37 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Movies My Movies Review Thread V2, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Mov_freak
post Aug 18 2016, 12:45 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Shallows (2016)

Paint me surprise that this movie has not already got it's own topic!!

I know I know, the question on everyone's mind is, is this SHARKNADO movie??

I am sorry to say, NO!! laugh.gif

I did a movie marathon yesterday and it is very good.

The audience really gets involved with the lead (Blake Lively).

This movie is considered "low" budget according to Hollywood standards (USD 17,000,000) and has returned in spades (USD 54,000,000).

Why does this work?

Story people, it has a story to tell.

Okay, is the story possible?

No... And have to add both Blake Lively (Lead actor) and Jaume Collet-Serra (director), was able to sell it!!!

And the moral of the story is, never give up!!!

Another moral of the story, make sure you have a water resistant handphone with you AT ALL TIMES!!!

I thoroughly enjoyed this.

My Two Sen.
Mov_freak
post Aug 18 2016, 01:14 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Jason Bourne (2016)

Okay kiddies, here is my reviews for Jason Bourne

The Good

Paul Greengrass (Director) √
Matt Damon as Jason Bourne √
Tommy Lee Jones as CIA Director Robert Dewey (Baddie) √
Riz Ahmed as Aaron Kalloor √
Julia Stiles as Nicky Parsons √
The Script (ties everything up [eg the previous Jason Bourne movies] nicely) √
What happened in Greece √
They brought back Paul Oakenfields song!!! √

The Bad

How much Matt Damon have aged since the last one. shocking.gif

The Ugly

Barry Ackroyd (Director of Photography) (I need an Advil after the movie *groan*)
How ugly Vincent Cassel still is and how the heck did he get Monica Bellucci to be his WIFE!!! (Okay this one is personal... tongue.gif)

In short, great movie, and have to add bring an Advil...

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Aug 24 2016, 11:34 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Call Of Heroes 危城 2016

What???

No one had opened a topic for this movie???

Why no love people???....

Okay, what do you get, when you cross Alfred Hitchcock with Akira Kurosawa?

A possible result would be this movie script.

So, in other words, I'll say that script wise it is a mesh between Psycho and Seven Samurai. Correct me if I am wrong.

The idea that Sean Lau (Lau Ching Wan) can use a whip is mind boggling enough.

Eddie Peng had said that since Rise of the Legend (2014) he has been training in martial arts...

Like Keanu Reeves in The Matrix (1999) there is a certain level of "stiffness" to his execution of Kung Fu, and have to add, he seemed more "flexible" here... or have they done a better editing job... laugh.gif

Dancers have a better time "faking" kung fu. Chen Pei Pei and Aaron Kwok comes to mind (I am still blown away by Aaron's performance in The Bare-Footed Kid (1993)).

Having said that, if Aaron do decide to not do Monkey King 3, maybe Eddie Peng can take on the role (if he continues with his practice). But I digress.

I enjoyed this movie.

It does my heart good to see a younger generation of actors taking on the martial art mantel from the like of Jackie Chan and Sammo Hung.

It is slightly different from you regular Hong Kong martial art action movie, in that, it does have a story to tell and it tells it well.

The cherry on top of this is Wu Jing, and alas, he is in it too briefly (he is a freaking special guest start!!!)

It does have an issue... namely Louis Koo....

Let me put it this way. His role needs a certain kind of actor to pull it off (eg. Acting chops) and I do not think he is there yet...

If you like kung fu action-er, go for it!

My Two Sen.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Aug 24 2016, 11:35 PM
Mov_freak
post Aug 24 2016, 11:48 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Nerve (2016)

Have any of you watched The Game (1997) (with Michael Douglas and Sean Penn).

Emma Roberts & Dave Franco makes an attractive couple.

This THAT but younger... and Social Media.... and the Internet....

So that's the whole movie in a nutshell. laugh.gif

I found this entertaining...

And also disturbing... (on several levels actually)

The reason is I hope younger viewer can differentiate between art (movie) and real life and not try and emulate anything they see here.

If you like your entertainment, leaning towards Thrillers... this is a good choice.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Aug 25 2016, 08:23 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Kubo and the Two Strings (2016)

Five syllables here
And seven syllables there
I recite this haiku...
Are you happy?

It looks like haiku, it sounds like haiku... But is it haiku?

Which is exactly how I feel after watching this...

The design is incredible.

It is VERY obvious to anyone who pays attention that alot of thoughts were put into the background & characters design.

