6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

CLOSED

hairyLGS
post Dec 17 2010, 12:37 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Dec 17 2010, 12:20 PM)
The first release of Predator was pretty nasty. The picture details were completely overshadowed by utter grains. In fact, i gave it away to someone that movie, cause the picture quality was so bad. Also , noticeably the colors were bad. I think the DVD version that i had was far watchable than the blu-ray ones.

The re-release review states as following :- "There is almost NO FILM GRAIN TO BE FOUND HERE". "The black level is solid, there is some detail in some close-ups and such when things aren’t totally smoothed over, the color palette is vibrant (especially through the thermal imaging of the Predator vision) and flesh tones are accurate."
Bro, for that amount you better get it here in MYS. Warranty easy to claim, and its not taxed. If you gonna buy this and bring in, just imagine the amount of tax u gonna cry for..
Accurate yes... but it does look fake to me. laugh.gif

Its like seeing Arnold with lots of make-up in a distant sweat.gif

The DVD version, as you say is, by far the best but right now, for me I want to upgrade from DVD to Blu-Ray (unless of course, certain particular films) and the Ultimate Hunter Edition is fine by me.

Question to everyone:- Yesterday I watched Kick-Ass BD version. Has anyone encounter any part of the special features or easter eggs for deleted scenes? Or is there even "deleted scenes" for that matter? Read from director Matthew Vaugh said there will be some but I can't seem to find them. rclxub.gif
hairyLGS
post Dec 17 2010, 02:30 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Dec 17 2010, 01:58 PM)
i was just passing on my opinion to other enthusiasts that i found that particular title being definitely demo worthy material for those who want to show some friends the capabilities of the bluray format and in particular the dynamics of their home theaters...

From a personal point, my obsession with Picture Quality and Sound Quality of blurays simply stems from the fact that i feel that bluray is (still) a format that only a minority of people have bought into. Alot of it has to do with economics. Quite simply, the average person will not pay 70-150RM for an original bluray title given the widely availability of pirated movies we have access to. It makes bluray a still prestigious format of watching movies at home. Showing friends scenes from Planet Earth, Avatar or The Dark Knight, it fills me with great pride when their jaws drop and they comment "wow, your home theater is awesome!". Yes, admittedly its a show off thing and i am not ashamed to admit it because i am sure that most people  here can be guilty of this pleasure as well smile.gif

Like so many of us here, I have invested alot of my hard earned moolah on equipment to realise "a 24 frame 1080p picture" and "a lossless audio" on a "90+ screen" at "bitrates of 25mb per sec" etc

I do admit that on many occasion i would appreciate PQ and AQ even over the actual fact that the movie was generally rubbish (Revenge of The Fallen anyone?) and this has become criteria to ALOT of my bluray purchases. Is this just being silly? perhaps.

i could write about references to particular scenes of a movie to talk about tonal balance, skin tones, palette drop outs, over saturation, pixilazation etc but then i don't think the general audience of this thread would show much interest.
Whether they are interested or not, it is definitely a good read and your contribution will make this thread even more interesting for others who are interested. Your insight will be an asset to those who wants to know more. thumbup.gif
hairyLGS
post Dec 17 2010, 02:41 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Dec 17 2010, 02:37 PM)
Yalor.. sigh.  sweat.gif Hey, Valho & wiNd, the 'apocalypse now - full disclosure' Contains 'apocalypse now, apocalypse now redux & hearts of darkness' Only got 1 movie and the rest is documentary & the making of.. rite?  hmm.gif
I think I will kena teruk la... cuz after the submission suppose collect payment.. now the person went home edi..  shocking.gif Not blaming anyone but my curiosity  doh.gif
Yup thumbup.gif

This is consider the perfect ultimate BD
hairyLGS
post Dec 17 2010, 03:03 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 17 2010, 02:54 PM)
For war movies on BD, my personal favourite is still Full Metal Jacket

[attachmentid=1943963]

One of Stanley Kubrick's best  nod.gif
I love this movie as well ~ its pretty much what it does represents... ah... I only have one:-

Well, this cover anyway...

Enjoy it a lot... pretty much there...

Apocalypse Now, I got the Complete Dossier edition on DVD... somehow... I don't know... pretty much not sure that I like it or don't... rclxub.gif

hairyLGS
post Dec 17 2010, 03:17 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Dec 17 2010, 03:13 PM)
My favourite war movies are Apocalypse Now, The Thin Red Line, Platoon and The Deer Hunter(can we consider that a ware movie?), Bridge on the River Kwai.... Full Metal Jacket is also a classic smile.gif

Having said that I have three war movies on BD, namely The Thin Red Line, Saving Private Ryan and Black Hawk Down. The accolades for ryan and red line have been discussed at great lengths among Home theater fans all over the net... getting near perfect scores in all departments from many reviewers alike...

