lab glasses... time to enter the kitchen!! brows.gif
+1 LOL. haha, ppl seems reporting that darky 9.02 is good. still staying on the bright side eh? brows.gif
nasrulbond
post Jan 25 2011, 09:33 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Jan 25 2011, 03:18 PM)
guess if i buy the Galaxy S, i'll update to the latest version of Froyo first eh before flashing custom ROM?

also, how about the battery life? on stock ROM and custom ROM such as Darky.
oh, no need. some custom rom like Darky let user upgrades from eclair directly to his rom (2.2.1) while the official froyo is 2.2 . i'm not sure about the new version of darky rom right now, but i've been using the rom since 5.6 (now 9.02 already) and i can say the rom is more noob-friendly. plus, the speed improvement for darky rom is way way better than the official stock froyo rom. you'll know once you'll try it. smile.gif

about the battery life, sometimes it depends on the modem on the galaxy s ( you'll know more about this once you get to the android world). but so far with darky rom, i'm satisfied with the battery life cause it at least give me 2 days for light usage and merely 1 day for a heavy usage (gaming, internet, youtube, music etc.)

from my point of view, iphone 4 have better edge in skype and ym ( iOS already got video calling for both, android dunno when). and also, if you're more into fashion or like to show off your phone, casing iphone 4 banyak di jual di lowyatt plaza. i dunno right now whether the galaxy s already got banyak casing di jual, but last year in october its so hard to find.

you dont need to do a lot of customization for iphone 4 since the UI is already fast, internet Safari is okay, BUT you have to pay a lot to go out from the apple limitations like Jailbreaking. i can say this cause one of my friend tried to jailbreak his phone, but so expensive, about rm250. if you jailbreak your iphone, baru la you can betul2 rasa the function of the iphone, with galaxy s you can do it for FREE.

my personal opinion is, buy la Galaxy S. rasa syok when holding it in hands, the nice display of Gorilla glass, can watch movie (simply put it in your sdcard). good luck in making your choice. icon_rolleyes.gif
nasrulbond
post Jan 25 2011, 10:36 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jan 25 2011, 03:46 PM)
I thought, can video chat with ym already? If not, there's always fring app, and others. Don't know much about video calling.

- without jailbreak, the only customization you can do is buying fancy case for iphone!
- If you jailbreak, you'll get some, but not all of galaxy s functionality

I helped my newbie friend to jailbreak over ym only - and she's a girl (not to belittle her. I was impressed that she can do it on her own). No need rm250, that's really expensive.

Added on January 25, 2011, 9:47 pm
Which batch of iphone4? I thought the antennagate fiasco is limited in us only.
oh i didnt test yet for the ym video calling. last time a no-go for me, only works when usual video calling with my friends in here.

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jan 25 2011, 04:01 PM)
SGS can do 3G video call, IP4 facetime can only video call in WIFI. I'm not sure skype can make Ip4 video call in 3G, but I don't think it is supported yet coz I tested my friend Ip4 but cannot make video call in 3G. Yes, SGS can video call in Fring, Tango and Yahoo! Msg.

Antennaegate fiasco is real and it depends on how you hold it. The so call fixed is not fully fix. For eg, I tested in an area where signal is weak, Ip4 got no signal, my SGS register 2 bar, check SGS signal strength is -101dBm (-112dBm means drop calls), Ip4 cannot check. Another area inside madam kwan restaurant, KLCC, Ip4 got 1 bar signal, SGS got full bar. Then I hold Ip4 differently, got 3 bar back. No matter how I hold SGS, still full bar.
like seriously? wahh got to try ym later on. hehe, and btw with the jailbreak power, the IP4 can facetime via 3G. sweat.gif

QUOTE(silentser @ Jan 25 2011, 04:23 PM)
hi here is 2 tips for you when the maxis person give the phone to you:

1. check at the back of the battery ( the face that DOESNT have the dustbin picture on it, or the side of the battery that is facing you when you put on the battery, at the bottom of the face got a S/N, and below the S/N got a date.if the date is before OCTOBER 2010, DONT TAKE IT, say this to the person " i want the latest batch of the phone, this batch got GPS problem", all phone manufacture before october got  gps problem. after october got no more problem.

sifus!! is there any other way to check the manufacture date? i read i show on the box, but i pusing pusing itu box dont find any other time stamp.

