Streamyx Streamyx Is Planning Revising Fair Usage Policy, Do you agree or not ? Please Vote Now ?

iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 12:52 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Dec 18 2010, 12:46 AM)
kill those leeches.

if want fast speed, get FIBER !!
The unlimited fiber usage at this moment is consuming most of their bandwidth at this moment.

Admit it. They can't implement the volume cap with their Unifi users at this moment because it would be a 2nd blow to them as well people would steer away from subscribing Unifi fending off many potential subscribers.

Here's a 3rd solution:

Make your HSBB network neutral and allow other isps to come in.

iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 01:07 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Dec 18 2010, 12:59 AM)
allow MAXIS already ma...
By allowing other isps they still get to maintain the monthly infrastructure/network access regardless of which isp subscribers choose.So it's a sure income.

If they still want to involve in the isp foray, this would be the problem they'll have to face.They'll have problems managing their bandwidth as they can't implement Unifi volume caps while they still can't ignore their ADSL services.
iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 05:17 PM

603 posts

Streamyx 4mbps without IPTV and slower upload at 512kbps - Price? RM140

Unifi 5mbps symmetrical speed with IPTV and subsidized free equipment - Price? RM159

So why should 4mbps users be given less quota when in actual calculation they are paying more?

I saw a table saying 4mbps Streamyx users should be given 40GB allocation while Unifi VIP 5M be given 60GB.

If TM believe this, they should go back to secondary school.
iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 05:19 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Dec 18 2010, 05:17 PM)
say no and then what? i think we all know TM has us by the balls.

You think RM2 for 1GB is expensive? RM30 for 1GB at YES, go and have fun.
RM2 for 1GB is very cheap. I agree with you.

With this YES would never be congested with bandwidth hoggers unless they have lots of money to burn.

iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 05:58 PM

603 posts

IF Unifi didn't existed, TM's capacity today is more than enough to handle 4mbps users nationwide.

They are trying to conserve bandwidth today for Unifi's sake especially for those who subscribed to their 20mbps packages which at this moment has an unlimited quota.

This would pave way for them to take in more Unifi subscriptions until they hit their target numbers then from there on when numbers are achieved they'll announce the monthly quota.

Added on December 18, 2010, 5:58 pm
QUOTE(nwk @ Dec 18 2010, 05:55 PM)
no need to cane those super hoggers. just pull the plug by deactivating their accounts. so simple...even the monkeys at tm should know how to do that.
You pull the plug and risk yourself getting sued till fu lat.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Dec 18 2010, 05:58 PM
iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 06:27 PM

603 posts

Got to agree with the PAYU charging model.

If they can charge a low rate of RM2 per GB, then the 1TB user would take the big hit while the low usage subscriber would benefit from it while getting to keep his line with a very low monthly bill.

A typical monthly 60GB user would only have to pay RM120.
It could even get better with tiered usage whereby anything less than 10GB usage each GB would cost little more like RM3.

Very similar with Yes model but cheaper per GB cost.

iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 06:40 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Dec 18 2010, 06:33 PM)
You see, this is the sort of clarification and info we need before even considering anything. I do not think it works that way. There will be a base package price and then you pay extra for per GB.

So maybe a 1Mb package will be say RM80 for 10GB and then you pay extra if you use more. I do not think TM is going to give you a strictly PAYU, ie a user who uses 2GB a month only pays RM4? No way.

TM will also not be able to handle this as then their monthly revenue stream will be unpredictable.
They call it minimum commitment to maintain a certain level of revenue for the company as well as to break even for the rental usage.

RM35 or RM40 maybe?

Then again all ADSL lines should be equal in terms of speed by then. They shouldn't be marketing different speed packages such as 384, 512, 1m, 2m or 4m.All should be given best attainable line speed.

The one who use more pays more.Fair enough?

Things should be made as simple and easy as possible.
iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 07:16 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Dec 18 2010, 06:55 PM)
They cannot even get simple things wright. You ask them to do a bit more complicated things, we will all not have internet access soon if they mess up...

They got a problem with their  bandwidth? They  got bandwidth hoggers (as they call it)? Go deal with that. Maybe its just a handful of users in the end. Why trouble everyone else? Why complicate things? Their current FUP allows for this. What more do they want? Unless that's not the real reason and they have some other hidden agenda behind all this?

Come on TM, there must be some people in the company who are capable of coming up with a solution. Look for a solution that makes sense even if it is a little hard work for now. Not just find a simple solution that affects everyone like the previous capping fiasco. Get some external help / consultant if you cannot figure out how to solve your problems.

