7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Pet Help Planted Aquarium V6, a garden inside a glass cube

radver
post Feb 27 2011, 10:58 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(m1santrophy @ Feb 27 2011, 09:21 PM)
today update..
i've tied the java moss on DW..
seem ok..dont know with my light condition the java moss might able to survive
seem i've been reading the java moss only required low light..
now my temp is 29C..quite worried actually...

i've go to jalan pasar LFS and seep everything is lot cheaper than the previous LFS that i got the light
and i've been able to find the JBL fertilizer that being suggested but the small bottle like eye-mo i'm not able to find it...
i dont purchase it coz my pocket is almost empty...
next month i'll get the fertilizer, soil and co2 equipment at that shop..
seem i'll go with DIY co2 tank....
For the lighting, as long as you don't give less then what they require, they will be alright. Give more lights might be a bit reddish la. rclxms.gif

Not only fish require low temperature, plants will grow more healthy if the temperature is low. DIY your own PC fan and pull down the temperature, if possible. How long you put the light on??? Since you just started, put 6 to 8 hours more then enough already. Get timer for the lights also, go Giant buy, should be <RM20.

The eye-mo one not a lot of place sell, the blue flat bottle should be enough la.

Remember don't fertilize it for the first 3 weeks ok... Since your DIYing the Co2, just get the air tube, nano glass diffuser(get the smallest you can find) and silicon glue for the LFS, don't go and buy the nutralife thingy, its a rip off. The rest you will need a big plastic soft drink bottle, 1.5 litre and above, yeast and sugar. tongue.gif

Added on February 27, 2011, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(kursk @ Feb 27 2011, 09:50 PM)
radver : Fertilizers just get JBL Ferropol(blue flat bottle) and JBL Ferropol 24(small bottle, like eyemo bottle).
how many did u used?daily or weekly dosage?mind sharing?
I don't actually follow the instructions on the bottle, cause if I follow = algae attack (most recently thread algae)

Blue bottle = Just put around 1/3 of the cap every 3 to 7 days like that, or each water change. FYI, my tank is 100 litre. And I don't put the first few days after I trim

Eyemo like = Now 2 drops a day, this one I follow instruction, cause it does not contain iron, only trace elements, so I still dose it even during algae attack. can last 3 months(last bottle I put 3 drops a day, and it was old stock so seem like it evaporated some already) tongue.gif

Before the Ferropol, blue flat bottle, I was using ferrotabs, only put 1/4 of the recommended dosage. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by radver: Feb 27 2011, 11:05 PM
radver
post Feb 28 2011, 01:00 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(m1santrophy @ Feb 28 2011, 12:19 AM)
thanx bro for info....
ok so this is my plan for DIY co2 tank:

2 plastic bottle (1.5L and 500ML)
air tube
1 glass diffuser
2 check valve
1 bubble counter

i'm using the same "recipe" as u shown on the previous post (page 46)
except for tank  tongue.gif
may i proceed with this equipment?
or just direct link tube (tank >> tube >> diffuser)
Direct link is better(plastic bottle >> tube >> diffuser), the lesser the link, the lesser the risk of leaking. And bubble counter serves no purpose in DIY, cause you can't control the output also. No need check valve also.
Just use one 1.5L bottle enough already, change new mixture every 2 to 3 weeks.
Diffuser, get the smallest one you can find, I used the ISTA nano glass diffuser for my DIY Co2 last time. thumbup.gif
For the yeast use warm water, not hot boiling water, you'll kill all of them...

Added on February 28, 2011, 1:02 am
QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Feb 28 2011, 12:36 AM)
your lighting got any switches for each tubes ? almost 100W for JAVA MOSS is the way tooooooooooooo over.

for DIY co2, check valve is not necessary la, even though water go into the water bottle also nvm. the most troublesome is every 2 weeks u have to REDO the recipe. quite sien 1 i tell u. i used to DIY co2 for about 2 months i think, then end up a 3.6L steel tank with manual regulator. IT SAVED MY DAY !!!!
Let him try first, then when he gets his Co2 tank he'll appreciate how important it is... blush.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by radver: Feb 28 2011, 01:02 AM
radver
post Feb 28 2011, 08:29 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(m1santrophy @ Feb 28 2011, 01:10 AM)
aite bro i'll get the co2 tank established in a tank as soon as possible.....

the light i only switch on 2 tube which equivalence 48W..
is that ok?
DIY Co2 no need check valve and bubble counter, but the steel Co2 tank will need 2 check valve and 1 bubble counter.
When your getting the steel Co2 tank, get around 2 to 3L ones. Get a manual regular around RM75, don't get the Solenoid RM280, too expensive and the normal manual regulator will work find. Get one with a gauge to at least tell you if its full or not. Should be around 1000psi when its fully filled.