From the music (shamisen) to the origami "props", top notch, no argument from me.

The story...

Let's put it this way, go back to the beginning of my review and read the "haiku"... That I think would be how alot of people would feel.

At least, in the Kung Fu Panda series, "Chinese" were consulted.

Here... Check this out

Directed by
Travis Knight ... (directed by)

Writing Credits
Marc Haimes ... (screenplay) and
Chris Butler ... (screenplay)
Shannon Tindle ... (story by) and
Marc Haimes ... (story by)

Not a Jap insight!!!

What the HECK were they thinking...

To top it off Regina Spektor cover version of George Harrison's "While My Guitar Weep", with shamisen accompaniment... during the end credit shocking.gif

They might as well glued feathers on an elephant and called it a Phoenix!!! sweat.gif

Back to the story... The storyline is SO disjointed it is NOT funny, and then the ending...

If you really want to see this, watch it for the aesthetic design, and not the story

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Aug 25 2016, 08:49 PM
Mov_freak
post Aug 27 2016, 09:44 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Aug 27 2016, 09:30 AM)
Haha that japanese cartoon still better off. Forgot the name already but i still remember it was the only japanese cartoon in history 2 beat disney giants in oscars 2002. laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Spirited Away (2001)?
Mov_freak
post Aug 31 2016, 01:19 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Don't Breathe (2016)

Sam Raimi is back in horror!

Well, of sorts.

He is the producer of this movie.

It is good.

I categories it as a Thriller Horror.

What is it about?

Three kids decided to steal from the blind and bites off more then they can chew...

I enjoyed this immensely.

I was sitting next to two group of really noisy people (before the movie started) and I thought to myself *beep*.

As soon as the movie started, they were so invested in the movie... they stopped talking...

Ain't this movie great.

You could here a pin drop, everyone is so invested!!

If you like horror thrillers, go for it.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Aug 31 2016, 01:26 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

BFG (2016)

CGI, FANTASTIC (really photo real) and have to add is it immersive (you are draw into the movie...)

I am afraid not...

Roald Dahl works are hard to translate to movies (even his Tales Unexpected works better on TV)

Have Steven Spielberg lost his magic touch (for family oriented movies)...

He just might have, if this is anything to go by.

Aesthetically please...

Difficult movie to get into..

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Sep 6 2016, 12:57 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 6 2016, 11:42 AM)
would never known the song if not for this movie

and this version below... simply.. WOW!

Yup, Tribute to George, fantastic concert.

All the remaining members of the Beatles + Eric Clapton + Dhani Harrison (George Harrison's son).

Far cry from what was done for the movie right.

Great song, and I have to add not suitable for the movie.
Mov_freak
post Sep 6 2016, 07:46 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 6 2016, 04:26 PM)
strings kot? smile.gif
Strings?
Mov_freak
post Sep 7 2016, 09:13 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Pete's Dragon (2016)

Disney of FLUSH with money this year!!

And it looks like they will make even more.

Do not forget they still have Dr. Strange (2016) later this year so... Disney is FLUSH with money this year.

This as the above had suggested is a remake.

And it really bares little semblance of the original.

More "based in reality" compared to the original and with Bryce Dallas Howard, Robert Redford and Oakes Fegley (where does Disney find these talented little tykes), it sells!!!

A little bit of fantasy and a little bit of human drama, this little gem works.

If you want something that you can bring your little ones to, look no further.

My Two Sen.
Mov_freak
post Sep 28 2016, 11:47 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Magnificent Seven (2016)

A great movie and nobody created a topic???

Wow...

Anyway, love this movie because,

1) Although a remake, story was re-image quite well

2) Casting is PERFECT!! The casting director and director did an amazing job, in terms of casting. They selected actors who could literally communicate with each other with just... a look. A potential pitfall for the movie could have been the monologues. By casting actor with expressive eyes, this was kept to a minimum, and the story gets told anyway. Great job!!!

3) Mauro Fiore's Cinematography, stunning... Simply stunning!!

4) Credit where credit is due, the Sound Department also did an amazing job!!

Suicide Squad, this is the goto movie for an essembly based movie. You can LEARN alot from this... Really!!

Also, Lone Ranger, this is HOW YOU DO IT!!

This may just bring the western genre back!!

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 28 2016, 11:48 PM
Mov_freak
post Sep 29 2016, 10:56 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (2016)

Wow, the most un-Tim Burton movie, Tim Burton movie.

What do I mean?

Tim Burton's movie is usually very... stylized. Sets wise.

