135 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

University Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP) Thread, A warm welcome to the new intakes!

TSexquisite_markas
post Jul 18 2011, 12:24 AM

It's edible... I mean editable.
1,344 posts

for all mechanical, mechatronic and biomedical electronics engg newcomers, dis is how our school looks like.. yes, we do call it school.. in bm, it wil b pusat pengajian kejurutaraan (PPK).. n dis is d arial view of d school of mechatronic's (ppk mekatronik) building.. and believe me, its big..!

dis is one of d labs in our school.. dis is d mechanical engg's solid mechanic and vibration lab..

dis is d school's cafeteria.. d food is nice, and its at a very affordable price.. d boss is vy friendly too..
TSexquisite_markas
post Jul 18 2011, 12:38 AM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(jimmytan912 @ Jul 18 2011, 12:10 AM)
How about manufacturing? Far away from our hostel? Any senior on this course? ^^
hi jimmytan912..

d school of manufacturing engg and d school of mechatronic engg is juz side by side.. we r d first two schools to b relocated to d new campus in kampus ulu pauh..

if u r staying in wang ulu (n most probably, u will), it wil take arnd 50mins to reach d campus.. dont worry, bus is always provided.. and if u r staying in kuala perlis, it wil take not more than 40mins to reach..

it depends on wat time ur lecture starts on dat day.. first lecture wil b at 8am.. for myself, i wil get up at 6am (if my lecture is at 8am).. get myself ready and i wil walk out to d pick-up point before 7am.. d first bus wil start to leave at 7am.. make sure dat u get urself ready by 7:30am.. coz d last bus wil move at 7:30am for d 8am class..

well, dis is only applicable to mechanical, mechatronic, biomedical electronics, manufacturing and product design engg students..
IvanWong1989
post Jul 18 2011, 12:59 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Jul 18 2011, 12:12 AM)
hi thr freakfingers12..

i guess IvanWong1989 has a bit of a misconception about mechanical engg thr..

on one hand, he is rite.. mechanical engg does deal with statics and thermodynamics and fluid.. dats d basic of almost all d engg courses..

on d other hand, mechanical engg in unimap is more than dat.. gears and reduction gears r not too accurate, if u ask me.. unimap's mechanical engg course, during my time, stresses more on d knowledge of all engineering fundamentals (statics, dynamics, thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, heat transfer..) on other complex engineering applications.. dis include modelling, design, simulations and analysis..

u wil also b learning high-end softwares during ur course.. solidworks and autocad are two main modelling softwares which r utilised throughout ur study.. besides dat, u wil also learn how to use design and simulation softwares..

simulation is one of d major stream in mechanical engg.. think of a vehicle crash-testing scene in perodua.. it wil b vy costly if u r to bang a myvi or a viva against a wall, to see how d impact force is exerted on d driver and passengers.. wat if u r to bang a dozen of myvi's and viva's on different wall surfaces, or wif differently aged drivers.. perodua wil go bankrupt in a fortnight..

dats whr simulations come in.. first u haf to model all ur test subjects (d myvi, d driver in d driver's seat, and its passengers, and also d wall).. then u set all d necessary test conditions and properties.. n u r all set to literally bang ur myvi against d wall.. all test conditions n properties r simply variables.. u can change it as many times as u like..

d best thing about simulation is dat, u can get very realistic and accurate results, without a few dozen of twisted myvi's and viva's in perodua's backyard waiting to be scraped.. it indeed saves cost..

does d above interest you, all mechanical engineers wannabes..? if it does, then u r in for a treat..!
sorry eh markas.. haha.... i din knw much... thx for claryfying.. heheh.. ^^
btw.. the pics of the campus yeng!

Added on July 18, 2011, 1:02 am
QUOTE(XxxNightSkyxxX @ Jul 18 2011, 12:01 AM)
CNY? haha..
btw if my fren taking mechanical while i taking mechatronics,does that mean we have to stay in different hostel?
and how about the wifi or internet in hostel? smooth or ahem..  whistling.gif
erm..... newcomers should all be placed at wang ulu... if im nt mistaken.... they prefer to put same course roommates together.. haha...

wifi at main campus is flying cz nt 100% people go thr use.... but at hostel... it ... *cough*.. gets frustrating...
ours use those lan cables...