War is certainly fun... only when its not real and on big screen of course smile.gif

dariofoo i have not seen FMJ on BD yet but i can whole heartedly recommend ryan and redline on bluray
Well, The Deer Hunter can be consider a war drama instead of a war movie (wait, what am I talking about?!?)...

That is the first Vietnam war film ever came out. For me, it was pretty dark and I do enjoy it.

Anyone up for Patton or The Longest Day? hmm.gif
hairyLGS
post Dec 17 2010, 04:04 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 17 2010, 03:49 PM)
Yonggoh:

FMJ may not drop any jaws but it's a different perspective on war altogether, souped up and served Kubrick-style  nod.gif

Saving Ryan's Privates, ooops, I meant Saving Private Ryan goes without saying. AQ is reference material right? I found The Thin Red Line and Platoon a bit too dreary for my liking.

hairylgs:

I've got Patton BD but yet to find the mood to really sit and watch it. Am sure it'll be great.  nod.gif
I had the two-disc version DVD... and I can guranteed you... it's one of the best historical war figure drama movie of its time. George C. Scott best performance ever! thumbup.gif

If you expect lots of war action ~ well, there isn't much in it. Its more of a performance character acting class that makes this movie worth-while watching.

Ah... wish I could say the same for Korean War Films. There is not much BD versions for them (I missed out Tae Guk Gi: The Brotherhood of War BD, but the supplements was not as good as the one I had for the Korean version steelbox edition).

The much recent Korean war drama ~ 71: Into the Fire was one of the best Korean War film I have watched ever!

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Dec 17 2010, 04:10 PM
hairyLGS
post Dec 19 2010, 05:48 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Dec 19 2010, 05:10 PM)
Work has definitely taken its toll on my BD watching. I only managed to watch 2 of my 15 unopened BDs this month. And I am about to further my studies in January. Bollocks!
Do some midnight viewing each night brows.gif
hairyLGS
post Dec 20 2010, 10:28 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(interpol @ Dec 20 2010, 10:22 AM)
[sKyWiR3pT3lTd,Dec 20 2010, 08:48 AM]
Guys,

Does any of you know if the movie "I Spit On Your Grave (2010)" ever showed in cinema's here? I did not see it in the cinema listing.
Assume it was completely banned?
definitely not shown here...video nasty(ala cannibal holocaust) mana boleh bro....got the 1978 version on dvd....one of the nastiest rape revenge film... shocking.gif

Added on December 20, 2010, 10:25 amtalking abt concerts....ill recommend u2's 360 bd...great aq/pq..
Uh... no. The 2010 version definitely won't be showing in local cinemas for sure. Already listed in Amazon Blu-Ray edition together with the release of the original version as well...

Added on December 20, 2010, 10:29 am
QUOTE(allycat @ Dec 20 2010, 10:27 AM)
Does your "We Were Soldires" have a,ot of "hissing' sound"? Mine does although Amazon has repalce the BD for me. Both of them ha ve quite a distractiong hissing sound.

Is it part of the movie? I notice it sounds only in the HD audio tracks.

Allycat
Hissing sound? From the movie or from the player itself? hmm.gif

Added on December 20, 2010, 10:30 am
QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 19 2010, 09:12 PM)
Haha. Wait til you get married with kids, bro. You can only start watching around 11pm after the lil ones are asleep.  sweat.gif

By the time the movie ends, you're too groggy to enjoy the special features  doh.gif
I am already there (and I don't even have kids)... but mine starts at 12am onwards sweat.gif

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Dec 20 2010, 10:30 AM
hairyLGS
post Dec 20 2010, 10:49 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(allycat @ Dec 20 2010, 10:38 AM)
From the movie. Righht from the beginning. I thought it was the background jungle noise. but then it continues throughout the show until its overwhelm byt the battle scenes. Exmaple, it's also there in the scene when Moore approaches Snake and Too-tall during the baseball game.
Allycat
That never happen to me for my copy. I know there were two different cover editions for the BD so this hissing sound did not occur to my copy. rclxub.gif
hairyLGS
post Dec 20 2010, 01:17 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(allycat @ Dec 20 2010, 12:23 PM)
I got it from Amz UK. So maybe their copies have this problem.

