7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V12, Please read FAQ at 1st page!

gmhafiz
post Jan 20 2011, 02:28 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(WaKLuWoWoW @ Jan 20 2011, 02:18 AM)
market its like open source?

Added on January 20, 2011, 2:20 am

laggy meh?
erm..so need think twice.. sweat.gif
open source? not sure what you meant. Android is indeed open source but there are some apps like gmail, google maps, android market - all google apps which are closed source. This is the reason why cyanogenmod ROM does not ship with these apps. It's illegal to do so because you need a license to include these google apps in a device.
gmhafiz
post Jan 20 2011, 02:36 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Jan 20 2011, 02:26 AM)
as long as its from the google market it should be at least safe, google have to ensure its safe so that Android would grow ... most reports of worms/malicious apps are from custom china apps, or ahem*2 apps so beware of those ...
I beg to differ. The fact that a developer can publish his/her app into android market and appears within minutes without screening gives a concern to us all. The app has not been checked whether it is safe or not.

Fortunately, google has been actively zapping these maliciously app. Don't how how they differentiate it. Maybe when user reports it? By then it'll be too late for these victims&reporters.

News: There's an upcoming amazon app store which requires review before an app can be published.

QUOTE(alvinz @ Jan 20 2011, 02:29 AM)
1st read on the AV also made me laugh, i almost posted something like this: "AV? u wan AV on ur mobile? so power meh? ... open browser and search with google lo, get skyfire/doplhin HD/miren browser put in desktop view!" tongue.gif  laugh.gif
Wait, I didn't get the joke. what's other than antivirus for AV?
gmhafiz
post Jan 20 2011, 02:41 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(WaKLuWoWoW @ Jan 20 2011, 02:37 AM)
fuahh...now im scared use ahem2 apps.. laugh.gif
all apps or for games only?
no way of knowing until google zaps them from your phone. or install AV app tongue.gif

QUOTE(royakatsuki @ Jan 20 2011, 02:37 AM)
the first thing went to my head after read the AV word is...Adult Video brows.gif  brows.gif
huhhuhu

something wrong with my brain eh? rclxub.gif
OK.
gmhafiz
post Jan 20 2011, 02:46 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(daryl020189 @ Jan 20 2011, 02:42 AM)
wonder is it ok to delete the clockworkmod folder, lagfix log and other files which appear after enabling the lagfix from speedmod kernel?
Can delete the backup folder and logs. But leave others.

If not using voodoo lagfix (not enabled) can delete folder.
gmhafiz
post Jan 20 2011, 02:51 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(daryl020189 @ Jan 20 2011, 02:48 AM)
i just only use the lagfix in speedmod k12p..after reboot clockworkmod folder, lagfix.log and pre-init.log appeared in my files...so is safe to delete all these 3?
yes, it is safe. But there's no harm leaving them.
gmhafiz
post Jan 20 2011, 03:59 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(roci @ Jan 20 2011, 03:48 AM)
heyy guys.  flex.gif  i already unbrick my sgs using jigs method.. thanks to ich78!!!  thumbup.gif now work like a charm.. already flash to dark side v8.0! with new speedmod  rclxm9.gif  cant describe how happy i am..

btw.. i want to install the gingerbread keyboard with working heptic feedback. i try to search from xda.. but i not found it.. b4 this i already put it in my sd card.. but already delete it.. anyone can share me the links?

btw. . jigs method only cost me rm10 (mini usb + resistor). if anyone got brick.. im ready to help u guys.. keep on flashing!  flex.gif
Congratulations!

For gingerbread keyboard, http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=845162 Haptic feedback works. Using the wp7 theme one.

using it with keyboard manager because I want swype in potrait mode and GB keyboard in landscape mode. Needs root access. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=830177

Need to go sleep. signing off.
gmhafiz
post Jan 20 2011, 05:38 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(glitzz @ Jan 20 2011, 05:25 PM)
OIC...so for Darky's Rom we noneed to change the fine name to update??just go to select tht file and install tht's it??

