5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V12, Please read FAQ at 1st page!

alvinz
post Jan 24 2011, 02:35 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jan 24 2011, 02:01 AM)
haha, that made me chuckle! I think I'm going to play dead space sometime later. Need to practice you know  tongue.gif

//offtopic
I just flashed insanity 0.5.1 (JS3) with SO 4.6.5 kernel. enabled all tweaks but still on rfs. so far looking good. The dpi is changed to 200 instead of normal 240. So everything looks smaller. I'm surprised that it is compatible with a lot of app. Only spare parts and laputa aren't.

addon: forget to tell. insanity script is really awesome!
will try back insanity when i get bored with doc's ... tongue.gif
dead space? nice game? ... gonna search for it, i am too bored at times when outside is too cold ...

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Jan 24 2011, 02:13 AM)
+1 yeah, exactly! really2 buat mata pedih. lol, my upcoming exam in 2 weeks from now.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

jom la ramai-ramai go to doc, i've been sticking with darky since 5.2, its time to change to something new la maybe. hoho
oh u can go to the frontline together with gmhafiz ... u take .. err ... the bone saw thing! ... wahahaha
already waiting for u la at the bright side .. haha biggrin.gif

QUOTE(naTTan @ Jan 24 2011, 02:27 AM)
Hmm using Doc i have the option to choose a theme, any recommendation guys?
i am using gingermix .. hard to express how i feel though, go to the themes subforum, search each theme name for screenshots ..
alvinz
post Jan 24 2011, 03:59 AM

832 posts

oh no!! .. i just realize my usual toilet game cant be played!! ...
doodle dash cant be played in doc v9.1.3 ... lcd density shows 240 ... anyway to fix it?
alvinz
post Jan 24 2011, 08:37 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Jan 24 2011, 07:28 AM)
Is it essential to charge your battery to 100% everytime you plug in your charger to charge your phone?

Sometimes you don't have enough time to charge it fully when you're in a hurry.. so is it safe to just charge like 30-40% then unplug it?
it should be safe ... li-ion batteries is best to be charged whenever u can, dont let it go below a low % .. for me i always charge before it hits below 20% ...
if u r hardworking, search in v9/10 .. i rmb there is a link regarding li-ion batteries on mobile phones...
alvinz
post Jan 24 2011, 08:40 AM

832 posts

its normal .. last time i rmb i just download v7.5.... 2hrs later v7.6 came out ... the weird thing was v8.1 to v9 took a week, which is unusual .. haha
alvinz
post Jan 24 2011, 11:28 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(WaKLuWoWoW @ Jan 24 2011, 11:13 AM)
guys..answer la..no one use wipe version bfore meh? doh.gif
wakao! mad.gif ... u got manners? vmad.gif
alvinz
post Jan 24 2011, 11:29 AM

832 posts

@kmrdeva, do we need to enable data network for mms? havent tried using mms on sgs before ...
alvinz
post Jan 24 2011, 11:32 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Jan 24 2011, 11:29 AM)
how's JS3 compared to JPY?
havent really made major comparisons yet ... everything seems the same, heard js3 browser is better but havent got the time to check it out ...
exam in 6hrs, still studying doh.gif
will update once i did some comparisons .... one thing i not happy is, i cant play Doodle Dash while i am in the toilet tongue.gif ... graphic issues, make the game resolution become tiny ... sad.gif
alvinz
post Jan 24 2011, 11:36 AM

832 posts

try 3G watchdog .. available in the market wink.gif
alvinz
post Jan 25 2011, 08:35 AM

832 posts

contact gmhafiz for zombie attack! .... and nasrulbond for mummy attack! ... sounds like the great old metal slug game ... hahaha

just put on my apron, 1m tall chef hat, lab glasses... time to enter the kitchen!! brows.gif
alvinz
post Jan 25 2011, 07:57 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Jan 25 2011, 06:53 PM)
i would prefer leather pouch.. can cover the screen also.. biggrin.gif
still looking for viva and melkco.. no seller found yet.. haiz..
i am using viva .. bought it 2nd day after i got my sgs, its a black leather-like pouch .. thumbup.gif
bought it in Singapore though .. laugh.gif
alvinz
post Jan 26 2011, 12:32 AM

832 posts

i go out watch movie and walk around for 4hrs .. come back 7pages to read ... lazy and jumped straight here ... hahaha
everyone showing off their young age, i feel so old now .. sad.gif ... hahaha laugh.gif

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Jan 26 2011, 12:24 AM)
oh ya guys, forgot to mention that i got the SGS singapore set. what's the difference between the local set eh? i always read that ppl said bware of singapore set. now kinda scared a lil bit  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
no difference one la .. its the same, who is the one that says beware of sg set? i would prefer to say beware of AP sets but also depend on sellers ... some sellers sell refurbished phone at new price ... my sgs is from singtel, found out no difference other than csc code ..

