Android GPS Software, What is your pick?

TSlch78
post Dec 9 2010, 11:08 AM, updated 14y ago

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Android GPS software discovery based on user comments and some research:

1. PapagoX5
Most updated Malaysia map (3-1-2011). Worldwide map is limited. Multi-asian language support. No horizontal view.

You can buy it here:
http://www.m3shoppe.com/index.php?page=sho...emart&Itemid=26

Maps can be downloaded here free:
http://malfreemaps.com/index.php

2. Aura
Great UI. Need some time to learn to use it coz UI is abit confusing for first time user. Link.

3. Brut Map
Good. It has the support of googlemap. Require alot of memory for map storage compare to other GPS. Now maps can be pre-cache and cache size is smaller compare to previous. You cannot find this in the market. Follow the link: Updated Link

4. N-Drive
Refer to post #8 below.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=38383654

5. Navigon
Limited Asia map support. Very expensive compare to other options. For further info: http://www.navigon.com/portal/int/index.html

6. Waze
New UI is cuter now! The only free GPS app but map in Malaysia is generally poor, Market Link.. Great for communicating with other Waze users about traffic jam, accident, etc....For more information, go here: http://world.waze.com/

7. PapagoM7
UI is in chinese. Same as X5.

8. A-GPS
Android default GPS. Voice navigation works only in USA. Useful if you are using it by walking or traveling in public transport. Not recommend for driving use though. I use SmartApp Protector to set GoogleMap always screen on. Therefore I can use it for driving nagivation now. Maps area can be pre-cache using WIFI. Then outside just use it offline.

9. Garmin
Currently only available for Asus-Garmin model.

This post has been edited by lch78: Feb 1 2012, 11:48 AM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 9 2010, 11:11 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

Papago X5 can support froyo
benny888
post Dec 9 2010, 11:12 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I am using Papago X5 : it works very well on Android 2.2 ( both my HD2 on Froyo MIUI rom and Dell Streak Froyo 2.2 ). It also works on my previous Galaxy S ( unofficial Froyo) but due to the poorer Galaxy S GPS functions, its performance inconsistent . The weaker GPS in GalaxyS is a known feature
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 9 2010, 11:16 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

Ask a question, Papago and Ndrive both not using the A-GPS function right?

which GPS apps using it?
TSlch78
post Dec 9 2010, 11:16 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

This is what I have been telling the sales guy. But he replied me cannot support Froyo yet... sigh

This is the local reseller for PapagoX5

http://www.m3shoppe.com

Added on December 9, 2010, 11:17 am
QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Dec 9 2010, 12:16 PM)
Ask a question, Papago and Ndrive both not using the A-GPS function right?

which GPS apps using it?
I think only google navi using a-gps, and some nokia phones.. not sure. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lch78: Dec 9 2010, 11:17 AM
shadow111
post Dec 9 2010, 11:19 AM

3,140 posts

There is also Aura.. Nvr use it b4, so dunno whether it's better than papago or nt
ultramaman
post Dec 9 2010, 11:24 AM

168 posts

i use google navigation. all u need is to install brut maps. which is a cracked version of google maps. and walla, u get google navigation. there is turn by turn voice navigation, updated maps as per mantained by google maps.
only downside is that u need a decent data plan...
there is a thread here in this subforum that talks about it

Added on December 9, 2010, 11:28 amdont get confused with agps and gps.
http://www.diffen.com/difference/A-GPS_vs_GPS

basically a-gps uses cell towers information to roughly determine where u at. once it gets a gps lock, then it zeroes to your exact location.

that is why, sometimes, if ur phone is having dificulity locking on a decent gps signal ( u need a min of 3 sats to bounce signals off) u usually get the general location of where u are, this is determined via the cell tower information ...

This post has been edited by ultramaman: Dec 9 2010, 11:28 AM
ThisIsBoletaria
post Dec 9 2010, 11:30 AM

108 posts

Papago X5
+ MFM maps currently updated monthly
+ 3D turn preview so that you don't get confused about which junction to take

- MFM maps is slow to update for Papago
- Impossible to import saved locations from other programs
- Difficult to input precise location data

NDrive
+ Fast
+ Can import .kml files to your location list.
+ British voice

o Cannot input coordinates in the program, but you can put in exact coordinates in Google Earth, export to .kml and then import into NDrive

- Confusing interface
- Maps are not very up to date (about 6 months old at the minimum for Malaysia)
- No free maps

Garmin
+ MFM maps
+ Frequently updated MFM maps
+ Can enter location by coordinates

- Currently exclusive to Asus-Garmin models. In the future, it will be exclusive to Asus models.
- Slow POI searching since it does not use indexed POIs.

Brut Google Maps
+ Uses Google Maps data, so worldwide availability

- You must view the map on your phone before Brut will save the map data. If you did not zoom in to an area and only looked at it from a lower zoom level, you will not have the zoomed in data.
- Downloading map data using third party programs is possible, but will take you days and days and days for just the Klang Valley if you take all the zoom levels you think you will need.
- Saved data takes up a lot of space on the phone (at least 300 mB for Klang Valley detailed map data alone)
- Must be connected to the Internet to calculate route if you use the Navigation feature

This post has been edited by ThisIsBoletaria: Dec 13 2010, 03:37 PM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 9 2010, 11:36 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Dec 9 2010, 11:24 AM)
i use google navigation. all u need is to install brut maps. which is a cracked version of google maps. and walla, u get google navigation. there is turn by turn voice navigation, updated maps as per mantained by google maps.
only downside is that u need a decent data plan...
there is a thread here in this subforum that talks about it

Added on December 9, 2010, 11:28 amdont get confused with agps and gps.
http://www.diffen.com/difference/A-GPS_vs_GPS

basically a-gps uses cell towers information to roughly determine where u at. once it gets a gps lock, then it zeroes to your exact location.

that is why, sometimes, if ur phone is having dificulity locking on a decent gps signal ( u need a min of 3 sats to bounce signals off) u usually get the general location of where u are, this is determined via the cell tower information ...
hmm.gif If we success lock the A-GPS, will it convert back to GPS immediately so that we can lock satellite faster?

meaning A-GPS can assists on faster GPS locking

Added on December 9, 2010, 11:39 am biggrin.gif 1 more choice for yours, Offline Google maps using Rmaps.............

but the map size is pretty large, a Selangor state map used 300MB++

if you got large SD card then you may use it

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Dec 9 2010, 11:39 AM
TSlch78
post Dec 9 2010, 11:53 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(ThisIsBoletaria @ Dec 9 2010, 12:30 PM)
Papago X5
+ MFM maps

NDrive
+ Fast
+ British voice

o Cannot input coordinates in the program, but you can put in exact coordinates in Google Earth, export to .kml and then import into NDrive

- Confusing interface
- No free maps

Garmin
+ MFM maps

- Currently exclusive to Asus-Garmin models.  In the future, it will be exclusive to Asus models.
Brut Google Maps

- You must view the map on your phone before Brut will save the map data. If you did not zoom in to an area and only looked at it from a lower zoom level, you will not have the zoomed in data.
- Downloading map data using third party programs is possible, but will take you days and days and days for just the Klang Valley if you take all the zoom levels you think you will need.
- Saved data takes up a lot of space on the phone (at least 300 mB for Klang Valley detailed map data alone)
- Must be connected to the Internet to calculate route if you use the Navigation feature
Nice review. I think so far only Ndrive has support for coordinates input...
SUSkhalpowers
post Dec 9 2010, 12:06 PM

1,966 posts

Try new aura from sygic...the best gps so far...all gps apps i try already n aura is the best n nice ui... check it out yo!
ThisIsBoletaria
post Dec 9 2010, 12:07 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Dec 9 2010, 11:53 AM)
Nice review. I think so far only Ndrive has support for coordinates input...
Ndrive does not have support for coordinate input. However, as I said, you can fake it by using Google Earth to enter the coordinates and export to .kml. That's the closest I can get to Garmin's coordinate input, which is why I use it.

