Nokia N8 V19 - Monstrous Cameraphone, Godlike, Sifu and Noob level welcome
alexlimco
Dec 25 2010, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 25 2010, 02:50 PM) 1.8 is enough liao...i think after i save up enough money i also get 1.8 hehe.... 1.4 is err...maybe limited focus....in trade of nicer bokeh... I got the 50mm 1.8 for RM299 together with the camera purchase. Quite a worthwhile investment if you want to shoot objects. Not sure if it works well for portraits as I have not found a test subject yet.
alexlimco
Dec 25 2010, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(ne0cz @ Dec 25 2010, 06:25 PM) Every once in a while N8 forum becomes photography forum... lol True, true. But it's the N8 that made my DSLR bug bite me again. So end up buying one.  Added on December 25, 2010, 6:39 pmQUOTE(Andy214 @ Dec 25 2010, 05:53 PM) Sure you can, 50mm on your crop sensor will become medium telephoto, e.g. 50mm X 1.6 = 80mm. Try taking shots with spotlights as background (e.g. Christmas tree), shoot at f/1.8 or f/2, you'll get very nice bokeh from the spotlights. Added on December 25, 2010, 5:55 pmYour 550D using the 50mm f/1.8 prime lens, sure better loh; With wide aperture, you can shoot in lowlight without flash, but you will get shallow depth on field (see your food not all focus, the depth is shallow). N8 max aperture is f/2.8, so if low lighting, it'll need to lower the shutter speed and/or increase the ISO, or use flash. I didn't know that the 50mm 1.8 can shoot at higher apertures. Will try it out. Thanks for the tip. Still need to do a lot more experimenting with the 550D to improve my skills. This post has been edited by alexlimco: Dec 25 2010, 06:39 PM
alexlimco
Dec 25 2010, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(kyokusanagi @ Dec 25 2010, 11:14 PM) Hi. Take some nice photos and post it here then.
alexlimco
Dec 27 2010, 01:11 PM
Hi guys,
The last I heard was the N8 was selling for RM1400 somewhere in KL. I think it's maybe cheaper now due to the recent budget announcements that will cause prices of smartphones to drop.
alexlimco
Dec 27 2010, 04:01 PM
Time to spam the thread again. Got this for Christmas. Feel asleep and woke up after 12 so did not manage to get to the countdown. Ended up playing with my new toy.  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Droopy Ears 4 by Alex C O Lim, on Flickr Love those sad eyes and droopy ears.
alexlimco
Dec 27 2010, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 27 2010, 04:08 PM) i also wan new toy... thinking saving up money for new body... my D70s lcd screen is too small...i think 2-2.5" only... get used with n8/ipod touch screen now feel wan change body lol.... thinking get nikon D7000  but poket got hole already wan recover hole had to hardcore eat maggi for 6 months.  Sell the D70s or trade in for the D7000. I just saw on the Canon thread someone using 1000D body with 70-200mm IS USM lens, so the body is not that important but the lens are. Very expensive to invest in lens but it can last a long time like sifu Aspire told me.
alexlimco
Dec 27 2010, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 27 2010, 04:22 PM) currently my bank account left 300 only thinking repair my D70s or sell cheap cheap to my friend since he is interest to use it wisely...  sell around 750 something since saw garage sales price is around 950... and i havent repair somemore. Been there before, LOL. There were times back then when all I had was my plastic and ended up only eating at those places that only accepted plastic payment. Got myself even more deep into trouble. But back to N8. Tonight I will post some more pics taken by N8 for comparison purpose. And I just checked, no updates for N8 yet. I guess all in Nokia has stopped for Christmas holidays so we can only expect something by January earliest. This post has been edited by alexlimco: Dec 27 2010, 04:28 PM
alexlimco
Dec 27 2010, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 27 2010, 04:44 PM) pics spam All bokehss » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Very nice.  I heard that Malacca was jammed up over the weekend.
