Olympus XZ-1, - Olympus does enthuasiast compact
Ryou
Jun 28 2015, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 28 2015, 06:12 PM) You strobist ma... different story la  For the average joes who doesn't use flashes or need beefier raw files, there's not too much difference between a 1/2.3" sensor phone and a 1/1.7" sensor camera especially if he or she have to fork out $$$ for the camera. I hardly even bring my RX100 out these days unless its a night out and I don't want to carry a bag for my fuji. Miss those days when every picture coming out from XZ-1 gives us surprise. Nowadays people hardly care about image quality. The blue with graduation look and the tonal rendition of the XZ-1 is something smartphone can't do.
Ryou
Jun 28 2015, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(kamikraze @ Jun 28 2015, 03:55 PM) yep agreed.. macro shot is the best.. I still keep the picture and admire it from time to time..  Faster get it repaired and it will continue to shine.
TSsniper on the roof
Jun 29 2015, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(Ryou @ Jun 28 2015, 09:35 PM) Miss those days when every picture coming out from XZ-1 gives us surprise. Nowadays people hardly care about image quality. The blue with graduation look and the tonal rendition of the XZ-1 is something smartphone can't do.  Now that you reminded me... that's one thing I didn't like about Olympus. The blue  Then again, its never all about image quality. My wife takes so many photos of the kids and food with her phone that she's gotten a lot better in composition. Better than what I could come out with.... so that's never a bad thing.
ahmike89
Mar 23 2016, 01:03 AM
kamikraze
Mar 23 2016, 08:45 AM
xz-1 still very nice.
ahmike89
Mar 23 2016, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(kamikraze @ Mar 23 2016, 08:45 AM) Hehe yeap bro
kamikraze
Mar 23 2016, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(ahmike89 @ Mar 23 2016, 08:52 PM) Hehe yeap bro  mine, still dead unrepaired. Dunno where to send the camera.
Firefly
Mar 2 2018, 12:53 PM
Anywhere that I can send this baby to for repairs? The Zoom motor is skipping and Oly says out of production model and CANNOT service.
jtan.pdr
Apr 22 2018, 02:50 PM
omg... this thread is still alive!!!!
miss the xz1... was a good companion.
TSsniper on the roof
Apr 22 2018, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(jtan.pdr @ Apr 22 2018, 02:50 PM) omg... this thread is still alive!!!! miss the xz1... was a good companion. Same. The lens was awesome. Sensor not so much
SotongBiru
Apr 22 2018, 03:10 PM

Mine still ok. But got myself another Oly. TG-5 due to outdoor roughish conditions.
kamikraze
Apr 23 2018, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(jtan.pdr @ Apr 22 2018, 02:50 PM) omg... this thread is still alive!!!! miss the xz1... was a good companion. not much love left for xz1 anymore
TSsniper on the roof
Apr 23 2018, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(kamikraze @ Apr 23 2018, 03:50 PM) not much love left for xz1 anymore  Xz-1 was a 2011 camera. The fact that this thread still popped up is a miracle itself.
kamikraze
Apr 23 2018, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 23 2018, 03:54 PM) Xz-1 was a 2011 camera. The fact that this thread still popped up is a miracle itself. yeah, and the face Olympus still took my xz1 for fix last year is still impressive CS IMO.
jtan.pdr
Apr 25 2018, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 23 2018, 03:54 PM) Xz-1 was a 2011 camera. The fact that this thread still popped up is a miracle itself. ya man... great cam... like you, i've moved on... found that i needed a view finder for those bright days. landed on a sony rx100 mk3 and stopped there...
TSsniper on the roof
Apr 25 2018, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(jtan.pdr @ Apr 25 2018, 02:20 PM) ya man... great cam... like you, i've moved on... found that i needed a view finder for those bright days. landed on a sony rx100 mk3 and stopped there... I went from the XZ-1 to RX100 Mk1 and then gave up on compacts di (except the GR lah.. that's a good one)
jtan.pdr
Apr 25 2018, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 25 2018, 02:22 PM) I went from the XZ-1 to RX100 Mk1 and then gave up on compacts di (except the GR lah.. that's a good one) lol... now my most used cam is the phone cam... since they're getting much better.. now my phone is a huawei nova 2i that i got for rm1 and a 2 year contract... ooo.. of topic, my son went to taiwan on a student exchange and loved the place!! This post has been edited by jtan.pdr: Apr 25 2018, 02:27 PM
TSsniper on the roof
Apr 25 2018, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(jtan.pdr @ Apr 25 2018, 02:27 PM) lol... now my most used cam is the phone cam... since they're getting much better.. now my phone is a huawei nova 2i that i got for rm1 and a 2 year contract... ooo.. of topic, my son went to taiwan on a student exchange and loved the place!! Yeah they've improved alot... just gotten a S9+ but it still wont' be threatening my regular cameras anytime soon. Your son in Taipei?
jtan.pdr
Apr 25 2018, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 25 2018, 02:29 PM) Yeah they've improved alot... just gotten a S9+ but it still wont' be threatening my regular cameras anytime soon. Your son in Taipei? ya man.. he was there.. actually last year.. this year, he said he wanted to go again, but i told him to try other places, like mabbe china? i mean, try to look at as many places as possible and weigh his options...
TSsniper on the roof
Apr 25 2018, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(jtan.pdr @ Apr 25 2018, 02:45 PM) ya man.. he was there.. actually last year.. this year, he said he wanted to go again, but i told him to try other places, like mabbe china? i mean, try to look at as many places as possible and weigh his options... Travelling builds character.