37 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Movies My Movies Review Thread V2, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Mov_freak
post Jun 17 2015, 11:12 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Poltergeist (2015)

What can I say about this remake?

For a horror movie, it is NOT very scary.

The script is pretty similar to the original, unfortunately this means there really is not surprise to the people who had WATCHED the original.

Don't get me wrong, Sam Rockwell & Rosemarie DeWitt (father and mother) tries their best with the material at hand and as I had state, the material is flawed...Not so much flawed, just VERY familiar to the viewers.

At the middle, the action/horror did picked up (the poor boy child, looked like he did alot of the "stunts", was dragged all over the place) and the movie did not excel any further then that....

To make matters worst, the effects are all CGI, which means the the ghouls and ghost are all very.... unorganic... robbing the movie even further.

So, uninspired storyline and had be copied multi-times over by other movies plus, really "fake" CGI ghouls and ghost....

This is director Gil Kenan's third movie...

And first time movie Leigh Whannell, is running rings around this with Insidious 3 (2015)...

Insidious 3 cost USD 10,000,000 to make and this cost USD 35,000,000...

Get a clue Hollywood, get your STORY right.

Sadly, this will not make money.

Which is a shame. Now movie producers will point to this and say, big budget horror is not good business. I beg to differ. Case in point, Drag Me to Hell (2009) and The Cabin in the Woods (2012) are great horror movies.

Oh oh, I almost forgot, the best part of this movie was, they showed the trailer for Guillermo del Toro's Crimson Peak (2015).

Now THAT looks like it is going to be a proper scare!!!

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 17 2015, 11:57 PM
Mov_freak
post Jun 21 2015, 09:46 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 21 2015, 07:38 PM)
Okie. Finish watching already. Way over my expectations. Haha. laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Not every bodies cup of tea though, and have to add, it seem to be breaking all kinds of box office records.
Mov_freak
post Jun 26 2015, 07:55 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

James Horner (1953–2015) R.I.P.

He had written so much stuff.

He was most prolific during the 90s.

I might surprise many people by stating I like his work on The Pelican Brief (1993), best. Followed very closely by what he did in Aliens (The fallout he had with James Cameron during this project is legendary).

There is always a tinge of Whimsy in his work, which... works!!

Very sad he is no longer with us.
Mov_freak
post Jul 1 2015, 10:31 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

S.P.L. 2: A Time for Consequences 殺破狼2 (2015)

Chances are, if you are reading this topic, you had watched the first S.P.L. 殺破狼 (2005).

There is not connection between this movie, and the first (story wise). The best I can figure is what connects the two is the "philosophy" behind the stories that links them.

I have watched the first and enjoyed that, and to top it off Wu Jing and Tony Jaa is in this, who can resist??!

I've like Wu Jing's (Jacky Wu) since Tai Chi II (1996). It is obvious that he has been practicing Martial Arts since he was really young.

He fighting style is amazing!!

He can still surprise!

Tony Jaa is, Tony Jaa...

His style is uniquely Kickboxing, and there lays the "issue".

You do not see anything "new" with his choreography... Still, he can move!!

Be warn. This movie is VIOLENT! The NO HOLDS BAR kind! If you detest violence, this might not be a movie for you.

From a story point of view... the pacing... The pacing could have been better, though, looking back, even classic like A Better Tomorrow (1986) had very flawed storyline. Maybe the issue lays maybe a case of me expecting... more.

Now as for the last fight scene...

All in all a pretty good movie.

A pretty good companion to the first S.P.L.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jul 8 2015, 10:08 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Terminator Genisys (2015)

My name is Mov_freak, and I was a Terminator Genisys (2015) skeptic!!

Well, I was.

I thought that the Terminator franchise was tired. Everything had already been done for it. The first two movies were top notch, and the subsequent two....

See? A tired franchise.

So with that in mind, I was dead tired, it was Wednesday, and I needed to pick something up at the the shopping complex, so I said to myself, what the hey, might as well watch this.

And boy, am I glad I did!!!

30 minutes into the movie, I said to my self, meh... they just took the nice bits in the first two and meshed them into this movie...

Honestly, I could NOT be MORE wrong!!!

The Good

The story, is bold and fresh.

Direction, sharp!

I have NEVER liked Jai Courtney, in anything he had done in the past. Now, I LIKE him alot in this movie!!!