alexlimco
Dec 27 2010, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 27 2010, 05:48 PM) hmmmnn yeah hor..I have't play wth the contrast function during nite shooting...After trying many attempts, noticed that using ISO instead of exposure much better. Nxt probably play wth contrast...Too bad still no firmware update  Try set to night mode landscape and play with contrast + brightness. You might need a tripod though as there's no way to control the shutter speed on N8. Have not tried any night shots yet with my 550D. Will make it a point to try out sometime this week.
alexlimco
Dec 28 2010, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(kuai_chai @ Dec 28 2010, 12:27 AM) ok, im trying to instal garmin now.. but the setup files i got seems liek cant detect my phone  can u gimme the link to install it? thanks in advance  Go to the 1st page of the 5800xm threaed. Follow all the instruction there. Sure work.  Added on December 28, 2010, 12:35 amQUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Dec 28 2010, 12:34 AM) Ellloooooo... wai so early? No sleep meh? This post has been edited by alexlimco: Dec 28 2010, 12:35 AM
alexlimco
Dec 28 2010, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Dec 28 2010, 12:40 AM) not yet oi oi .. tomorrow no work  U not nice... U not work but I have to work.... Now waiting for McD delivery. Double beefburger + FF + Big Mac + .....
alexlimco
Dec 28 2010, 01:43 AM
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Dec 28 2010, 01:19 AM) hardware great but software  Give it time. Like the 5800xm tube that I passed to the wifey. Now she's always laughing at me for restarting the phone from time to time just to make a call. But then, the camera blasts them all the way from here to there as long there's proper lighting.
alexlimco
Dec 29 2010, 10:58 AM
Okay I promised a comparison of N8 vs 550D in my noob hands. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Taken using N8 Droopy Ears N8 (3) by Alex C O Lim, on Flickr Taken using EOS550D Droopy Ears 4 by Alex C O Lim, on Flickr Conclusion : For a noob, N8 = 550D  Awesome camera image quality
alexlimco
Dec 29 2010, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 29 2010, 11:55 AM) this time 550D have much more better contrast compare to n8...  The N8 photo was taken this morning as I was preparing to go to work. Just point and snap also quite good results. I am impressed now that I have an actual apple to apple comparison. Anway the 550D rocks too.  And it's not fair to compare the N8 with the 550D. I was just making a point that the N8 is quite awesome in pic quality given that it's a camera phone. This post has been edited by alexlimco: Dec 29 2010, 12:05 PM
alexlimco
Dec 29 2010, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 29 2010, 12:40 PM) lol ya...i didnt say n8 is bad...  Ha ha ha, N8 is fantastic in camera but if have more improvements in the next update then will be super.
alexlimco
Dec 30 2010, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(-IceLemonTea- @ Dec 30 2010, 12:31 AM) do any one know abt the rumors n9/n8-01/c7 ?? and to all who bought the n8: how is the phone...? any problems wif it so far..? No problems at all. Beat all camera phones out there. Now the price is about RM14++ onli, less than 1/2 price of i_P0rn. What U waiting for? Gor buy one now. Unless the unit you get is within the 5% bracket.
alexlimco
Dec 31 2010, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(liwei92 @ Dec 31 2010, 02:50 PM) My dad sign a company contract with maxis and they supposed to send me a n8 but they said the phone got alot of problem and they hold until they fix it..is that true? True to a certain extent. About 5% of the forumers here has problems with their phones will the rest reports that it's just fine. Probably Maxis does not want to face the pressure of handling dead phones.
alexlimco
Dec 31 2010, 11:45 PM
Happy New Year 2011. It's a new year and start of a new decade. Let's pary that all will be fine with peace and good luck upon all.
alexlimco
Jan 1 2011, 12:11 AM
Happy New Year 2011. Time to spam the thread again. Spent the evening with my nephew celebrating his birthday.
alexlimco
Jan 1 2011, 12:30 AM
At least someone is happy to be home today.