TM says above 25GB is a heavy user. We have seen posts here about users downloading 100 or 300 or 500 etc GB. Even TM says there are 1TB users. So the gap between 25GB and such larger figures are very very wide.
Actually for a normal user 60Gb is very much to spare already.How can those wireless isp users live with only 3-10GB quota every month if this is not true?
To download a few DVDs every day is not a normal habit. It's wastage because you don't get to watch all of it unless you're those jobless lowlifes.
Then again you would want subscribers to fell happy by allowing them to download some when they have the spare time as a hobby.
The key here is to avoid wastage and abnormal usage.

It is actually not complicating. Tiered pay as you use(PAYU) with minimum monthly commitments.

To simplify things enough no speed limitations or different speeds with different packages.
Only 1 package type to take care about.So the only thing you need to take care about is the volume meter.

Those how use more of course pay more la. Use 1TB with RM2 per GB, then pay RM2k lor for the month.Get punished lor.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Dec 18 2010, 07:21 PM
iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 07:27 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Dec 18 2010, 07:20 PM)
Then why does TM say 25GB is already a heavy user? The wireless packages were like that from the start so I guess users make do with them. Maybe they need the wireless facility for other reasons or don't have a fixed phone line etc. I also don't think those other ISPs have as much international bandwidth capacity as TM does.
Actually I don't understand that too myself. It is true that if you're that kind of subscriber who doesn't turn on your internet everyday except for weekend and do downloading once in a while then 25GB is sufficient about 30GB plenty to go.

Those who spend 1/2 the day everyday surfing/ downloading will not be enough.
If you're doing that for sure I know you won't get to use all the files or watch them.Many would be stashed into your mobile HDD waiting to rot.

60GB is plenty to spare for many already unless you're jobless or into those jack sparrow business.

1TB are those who probably resell and do continuous downloading 24/7 with 4mbps Streamyx / 20mbps Unifi.
Those who operate hotspots with his neighbours with monthly charges with his typical homeline.
iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 07:33 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(takercena @ Dec 18 2010, 07:29 PM)
If you got skill like most IT specialist, mostly you only have to sit at home and connect through VPN doing your job while downloading pRon. And we are not using broadband alone, we are using it with other member inside home.
Then the home package should not be the right package for such people.
Probably they should opt for SOHO or something..

Sitting at home and work through VPN with offshore companies?
Wait till the lembaga hsail comes after you when your offshore company banks in your salary directly into your personal account escaping tax.
iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 10:03 PM

603 posts

Adopt the PAYU model with low per GB pricing as what it is used today.
Then standardized all Streamyx plans with best effort speed and minimum monthly commitment to secure the line rental revenues.(Everyone has to pay a minimum commitment of RM25-30 per month)

Those who use less pay less while those who abuse bare the high cost.
On average RM80 will get a normal subscriber 40GB of monthly usage quota which is plenty to go with regular downloads and surfing.

If people can live with 3GB with wireless plans 40GB has more than enough unless you have other plans of sharing/reseling your line.
iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 10:40 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Dec 18 2010, 10:24 PM)
Say now 1.5m users. Average RM80. That's RM120m per month.

If base price is like RM30, and say 70% users use less than 15GB, that's only RM30m. You cannot make up the remainder RM90m unless the other 30% pays RM200 per month.

TM has got a steady RM120m every month now. Why would they want to reduce that?

Also, I believe the CEO has said that they won't reduce Streamyx package prices. Only add value to it. The value they are going to add is either CR, VB or LB...
So what do they want here?

Bandwidth conservation, fairer pricing or identifying those who hoggers?

If the 3rd is true then they should implement a fixed volume quota based on package type.When the quota is exceeded, charge every gigabyte by the PAYU model? 60-80GB is more than enough for 4mbps users. Every GB once exceeded will be charged RM3.
It'll be fair to all your subscribers including Unifi users as well.

I don't see the sincerity in their public survey. If they intend to only help themselves and not provide a fairer charging model to consumers why should the public give in to their pleas?

Selfish I would say.
iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 10:41 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Dec 18 2010, 10:38 PM)
Well, if TM implements some different method, then I guess users may (and should) look at all other alternatives to see if there is something else to suit their usage and maybe at a cheaper cost.
There's none so far except for a few other wired isps such as Time, Metrofon, Infolient and Jaring.

They have limited coverage.