2. check the RECOVERY and DOWNLOAD MODE, make sure both of the is enable, really dont know if this problem still persist until now or not, but just check it just in case, more info on these mode on the first post
ohmygosh, my phone is manufactured at 5th september! no wonder the gps is so-so !$!@*(*$)@#!! mad.gif mad.gif

nasrulbond
post Jan 25 2011, 10:54 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 25 2011, 04:50 PM)
going back to msia soon and need to use my hotlink prepaid without any data pack..
looked at the price and RM68 is too exp for 500MB..

i can get around AUD$20 for 1GB with "3.5G" speed n widest coverage...

but without data pack is like holding nokia 3310 sad.gif
well, why dont u try digi? if im not mistaken, they got the rm60 for 1GB data plan prepaid. im planning to try that tho when going back to malaysia later. hoho

QUOTE(CrossX @ Jan 25 2011, 04:52 PM)
i'm a 23 yearold uncle T_T
hello uncle! laugh.gif
nasrulbond
post Jan 25 2011, 11:40 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Jan 25 2011, 04:57 PM)
i'm 19  sweat.gif

got anybody younger here?  blush.gif
i'm 20 years old. laugh.gif
nasrulbond
post Jan 26 2011, 12:24 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

oh ya guys, forgot to mention that i got the SGS singapore set. what's the difference between the local set eh? i always read that ppl said bware of singapore set. now kinda scared a lil bit sweat.gif sweat.gif
nasrulbond
post Jan 26 2011, 06:23 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(naTTan @ Jan 25 2011, 10:57 PM)
Guys can someone explain the difference in all of hardcore new kernal>?

As in warm? bigmem and such? i get the 500 and 250 Hz part i just don't get the others
for warm, u use it if your screen is kinda too blueish. for the bigmem, you'll have more ram but u just dont have the 720p video recording. usually i just go with 500hz kernel since hardcore said it wont have much bigger changes in 250 hz in battery drain. just go for CWM version of speedmod with 500 hz, it works for me.
nasrulbond
post Jan 26 2011, 08:10 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(nazseha @ Jan 26 2011, 01:41 AM)
Guyz..Im really have a problem here..hope sifus here can help me..huhu..

i juz bought galaxy s i9000 from one forummer here...loaded with 2.3.1 v8.0 Darky's rom..

My problem is when i connected to wifi...when i kinda far away from the router like example 5meter from router then my internet browsing became really slow..even wanna load 1 page consume 20secs..but, the wifi signal still strong..still around 3-2 bars..

anyone got face same problem like me b4?n mebe sifus here can help me? is it more to rom/fw problem or hardware problem? ><"

Thanks huhu...
maybe its the modem problem. can you check your modem version in settings>about phone? well, for me its not really a big problem. maybe a temporary glitch on your browser.
nasrulbond
post Jan 26 2011, 08:19 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 26 2011, 02:10 AM)
which 1 dun have 720p recording?
the speedmod 500hz BIGMEM one. you got extra 355mb, but no 720p. the 250hz is the Samsung default, but hardcore recommended using the 500hz since its smoother and doesnt really have much differences/affect on battery drain from the 250hz one.
nasrulbond
post Jan 27 2011, 12:06 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

im just happy with my current phone stats right now. only thinking trying to do the gps hardware fix, but so scared to do la. no experience at all. haha
nasrulbond
post Jan 27 2011, 12:26 AM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Jan 26 2011, 06:14 PM)
wad will happen if fail?
i can say, maybe some part will rosak like the volume and power button if not hati-hati. then, if you salah bend the gps coil, it will patah and have to send it for a repair(itu pun if the center can do it la.). last but not least, your phone will kong and cannot claim warranty cause you modify the hardware of the phone. so still thinking lagi right now whether to do it or not. sweat.gif

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0475sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:42 AM