@khalpowers: Can you put in locations using coordinates?

This post has been edited by ThisIsBoletaria: Dec 9 2010, 12:18 PM
calmshot
post Dec 9 2010, 12:43 PM

My Name Is ...
2,560 posts

im using Brut google navigation and map with voice. satisfied with it
SUSkhalpowers
post Dec 9 2010, 12:52 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(ThisIsBoletaria @ Dec 9 2010, 01:07 PM)
Ndrive does not have support for coordinate input.  However, as I said, you can fake it by using Google Earth to enter the coordinates and export to .kml.  That's the closest I can get to Garmin's coordinate input, which is why I use it.

@khalpowers: Can you put in locations using coordinates?
Cannot but can search coordinate from my contact list...so need to add coordinate on the contact list...the maps is updated compare to ndrive...the best is 3d navigate,.. cool!
ThisIsBoletaria
post Dec 9 2010, 12:53 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Dec 9 2010, 12:52 PM)
Cannot but can search coordinate from my contact list...so need to add coordinate on the contact list...
Sounds good. I will give it a try.
ultramaman
post Dec 9 2010, 01:02 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Dec 9 2010, 11:36 AM)
hmm.gif If we success lock the A-GPS, will it convert back to GPS immediately so that we can lock satellite faster?

meaning A-GPS can assists on faster GPS locking

Added on December 9, 2010, 11:39 am biggrin.gif 1 more choice for yours, Offline Google maps using Rmaps.............

but the map size is pretty large, a Selangor state map used 300MB++

if you got large SD card then you may use it
agps assists on faster gps locking. not really... lah, but it helps for the system u using to determine your general location while it tries to get a gps lock.

rmaps eh ? ok , will find it..
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 9 2010, 01:38 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Dec 9 2010, 01:02 PM)
agps assists on faster gps locking. not really... lah, but it helps for the system u using to determine your general location while it tries to get a gps lock.

rmaps eh ? ok , will find it..
smile.gif Here is some of the Rmaps and Map creator info
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1580112/+2167
TSlch78
post Dec 9 2010, 01:44 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Dec 9 2010, 01:06 PM)
Try new aura from sygic...the best gps so far...all gps apps i try already n aura is the best n nice ui... check it out yo!
Looks good. Downloading now.

Btw, the 257Mb (including maps) that I am downloading is stored in SDCard?
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 9 2010, 01:51 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Dec 9 2010, 01:44 PM)
Looks good. Downloading now.

Btw, the 257Mb (including maps) that I am downloading is stored in SDCard?
tongue.gif What the date of latest update map?
buntutwoman
post Dec 9 2010, 01:53 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(ThisIsBoletaria @ Dec 9 2010, 11:30 AM)
Papago X5
+ MFM maps

NDrive
+ Fast
+ British voice

- Confusing interface
- No free maps

Garmin
+ MFM maps

- Currently exclusive to Asus-Garmin models.  In the future, it will be exclusive to Asus models.
Brut Google Maps

papago can enter exact co-ordinates also.
it just uses hddd.ddddd format which u have to do some maths or use mapsource or use a garmin.
professional mappers uses hddd.ddddd format. only regular people uses hddd mm.mmm format.

another thing which you have failed to mention is that papago is on indexed poi's. meaning your search turns up in under 1 second.
garmin searches for it via radius.
to find a poi in papago in much faster than in garmin.
i would say almost instant searches in papago.
garmin mobile users need to enter exact string, while papago users rely on keywords.

google map routing is just rubbish. ndrive maps are also rubbish. sygic and tomtom got much more room for improvement.

i personally like tomtom. alot of things can be set to switch on and off but the map is sooooo laubeh it makes me vomit blood.

and to say mfm is giving out slow updates on papago is a very wrong and unjustifiable statement. it takes a lot of work to compile papago map. and its moreover free. garmin city navigators are released once a year or half yearly. and that is paid app. malaysia is lucky to have a community based map which provides free maps. if you live in europe or north america, there aren't many community maps like this. how would you rant about it then ?

honestly, things that come to you free, you cannot complain. you pay, you have the right to complain. mfm does not owe anything to anyone. if they release papago map every half yearly also we have to be patient and still thank them for the efforts put in. mana ada orang complain free punya barang ? no one has the right to do that ler.

ultramaman
post Dec 9 2010, 01:56 PM

168 posts

i find google map routing excelent. its routing , and my shortcuts are most of the time, the same and accurate.

but again. one mans food is another mans poison maaa...
TSlch78
post Dec 9 2010, 01:57 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Dec 9 2010, 02:51 PM)
tongue.gif What the date of latest update map?
I don't know. I just choose the Malaysia map. No date given. Still downloading now 160Mb to go
mokogero87
post Dec 9 2010, 02:01 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Dec 9 2010, 12:06 PM)
Where do you buy it?? How much for Aura GPS?? support android with what min version??

This post has been edited by mokogero87: Dec 9 2010, 02:01 PM
akachester
post Dec 9 2010, 02:22 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

I used to like NDrive during the early days when it was free. However, after trying out PapagoX5, its way better than the NDrive. And yes, the X5 do support FroYo. I even felt the routing / graphics for Papago are better than the Garmin i had last time.
SUSkhalpowers
post Dec 9 2010, 02:23 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(mokogero87 @ Dec 9 2010, 03:01 PM)
Where do you buy it?? How much for Aura GPS?? support android with what min version??
Here you have BETA version of Aura for Android without activation requirement. It's only apk file, bcoz u can download all maps on your android device directly...

only compatible with android 2.x

System must have 3D accelerator support.
Please look at compatibility list :

Aria (Liberty/Gratia)
Desire
Desire HD (HTC Ace)
Desire Z (HTC Vision)
Droid Incredible (Verizon)
EVO 4G (HTC Supersonic)
Legend