48w is definately ok. I've grown Java moss with 36w before.

Added on February 28, 2011, 8:31 am
QUOTE(kursk @ Feb 28 2011, 02:48 AM)
hair algae attack~ omg....
Bought 10 Yamato shrimps, but they didn't seem to be touching the hair or thread algae.

Now, I just cut off all the affected stem plants and minimize my iron dosage. Funny that it only affected my red stem plant (rotala wallichi) biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by radver: Feb 28 2011, 08:31 AM
radver
post Feb 28 2011, 08:50 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Feb 28 2011, 12:33 PM)
If can better get Solenoid type. it long last than manual type due to manual one always open and close.
My Co2 always on, don't see any detrimental effect on my RCS also. No extra algae also... tongue.gif

Added on February 28, 2011, 8:51 pm
QUOTE(mustang90 @ Feb 28 2011, 12:35 PM)
ciohbu-dun worry la bro....i know where to buy it..... biggrin.gif
Share share... So cheap one... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by radver: Feb 28 2011, 08:51 PM
radver
post Feb 28 2011, 08:54 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(acu4883 @ Feb 28 2011, 05:36 PM)
Both not using co2 .. low maintainance .. not planning on high budget

fish & shrimp work hard to supply co2.. hehe
Try doing DIY Co2, you'll never regret it... I did it, and the effect of Co2 and non Co2 was sssoooo BIG... thumbup.gif . I was so glad I did DIY Co2.

Added on February 28, 2011, 8:55 pm
QUOTE(acu4883 @ Feb 28 2011, 05:40 PM)
I use Black Killisoil.. lot cheaper & still do for trick.. but ADA soil still the best for hairgrass
See you tank... notworthy.gif Where you find this Killisoil???

Added on February 28, 2011, 9:01 pm
QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Feb 28 2011, 08:23 PM)

Added on February 28, 2011, 8:28 pmSifuss please suggest me what to attach on DW. i wanna make it easy tank, dont want trim trim trim anymore.. i wan a small plant that can grow small and nice on the DW. i dont want attach moss because it blocked the lighting for the carpets.
Fissiden... The only one I know. Its supersmall and grow super slow... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by radver: Feb 28 2011, 09:01 PM
radver
post Feb 28 2011, 10:21 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Feb 28 2011, 09:49 PM)
yea thinking about fissiden too.. but fissiden also got few species right ? and the price just little bit unable to digest.. MAHALLL
Price expensive because its so slow growing... If fast growing, it'll be cheap, like stem plants... tongue.gif

Look at marimo balls... grumble.gif

This post has been edited by radver: Feb 28 2011, 10:44 PM
radver
post Mar 1 2011, 06:14 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Mar 1 2011, 10:08 AM)
usually lfs will seel fissiden attached to DW d.. they can sell higher price.. more profit.. lolx

if u wan the few types of fissiden just with stainless steel mesh.. i can pm u =) i usually get my plant from this guy too
I want fissiden also... tongue.gif
radver
post Mar 1 2011, 06:34 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Mar 1 2011, 06:21 PM)
not reseller la.. lolx.. i dun know that guy personally, only deal with him online.. but usually got my plant from him since he got sell in one bag portion or even tied to stainless steel mesh

usually lfs will separate it to small portion in pot.. can sell in higher profit ma  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

for example : Glossostigma elatinoides (Glosso)

he got sell one bag ( 12" x  8" ) for RM20, of course have to add for postage lo.. hehe
The Aquashop in JB one is it??? hmm.gif
radver
post Mar 1 2011, 11:11 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Mar 1 2011, 10:59 PM)
Anywhere I can find drop checker in PJ? Looked in 3 shops and the people also dunno what that is.  Too lazy to drive to Subang tongue.gif
Small advice from me is that only RM100+ drop checker will work as far as I know, the rest all cheat money one... Won't change color one... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by radver: Mar 2 2011, 12:46 AM
radver
post Mar 9 2011, 09:41 PM

18 posts

get stem plants, they can grow in gravel...

can refer to the first page of this forum, got list of LFS

Lights you will need those in the spectrum of 6500K, and IMO around 50watts as a low light setting

You will need some fertilizers, better if can get in tablet forms such as JBL ferrotabs. Less chance of overdosing, if cannot find, just get liquid fertilizer, JBL Ferropol but dose only half or quoter of the recommended dosage.