QUOTE(shimon @ Jul 18 2011, 12:10 AM)
got wifi in main campus only?

and what about unifi/streamyx? got anybody use?
wifi at main campus...
hostel will be lan cables...

unifi/streamyx.. erm... nt that i knw of... so far din see people use.. haha..

Added on July 18, 2011, 1:14 amfor those taking mechatronics...

expect going more into electronics and digital control systems...

also another major part will be microcontrollers.... haha...

simulation software we use alot.. haha.... nt compulsory... but generally it makes understanding easier..

and expect no shortcut in projects.... the lecturers duwan simulation only projects..

they want real physically built stuff.... kinda jealous biomedic din need spend $ build those stuff. lolx..

yes... need $ to execute those projects..

so far my first year electronics project includes auto lamp post light controller using hysteresis then some c programming ..

2nd year projects ate my money.. lolx.. auto car park colour cards...zzz whole thing took rm 500+..zzzzzzzzzz

3rd year.. haha... i haven gone through cant say...

when people think mechatronics.. they think robotics... the thing is... we are nt limited to that.... our main focus would be automation and control..

though i must say very often.. wht we do in future nt always related to the course u've taken....

This post has been edited by IvanWong1989: Jul 18 2011, 01:14 AM
xflazex
post Jul 18 2011, 01:19 AM

17 posts

Means we gonna register our own online application ? or the hostel already got something like streamyx ? Anyone have the problem when clicking the "setuju" button ? i tried over 3days and the error still there =__=!!
Oh yea , anyone taking polymer enginering which same as me ? come and make a friend guys biggrin.gif !

This post has been edited by xflazex: Jul 18 2011, 01:21 AM
IvanWong1989
post Jul 18 2011, 01:26 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(xflazex @ Jul 18 2011, 01:19 AM)
Means we gonna register our own online application ? or the hostel already got something like streamyx ? Anyone have the problem when clicking the "setuju" button ? i tried over 3days and the error still there =__=!!
Oh yea , anyone taking polymer enginering which same as me ? come and make a friend guys biggrin.gif !
means line is provided... both at hostel and campus...dun wori..

i apply celcom cz i fad up wit school line.. haha.. unstable... and block here block thr....

erm... i suggest u phn relevant people up....
meijie
post Jul 18 2011, 09:24 AM

41 posts

so broadband is either celcom or maxis la...uhmm...ok...thanks...
then need wear formal wear when having class? blink.gif
jeans can wear?

This post has been edited by meijie: Jul 18 2011, 09:32 AM
IvanWong1989
post Jul 18 2011, 09:27 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

why quote then no write anything?? sweat.gif sweat.gif
meijie
post Jul 18 2011, 09:42 AM

41 posts

then need wear formal wear when having class?
jeans can wear?
one more thing wanna knw is that near campus or hostel gt what atm machine...biggrin.gif
IvanWong1989
post Jul 18 2011, 10:15 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(meijie @ Jul 18 2011, 09:42 AM)
jeans can wear?
one more thing wanna knw is that near campus or hostel gt what atm machine...biggrin.gif
haha... jeans can... but orientation time dun.... orientation wear trousers, anything but jeans.... with a colar t-shirt/shirt

during class dun need wear formal.. just trousers(jeans also cn), and t-shirt wit colar.... most of the time it will be quite cold in the morning so u will wear ur unimap jaket(they will giv)

haha... in campus atm is muamalat bank .... ptptn also is use this bank...(if u taking ptptn... dun need open account first... go thr will hav ptptn official to register and open for you)

in kangar gt maybank nearest(this i suggest you open.... haha.. i use it to transfer money, pay bills online and etc etc... make online purchases(some things for projects)).... public bank need walk a futher 10minutes. lolx..

haha..... i'll post up whut u all need to bring later orientation.. lolx... once i rmb.. haha...