Xperia X10 (Rachael)
Xperia X10 mini (Robin)
Xperia X10 mini pro

Galaxy Play / Galaxy Rossi
Galaxy Tab
GT-i8520 Galaxy Beam 16GB / Halo
i9000 Galaxy S
SHW-M100S
ACER Liquid Metal , beTouch E400 , Stream / Liquid S110 , Liquid E
Apple 3G , 3GS , 4 , iPad
DELL Streak , Looking Glass 7 , Smoke , Flash , Thunder
GOOGLE Nexus One
LG E720 Optimus Chic , P500 Optimus One , Vortex / Optimus One , Ally VS740 , P509 Optimus T , E720 Optimus Chic , Optimus Z (KU9500/SU950)
MOTOROLA Milestone / Droid , Backflip (Motorola Motus) , Flipout , Milestone XT720 , Charm , Milestone 2 , Defy , DROID Pro XT610 , DROID2 A955 R2-D2 Limited Edition , DROID 2 A955 , Milestone 2 A953 , DROID X MB810 / Droid Xtreme (Motorola Shadow) , Quench XT5 / XT502 (Motorola Greco) , MOTO XT711 (Motorola Sholes Tablet) , XT800w GLAM (Motorola Zeppelin) , MOTO XT702 , MING XT806
Notion Ink Adam
Orange San Francisco (ZTE Blade)
Pantech Sirius (IM-A600S)
Sharp IS03
T-Mobile myTouch2 3G Slide (HTC Espresso) , myTouch HD / myTouch 4G (HTC Glacier) , G2 (HTC Vision)
ViewSonic ViewPad 7

Added on December 9, 2010, 2:27 pmpersonally i think mfm is the best map coverage esp malaysia....only slack with x5 is cannot do rotation like m7 on iphone..not so gud routing gps with potrait mode...hehe

This post has been edited by khalpowers: Dec 9 2010, 02:37 PM
TSlch78
post Dec 9 2010, 02:43 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Just installed Aura. UI looks great 3D maps looks great too.

But it says I can only use until tomorrow..... sad.gif

@khalpowers,
The beta version no need activation? I already installed it from the market, need to uninstall and re-install the downloaded files if I want to use the beta version?
SUSkhalpowers
post Dec 9 2010, 02:49 PM

1,966 posts

yeap...clean install is better...
johnkor
post Dec 9 2010, 03:08 PM

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

Did anyone try Navigon ?
buntutwoman
post Dec 9 2010, 06:01 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Dec 9 2010, 02:23 PM)
Here you have BETA version of Aura for Android without activation requirement. It's only apk file, bcoz u can download all maps on your android device directly...

only compatible with android 2.x

System must have 3D accelerator support.
Please look at compatibility list :

Aria (Liberty/Gratia)
Desire
Desire HD (HTC Ace)
Desire Z (HTC Vision)
Droid Incredible (Verizon)
EVO 4G (HTC Supersonic)
Legend

Xperia X10 (Rachael)
Xperia X10 mini (Robin)
Xperia X10 mini pro

Galaxy Play / Galaxy Rossi
Galaxy Tab
GT-i8520 Galaxy Beam 16GB / Halo
i9000 Galaxy S
SHW-M100S
ACER Liquid Metal , beTouch E400 , Stream / Liquid S110 , Liquid E
Apple 3G , 3GS , 4 , iPad
DELL Streak , Looking Glass 7 , Smoke , Flash , Thunder
GOOGLE Nexus One
LG E720 Optimus Chic , P500 Optimus One , Vortex / Optimus One , Ally VS740 , P509 Optimus T , E720 Optimus Chic , Optimus Z (KU9500/SU950)
MOTOROLA Milestone / Droid , Backflip (Motorola Motus) , Flipout , Milestone XT720 , Charm , Milestone 2 , Defy , DROID Pro XT610 , DROID2 A955 R2-D2 Limited Edition , DROID 2 A955 , Milestone 2 A953 , DROID X MB810 / Droid Xtreme (Motorola Shadow) , Quench XT5 / XT502 (Motorola Greco) , MOTO XT711 (Motorola Sholes Tablet) , XT800w GLAM (Motorola Zeppelin) , MOTO XT702 , MING XT806
Notion Ink Adam
Orange San Francisco (ZTE Blade)
Pantech Sirius (IM-A600S)
Sharp IS03
T-Mobile myTouch2 3G Slide (HTC Espresso) , myTouch HD / myTouch 4G (HTC Glacier) , G2 (HTC Vision)
ViewSonic ViewPad 7

Added on December 9, 2010, 2:27 pmpersonally i think mfm is the best map coverage esp malaysia....only slack with x5 is cannot do rotation like m7 on iphone..not so gud routing gps with potrait mode...hehe
use m7 for android lor
TSlch78
post Dec 9 2010, 07:38 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Aura is good. I think it is better than papagoX5 in terms of graphics, accuracy and UI though I only test it for 1+hour.
But the map is not as good as MFM for papagoX5. Some place I cant find in Aura I can easily find in papagoX5.

I m going to test using Aura for awhile since I can't use papagoX5 already and that stupid m3shoppe reseller said I can't use in android 2.2

In the meantime, I discovered something new in twitter. It is called Waze GPS. A free community base mapping like MFM too. Going to give it a try as well since it will have traffic info, which is important if you are driving around KL.. Think I am going to like Waze.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by lch78: Dec 9 2010, 07:48 PM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Dec 9 2010, 08:29 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Dec 9 2010, 07:38 PM)
Aura is good. I think it is better than papagoX5 in terms of graphics, accuracy and UI though I only test it for 1+hour.
But the map is not as good as MFM for papagoX5. Some place I cant find in Aura I can easily find in papagoX5.

I m going to test using Aura for awhile since I can't use papagoX5 already and that stupid m3shoppe reseller said I can't use in android 2.2

In the meantime, I discovered something new in twitter. It is called Waze GPS. A free community base mapping like MFM too. Going to give it a try as well since it will have traffic info, which is important if you are driving around KL.. Think I am going to like Waze.. thumbup.gif
blush.gif Maps is most important element for GPS apps, without the updated and complete POI map, will not consider
Boy96
post Dec 9 2010, 08:48 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Waze only use for traffic info and check if got accident or police roadblock, its map like crap only..
TSlch78
post Dec 9 2010, 09:23 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 9 2010, 09:48 PM)
Waze only use for traffic info and check if got accident or police roadblock, its map like crap only..
Is it? Will test out Waze tomorrow..... But it does say the maps for malaysia is developing...

Added on December 10, 2010, 10:24 am
QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Dec 9 2010, 07:01 PM)
use m7 for android lor
Where to get m7? tongue.gif

Btw, I have tested Waze, it is more like a mapping tool rather than a functional GPS like PapagoX5, Aura and Ndrive. Still if Waze maps and POIs are fully functional then I think it will be better than the existing GPS apps out there.

This post has been edited by lch78: Dec 10 2010, 10:24 AM
fongwei
post Dec 13 2010, 09:30 AM

442 posts

yes, Sygic Aura is the best GPS

i had 4 GPS in my phone

N-drive, Sygic Aura, Papago X5, Blut map (google)

Aura sygic is the best!
cwleong59
post Dec 13 2010, 12:34 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(fongwei @ Dec 13 2010, 09:30 AM)
yes, Sygic Aura is the best GPS

i had 4 GPS in my phone

N-drive, Sygic Aura, Papago X5, Blut map (google)

Aura sygic is the best!
After using Sygic I still find Papago better cos the maps and Pois are more updated and accurate. Syic looks like google 3D, impressive but can you find your place accurately, I doubt it.
ThisIsBoletaria
post Dec 13 2010, 02:26 PM

108 posts

After using Sygic Aura for a few days, this is what I found:

Pros:
+ Superb interface and easy to use for the most part, thanks to the multitouch zoom feature and the fast rendering.