I really thought that Arnold Schwarzenegger would be a tad old for the role, again, what they had done surprises me, and I am SOLD!!! Lock Stock and Barrel!!!

The movie GRABS you at the beginning, and never lets go!!

The vehicle stunt work is amazing!!

The Bad

Not quite sold on Emilia Clarke as Sarah Connor but at the end you kinda dig her

The Ugly

They should not have shown what happened to John Conner in the trailers...

If you ask me, is this a worthy sequel to the first two moves? The answer is YES!!!!

They should NOT have done the HORRIBLE Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines (2003) with the terrible terrible T-X (Kristanna Loken *groan*)...

In Terminator Salvation (2009), they tried TOO HARD to stick to The Terminator lore...

So, for me now, they should have only made T1, T2, and T5!!

I know it is not doing particularly well in the box office in the States, but I really like this movie.

I really REALLY do.

My Two Sen.

P.S. GCS, 1Utama, I watched this at 5:30pm today. Please STOP showing 15 - 20 minutes of SOLID advertisement, and 0 trailer. I paid for the movie ticket, stop the 15 - 20 minutes of SOLID ADVERTISING!!!!

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jul 9 2015, 07:56 AM
Mov_freak
post Jul 9 2015, 10:49 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(matt jack @ Jul 9 2015, 08:26 AM)
At last.....i've been waiting patiently for your review on terminator.
You follow my reviews... Gosh, now you have to go and make me blush... tongue.gif

Thank you and I hope you enjoy the movie
Mov_freak
post Jul 13 2015, 08:01 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 12 2015, 04:59 PM)
You need professional help!
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Any suggestion as to where I can seek this professional help?? tongue.gif

>There is nothing fresh or new in Genisys! This movie is simply a (failed) attempt to recreate the best bits from the first two movies, with an added dose of
>the now often dreaded "oh look how smart I am" timeline hopping plot device. The truth is I couldn't care less about these timelime jump/split/reset. What
>made the original movies such great fun was that the time travel was loopy and loony and yet simple. You simply accepted it, smiled at how crazy it was,
>and got back to the action/story in the present day. In Genisys the whole (mundane) time travel is so central to the story at every turn that it ruins an
>already pretty rubbish movie.

Correct. Where in T1 - T4 the time travel was a device plot, in T5, time travel IS the plot. For this franchise that is different. In T2 - T4, T1 was treated with reverence [and rightly so]. The Lore of Terminator was establish in the first. What I thought was brave about this storyline is it did not treat anything that had been done before as sacred and was able to go to places the previous movies did not venture.

>You know what else was right in the first three movies? The terminators were goddamn fucking hard to kill. And yet here we are in Genisys seeing
>terminators being killed in a pretty regular basis that it just takes away that unique, frightening aura that past terminators had in spades (yes even the T-X to
>an extent). The T-1000, one of the movies all-time memorable and formidable villains, gets reduced to a 15-minute cameo in this? Very poor.

Here is where we cannot agree... I really really DISLIKE T3. I do agree with you that T-1000 is one of the most formidable villians of all time (much much stronger then the T-X). As for the cameo of the T-1000 in T5, again I chalk that up to Hollywood's attempt to pander to the Asian market. SO I gree with you on this point.

>You mentioned how bad the T-X was. The John Conner terminator in this one is no different, really. They function almost similarly too, and honestly who
>cares about all that "terminated on a cellular level" bullshit? Turning John Connor into a terminator has to be the worst idea of the series so far. What was the
>point?

I think the biggest issue I have to T-X is not so much with how the character is designed (though I do not think much of it), it is actually towards the actress Kristanna Loken. I will not elaborate on this point here. I thought that turning John into the baddie was one of the things they did because they did not treat anything done in the past as sacred. My only concern is the casting decision of Jason Clarke as John. I feel the character would be better served if someone more charismatic was cast.

>I haven't seen T3 in some time but I remember there was an awesome car (more like truck) chase that wrecked massive, physical damage to buildings. The
>safe chase scene in Furious 5 had a similar vibe. Nothing in Genisys approaches that.

I remember that scene. I thought that bridge scene was pretty good in Genisys...

>And I haven't even mentioned the awful CGI in this.

You know what? I have not seen your "fire" for quite some time now. And I really appreciate you dropping you opinion here at my reviews.

Is that not why we have this forum?

Where people with passion for a said subject matter can share their opinions!!

