QUOTE(writesimply @ Jan 4 2011, 03:33 AM)
The upsampling algorithm uses the power of the Cell. In fact, this was one of the earliest features of the PS3's firmware. If the CD transport is the only reason to get a CDP - allowing that a dedicated CD player doesn't mess with the digital data prior to digital delivery to the receiver/DAC, then the upsampling by the Cell makes up for the gap in fidelity. It is however seems unlikely that the BD transport could inaccurately track CD data when the data pits of BD is much smaller than CD's data pits.
If the OP had the original "fat" PS3s with SACD playback, that can be used as an excellent SACD transport. The programming on that feature was done with direct consultation with Sony's SACD engineers. It can enable a direct DSD transfer to a DSD capable receiver. Your RSX920 can only handle stereo DSD however.
fuad
Bor..a bit technical, not so understand

, can u please explaint it a bit simply way, sorry Im noob la!!
I'll invest another RM1k for CD player if the CDP can deliver a BIG different sound Audio compare with PS3 Slim without changing or ADD any integrated Amp

My first testing after recently bought a Klipsch RF-82 floorstand, the PS3 audio a bit under perform, BUT after I been advice by ''writesimply'' to change the Music setting from 48khz to 176.4khz @ PS3 Slim, the sound quality was totaly change, much better!!
For those has try to compare within PS3 slim sound audio with CD player, please give some advice whether worth to buy a CD player for audiophile music without change or ADD any of my Home Theathre system.
Thanks for ALL sifu advice, very appreciate!!