+ AGPS support?
I think Aura uses wireless network data or cell tower data to make a rough placement even if GPS is off. I might be wrong about this, but that is what it seemed like to me. If it's true, then this is the only GPS program I've used so far that actually does it.

Cons:
- Expensive maps. Seriously, Sygic, 60 USD 30 Euros for a map of Malaysia and Singapore? Ndrive charges 20 Euro for the same thing.

- No free maps... which makes the previous point worse.

- Cannot import other locations from previous GPS programs. So far, only Ndrive has the ability to do this out of the box.

- Cannot edit a favourite location that you have already recorded. Change name? Yes. Update location? No.

- Damn near impossible to cancel navigation.
For some reason, Sygic buried the Cancel Navigation button three menus away from the map screen. At the bottom of the page. In a program that otherwise has an intuitive and easy to use interface, this stands out a lot.

QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Dec 9 2010, 01:53 PM)
papago can enter exact co-ordinates also.
it just uses hddd.ddddd format which u have to do some maths or use mapsource or use a garmin.
professional mappers uses hddd.ddddd format. only regular people uses hddd mm.mmm format.
I would like very much for you to teach me how to do this, because I've been trying for ages and I can't figure out how.

another thing which you have failed to mention is that papago is on indexed poi's. meaning your search turns up in under 1 second.
garmin searches for it via radius.
to find a poi in papago in much faster than in garmin.
i would say almost instant searches in papago.

This is true. I forgot that Garmin uses radius while Papago, ndrive and sygic all use indexed searches. I have updated the previous post to reflect this oversight.

and to say mfm is giving out slow updates on papago is a very wrong and unjustifiable statement.

honestly, things that come to you free, you cannot complain. you pay, you have the right to complain. mfm does not owe anything to anyone. if they release papago map every half yearly also we have to be patient and still thank them for the efforts put in. mana ada orang complain free punya barang ? no one has the right to do that ler.

It is correct and completely justifiable.

In six months, they have put out exactly one mapset, which is the first one that they produced. I don't know about you, but this counts as slow in my book, especially since a new Garmin version comes out once every 1 - 4 months.

To be fair, we all know MFM is Garmin-centric - they started with Garmin devices, after all - so it's not too surprising that the Papago updates are slow. There simply aren't as many members doing Papago updates, and the main head of the project seems to have retired, casting the future of the Papago updates in doubt. They are also trying to get the Papago updates back up and running.

This is not a pointless rant or being thankless for the effort MFM puts into their completely free map updates. People do need to know that the MFM updates for Papago are much slower compared to their Garmin updates, so that they don't get their hopes too high up and be disappointed.

No longer applicable as cwleong59 has helpfully pointed out that the MFM Papago updates are finally up and being done on a monthly basis.

This post has been edited by ThisIsBoletaria: Dec 13 2010, 03:41 PM
TSlch78
post Dec 13 2010, 02:49 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(ThisIsBoletaria @ Dec 13 2010, 03:26 PM)
After using Sygic Aura for a few days, this is what I found:

Pros:
+ Superb interface and easy to use for the most part. 
Browsing the map is easy and intuitive because of the multitouch zoom feature and the fast rendering.

+ 3D terrain in 3D view helps you identify landmarks like hills and so on. 
It's reasonably accurate and I was impressed by how easy it was to orient yourself and check the accuracy of the directions.  This also helps in cities where there are actual 3D buildings shown: use the rooftops to orient yourself and you know you're on the right track.

+ AGPS support?
I think Aura uses wireless network data or cell tower data to make a rough placement even if GPS is off.  I might be wrong about this, but that is what it seemed like to me.  If it's true, then this is the only GPS program I've used so far that actually does it.
Cons:
- Very expensive maps. 
Seriously, Sygic, 60 USD for a map of Malaysia only?  Ndrive charges 20 Euro (about 26 USD) for one that has Malaysia, Brunei and Singapore all in one.

- No free maps
... which makes the previous point worse.

- Cannot easily import other locations from previous GPS programs. 
So far, only Ndrive has the ability to do this out of the box.

- Cannot edit a favourite location that you have already recorded. 
Change name? Yes.  Update location? No.  So if you just mark a location near where you want to go and then find that you made a mistake and it's actually on the next road, then the only thing you can do is make a new favourite location and delete the old one.

- Damn near impossible to cancel navigation
For some reason, Sygic buried the Cancel Navigation button three menus away from the map screen.  At the bottom of the page.  In a program that otherwise has an intuitive and easy to use interface, this stands out a lot.
I thought maps are downloaded free from Aura downloader? Where you find the USD60 price tag?
Agree on the cancel navigation thing.
Ease of use is still PapagoX5, Aura is nice UI and graphics but a bit complicated to use..
ThisIsBoletaria
post Dec 13 2010, 03:01 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Dec 13 2010, 02:49 PM)
I thought maps are downloaded free from Aura downloader?

Maps downloaded from the Aura downloader within the trial period are only valid during the trial period. For a license to use the maps after that, you have to pay.

Where you find the USD60 price tag?

Sorry, it's supposed to be 30 Euros for a Malaysia + Singapore map. I was looking at the price for the full world map, which is 60 Euros. Previous post corrected.

I found the prices here: http://www.sygic.com/index.php/how-to-buy.html

My mistake.

cwleong59
post Dec 13 2010, 03:34 PM

333 posts

Strange to hear that MFM is slow to update papago map. I update once a month in the MFM site and my latest map is dated 1.12.10.
here the link:-

http://malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=9628

This post has been edited by cwleong59: Dec 13 2010, 03:46 PM
ThisIsBoletaria
post Dec 13 2010, 03:36 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(cwleong59 @ Dec 13 2010, 03:34 PM)
Strange to hear that MFM is slow to update papago map. I update once a month in the MFM site and my latest map is dated 1.12.10.
Someone should update the thread I linked to, because there was no mention.

Updated my comments on Papago X5 to reflect this. My apologies for any confusion created.

This post has been edited by ThisIsBoletaria: Dec 13 2010, 03:38 PM
shyhhua
post Dec 13 2010, 04:17 PM

265 posts

sorry, im new to gps device/software.

Any gps out there that can "record" the road that we have taken?
Or we preset the path 1st b4 going "on the road", and follow the path that we set previously?
TSlch78
post Dec 13 2010, 08:56 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(johnkor @ Dec 9 2010, 04:08 PM)
Did anyone try Navigon ?
I can't find navigon in the market? Can share the download link?
mokogero87
post Dec 13 2010, 11:32 PM

270 posts

Anyone here using MApking??

mine got problem to run it where theres message appear say the program com.ziizag stopped and was forced to close

help please
buntutwoman
post Dec 14 2010, 12:13 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(shyhhua @ Dec 13 2010, 04:17 PM)
sorry, im new to gps device/software.

