135 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Bottom

University Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP) Thread, A warm welcome to the new intakes!

shimon
post Aug 30 2012, 08:06 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(icekeith92 @ Aug 30 2012, 04:25 PM)
HI, thanks...oh...bt wat is NUS?

and oh,wat is d purpose of the whole co-curriculum in unimap? wat should i aim for? i mean during my secondary days, a lot of participation in competitions especially to d national/international lvl, and holding a particular position can gt u high marks in d 10 points allocated by d government(compulsory if u want to secure a place in a uni). so how's d system in UniMap? i heard points,this and that bt have no clue watsoever hw d system runs n wat would b my main objective. i would really appreciate it if u r willing to share some info..thanks ^^

Added on August 30, 2012, 5:34 pmand i nid to ask as well, the wifi provided by d kolej kediaman is fast enough or should i gt my own internet?

if i should gt my internet, which broadband should i opt for? unifi ok ka? i read yes 4g gt post paid plans with quota..i'm a person who surfs a lot, emails, facebook, watching movies on u- tube, me-tube, he-tube, she-tube, x-tube, anytube..n probably download some music files occasionally..
i'll answer what i know...

1.NUS=National University of Singapore

2. co-curriculum is to add up and fulfill the credit hours.

3. the "10 points" system, i don't know we have in university or not, but yes, some participation in activities may help u later to get jobs or so..

4. the free internet service is not Wifi-based. it is old school cable style yaww. sometimes it's ok, sometimes it's slow. normal la tu tongue.gif

5. for broadband, i'd recommend u opt for celcom as this is best all-rounder. i heard from my friends some place in wang ulu (the place u guys, 1st yr will be staying at) maxis can't get line...

This post has been edited by shimon: Aug 31 2012, 08:35 AM
IvanWong1989
post Aug 31 2012, 09:50 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

co-k only to fill the 1 credit requirement... but you may pursue it as interest later on also la. =)..

new students all wang ulu ar?????????? nobody go semarak???

shimon
post Aug 31 2012, 01:05 PM

341 posts

as far as i know new students degree will be in wang ulu except business students, and maybe 2nd intake ones..
bb100
post Aug 31 2012, 01:22 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Aug 31 2012, 09:50 AM)
co-k only to fill the 1 credit requirement... but you may pursue it as interest later on also la. =)..

new students all wang ulu ar?????????? nobody go semarak???
Ivan you wanna hunt for new intake lengluis??? brows.gif
TSexquisite_markas
post Sep 1 2012, 09:14 AM

It's edible... I mean editable.
1,344 posts

Wang Ulu is a good place for juniors actually. It's near to Kangar.

But it gives me an impression that the hostel placement in UniMAP this time is quite messy. Haiz... Pity the juniors.
IvanWong1989
post Sep 1 2012, 09:56 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

lol... no 1st year masuk smerak... =.=...

treanova
post Sep 1 2012, 11:06 PM

Hi, I'll be enrolling into unimap tomorrow. I wanna ask, do desktop pc allowed to be brought into hostel? Or mebbe just laptops? Was afraid if there's any restriction about this matter. Oh, and how about motorbikes? Do 1st years allowed to bring one?
shimon
post Sep 2 2012, 12:06 AM

341 posts

QUOTE(treanova @ Sep 1 2012, 11:06 PM)
Hi, I'll be enrolling into unimap tomorrow. I wanna ask, do desktop pc allowed to be brought into hostel? Or mebbe just laptops? Was afraid if there's any restriction about this matter. Oh, and how about motorbikes? Do 1st years allowed to bring one?
Hi, welcome to UniMAP!

1. Never heard of desktop pc not allowed, buat as other electronics, it have to be registered (common in any uni).

2. 1st year students are not allowed to bring any type of vehicle *well except bicycle*... but honestly ada je yang bawak. Recently during last semester the security guards became more strict in this, they do vehicle checking more often.. i suggest you don't bring the vehicles yet smile.gif
ghodul
post Sep 2 2012, 12:10 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Aug 29 2012, 09:57 PM)
Can I say guys (and gals) who took Computer Engineering were computerised zombies (no-life computer geeks)? Haha...  laugh.gif

No offense though.  wink.gif
some sort off. Because me loooooove computer and electronic stuff since I was in primary school...
TOROBO
post Sep 2 2012, 03:28 PM

380 posts

good luck to new Unimap degree intake for their orientation week!
bb100
post Sep 4 2012, 01:06 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(TOROBO @ Sep 2 2012, 03:28 PM)
It will be a long week. icon_rolleyes.gif
bb100
post Sep 4 2012, 01:14 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

By the way, Ice Cream Sammich is not as good as Honeycomb. So don't feel bad. rolleyes.gif
IvanWong1989
post Sep 4 2012, 07:41 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

hey guys... ask some opinions.... does it cost high to use car thr??? fully only ptptn support....
ghodul
post Sep 4 2012, 12:11 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

Me quite sad. Tak dapatlah kita bersama di UniMAP...