Added on January 20, 2011, 5:26 pmbro...im on XXJPP baseband now...do you think I need to update to XXJPY before i flash Darky's Rom??
No need. When you flash darkyy, it will automatically give you jpy modem
gmhafiz
post Jan 20 2011, 05:51 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Jan 20 2011, 03:18 PM)
Freakfingers:

how the JS3 so far? it is a European version of JPY, wonder any different of perfomance
Dutch version of jpy. They also got the first 2.2.1 before the rest of the world. Lucky.
gmhafiz
post Jan 21 2011, 01:04 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Jan 20 2011, 09:44 PM)
Its better than HTC...
not to say its not good... just that the security is really annoying hahaha... wat S-OFF, ENG HBOOT, bla bla bla LOL
I like galaxy s because I believe its bootloader is unlocked. It is extremely easy to root and load custom ROM unlike htc phone - I tried with htc tattoo, it was complicated. My friend didn't succeed in rooting his htc magic, too many steps. motorola locks its bootloader, SE hacking is slow, don't know about lg. So what's left? Samsung only?
gmhafiz
post Jan 21 2011, 02:09 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jan 20 2011, 11:36 PM)
I came in to rant about SGS's lousy media tagging for FLAC. I understand that Android has no support for FLAC, but since Samsung took the word to advertise it as a FLAC player, I expect full functionality.

Although advertised for native FLAC support, the music player does not read ID3v2 tags for FLAC. No song title(filename will be used;dumb), no album artist, no track number, no genre.

http://www.google.com.my/search?sourceid=c...y+s+flac+artist
Have you tried any of the ffmpeg based music player? can they read id3v2 tags?
gmhafiz
post Jan 21 2011, 02:17 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jan 20 2011, 11:40 PM)
Something like poweramp?

Added on January 21, 2011, 2:13 amGreat, partial solution: http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s/...tml#post1431443

Summary: Download extended media scanner
I have no idea if it is ffmpeg based, most probably it is. But it does states that it supports flac. have you tried tagging the files in native flac tags? see if this time sgs recognizes them.

addon: from the thread, ryconn says poweramp reads the tags. it didn't work on your phone?

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Jan 21 2011, 02:23 AM
gmhafiz
post Jan 21 2011, 02:29 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jan 20 2011, 11:53 PM)
Tried all sorts of tagging for flac; id3v1, id3v2, apev2. You can try, it doesnt't work with stock music player. Lol. From google search, no one has a true fix but extended media scanner or chamge music player.
Unfortunately, I am away from my computer. so cannot get my flac files. will try tomorrow.

looks like samsung lied about flac support. together with the reported 480p instead of 720p video recording! bad bad samsung
gmhafiz
post Jan 21 2011, 02:34 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jan 20 2011, 11:59 PM)
Woohoo, even Tony Stark is interested in SGS!  rclxms.gif
Why would Iron Man interested in a toy like iphone???
gmhafiz
post Jan 21 2011, 02:47 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Jan 21 2011, 12:09 AM)
yep, agree with u. sometime in the movie, ppl always use iphone instead of any other smartphones. haishh
I think iron man has an agreement with lg ally biggrin.gif

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jan 21 2011, 12:13 AM)
I don't call them lying. It was just partial support. Irritating, definitely.
I like the interface of stock player. Moreover poweramp has too many tone variables that makes me itchy to change the sound. When it comes to headphones auditioning, such EQ would mess up my mind and possibly colour the impression/review.
They may be excellent in hardware development. But on software front, not so much. I wish samsung would take supercurio to work with them.
gmhafiz
post Jan 21 2011, 03:06 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Jan 21 2011, 12:24 AM)
hahah! this one makes me laugh biggrin.gif
Cheers!
gmhafiz
post Jan 21 2011, 03:30 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(winterkiddi @ Jan 21 2011, 12:57 AM)
Guys wanna ask about which memory card should i buy?? 8GB , 16GB , or 32GB ??
And does the larger size memory card will make your phone lagger??
Each memory card has its own minimum speed, called class. higher class = faster
I don't think the size factors in the speed.

try reading some reviews on different memory card brands.
gmhafiz
post Jan 21 2011, 01:35 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jan 21 2011, 05:32 AM)
It's 720p. Though there was a discussion on this, but later it was tentatively concluded that 480 setting used in the config file was referring to the video preview resolution to fit the screen resolution.
Good to know. Source?