Any gps out there that can "record" the road that we have taken?
Or we preset the path 1st b4 going "on the road", and follow the path that we set previously?
most symbian and winmo devices can log. those with internal gps can proceed to use racechrono or other 3rd party apps.
gmxt has internal logging capabilities but its inaccurate thats why mappers and contributors use racechrono or gpsproxy/gpsgate.

some nuvi's can log. especially old basic models such as 200's and 205's and 255's.
some higher end garmin units are meant for logging such as the cs and csx series. eg : 60csx, 76csx, zumo.

there are many who use standalone data loggers. a smaller device with built in memory. cheapest method i think if you don't own any gps device such as a gps capable mobile phone or a standalone unit.

on presetting paths, only papago and igo currently has the capability to re-route you to the route you wish to use. garmin has no such capabilities but there is a workaround for it. albeight quite tedious but still do-able.

slingswish
post Jan 9 2011, 12:34 PM

560 posts

guys which GPS can support SE x10 mini pro? running android v2.1

This post has been edited by slingswish: Jan 9 2011, 12:34 PM
TSlch78
post Jan 9 2011, 04:52 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(slingswish @ Jan 9 2011, 01:34 PM)
guys which GPS can support SE x10 mini pro? running android v2.1
I think you can try any one of the GPS app listed on the first post and see which one works best for you.
slingswish
post Jan 10 2011, 01:38 AM

560 posts

all can support x10 mini pro ?
silentser
post Jan 10 2011, 02:07 AM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(slingswish @ Jan 10 2011, 01:38 AM)
all can support x10 mini pro ?
try it
dswwong
post Jan 13 2011, 09:03 PM

60 posts

papago X5 is not listed in the Android Market....

Where can I download this and how to load/install into my HTC Desire ?

Someone mentioned Papago M7 for Android phones....which of the two is better ?
TSlch78
post Jan 13 2011, 11:30 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(dswwong @ Jan 13 2011, 10:03 PM)
papago X5 is not listed in the Android Market....

Where can I download this and how to load/install into my HTC Desire ?

Someone mentioned Papago M7 for Android phones....which of the two is better ?
You can download here

http://mazmiin.com/?p=767

Just unzip all the files, install the apk on your phone and move the unzip files to your sdcard.

papago M7 is in chinese interface ONLY.
dswwong
post Jan 13 2011, 11:49 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jan 13 2011, 11:30 PM)
You can download here

Just unzip all the files, install the apk on your phone and move the unzip files to your sdcard.

Thanks for your help....will try now

Added on January 14, 2011, 2:04 pm
QUOTE(lch78 @ Jan 13 2011, 11:30 PM)
You can download here

Tried to download from the site but looks like some of the files are no longer available !!

Any other way to do this ??

This post has been edited by dswwong: Jan 14 2011, 02:04 PM
fyrogenesis
post Apr 9 2011, 10:50 PM

158 posts

***(ops sorry. message deleted. posted in wrong section)***

This post has been edited by fyrogenesis: Apr 9 2011, 10:57 PM
staind
post Apr 17 2011, 04:18 PM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

After purchasing Papapo X7 software, do we need to pay internet charges/data charges when using it? Thanks.
TSlch78
post Apr 17 2011, 05:22 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(staind @ Apr 17 2011, 05:18 PM)

After purchasing Papapo X7 software, do we need to pay internet charges/data charges when using it? Thanks.
How much you bought X7 software? Malaysia maps supported?

As I know, no internet/data charges for X5, X7 coz these are like standalone GPS where you need to download the maps first before using...

FoxSeaTiger
post Oct 23 2011, 10:00 PM

1,180 posts

For tab sygic aura work like a charm

BUT the map is outdated. No custom poi. I almost buy this product.

SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 25 2011, 05:48 PM

12,696 posts

I think some people are unclear about GPS and AGPS.

Practically all new Smartphone nowadays have built in or Integrated GPS receiver chip inside. Since the sky is a big big place, it will always take some time for it to find the location of the various satellite. Time taken can varies from few seconds to few minutes or forever......

To ASSIST the built-in GPS chip to locate the satellites faster, the phone will send a message to Telco seeking the approximate location of the satellites. The Telco will send that information in form of data (approximately 10KB or 10 sen worth) back to the phone. Armed with that data, the GPS chip can find the satellites a lot faster....mere few seconds. Since the Smartphone has requested ASSISTANCE from Telco, this is called Assisted GPS or A-GPS. Practically all Smartphone has this feature that can be disabled (to avoid cost) or enabled (to get faster satellite lock for 10 sen).

Once satellite lock had been achieved, the phone need no further assistance so no more data from Telco, hence no more further charges. The only exception is, should satellite lock be lost like going through tunnel, the phone may automatically (if AGPS is enabled) request satellite location data from Telco so another 10 sen charge.

I find the majority of people find GPS function useless or not important but should it be very important to you and especially if you need to use it while overseas, the undisputed king of GPS phone is Nokia. Period.

jtdc
post Feb 1 2012, 09:58 AM

245 posts

now thinking of this sygic, it is 16 euros (countries included : Indonesia , Malaysia , Singapore) so around RM65.
SUSUpCar
post Feb 1 2012, 10:36 AM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Feb 1 2012, 09:58 AM)
now thinking of this sygic, it is 16 euros (countries included : Indonesia , Malaysia , Singapore) so around RM65.
Papago

Rm 99

Junction view with actual junction photos, monthly map update free of all charges, countries include msia, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei and Indonesia.

Much better deal compared with sygic or watever out there due to updated maps.
Dannyl
post Feb 1 2012, 10:42 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Feb 1 2012, 10:36 AM)
Papago

Rm 99

Junction view with actual junction photos, monthly map update free of all charges, countries include msia, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei and Indonesia.

Much better deal compared with sygic or watever out there due to updated maps.
Papago is only good if used within these few countries because of local community maps. Other than that, there's not much going for it. Very simple software, can't customise much, can't enter coordinates, local version can't rotate to landscape, etc. Also, many people experience FC on Samsung phones. I prefer Garmin but since there's no Garmin on Android, have to stick with Papago with Sygic as backup.
jtdc
post Feb 1 2012, 11:33 AM

245 posts

i see... where to buy this papago, damn why RM99, any source?

will this papago work, say i have wifi in my house (or some free wifi place) plot my route there, it downloads all it wants, and then i can just use GPS while on the road with data off?

will this save me from paying data charges (i only prepaid user) since everything available offline? thanks.

This post has been edited by jtdc: Feb 1 2012, 11:35 AM
TSlch78
post Feb 1 2012, 01:33 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Feb 1 2012, 12:33 PM)

will this papago work, say i have wifi in my house (or some free wifi place) plot my route there, it downloads all it wants, and then i can just use GPS while on the road with data off?

will this save me from paying data charges (i only prepaid user) since everything available offline?  thanks.
Check first post for buying details. IMHO, I don't recommend buying it. It is not worth the price. For occasional GPS use, you can just use google maps. You can pre-cache the google map area and use it offline when you travel outside.
SUSUpCar
post Feb 1 2012, 02:15 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Feb 1 2012, 10:42 AM)
Papago is only good if used within these few countries because of local community maps.  Other than that, there's not much going for it.  Very simple software, can't customise much, can't enter coordinates, local version can't rotate to landscape, etc.  Also, many people experience FC on Samsung phones.  I prefer Garmin but since there's no Garmin on Android, have to stick with Papago with Sygic as backup.
Papago is the best option for android when it comes to msian, singaporeans, indonesians and thais. With RM 99, it is a bargain. It provides junction views even. Actual pictures of junctions and not some drawn up imaginated road.
For RM 99, i dont think there is any other navigating software out there than is priced at that range for mobile phones.
Garmin doesnt make for phones atm, but even if they did, they will certainly retail higher than RM 99. That does not include the price u have to pay for the official map. No doubt MSM makes official free maps for garmin, it is far from completion as compared to MFM, but however MFM is not recognised by Garmin themselves.
Tomtom, sygic, ndrive all have horrible outdated maps of asia.
I would much rather have an updated map which will bring me to my destination in 1 try.
igo is in the making and soon to be launched. MFM will be compiling the map for igo and with this will strengthen the competition making it stiffer and hopefully, price wars to drive the prices down.