Added on December 18, 2010, 10:45 pm
QUOTE(automan5891 @ Dec 18 2010, 10:41 PM)
You're right. They will maintain the price and tack on a cap of 25GB and whatever else they can do to get more $$$ and lol all the way to the bank. No way will you see a 1mbps package cheaper than RM110.
Unless their market is already saturated, they would want that for freeing up their network so that more subscribers would come in.

With the PAYU model, people would think twice before they would waste bandwidth usage.

This translates to easing up the congestion, allowing a fairer pricing model and most important the allowance to expand their subscribers further.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Dec 18 2010, 10:45 PM
iipohbee
post Dec 18 2010, 11:54 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Vigilant @ Dec 18 2010, 11:46 PM)
I think paying money for VL is ridiculous.

They cap our speed because they can't afford to accomodate our bandwith usage.

So if they are asking for money, that is just....
VL is the fairest deal. Light users pay less and heavy abusers pay for their selfish actions.

If the per GB pricing is right everyone would benefit from it not only the isp.

You avoid bandwidth hoggers, you get to reclaim back your wasted bandwidth resources and your customers would also feel happy for the fairer treatment they get according to their usage.

A minimum commitment ensures that TM rental is covered and RM2 per GB seems fair. That would give you 60GB per month @ RM120.

iipohbee
post Dec 19 2010, 12:07 AM

603 posts

50GB is plenty to go for most people.

You're already getting 10X of what the mobile broadband users are getting or even more when they can live with a 3GB or less quota.

Now the question is can TM maintain a good quality service once this is implemented?

Those who are currently on 4mbps plan you should stay and not downgrade/upgrade your packages because your previous contract did not have this VL clauses.
iipohbee
post Dec 19 2010, 12:24 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(takercena @ Dec 19 2010, 12:19 AM)
Can you just cut out this mobile broadband bullshit discussion? This is fixed line with broadband issue. Mobile broadband is another things.
What bullshit? Whether it's mobile broadband or fixed line both rely on the same undersea cables at the IG.

iipohbee
post Dec 19 2010, 12:30 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(takercena @ Dec 19 2010, 12:27 AM)
Then I believe I am correct. You are full of crap.
Keep your beliefs to yourself then.

Added on December 19, 2010, 12:33 am
QUOTE(automan5891 @ Dec 19 2010, 12:27 AM)
yes but mobile is expensive because of tower limitation. If I remember correctly each tower can only handle 5 users at 1mbps each thus the low bandwidth caps.
You are referring to radio resources.

Thus the reason why mobile broadband is always more expensive but the PAYU model keeps the bandwidth hoggers in check regardless of whether you're using either type of lines.

I know people who are currently coming against my opinions and calling me names here are actually bandwidth hoggers feeling sour.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Dec 19 2010, 12:33 AM
iipohbee
post Dec 19 2010, 01:11 PM

603 posts

Hi myandylai,

Just a few things to add to each suggestion.They sound good, hope you don't mind if I add some additional comments.

QUOTE(myandylai @ Dec 19 2010, 03:22 AM)
1. Fair Usage Policy
- as inside the TM announcement "The Fair Usage Policy automatically identifies the extremely heavy users and manages their bandwidth...". How much is consider a heavy user. It would better for us to manage our usage if we would understand the "extremely heavy users" therm mean.
- Difference Fair Usage Policy should be apply for difference packages. Example if I was a 4Mbps user and the Fair Usage Policy cap me at 300Kbps which happen only recently before TM lifted the Fair Usage Policy was totally unreasonable. If 4Mbps users was cap at 300Kbps then it's better that they just apply for 512Kpbs packages which is much cheaper.
- The Fair Usage Policy would need to be "BUG" free. What happen on the last attempt TM applying the Fair Usage Policy cause our connection to a point of chaos. Not only browsing speed slow down but other task that take less then 32KB connection also effected (VOIP, SSH, Remote Access etc) because of the high latency issue. This "BUG" cause the Fair Usage Policy that was suppose to "priorities Internet activities like web browsing, live streaming, messaging applications and VOIP access" (as stated in the announcement) totally going the wrong way.
Agree with the slowdown as this would frustrate their subscribers further. This from experience of using mobile broadband. People don't like to have their line slowdown halfway in the middle of the month should they require extra volume during that time and suffer a slowdown which would affect their web experience.For many, they would want the option to temporarily increase their quota or buy extra volume usage to avoid it.