This post has been edited by IvanWong1989: Jul 18 2011, 10:31 AM
TSexquisite_markas
post Jul 18 2011, 10:24 AM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(meijie @ Jul 18 2011, 09:42 AM)
jeans can wear?
hi meijie..

formal wear is required during d orientation week.. u need it throughout d week, but not d whole day.. it depends on wat activity u r attending..

and for d first two weeks of lecture, u also need formal attire.. dats d norm for new students.. i think partly bcoz u wil b doing a lot of ice-breaking wif lecturers in d school.. dats y u need to dress up formally..

yes.. for engineering students, jeans are allowed.. both during lectures and labs.. but u r advised to wear only presentable jeans.. some lecturers wil not care much about ur attire.. some mean ones wil juz ask u to get out of their sight.. so b careful..

in unimap.. we r using atm from bank muamalat.. yes, its not those well-known banks, but u can find it almost in every nooks and corners of perlis.. thr is one in d hostel, and one in d campus..
IvanWong1989
post Jul 18 2011, 10:30 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Jul 18 2011, 10:24 AM)
hi meijie..

formal wear is required during d orientation week.. u need it throughout d week, but not d whole day.. it depends on wat activity u r attending..

and for d first two weeks of lecture, u also need formal attire.. dats d norm for new students.. i think partly bcoz u wil b doing a lot of ice-breaking wif lecturers in d school.. dats y u need to dress up formally..

yes.. for engineering students, jeans are allowed.. both during lectures and labs.. but u r advised to wear only presentable jeans.. some lecturers wil not care much about ur attire.. some mean ones wil juz ask u to get out of their sight.. so b careful..

in unimap.. we r using atm from bank muamalat.. yes, its not those well-known banks, but u can find it almost in every nooks and corners of perlis.. thr is one in d hostel, and one in d campus..
sweat.gif first 2 weeks need? sweat.gif i din wear pun... lolx....

eh, markas, u grad adi right?
TSexquisite_markas
post Jul 18 2011, 10:35 AM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 18 2011, 10:30 AM)
sweat.gif  first 2 weeks need?  sweat.gif  i din wear pun... lolx....

eh, markas, u grad adi right?
hi IvanWong1989..

during my 2007/2008 intake, we were required to wear formal attire for at least two weeks.. mayb thr is some changes in d rules.. i m not sure..

yes.. i haf completed my degree already.. now i m waiting for my convocation in september..
IvanWong1989
post Jul 18 2011, 10:58 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

haha.. may i ask.... u planning to wrk whr?
TSexquisite_markas
post Jul 18 2011, 11:09 AM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 18 2011, 10:58 AM)
haha.. may i ask.... u planning to wrk whr?
i dont plan to work.. i m now waiting for my application result to do phd..
IvanWong1989
post Jul 18 2011, 11:24 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Jul 18 2011, 11:09 AM)
i dont plan to work.. i m now waiting for my application result to do phd..
woh!!!! at whr???

haha.... eh... can straight jump to phd?? nt need master first?

meijie
post Jul 18 2011, 12:18 PM

41 posts

thanks for ur answer...biggrin.gif
then i wanna ask that...isit girls need baju kurung? shakehead.gif

jimmytan912
post Jul 18 2011, 12:21 PM

76 posts

something wanna ask ^^
is that if we wanna loan ptptn we hv ti go but the pin cost RM5 at BSN 1st?
and is the a need for ourself to drive a car there or? driving ourself troublemsome?

xflazex
post Jul 18 2011, 12:25 PM

17 posts

hey guys , dont we need to solve the "setuju" error ? i have made alot of call to unimap but still nobody is answering my call . yet , before 22 july we need to click that bloody button , how ?!
jimmytan912
post Jul 18 2011, 12:26 PM

76 posts

my friends get upm also face this problems... dunno... haiz...

IvanWong1989
post Jul 18 2011, 12:26 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(jimmytan912 @ Jul 18 2011, 12:21 PM)
something wanna ask ^^
is that if  we wanna loan ptptn we hv ti go but the pin cost RM5 at BSN 1st?
and is the a need for ourself to drive a car there or? driving ourself troublemsome?
what rm5 pin??? rclxub.gif

i dun rmb .. hmm.. hmm.gif ....perhaps it will be safer for u to go ptptn thread and ask...

sweat.gif

erm.. first years are prohibited frm driving.....

Added on July 18, 2011, 12:28 pm
QUOTE(xflazex @ Jul 18 2011, 12:25 PM)
hey guys , dont we need to solve the "setuju" error ? i have made alot of call to unimap but still nobody is answering my call . yet , before 22 july we need to click that bloody button , how ?!
QUOTE(jimmytan912 @ Jul 18 2011, 12:26 PM)
my friends get upm also face this problems... dunno... haiz...
er... should get it settle quick le... phn them like hell.... erm... i'll help ask thru email see....

as expected mahresia boleh.. lolx....

This post has been edited by IvanWong1989: Jul 18 2011, 12:28 PM

135 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:39 AM