To refer to your papago for mobile on landscape and portrait mode, kindly refer to this thread before further commenting.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2206720

QUOTE(jtdc @ Feb 1 2012, 11:33 AM)

will this save me from paying data charges (i only prepaid user) since everything available offline?  thanks.
buy online
http://www.m3shoppe.com/m3gps/

buy in retail shop is at phileo damansara next to the STAR office building. (near eastin hotel pj)

papago's maps are available online at
www.malfreemaps.com

updated every month. free of charge for downloads. once u load in phone, there is no further need to download anything.

QUOTE(lch78 @ Feb 1 2012, 01:33 PM)
Check first post for buying details. IMHO, I don't recommend buying it. It is not worth the price. For occasional GPS use, you can just use google maps. You can pre-cache the google map area and use it offline when you travel outside.
google maps alot of roads missing. and the route sucks. road names are wrong, and poi's are highly limited.
Sg buloh is a well known area. there are little road names there. only lot numbers. good luck finding a location there using google maps.

routing is important. if you do not have proper routing, it can bring u around in circles without getting to your destination. Maps are the next most important thing besides the navigation engine. If you do no possess an updated map, you can be brought entering a one way street in a wrong direction. Route directions is important for us humans. places which u are allowed to do u-turns legally etc etc. google maps cannot provide you with that, nor can commercial map out perform community maps. No one knows malaysian roads better than us malaysians. And malaysians are the ones that are contributing the data to community maps.

There is no other commercial map or google map or whatever that is more updated than MFM itself. Roads that are not open yet, or still under construction are already added to the map way before launch. (it is disconnected until official launch though).

LKSA has been in MFM since long ago thanks to a moderator in travel and living. Others are trying to play catch up with community maps. The poi's are also extensive that others are far behind and cannot even catch up.

Shamanwee
post Feb 1 2012, 02:49 PM

148 posts

For papago x5 , how do we update the map ? by the way, i had papago x5 in my S Note...but the menu is small than my scree....only the map can be show in big screen...Any idea ?

This post has been edited by Shamanwee: Feb 1 2012, 03:17 PM
mrlonely78
post Feb 1 2012, 03:20 PM

347 posts

im using sygic paid version on market. so far so good ....

15 pound for malaysia singapore thailand and indonesia map ...

This post has been edited by mrlonely78: Feb 1 2012, 03:22 PM
SUSUpCar
post Feb 1 2012, 03:22 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(Shamanwee @ Feb 1 2012, 02:49 PM)
For papago x5 , how do we update the map ? by the way, i had papago x5 in my S Note...but the menu is small than my scree....only the map can be show in big screen...Any idea ?

download from www.malfreemaps.com
select old version
choose papago x5 android during installation process.

for galaxy note is supposed to be using M8/M9. refer to this link

Shamanwee
post Feb 1 2012, 03:33 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Feb 1 2012, 03:22 PM)
download from www.malfreemaps.com
select old version
choose papago x5 android during installation process.
for galaxy note is supposed to be using M8/M9. refer to this link

oh my...i only manage to found the map for garmin....is the map can be use in Papago too ?
Deani_77
post Feb 1 2012, 04:27 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(Shamanwee @ Feb 1 2012, 03:33 PM)
oh my...i only manage to found the map for garmin....is the map can be use in Papago too ?
You can't use Garmin map for Papago, they use different format...
gwong
post Feb 1 2012, 05:18 PM

391 posts

I am using Waze since the update...it became better and more accurate..maps are showing even street names... not prior to this..
jtdc
post Feb 1 2012, 06:24 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Feb 1 2012, 02:15 PM)
Papago is the best option for android when it comes to msian, singaporeans, indonesians and thais. With RM 99, it is a bargain. It provides junction views even. Actual pictures of junctions and not some drawn up imaginated road.
For RM 99, i dont think there is any other navigating software out there than is priced at that range for mobile phones.
i particularly like that feature hence i am considering. what i am concerned also was my question, is that can all the maps or anything that require data can be obtained while i am on wifi, so that on the road i don't need any data connection, just GPS and I will be okay?

Deani_77
post Feb 1 2012, 06:29 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Feb 1 2012, 06:24 PM)
i particularly like that feature hence i am considering.  what i am concerned also was my question, is that can all the maps or anything that require data can be obtained while i am on wifi, so that on the road i don't need any data connection, just GPS and I will be okay?
Papago only need internet connection while you downloading the map to your PC... After that you will no need any internet connection until your next map update... (maybe a month once)
jtdc
post Feb 5 2012, 11:55 AM

245 posts

So there. Since I know nobody beats own experience, I tried both (in papago simulation mode / sygic route demonstration mode ONLY), it seems to me that they typically similar in terms of that.

However, from the start, POIs of Papago trump Sygic. Just type in "JPJ Bangi" or "Carrefour Subang", results immediately. Even things like "RS Auto" found! It even knows several parking entrances of malls! If only thru those papago really has the edge. Sygic none of those... only major POI if any, or maybe just make use of "road" search only, if it can find it.

Sygic though has the better UI, smoother zoom in/out, much more featured. Its like, Sygic is the international grade hence it lacks the "local specialization" of Papago that lacks those.

It looks like my choice would be papago because of "local specialization", very good here in malaysia. As it seems, that feature outshadows its shortcomings. It really knows the destination by default. Maybe Sygic coupled with prior planning on a PC with Google Maps and inputing coordinates could help it get to Papago level who knows. I don't even know how to interpret moreso enter coordinates. In papago, all u need to know is where u wanna go, very straightforward and simple.

I suppose Papago latest versions of it (M8? X8.5? freaking confusing dunno which for android) would perhaps import some of sygic features to help merit its price.

This post has been edited by jtdc: Feb 5 2012, 12:09 PM
Dannyl
post Feb 5 2012, 02:20 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

You are right. I stand by my statement when I said, "Papago is only good if used within these few countries because of local community maps."

To refer to your papago for mobile on landscape and portrait mode, kindly refer to this thread before further commenting.

buy online
http://www.m3shoppe.com/m3gps/

buy in retail shop is at phileo damansara next to the STAR office building. (near eastin hotel pj)

papago's maps are available online at
www.malfreemaps.com

updated every month. free of charge for downloads. once u load in phone, there is no further need to download anything.
That thread discusses M8/M9, which is not available for public use yet, correct? At least, I cannot find it in the online shop. So, you are right again, I will stop making further comments since I cannot use it yet. BTW, Thai version of Papago can have landscape mode, so I don't know why local versions have this restriction.