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jul 13 2015, 08:48 AM
Mov_freak
post Jul 13 2015, 04:51 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Jul 13 2015, 04:07 PM)
tongue.gif

Oh My Goodness, what did I just watched!!!!! laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Jul 13 2015, 04:54 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Jul 13 2015, 04:52 PM)
Filmschool 101. brows.gif

Mov_freak
post Jul 13 2015, 08:04 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Jul 13 2015, 06:13 PM)
Still beats watching the bland John Connor as the embodiment of spoiler alert who does nothing but explaining plotline. biggrin.gif
What is at stake when everyone can afford time travel?
Really??? laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Jul 13 2015, 09:24 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Jul 13 2015, 09:01 PM)
Yupp....bad movies is one thing, the worse are those who can't even answer the question it raised. How many action setpiece in golden gate bridge already? The action just bland generic copies from other movies that already done it better. Any smashy crashy banging sequences will measure against mad max fury road from now on to a certain degree. Genisys just does not hold up to that standard.
Film direction more of film director for hire type...no personality and not bringing anything fresh to the table.The John Connor bit came across more of a gimmick than anything else. No stake and substance to it. Arnie personality overshadow everyone. The original t1 and t2 knew the heavylifting of acting and story need to come from other main actors.
Jai Courtney simply the blandest actor after Taylor Kitsch and Sam Worthington. yawn.gif
He has zero chemistry with Emilia Clark. And he suppose to take down terminator which he failed instantly the moment he face Arnold. Would you for once believe he can take down t800 or t1000? Michael Biehn's Kyle Reese had you believe he can take down Arnold.  flex.gif
So do you really dug genisys? rclxub.gif
I did

I accept is as good clean fun
Mov_freak
post Jul 14 2015, 11:11 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 14 2015, 08:44 PM)
Haha, haven't been watching that many movies recently at home, only in cinemas. Good to see you're still around liking basically any movie no matter how good or bad. tongue.gif

We really are polar opposites when it comes to movies huh. The last movie I watched that was really good was Mad Max Fury Road. Lemme guess. You didn't like that?
I did not not like it...

A little too "loud" for me to like like it!! laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Jul 15 2015, 12:25 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 14 2015, 11:19 PM)
Knew it!

Actually the first time I watched it in an Atmos hall it was too loud too. So loud that the rumbles of the engines were terrifying. I'm surprised the movie was that universally loved by critics. It seemed more like the kind of film to split critics opinions.
What made Mad Max loved by many, I credit to Charlize Theron. So much so that Mad Max is actually a secondary character in his own movie!!
Mov_freak
post Jul 16 2015, 09:02 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Ant-Man (2015)

This is easily the most UNUSUAL super-hero origins movie I have ever seen!

Why is it unusual you ask?

Well, the beats are more attune to old Shaw Brother's Kung Fu movie rather than an American production!!!?! laugh.gif

So was it good?

YES!

Storyline?

Unusual for an American Movie.

Casting?

Bold. Great to see Michael Douglas up and about.

Evangeline Lilly (whom I mistaken for Liv Tyler. I kept asking myself why did they cast Hulk's Betty as... laugh.gif) looks like she is gonna bust out in Elvish!!

Paul Rudd (who usually as an air of unassumingness), an interesting choice works well as Ant-Man.

And I also need to add, this is probably one of Marvel's most ambitious work, because what they had managed to get on screen (technically speaking), is mind boggling!!!

I suppose what most of you want to ask is, are there "short" in the end credits, and the answer is yes.

Two in fact.

One very shortly after the end credit starts, another right at the end of the whole end credits!!

So in short, it really does not matter what I say here. If you want to watch this, regardless of what I have to say, you will go watch this.

For those who are on the fence, it is a rather fun movie. Very tongue in cheek.

So, apa tunggu-tunggu lagi???

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jul 23 2015, 03:43 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jul 23 2015, 02:23 PM)
What's the protocol about cutting and pasting stuff from your own blog? Hope this is allowed.

It is allowed, as long as it is not another person's work.

icon_rolleyes.gif

Mov_freak
post Aug 19 2015, 12:06 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation (2015)

Okay!

Fine!!

I am slow on this one!!!

I was away, no access to cinema, *grumble*, *grumble*, *complain*, *complain*... laugh.gif

The Good

I like the whole franchise, because, it is a rarity nowadays, with CGI budget going through the roof, this movie takes the trouble to go on locations all over the world. A rarity indeed. (Other then this only Jason Bourne and James Bonds still does it)

There is a story to be told. Seriously, "other big budget movie" (I am looking at you Wachowski siblings) don't forget to tell THE story. Yes, action sequences, CGI etc can give you a WOW factor, but in the end, if the story sticks in your viewers minds, you, my friend have done your job!!

