Movies My Movies Review Thread V2, Got a movie to review ? post it here !
Jan 4 2018, 04:56 PM
11,251 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
mali mali closing of 2017
Jan 19 2018, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(6so @ Jan 14 2018, 09:20 PM) Darkest Hour - Best actor frontrunner. Love Gary as the memorable villain in the past. It goes without saying this will be an overdue win for Gary Oldman should he prevail in the coming Oscar. Just like Scorsese who waited for decades to finally nab the statue. It's a showy performance and Oldman almost unrecognizable under the prosthetic. It's a tad beneath of Daniel Day Lewis when comes to dissapearing into character. Movie wise it's your standard historical figure genre that building up to the pivotal point from the actual event. Also a good companion piece to Dunkirk as it narrate the politicking behind the scene and how that event cement Winston Churchill in the history book. Ben Mendesohn plays a small side character but he does have an awesome scene where he goes mano a mano with Gary Oldman. As usual Lily James always a welcome sight to see on screen. Watch this for the performance while the movie itself a little run of the mill especially Netflix The Crown did a magnificent spin on the post war Churchill arc. Hope Churchill can put him in nomination and win best actor. Hahahaha. This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jan 19 2018, 09:50 AM |
Jan 19 2018, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(Mickey C @ Jan 14 2018, 09:36 PM) check DEN of THIEVES my review is DAMMMM gun fight even more realistic with oozing super eargasm since last year john wick 2 possibly the best ever 140 minutes of my entire life |
Jan 21 2018, 09:22 AM
Jan 23 2018, 09:18 AM
Jan 28 2018, 08:08 AM
Feb 16 2018, 07:50 AM
happy CNY everyone
Mov_freakreview black panther after finish your CNY activities ok |
Feb 17 2018, 12:20 PM
Waaa so many CNY line up but so little time 2 watch
So today my line up will be *drum roll* 1. Think big big - 11am 2. Agent mr chan - 1.50pm 3. Liang Ximei, The Wonderful - 4.20pm I was thinking of going 4 the 4th ones but night CNY visiting made me drop that plan Cheerios This post has been edited by skylinelover: Feb 17 2018, 12:21 PM |
Feb 17 2018, 08:36 PM
Feb 17 2018, 08:38 PM
Mar 9 2018, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Mar 8 2018, 08:59 PM) Tomb Raider (2018) Wow that is one over optimistic review you got there😄😄✌✌Warner Brothers cannot get a break... This movie's in NOT produced by Paramount, like it predecessor. Warner made this and it is... I am getting ahead of myself I was never a fan of the game. The first two movies starring Angelina Jolie, were decent. Alicia Vikander, to me, is a better Lara Croft. Her angst is more... palpably The first two acts are good and the third... I blame it on the mcguffin. For adventure movies like this, the mcguffin is important (may I remind everyone about Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of Crystal Skull) Daniel Wu is branching out to Hollywood?? First Geostorm now this?? My final verdict about this movie? Good try, can be better My Two Sen Especially when this is a reboot/remake you hardly praise b4 |
Mar 13 2018, 11:39 PM
haha still waiting for stuckmann and jahns review on the movie
Mar 15 2018, 11:05 PM
peter rabbit scores from me 7/10
very entertaining british-made family movie I must say in fact 2 star wars cast were inside general snoke as McGregor JR and rey voicing one of the rabbit character if yall like paddington bear movie yall will also like peter rabbit easily |
Mar 22 2018, 09:31 AM
Mar 28 2018, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(5p3ak @ Mar 26 2018, 08:39 PM) KL Special force was decent, if you can look past the Micheal bay explosions, the plot about trust has many twists. Now if only the female characters were treated better. Haha about time malay movie go up the ante😄😄👍👍Been more than a decade since i last watched great malay flickWay better than Disney's Wrinkle in Time IMO. |
Mar 28 2018, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 24 2018, 12:31 PM) Just can't believe how bad it is....urghh what a waste ...for those of you yet to watch....dont waste your money la.... QUOTE(guarayakha @ Mar 24 2018, 03:17 PM) Severely lacking Del Toro's greasy otaku heart, IMO. Didn't like what they did to the returning characters that people actually liked. Spoilers for plot: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 24 2018, 09:12 PM) Like what the reviewer said , this is a cash grab. Haha thks goodness RP1 is airing today and not tomorrowI can't believe I sat through all that dialogue in the movie for Pacific Rim Uprising. This was supposed to be a fun action movie!!! 1 week without cinema dose is killing me😅😅😂😂 |