MFM's support for Papago X5 has stopped since Oct 2011, so it's not really that updated anymore (POIs change a lot in 4 months). But still better than the competitors, I suppose.

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Feb 5 2012, 02:30 PM
annoymous1234
post Feb 5 2012, 02:27 PM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(Shamanwee @ Feb 1 2012, 02:49 PM)

is ths the graphic of papago? looks ugly sweat.gif
DarkNite
post Feb 5 2012, 03:02 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Feb 5 2012, 11:55 AM)
So there.  Since I know nobody beats own experience, I tried both (in papago simulation mode / sygic route demonstration mode ONLY), it seems to me that they typically similar in terms of that.
which version papago is that?
Deani_77
post Feb 5 2012, 04:18 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Feb 5 2012, 02:20 PM)
You are right.  I stand by my statement when I said, "Papago is only good if used within these few countries because of local community maps."
That thread discusses M8/M9, which is not available for public use yet, correct?  At least, I cannot find it in the online shop.  So, you are right again, I will stop making further comments since I cannot use it yet.  BTW, Thai version of Papago can have landscape mode, so I don't know why local versions have this restriction.

MFM's support for Papago X5 has stopped since Oct 2011, so it's not really that updated anymore (POIs change a lot in 4 months).  But still better than the competitors, I suppose.
MFM was forced to stop support for X5 by M3GPS in order to give way for newer version... User who need the latest map need to update their software...

That why I still kept my N85 for road navigation because for Mobile XT the map compatible to all Garmin device... And I still getting my month update map since 6 years ago...

Also I can help supporting the map using my Garmin 76csx... collecting track and POI... which can using the same map...
jtdc
post Feb 5 2012, 09:44 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 5 2012, 03:02 PM)
which version papago is that?
Papago X5 for android.

I wonder when will the latest version, dunno if M8 or what, will be available. Hopefully it would be priced competitively.
DarkNite
post Feb 5 2012, 10:27 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Feb 5 2012, 04:18 PM)

That why I still kept my N85 for road navigation because for Mobile XT the map compatible to all Garmin device... And I still getting my month update map since 6 years ago...
I feel Mobile XT is best 'turn-by-turn voice navigation'!

Just too bad it's not support anymore since 2008.

QUOTE(jtdc @ Feb 5 2012, 09:44 PM)
Papago X5 for android.

I wonder when will the latest version, dunno if M8 or what, will be available.  Hopefully it would be priced competitively.

Papago X5 is sux!
I hate the cheong hei, voice 'at the intersection', 'at the intersection', 'at the intersection'!

Papago M8.2.0 will blow you away! It is awesome, almost as close as Garmin! The voice is more precised and does tells out the road names.
I hope M9 will be even better than M8.2.0 & have sweeter female voice! laugh.gif
kaiGadget
post Feb 6 2012, 12:17 AM

begore i using Papago X5, now really like to use the better one.. Papago M8.2.0!! cool
jtdc
post Feb 6 2012, 03:32 AM

245 posts

@kaiGadget do you use it on android phone? care to say who sold and installed to you?
Deani_77
post Feb 6 2012, 09:25 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 5 2012, 10:27 PM)
I feel Mobile XT is best 'turn-by-turn voice navigation'!

Just too bad it's not support anymore since 2008.

Papago X5 is sux!
I hate the cheong hei, voice 'at the intersection', 'at the intersection', 'at the intersection'!

Papago M8.2.0 will blow you away! It is awesome, almost as close as Garmin! The voice is more precised and does tells out the road names.
I hope M9 will be even better than M8.2.0 & have sweeter female voice! laugh.gif
Garmin only stop support for software but you can always update your map at MSM or MFM...
DarkNite
post Feb 6 2012, 09:31 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Feb 6 2012, 09:25 AM)
Garmin only stop support for software but you can always update your map at MSM or MFM...
I update at MFM but mfm these days not so friendly & receptive anymore.
Many of the POI in Penang are out of date - example business change name and service, are not updated for 2 years! sad.gif dunno what happen, their enthusiasm dying?
Deani_77
post Feb 6 2012, 03:48 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 6 2012, 09:31 AM)
I update at MFM but mfm these days not so friendly & receptive anymore.
Many of the POI in Penang are out of date - example business change name and service, are not updated for 2 years! sad.gif  dunno what happen, their enthusiasm dying?
Perhaps less people contributing due to current device more on user applications not contributor...

With Mobile XT you can mark POI and upload it to Garmin Mapsource for ease your contributing to those site while software like X5 didn't allowed you to do that. Until now I never find way to key-in coordinate...
ciwek90
post Feb 8 2012, 05:13 PM

K.O.Y.A
767 posts

Before this i'm using papago x5. But now i'm trying Waze and incredibly it is awesome! can interact with other waze user for any info surrounding the area. Only use 2mb/used (navigation). Cute UI somemore. hehe. just my 2 cent. brows.gif
DarkNite
post Feb 8 2012, 06:12 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(ciwek90 @ Feb 8 2012, 05:13 PM)
Before this i'm using papago x5. But now i'm trying Waze and incredibly it is awesome! can interact with other waze user for any info surrounding the area. Only use 2mb/used (navigation). Cute UI somemore. hehe. just my 2 cent.  brows.gif
Papago X5? doh.gif
Compare la Papago M8/M9.
wajahebat
post Feb 10 2012, 09:42 AM

BoomBaDaBoom
1,951 posts

Im currently using Papago X5....Although sometimes crash...Still nice...
Tried Waze but it requires both GPS and Network(Packet Data)...Thats a shame to me if youre at a place with no network...
mydragoon
post Feb 10 2012, 09:46 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ciwek90 @ Feb 8 2012, 05:13 PM)
Before this i'm using papago x5. But now i'm trying Waze and incredibly it is awesome! can interact with other waze user for any info surrounding the area. Only use 2mb/used (navigation). Cute UI somemore. hehe. just my 2 cent.  brows.gif
+1

yes... i'm surprised a free GPS like Waze can be so useful, good and fun.

most of the places... can find and have voice navigation. and best... can get 'live' reports based on feedback from others like police roadblocks, accidents... heck, even average speed on a stretch of road... smile.gif

recently, the UI got updated and it looks really good now. previously, it looked kinda clumsy.
wajahebat
post Feb 10 2012, 09:51 AM

BoomBaDaBoom
1,951 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Feb 10 2012, 09:46 AM)
+1

yes... i'm surprised a free GPS like Waze can be so useful, good and fun.

most of the places... can find and have voice navigation. and best... can get 'live' reports based on feedback from others like police roadblocks, accidents... heck, even average speed on a stretch of road... smile.gif

recently, the UI got updated and it looks really good now. previously, it looked kinda clumsy.
Yup thats the advantage...But if the network function can be disable is more gooding....
Because its not everytime we got line reception...But still i like Waze style... nod.gif
mydragoon
post Feb 10 2012, 09:58 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(wajahebat @ Feb 10 2012, 09:51 AM)
Yup thats the advantage...But if the network function can be disable is more gooding....
Because its not everytime we got line reception...But still i like Waze style... nod.gif
hmmm... actually quite interesting statement... i wonder what will happen if there's no data coverage... so far, i'm usually in KL area, so have not faced this. i wonder what happens...
MYstombox
post Feb 10 2012, 10:03 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Waze is not bad, but I don't like the idea of the app showing others whether I am home or not.