Also, gps lock indoor means nothing. Try it outdoors, go jogging or drive with a car. Open up mytracks or something similar and see how accurate and consistent it is.
gmhafiz
post Jan 23 2011, 12:37 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(roronoazoro @ Jan 21 2011, 04:30 PM)
I'm using darkys 8.0 and speedmod k12p 500hz, but my gps is still problematic, takes about 2 minutes to lock. Which modem should I use to fix this problem?
Not sure if anyone has answered this but anyway, download all modems at http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...postcount=14434 Then flash and test them one by one.

Download fasterfix too. link given in the thread.

QUOTE(daryl020189 @ Jan 22 2011, 08:34 AM)
if i root my phone using speedmod kernel k12p superuser way, is it not possible to unroot it?
QUOTE(daryl020189 @ Jan 22 2011, 09:16 AM)
means that data will be gone?
QUOTE(daryl020189 @ Jan 22 2011, 09:38 AM)
is there a way to root my sgs and it could be unroot without doing a full rom flash or data gone?
To root, there are many methods. Easiest is by downloading RyanZa's OCLF apk. Link, see below.

Unroot is possible and your data won't be gone:
1. Install Terminal emulator found in market. Open it and type:
CODE

&su
#mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system (or just simply type "remount")
#rm /system/app/Superuser.apk
#mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
#sync && reboot

QUOTE(medichloreans @ Jan 22 2011, 10:09 AM)
anyone here tried and using OCLF?
can i have a link for step by step to apply this mod.

i'm not into custom rom yet.. haha

from symbian to android..
it's a bit complicated to understand...
need time i think..
Go to http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...ht=click+lagfix The apk is attached in the first post. Download it, copy the apk to sdcard, open file manager (like MyFiles) and click the apk file. It will prompt you to install. After installing, open the app. The rest should be easy enough.

We used to love it before optimized kernels came. It wasn't a true lagfix and it really need multiple clicks biggrin.gif But it is very easy to use.

QUOTE(flawless_333 @ Jan 22 2011, 01:01 PM)
from our browser, we can see flash content, but why we cant see any animation from .gif image or emoticon?
animated gif not supported yet.

QUOTE(alvinz @ Jan 22 2011, 07:29 PM)

Added on January 22, 2011, 10:00 pm
i doubt it will be soon, samsung has to implement their touchwiz UI and their bloatware stuff 1st ...
I am anticipating cyanogenmod7. Anyone has tried it yet?

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Jan 23 2011, 12:40 AM
gmhafiz
post Jan 23 2011, 01:17 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

[quote=daryl020189,Jan 22 2011, 10:30 PM]
[quote=ken2291,Jan 23 2011, 12:57 AM]
those in ur sdcard won't be touched. Titanium backup only backup apps + "their" data, not ur songs, photos those.

i see....so only those in my phone memory..those apps that i move to sd card will be backup?

[/quote]
titanium backup will put the backup files into internal sdcard (/sdcard/ folder. Meaning, even after a complete wipe and reflash, those apps and their data will still be in your phone for you to restore.
gmhafiz
post Jan 23 2011, 01:20 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(daryl020189 @ Jan 22 2011, 10:46 PM)
k thanks...if my phone formatted i just need to copy the titanium backup folder and restore right?
No need to copy anything. After a format, just re-install TB from market, open it and restore. Needs to be rooted first.

addon: ken is right. not internal sdcard format.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Jan 23 2011, 01:21 AM

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0411sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:27 AM