Mar 28 2018, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(5p3ak @ Mar 28 2018, 12:17 PM) Haha havent watched yetAfter i watch only then i change my post QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 28 2018, 12:25 PM) Not anime kaki here QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Mar 28 2018, 01:05 PM) |
Mar 29 2018, 09:13 AM
Mar 31 2018, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(whatever06 @ Mar 30 2018, 11:01 PM) The Outlaws (Kor 2018) – 7/10 That is one long list of movies you got there Well done cat & mouse gangster movie. The Thousand Faces of Dunjia (Mand 2018) – 5.5/10 NiNi wears like a man I liked. Fun char interaction. Hoping for a sequel but unlikely. Because once Dunjia unlocked they suddenly can fly??? The Legend of Demon Cat (Mand 2018) – 6.7/10 A tale of love & betrayal. Strangely the two main char sink to 2nd fiddle in the 2nd half as the plot reveals the truth. Along with the Gods: The Two Worlds (Kor -2018) – 7.5/10 Intriguing and emotional. Sequel coming this year as well! The Third Murder (Jap 2018) – 6.5/10 A very slow movie even by Masaharu Fukuyama standard. The Commuter – 6.6/10 A bit thrill and loud crash at the end. Den of Thieves – 7.1/10 Surprisingly watchable Heat-like movie. A sequel is confirmed. The Maze Runner: Death Cure (2018) – 4/10 Bad story. Lost in thrill and mystery. Braven - 5/10 Jason Momomommomomo no good. Marrowbone – 7/10 Don’t let the bad poster fooled you. A gorgeous good indie-like movie. Molly’s Game – 7/10 A very speedy movie. New dialogue like every 1-2sec. Must keep focused. Fate/Stay Night Heaven’s Feel (Jap 2018)– 7/10 Is this compilation of Unlimited Blade? Think Big Big (Mad 2018) – 6/10 A smaller scale story opposite the title. Decent. Monster Hunt 2 (Mand 2018) – 5.5/10 First one not that good and same for this. I guess HK film industry pretty much dying soon since multiple times Best Actor Tony Leong starred in this. Monkey King 3: Kingdom of Women (Cant 2018) – 6/10 A STEP DOWN compared to the predecessor. Bad cgi cerography. WuKong strength toned down drastically. Nevertheless, the 2nd best cny movie compared to others. Operation Red Sea (Mand 2018) – 7.5/10 A STEP UP of Operation Mekong. Great intense war action by Navy Seal of China. Dante Lam has confirmed making another Operation! Black Panther – 5.5/10 2nd worst marvel movie after Doc Strange. Quite boring. Wonderful! Liang Xi Mei (Mad 2018) – 6/10 Decent laugh. Liang Po Po cameo. Game Night – 7/10 Quite hilarious and entertaining. Staycation (Cant 2018) – 5.5/10 Johnson Lee better remains as TV host. The Wrinkle of Time – 5/10 A Disney movie directed by a woman. What am I watching??? Tomb Raider – 6/10 Acceptable but could be better. AV is golden. The movie is over when Daniel Wu was just about to get started. Get Hard Tongkat Ali (Mand 2018) – 6.2/10 Pretty naughty and hilarious and fun. This is a local production. The Post – 7/10 Good but also flawed. Not sure about historical accuracy. Marlina The Murderer In Four Acts (Indo 2018) – 7.2/10 Beautiful filming location. Beautiful cinematography. Slow but not boring. A hidden gem. Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – 7/10 Quite overrated and got nominated because no more title in 2017 worth nominated. Peter Rabbit – 6.5/10 Mischief fun. The Strangers: Prey at Night – 6/10 Doesn’t rely on cheap jump-scare. A better remake. Red Sparrow – 6.5/10 Most daring JLaw role luckly didn’t turn up like Atomic Blonde. A lot of scene cuts and zoom in probably better off banned this movie altogether. A better JLaw movie than her previous Mother! or Passengers. The Hurricane Heist – 6/10 Surprise watchable heist action under a hurricane. Don’t be fooled by the bad movie title choice. The movie bombed probably due to lesser known actor & actress and of course the very bad title. Pacific Rim Uprising – 5/10 Serviceable for robot action sequences. Ignore the rest. Lee Chong Wei (Mand 2018) – 6.7/10 Perak specialist. Silver specialist. Mazinger Z: Infinite (Jap 2018) – 6.5/10 This anime released same week as Pacific Rim was actually a better movie. Mazin Go! Unsane – 7/10 I have no idea Soderbergh was using IPHONE to film this movie until I watched it. Despite the UGLY picture, the film is not bad. Please STOP using smartphone filming movie. Ready Player One 3D – 7.5/10 You know you’re gonna watch this so skip all the comments I’m telling you to watch this in IMAX 3D is worthwhile. A third Spielberg title without John William. |
Apr 3 2018, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(hanii @ Apr 3 2018, 07:51 AM) Midnight Sun (2018) Haha i was hoping patrick 2 be like his father arnold but if this is the type of movie he is selling then i guess cheesy action era is over😅😂The movie is fine. Expected story line. Happy ending. But it's just fine. Nothing good nor bad. And Patrick Schwarzenegger is hella fine. P/s: I knew nothing about its being a remake tho. Rating 6/10 |
| Change to: | 0.0305sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:56 PM |