For a 50 yo, Tom Cruise is STILL showing the youg'un, how it is done! Kuddos!!

Who the heck is Rebecca Ferguson and where has she been ALL MY LIFE!!!! tongue.gif

Simon Pegg, the ever dependable comic relief, gets serious here!!!

The Bad

Ving Rhames??? At KL towers??? When was this??? Or was it "stock shots".

The Ugly

Sean Harris as Solomon Lane all I want to add here is Prosaic much?? laugh.gif

But I am nick-picking

I enjoyed this movie immensely.

I strong recommend you watch this.

Why are you still reading?? Go already!!!?!

My Two Sen.
Mov_freak
post Aug 20 2015, 05:02 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Man from U.N.C.L.E. (2015)

Guy Ritchie (ex Mr Madonna) directed this.

The same director who did Sherlock Holmes (2009) and Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows (2011) which successfully "married" Sherlock Holmes (Robert Downey Jr.) and Dr. John Watson (Jude Law).

Maybe because that was a "successful" formula, the producers and director thought that lightning can indeed strike twice, they made this movie about an American CIA agent and a Russian KGB agent joining forces during the cold wars for the good of the world.

Napoleon Solo (played by Henry Cavill) [CIA] and Illya Kuryakin (played by Armie Hammer fresh off Disney's lemon The Lone Ranger (2013)) are the said agents and do they have... lacking a better term, chemistry?

To me, not quite.

I think I have issues with Henry Cavill...

I cannot explain it...

Everytime I see him on screen, I have an urge to slap him!!!

Additionally, every time Gaby (played by Alicia Vikander) plays love interest to Illya Kuryakin, the actors from from the TV series Glee Lea Michele and Cory Monteith comes to mind... Again, I cannot help it... I think I need help.

It is frustrating.

Well directed.

John Mathieson (Cinematographer) obviously knows what he is doing, because it really looked like a movie that was made during the 60s (colour wise)...

Good story.

Funny.

Alot of reference to the good old cold war.

Costumes were fun (it is the 60s baby)

Everything was immaculately planned and presented.

And everytime Napoleon Solo shows up (which is often) I want to slap him...

I cannot explain this.

Frankly, I watched this yesterday, and I am still undecided if I like the movie...

Strange...

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Aug 24 2015, 04:56 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(ZenMmm @ Aug 24 2015, 01:08 AM)
When you're on the run from the law and the lawless, what do you do?  hmm.gif
Here’s my review for Wild City.  smile.gif

I appreciate the feedback and support, guys!  nod.gif
Like & Share if you enjoyed it. thumbup.gif
You can click HERE to subscribe.  rclxm9.gif
Stay awesome and ciao for now.
Have a Magnificent Monday ahead, you!  smile.gif
Hahahahaha! laugh.gif

Told cha you would poke an eye out!! tongue.gif

Yes, do more "winging it"!!

Fun, right?

Sad but true, Hong Kong movies, have actors who are going through the motions rather than being invested in the characters they play.

Really sad, when so many gems came out of Hong Kong during the 80s and 90s....

Good job once again!!

thumbup.gif
Mov_freak
post Aug 25 2015, 08:26 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Inside Out (2015)

Watched this last Thursday and did not have time to do a post here until now!!

Is it true?

Is what true you ask?

Can Pixar, do NO wrong?

If this movie is anything to go by, no they cannot!! (Double negative I know)

Any "pinch" of idea they get, however tiny, the make it into an EXCELLENT movie.

Case in point, this movie.

Focus is on Riley. We meet Riley at her birth and see the "world" through her...

Kinda, sorta... What we mainly follow are her "inside voices", namely, Joy, Sadness, Fear, Anger and Disgust.

And the take away from this movie, priceless

My only complain is, this movie was brought in so late into our shores.

If you have not watched this, please do.

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Aug 26 2015, 05:36 PM
Mov_freak
post Aug 30 2015, 10:59 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

skylinelover

Tsui Hark makes decent Hong Kong Movies

Also, I have always admire a more low key action actor, Wu Jing who I believe was in S.P.L. 2

He is really good

37 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0889sec    1.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:04 AM