2. Volume Base Pay as 1GB RM2
- If this would be apply then it shouldn't have have packages like 384Kbps, 512Kbps, 1Mbps, 4Mbps. Everyone should have the same speed because of the volume (bandwidth or data) cap. Imaging that someone who apply a slow 384Kbps line that wish to download a big files (30GB) with such a slow connection speed yet he still pay the same money for the same bandwidth.
- No more Fair Usage Policy where certain traffic was slowed down like P2P (I am not a P2P user anymore) because we pay for the bandwidth we consume.
- Every one should have the same priority doesn't matter he or she is a Home user or SOHO / BIZ.
- A website for user to monitor their bandwidth usage.
- A protection in the packages if it's going to be a PAYU (Pay As You Use) where it should have a monthly cap on the maximum payable charges. Like what been apply for mobile data provider to their customer. Even your bill reach RM800 but you only need to pay the maximum RM250. This would protect those users who was unaware of their Internet usage. Example is a father that apply an Internet for their children but unaware of the usage.
The monthly cap credit limit should be set to something higher because this wouldn't deter those who abuse the line with 1TB downloads.They would not feel threatened to do away with their bad habits since what is RM250 for 1TB of data?
Yes is different because it's based on prepaid model. Meaning if you use up your credit your line gets cut immediately until you re-top up your account.
It is only when they see a bill of RM2000 that they will reconsider and value bandwidth resources.
Also there must be a minimum commitment in place for TM to continue having a stable flow of revenue to cover their line rental and fixed call revenue. Maybe a fixed RM50 commitment to break even?

3. Limited Bandwidth (60GB per month)
- Difference bandwidth limit for difference packages. Example like 384Kbps (60GB), 512Kbps (120GB), 1Mbps (240GB), 4Mnps (480GB) and so on for unifi.
- It must be a monthly basis and not daily (2GB a day). As if I doesn't use the Internet in a week then I would still have my 60GB bandwidth for the next week and not losing the ( 7 days x 2GB = 14GB) especially when there was connection down time (phone line been stolen or something).
- No more Fair Usage Policy where certain traffic was slowed down like P2P (I am not a P2P user anymore) because we have our limited bandwidth.
- A website for user to monitor their bandwidth usage.
- Speed been slow down after reaching bandwidth limit and not totally unaccessible to Internet.
- Plan for users to buy additional bandwidth.
Thanks if any TM officer would read my long post.
This is the 2nd best option to option (2) as it is a one way advantage to TM.It will not benefit the subscribers because you will not be able to carry forward your unused bandwidth to the following month if you cannot utilize all of it. Indirectly it'll encourage people to use up more so that they won't waste it. Just like you go and order a meal outside and you have no choice if the plate comes in large proportion. Would you want to waste it?
Isn't it good if you can order your food according to how much you can eat? This would be unfair to those who utilize less volume and as I said, it only benefit TM totally.

What TM is looking here is to free up some of their bandwidth to make way for more subscribers intake.They want to expand their subscriber base for more $$.

iipohbee
post Dec 19 2010, 03:40 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 19 2010, 03:10 PM)
the contract are just make sure u wont terminate within two years. well i duno much on business view,but u already signed wad the contract write means it the TnC will applies until the day u terminate it
I guess we better not sign and renew our contract next time..

TM will sure come out some attractive deal soon without auto upgrade like last time.This would be their trick..

Maybe give a speed boost like free upgrade for 4mbps users to 5mbps, 2mbps to 3mbps, 1mbps to 2mbps, 512kbps to 1mbps and phase out the 384kbps.Then they'll require you to head down to TM Point to sign the new agreement..
Or something much cheaper for the same speed.

I guess whatever and however enticing the deal is NEVER give in and renew it.There will be a trap waiting for you and it's going to be similar to Unifi's which states clearly that volume cap will be implemented whenever as they please.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Dec 19 2010, 03:41 PM
iipohbee
post Jan 30 2011, 10:48 PM

603 posts

Taiwan only charges NT413 (RM43.48) for a 3mbps/768k VDSL2 line..

If TM comes out with this package, majority of subscribers will skip 20mbps and opt for it for the balance in both pricing and affordability.

The 1% hogging almost half of their overall bandwidth comes from their high end package users which are not throttled today.
Can't they understand that?

Throttling and punishing the majority of your Streamyx/low end package users in pleasing your highest tiered users is one of their ways of pleasing the cronies..

Don't you think it's really a stupid strategy? Only a handful of their exchanges support Unifi but they want to throttle all their Streamyx users who feed them their monthly salaries. Makes you think this direction came from some idiot who can't get enough of bandwidth for himself so he wants it badly in expense of others.

0.0607sec    0.38    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:04 AM