@Narako, white is nice .. prefer black for guys .. hahaha
alvinz
post Jan 26 2011, 01:59 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(adrianteddy @ Jan 26 2011, 01:41 AM)
sorry sorry sad.gif i cant get info on how to flash to custom rom sad.gif im one 3e recovery, rooted, how to flash custom rom ? do i need to flash my recovery first ? cause im newbie in samsung phone, kalau htc, i pro smile.gif i hope that everyone here please dont flame me , help me instead kay (: thanks
u will be fine la adrain .. as long as u dont everyday come here whining about the same problem from v1 to v12, most of us will know who ... tongue.gif

for most custom roms, u will need to have 2e recovery ... u can either flash and enable 2e (have to enter 3e 1st then switch) or flash in CWM which have additional useful menu ...
for me, i would love to recommend ppl to flash in speedmod kernel then install custom rom because hardcore had written a very thorough guide for flashing speedmod (save up time explaining how to flash) and speedmod kernel has CWM integrated!. Lastly, speedmod have tweaks included, just in case u dont wan custom rom, u can stay on ur current rom and enable tweaks, another good way to eliminate jerks/lags on official roms. wink.gif

btw, how's ur wira? r u still in the club? .. haha.. i left it for quite some time already

This post has been edited by alvinz: Jan 26 2011, 02:00 AM
alvinz
post Jan 26 2011, 02:04 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(adrianteddy @ Jan 26 2011, 02:00 AM)
flashed to 2e liao smile.gif so now do i still need clockworkmod to flash customrom.zip ?
if in 2e already, then all u need to do it rename ur zip file into 'update.zip' ... then go into 2e recovery, choose 'install through update.zip' or something similar, forgotten about the actual sentence tongue.gif ...
alvinz
post Jan 26 2011, 06:51 AM

832 posts

one the latest doc's rom now ... still cant play doodle dash, but found a nice small game 'tank space' i think ...
just testing out quadrant score on doc with and without speedmod tweaks,
without - 1085
with - 1098

i rebooted twice after applying tweaks just in case early caches doesnt affect the score, i think. laugh.gif. previously with v9.1.3, i got around 1.2k .. wondering wat has changed.. biggrin.gif
anyway, tested just for fun.

speedmod's
1. warm - add more yellow to the screen, specially for some themes or even some screens that is too blue (blueish)
2. cool - same as above but blue color
3. BigMemory - u will get bigger ram around 350+/- ram, if u r heavy gamer then would be nice, only downside u lose out 720p video recording. If u r like me that seldom touches the camera, then can try out big memory.

alvinz
post Jan 26 2011, 10:38 AM

832 posts

use JS3 v9.1.4 base, msia CSC, DXJPB modem, others all ur preferred choice .. wink.gif
alvinz
post Jan 26 2011, 10:59 AM

832 posts

very soon ... gonna have the usual bread as supper 1st .. haha
alvinz
post Jan 27 2011, 01:19 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Jan 26 2011, 10:32 PM)
all in you sd card will be intact..such as pictures, media..but apps and contact, sms/mms will be erased... nod.gif  nod.gif
i am not sure about dxjpe but usually if u upgrade through kies, apps, contacts, sms&mms will not be erased ... wat gets erased is Data such as ur swype dictionary, ur settings will be changed back to default ... i only upgrade before to great old dxjg4 and dxjpa ...
alvinz
post Jan 27 2011, 07:07 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(glitzz @ Jan 27 2011, 01:43 AM)
OMG...my prob with WIFI is back~~~help...

Flashed Darky's V8.0 from JPA thn WIFI prob solved...and when I update from V8.0 to V9.0 the WIFI can connect but browser say cannot detect server pula...now flashed back V8.0 no diff also...sigh...help help...
err .. maybe u can try a wipe version, or update ur wifi with hardcore's fix though thats for battery maybe it might help .. possible to clear all caches also ..