I guess I'll have to live with it.
Waugh... you can sell it off if you want if other buyers don't mine.

By the way, my copy was Amazon US
hairyLGS
post Dec 20 2010, 04:44 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(faidzal1982 @ Dec 20 2010, 04:42 PM)
guys... is there any horror/thriller/ghost movies dat u guys recommend in Blu-ray?
im not into those brutal/gore murders kind of movies...
more prefer to the type dat can give us the suspense and make our hair behind the neck to stand... biggrin.gif
These days horror/thriller/ghost movie most of them got brutal/gore murders...

How to recommend? sweat.gif
hairyLGS
post Dec 20 2010, 04:55 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Dec 20 2010, 04:53 PM)
Second that..also would like to recommend Orphanage, The Exorcist, The Shining, Orphan, Halloween, Drag Me To Hell & get all Saw sequels.
Brutal/Gore Murders involve... faidzal1982 said none of that
hairyLGS
post Dec 20 2010, 05:21 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(faidzal1982 @ Dec 20 2010, 05:15 PM)
a bit - a bit brutal ok la... but not all the way through the movies and the movie itself dont have any story... biggrin.gif
anyway thanks for the suggestion... im thinking exorcist also... The Orphanage havent watch before... but can be in my list... smile.gif
Hmmm... you can try The Crazies or Final Destination. The Exorcist if watch the "Version You Have Not Seen Before" is rather not for the weak heart...

Oh wait... The Mist is okay... pretty suspenseful...

Added on December 20, 2010, 5:22 pm
QUOTE(bazet @ Dec 20 2010, 05:20 PM)
Perfume - The Story Of A Murderer

i like the scenery biggrin.gif
I enjoy the film ~ felt it was well made... nod.gif

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Dec 20 2010, 05:22 PM
hairyLGS
post Dec 20 2010, 05:48 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Dec 20 2010, 05:37 PM)
.. but the ending is...  wink.gif
True... but it does make sense laugh.gif ... even though its... you-know-what-I-mean...
hairyLGS
post Dec 20 2010, 09:49 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Dec 20 2010, 09:03 PM)
Watchmen (Night Owl Ship) - shipped today 20 dec

spent more than 1K on blurays these months Nov-Dec 2010  sweat.gif  wink.gif
Can see your CC bills blown sky high... laugh.gif
hairyLGS
post Dec 22 2010, 08:36 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(nazmanson @ Dec 22 2010, 07:49 AM)
Yup.........I've watched it at the cinema and I'll give it a C. Wanted & Mr & Mrs Smith were much better. Anyway I'll still buy the BD when the price is right. Did I forgot to mention that I fall asleep watching it, such a rare case.  whistling.gif
Never like Wanted for many reasons (one of them is the adaptation totally turn 180 degrees around). Mr & Mrs Smith for me was typical and nothing exceptional.

Salt is okay for its action even though the ending has a hint of a sequel...
hairyLGS
post Dec 22 2010, 09:51 AM

209 posts

Now I know how many ham sap fellows are out there laugh.gif
hairyLGS
post Dec 22 2010, 10:11 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 22 2010, 09:57 AM)
That is not ham sap, those are Art Films laugh.gif
Still hamsap... tongue.gif

In any case, I did watched the movie... but I was blink.gif throughout... there are some art and independent films I do enjoy... but Last Tango in Paris was not one of them
hairyLGS
post Dec 22 2010, 10:56 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Dec 22 2010, 10:50 AM)
Hamsap is gooood!  drool.gif Anyway is another way to improve our skillz.. the soft core way  icon_rolleyes.gif Just curious ketam dont disturb meh.. heard from a friend now ketam watching very closely on our BD imports.. some may require Finas clearance  shakehead.gif
Well... sometimes... ketam also can miss this.

I remember I got my "ahem ahem" anime DVD and even "ahem ahem" J-prawn UMD in without problems... brows.gif

Of course, when I try with Queer as Folk TV Series, kena ketam sweat.gif
hairyLGS
post Dec 22 2010, 11:16 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 22 2010, 11:09 AM)
Queer as Folk also kena ah...... Maybe that ketam is Gay, want sapu for own tongue.gif
I won't be surprise to see it on Ketam Day (where they sell all the stuff that was hold by ketams)

A friend of mine also kena by ketam ~ Desperado & Evil Dead.

I even laugh why they hold Evil Dead = buku seram was the excuse laugh.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:59 PM