I'm going back to perlis tomorrow night. Terpaksa balik awal pasal ada hal...
bb100
post Sep 4 2012, 01:37 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Sep 4 2012, 07:41 AM)
hey guys... ask some opinions.... does it cost high to use car thr??? fully only ptptn support....
It depends on where you are planning to go with your car, really. Since you are in the School of Mechatronic Engineering, I gather that you need to travel everyday from Semarak to the main campus and back. This will cost a bomb if you are using the car alone. I would suggest that you grab a few coursemates and carpool so you guys could share the petrol charges.

You need to make sure that you do not take your friends for a ride. Only calculate petrol which are burned for taking you guys on the journey to and fro campus. Those for personal usage like going to town for pak thor, yumcha and stuffs...don't lar hah...

When I was in my final year, I did carpool with one of my coursemates because we needed to go to campus for our FYP. Too bad, the carpooling period did not last very long, as that fler was quite a calculative person. He is the owner of the car and he took into account stuffs like tyres maintenance, engine wear and whatnot. doh.gif So if you were to carpool, and if you are the car owner, be generous a bit lar. icon_rolleyes.gif
bb100
post Sep 4 2012, 01:41 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(ghodul @ Sep 4 2012, 12:11 PM)

Quite sad...? Are you leaving UniMAP? Going to UniMAS? hmm.gif
bb100
post Sep 4 2012, 01:45 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Sep 1 2012, 09:56 AM)
lol... no 1st year masuk smerak... =.=...
deleted

This post has been edited by bb100: Sep 4 2012, 01:46 PM
IvanWong1989
post Sep 4 2012, 02:23 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 4 2012, 01:37 PM)
It depends on where you are planning to go with your car, really. Since you are in the School of Mechatronic Engineering, I gather that you need to travel everyday from Semarak to the main campus and back. This will cost a bomb if you are using the car alone. I would suggest that you grab a few coursemates and carpool so you guys could share the petrol charges.

You need to make sure that you do not take your friends for a ride. Only calculate petrol which are burned for taking you guys on the journey to and fro campus. Those for personal usage like going to town for pak thor, yumcha and stuffs...don't lar hah...

When I was in my final year, I did carpool with one of my coursemates because we needed to go to campus for our FYP. Too bad, the carpooling period did not last very long, as that fler was quite a calculative person. He is the owner of the car and he took into account stuffs like tyres maintenance, engine wear and whatnot. doh.gif So if you were to carpool, and if you are the car owner, be generous a bit lar. icon_rolleyes.gif
erm... my fyp will be in muhibah... and i don't plan to drive to pauh... that wil be insane.. cost a bomb... 28+- km to pauh.. then another 28+- back from pauh.... zzzz too far..

i want to use it for when maybe kuala perlis.. and when needed do fyp in muhibah... but muhibah nearer than pauh right. =)..

i duno whether on just ptptn money alone can support having a car thr. lol....
shimon
post Sep 4 2012, 10:25 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Sep 4 2012, 02:23 PM)
erm... my fyp will be in muhibah... and i don't plan to drive to pauh... that wil be insane.. cost a bomb... 28+- km to pauh.. then another 28+- back from pauh.... zzzz too far..
i want to use it for when maybe kuala perlis.. and when needed do fyp in muhibah...  but muhibah nearer than pauh right. =)..

i duno whether on just ptptn money alone can support having a car thr. lol....
last sem stay I stay in wang ulu, friend have a car and we carpool 4-5 people. back and forth to kuala perlis everyday for class, some night go for dinner etc, fill gas about once per week la. but when share money it doesn't feel that much. but having a car have to check maintenance, tyres and all, need quite alot money lo.
TOROBO
post Sep 5 2012, 12:05 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 4 2012, 01:14 AM)
By the way, Ice Cream Sammich is not as good as Honeycomb. So don't feel bad. rolleyes.gif
I just want it for the looks but GB still does the work just fine for now.
if there is anything I want from android is to not have the app becoming zombies back to life after I kill them and for the MMS messages to be received without the data network fully connecting and downloads facebook notifications first sweat.gif
QUOTE(ghodul @ Sep 4 2012, 12:11 PM)

tak ape bro.
good luck anyway thumbup.gif

135 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:41 AM