Because I can see other waze users around my area, and to be honest it isn't safe.
wajahebat
post Feb 10 2012, 10:10 AM

BoomBaDaBoom
1,951 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Feb 10 2012, 09:58 AM)
hmmm... actually quite interesting statement... i wonder what will happen if there's no data coverage... so far, i'm usually in KL area, so have not faced this. i wonder what happens...
Actually during the first time im travelling with Waze, i dont even know its using my data packet...
Until last time im from Shah Alam coming back to my home, I disable my data packet and suddenly
Waze doesn't work...Ohh demm i'd say....

Its a nice apps by the way but still, GPS apps doesnt really compulsory to rely on network (packet data)...
I need them to navigate only...Thus maps and navigation function is already nice for me icon_rolleyes.gif
ciwek90
post Feb 10 2012, 11:35 AM

K.O.Y.A
767 posts

QUOTE(wajahebat @ Feb 10 2012, 10:10 AM)
Actually during the first time im travelling with Waze, i dont even know its using my data packet...
Until last time im from Shah Alam coming back to my home, I disable my data packet and suddenly
Waze doesn't work...Ohh demm i'd say....

Its a nice apps by the way but still, GPS apps doesnt really compulsory to rely on network (packet data)...
I need them to navigate only...Thus maps and navigation function is already nice for me icon_rolleyes.gif
Indeed. But as for me who is not from kl/sel will need navigation. Waze is not bad but it required data packet is a bit let down. But maybe that is for the report which is on the go.

In the end, it all depend on the user itself. Hihi. happy.gif
wajahebat
post Feb 10 2012, 12:26 PM

BoomBaDaBoom
1,951 posts

QUOTE(ciwek90 @ Feb 10 2012, 11:35 AM)
Indeed. But as for me who is not from kl/sel will need navigation. Waze is not bad but it required data packet is a bit let down. But maybe that is for the report which is on the go.

In the end, it all depend on the user itself. Hihi. happy.gif
Yeah thats right...I always hope someday Waze will came out with a new version that not require data packet...
Until now navigation in my phone is only Papago, Waze, GPS Aids....

Papago X5 sometimes crashing but not too frequent...Just once after you open up, and after that no more...
But from what I noticed, samsung devices are pretty slow with catching up with the satellites...The first time I use
the GPS function on my phone (Galaxy W), it was like half an hour waiting for satellite hook up...

Thats why im using GPS Aids...With GPS Aids the time to hook with the satellite increased drastically...
So my procedure everytime before I launch my GPS apps...I will go with GPS Aids first, test the signal and
see how much satellite available and its signal....Now usually it needs about 10 sec - 1 minute....
ck_boon
post Feb 10 2012, 12:49 PM

1,894 posts

got any similar gps system like garmin type? i still found papago have alof of limitation and weakness comapre to garmiin

MYstombox
post Feb 10 2012, 02:30 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Packet data is for waze to download the map and for reporting.
wajahebat
post Feb 10 2012, 02:54 PM

BoomBaDaBoom
1,951 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Feb 10 2012, 12:49 PM)
got any similar gps system like garmin type? i still found papago have alof of limitation and weakness comapre to garmiin
+1 for that...Maybe in a short period Papago will release newer version for android later...I heard there's
Papago M8 for android...
MYstombox
post Feb 10 2012, 03:04 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Sygic lor
mydragoon
post Feb 10 2012, 05:20 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Feb 10 2012, 10:03 AM)
Waze is not bad, but I don't like the idea of the app showing others whether I am home or not.

Because I can see other waze users around my area, and to be honest it isn't safe.
turn off waze after use la. that will disable reporting your location, no? smile.gif
MYstombox
post Feb 10 2012, 05:22 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Well, I'm not sure, because I can't really check myself right? lol, but I can see others on the map in residential areas. There used to be a 'ghost' feature where ur location is completely hidden. But can't find it now.
marasista
post Feb 11 2012, 05:03 PM

255 posts

any cool gps for android ?
jtdc
post Feb 12 2012, 08:24 PM

245 posts

Hi guys I saw thay Sygic (Malaysia & Singapore) is sale now at USD 14.99 (before promo its 16 euro), so now its roughly RM47, savings of at least RM16. In buying better use USD for lowest conversion rate compared to euro and gbp.

This post has been edited by jtdc: Feb 12 2012, 08:27 PM
DarkNite
post Feb 19 2012, 02:54 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Feb 12 2012, 08:24 PM)
Hi guys I saw thay Sygic (Malaysia & Singapore) is sale now at USD 14.99 (before promo its 16 euro), so now its roughly RM47, savings of at least RM16.  In buying better use USD for lowest conversion rate compared to euro and gbp.
give me free I also dun wan, if not support be http://www.malfreemaps.com!
qwerty101
post Feb 28 2012, 01:08 PM

72 posts

definitely papago for now ... and perhaps igo when malfreemaps support updated maps
dreamfasten
post Mar 16 2012, 01:39 PM

417 posts

Hi. i try gps status. it cannot detect my location. i m using galaxy w(just bought in last week). sumone teach me pls
MYstombox
post Mar 16 2012, 04:00 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

are u in a building or outside?
And is your GPS antenna turned on?
Flamix
post Mar 18 2012, 01:37 AM

237 posts

Guys how often does Sygic Update its Malaysia Map? And does it auto update?
annoymous1234
post Mar 18 2012, 01:52 AM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(Flamix @ Mar 18 2012, 01:37 AM)
Guys how often does Sygic Update its Malaysia Map? And does it auto update?
i think very rare.. most of the time it only updates when they update the whole sygic app.
Flamix
post Mar 18 2012, 12:59 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 18 2012, 01:52 AM)
i think very rare.. most of the time it only updates when they update the whole sygic app.
Crap that sucks, any good navigation you think that update often, and best use here for android.
smokey
post Mar 18 2012, 01:07 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(Flamix @ Mar 18 2012, 12:59 PM)
Crap that sucks, any good navigation you think that update often, and best use here for android.
can try Waze, community gps navigation app...the map is updated by users...but the navigation not really good in malaysia...i used it to check traffic jam only reported by users...haha
ck_boon
post Mar 19 2012, 05:09 AM

1,894 posts

i using sygic and papago now, i think for android users u need to use at least 2 gps system
i found sygic is problematic, in team u cant minimise the gps at all! and i dunno how to mute tat gps like papago do, papago is much more friendly
then sygic
but some specific road sygic searching is more powerfull
beederbest
post May 10 2012, 11:27 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Mar 19 2012, 05:09 AM)
i using sygic and papago now, i think for android users u need to use at least 2 gps system
i found sygic is problematic, in team u cant minimise the gps at all! and i dunno how to mute tat gps like papago do, papago is much more friendly
then sygic
but some specific road sygic searching is more powerfull
recently HTC come up with HTC locations offline maps (i use windows phone it's avaialable there). how about HTC android phone? can use offline htc locations map (gps)? cuz thinking of buying android phone for my elder sister.
Lucassss
post May 11 2012, 12:12 AM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

Using Ownhere google maps. It's really good IMO.

0.0551sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:15 AM