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Jan 27 2011, 01:44 AM)
I have a very geeky idea in mind. but I don't know how to proceed. I really need others help, preferably android / linux guru.
ok so here goes nothing.
-I have Tasker (task automation app). I have made several profile. for example, "Work profile" where my phone will automatically turn itself into Vibrate mode everyday from 8 am to 4 pm.
-then I think that it might be useful if I can turn off Autosync and auto brightness (and set manual brightness 40%) when i'm running games. and so I make that profile and it works quite well.
-then I got another idea. What if my phone would automatically set minimum and maximum CPU speed to 1GHz? it will definitely reduces lag when playing games.
-but then I got stuck. I googled a bit and found that it may be possible to do this. but i don't understand anything in the instructions.
ok, so that's roughly what i need help with. can someone help me? sorry for such a long post and sorry for the amount of geekiness in this post. :-)
some of ur idea is possible, by implementing ur own linux code scripts ...
1. this one seems to be most general and possible compared to others, and i think u might be able to find one in market or i am sure someone have this same idea too ..
2. possible but hard, coz in ur script u need to tell the system that u have launched a game ... the system only knows u launched something be it an app/browser/game, so if u have many games, u will have to hard-code each game u have into the script to let the system perform wat u wan ... another difficulty is that u need to get the code for brightness(i think hardcore have this) and auto sync ...
3. useless, u will just waste battery ... linux is a platform where it optimizes every single ram, u have no need to install any 3rd party task managers ... system will auto kill apps to allocate enough ram to an app/game u r using, if u set it to 1ghz system will still allocate 700mhz if the game only requires 700mhz ... and personally, for now i doubt any games requires more than 1ghz to run, most lags r related to graphics and system file path(rfs/ext4/jfs) ...
4. u will require a thorough understanding in linux, android and sgs platform ... if u have knowledge in linux, android and sgs shouldnt be much of a problem ...
lastly, i am sorry i cant help... i also noob ... sweat.gif

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Jan 27 2011, 02:44 AM)
not so sure.. maybe you can try fully wipe.. and flash to stock..
if problem also.. send for warranty i guess..
or wait for the other pro answer this happy.gif
care to share the performance? smooth? battery life? compare with darky's..
very hard to compare to darky's, both are equally smooth and silky ... battery life totally depends on different users ...
all i can say is, doc's rom is colourful .. laugh.gif
at the end, its still users' own preference .. haha
alvinz
post Jan 27 2011, 09:32 AM

832 posts

might be ur installer corruption or incomplete .. redownload ...
alvinz
post Jan 28 2011, 06:40 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(adrianteddy @ Jan 28 2011, 12:26 AM)
tak boleh boot in phone sad.gif stucked at the galaxy s after applying speedmod kernel sad.gif
=.= .. y so weird one? .. i flash so many times with odin all no problem .. r u sure u didnt check/tick on repartition? u need to leave that unticked/unchecked ...

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Jan 28 2011, 02:27 AM)
im satisfied with darky 8.0 actually..
but been long time didnt doing flash..

so i will give a try to doc kitchen..
thx for feedback..
i went no wipe from DXJPA to darky v8 to doc v9.1.3 to v9.1.4 ...
no problem so far, everything working as usual and smooth smile.gif

QUOTE(adrianteddy @ Jan 28 2011, 02:27 AM)
done a factory reset, restore my DXJPA 2.2 with ODIN smile.gif Im from shah alam, anyone near here ? Wanna ask, how do u update the map in papago x5 for android ? kalau garmin, you need to replace the gmapsupp.img , tapi kalau papago ? cause malfreemaps do release the latest map for CNY for android smile.gif check it out guys
put it in ur papago map file in ur sd card ... though i didnt use papago for quite some time, i am totally sure that malfreemaps have a guide on how to replace the new map, dont waste the effort that those guys took their time to write and post that up ...

QUOTE(naTTan @ Jan 28 2011, 04:37 AM)
Guys since some of us have transition to Doc rom,

how about a guide on the best local combination of modem and csc?

For malaysian 3g and such?
is that really so hard and everyone have to ask about the combination?
android is about exploring, and different ppl have different taste ... u need to get off ur comfortable seat and start exploring, i am sure those who flashed had no idea before they flashed ... and common sense, if u wan something that fits for the 1st time, then get all asia stuff (asia csc and modem) ...
having the same csc/modem with some other forumers doesnt mean u will get the same results as them ...

This post has been edited by alvinz: Jan 28 2011, 07:00 AM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0439sec    1.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:57 AM