This time round, it is as "really" world as any Tim Burton movie is gonna get!! laugh.gif

It started a little slow, and have to add it gets better.

Eva Green rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Asa Butterfield rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Well, if you enjoy weirdness, go watch this.

Oh warning, this movie touches on "time-loops"....

wacko.gif... My head hurts...

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 29 2016, 11:40 PM
Mov_freak
post Oct 20 2016, 11:58 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Accountant (2016)

Life is tough...

Had a horrible few months... With no end in sight...

The silver lining (if you want to call it that) is... being able to watch this today.

This was not my first choice of movie for today, and have to add, the timing was right and I could watch Jack Reacher immediately after this so...

How would I describe this movie?

Erm.... Rain Man (1988) meets John Wick (2014). laugh.gif

I may regret the John Wick reference, because I do not want to over sell this and cause people to watch this with the wrong expectation!

There is an "independent movie" feels to this, which is good.

The story.... is an amalgamation of many things, meaning, the movie keeps "switching" genre mid way through, which is interesting.

The pacing maybe slow for some people

And talk about highly functioning autism... I really think the writers have TAKEN ALOT of artistic licensing with this!!!

The Good

Storyline is interesting. Slow, and have to add the director does keep your interest

The Bad

Ben Affleck & Anna Kendrick pairing... Really??? Seriously???!!

The Ugly

There are two major twists in this movie. One, there is no way the audience would guess it, and the second, I kicked myself for not guessing sooner... I fell for the "misdirection"!!!

So, do I think this movie is worthy of your money?

The answer is yes.

If you like interesting, you will like this movie

My Two Sen.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Oct 21 2016, 12:02 PM
Mov_freak
post Oct 21 2016, 12:16 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back (2016)

Even since the first movie Jack Reacher (2012) (The 9th book in the series, called One Shot), I am a fan, both of the movies and because of the movies, the books.

Been reading them like crazy (well the ones I can get my hands on)

So I actually had waiting for most of the year for this movie (with abated breath anyone) and the movie is...

I don't think the screen writer and director of the second movie "gets it" (like Christopher McQuarrie did in the first movie)

This book, Never Go Back is actually one of the rare Jack Reacher books where he is... excuse my French, Horny!!

Three books prior to Never Go Back, Jack Reacher wanted to go to DC to meet up with Major Turner, but every time he gets closer, he gets caught up with some local events, which take up a whole book.

So, by the time Reacher arrive in DC, the readers (with abated breath again?? laugh.gif) wants to see what happens between him and Major Turner and.... read the book or watch the movie...

This movie is so..... lacking a better term, meh!!!!

The is something "off" about how Tom Cruise looks

And It is not good....

Not sure if they can get anymore Reacher from him

Not sure if he is up to Mission Impossible 6....

So in short... disappointing

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Oct 24 2016, 12:46 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 24 2016, 12:28 AM)
thanks 4 saving my money then rclxms.gif now awaiting your review DR strange laugh.gif
Or splurge on The Accountant laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Oct 25 2016, 03:44 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(OperaGhost @ Oct 25 2016, 09:02 AM)
I heard its a mash up between Good Will Hunting + Bourne Identity
Erm... I used the term Rain Man + Johnny Wick... laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Oct 25 2016, 11:24 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(OperaGhost @ Oct 25 2016, 05:12 PM)
Hahaha okie pun. Autism plays a part.
Actually 2 brother, separated for a long time, on a road trip, one an highly functioning autistic...

Definitely! Definitely, a more accurate match to The Accountant.. (to me)
Mov_freak
post Oct 27 2016, 02:05 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Doctor Strange (2016)

Is there a role that Benedict Cumberbatch cannot be?

So in short Benedict Cumberbatch IS Dr. Strange!!

Alot of flak on the production team for casting Tilda Swinton as The Ancient One.

I am indifferent to the choice.

Let just say I am numb to Hollywood whitewashing everything...

Not one of Marvel strongest movie.

It is definitely one of the stranger story (though strangely familiar)

Let me put it this way

Strong 1st and 2nd act.

Not so strong 3rd act!!

Yes, there are two mini movies at the end.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Oct 27 2016, 09:58 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(OperaGhost @ Oct 27 2016, 09:03 AM)
Cinema also showing dua abang "Tom" punya wayang mar. Tak minat? Haha

Abang Tom Ham - Inferno
Abang Tom Kurus - Jack Reacher 2
Abang Kurus, not so Kurus this time round... laugh.gif

37 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0587sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:13 PM