But IME you'll face a lot of algae problems...
radver
post Mar 9 2011, 11:13 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Arawin92 @ Mar 9 2011, 09:52 PM)
question one im clear.(btw you should change the hp num of atlantis safari its 016-2227772,gming)
very nice guy n good at planted tank advice and all.he cn set up very nice planted tank 4 u.he got those plants u recomended only one or two he dun have so i have to buy else wer...

question 2,hw much wil it cost?

question 3,JBL ferrotabs wun coss algae? if i face algae prob wt cn i do?

P.S:i wana put in fish...big fish.pls sugest i got a few chana in mind...
Lights for 2.5ft I don't know, I only have a 2 ft tank... tongue.gif should be around RM150-200.

IME, Ferrotabs less problem, cause its released slowly into the tank. Ferropol will straight go into the water column. All of us have algaes, we use algae cleaners like Yamato shrimps, Siamese algae eaters and snerite snails. But you want to keep very big fish, it probably eat them all up... blush.gif

The biggest fish I've heard being kept in a planted tank is arowana... blink.gif

You should ask yourself which is more important to you, the fish or the plants???

If its the fish, then you should go to the monster fish forum and tell them to recommend plants for your fish.

If its the plants, then I personally would recommend you to keep smaller fish, not chana AKA monster fish... nod.gif
radver
post Mar 10 2011, 04:37 PM

18 posts

Err... Ok

Yes, the lights very expensive one, or you can DIY using T8 fluorescent tubes. Just get the philips 6500K bulb that cost 8 per tube of 18 watts.

then the fertilizer you put around 1/4 of the recommended dosage la. Since slow growing plant and the tank is not fully planted. But the plants won't grow as nice lo...
radver
post Mar 10 2011, 07:57 PM

18 posts

T8 for 4 feet will be 36 watts and cost around 16-18 I think...

The fish I scare they will dig up the plants or chew it...
radver
post Mar 11 2011, 11:43 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Arawin92 @ Mar 11 2011, 09:07 PM)
buy 4x2 tank n got stand edy.gona use my old pump n top filter.so just have to get sum cash for cover with light n change the bulb to 6500k.
For planted tank actually no need cover, cause having a cover will increase the tank temperature which is not very favourable for the plants. But if your fish is jumpy, then you will need one.
radver
post Mar 12 2011, 12:39 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(kursk @ Mar 11 2011, 11:54 PM)
@radver

where are u from?
From Klang, but now in Kuala Terengganu... Why??? hmm.gif
radver
post Mar 12 2011, 12:51 PM

18 posts

I never use carbon before... Even the carbon floss that came with the Eheim canisters I took it out before connecting it to my tank.
radver
post Mar 14 2011, 03:35 PM

18 posts

Its a Molly, and your tank looks like it could use a few ottos...
radver
post Mar 15 2011, 02:19 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(hvaly @ Mar 15 2011, 08:38 AM)
why u say so ? is it my tank too dirty ?
please guide me as i am newbie in here  blush.gif
Well, you see the color of the leaves is a bit brownish right? Its actually due to a type of brown algae aka diatom growing on the surface of the leaves.
It'll affect the old leaves first and takes time to cover on the new leaves, but its definitely there.

If you put an otto in or maybe a few yamato shrimps, they'll clean it up for you and the leave color will return to bright green.
Depend on how big your tank is, 1ft or less = 1 otto or 2 yamatos, 2ft or more = 2 ottos or 5 yamatos.

Added on March 15, 2011, 2:21 pm
QUOTE(ashpitt79 @ Mar 15 2011, 02:46 AM)
Its not bcoz of co2 or filter.. its your light not enough. glosso hunger for light causing it grew taller.
can see your light was covered by driftwood and big fern leaves. But the glosso on front right corner is creeping low nicely.
My 3 footer  fill with glosso use Dymax 36watts x 4 + DIY 36watts Philips x2 + Bigboy Mods. 36watts Philips x2 = 288watts
equal to 7.2 watts per gallon.

[attachmentid=2095709]
Like thumbup.gif

What kind of moss did you tie on the driftwood??? How you make it so dense??? mine very scares only... sad.gif

This post has been edited by radver: Mar 15 2011, 02:21 PM
radver
post Mar 15 2011, 09:49 PM

18 posts

Now I know what went wrong with mine, I had too little to start with, so its a bit botak... doh.gif

Thanks for the java moss offer, but I'll just let mine grow a bit more longer then retie them... tongue.gif

But if your offering the glosso, I'll gladly accept it... rclxms.gif
radver
post Mar 17 2011, 12:24 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Mar 16 2011, 07:56 PM)
d@mn man.. even air refresher also will kill the shrimps.
You dropped it in??? Or just put it in the same room with the aquarium??? shocking.gif

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0398sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:59 PM