4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

positive energy
post Aug 13 2011, 01:44 PM

212 posts

Anyone knows about Abu Dhabi National Oil Company? i got interview invitation from them for process engineer. Appreciate anyone who are willing to share info about stages of interviews, working environment.
positive energy
post Aug 13 2011, 03:41 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Aug 13 2011, 03:29 PM)
ADNOC is a HUGE company in UAE so please be careful as with huge companies, there will be huge scams as a lot if people will want to work there. If they ask you for deposit, for sure it's a scam because ADNOC will NEVER ask for money.

The interview invitation also should be super professional, if you start seeing grammar mistake or spelling errors or fishy email address. For sure that's a scam also.
Alright , note taken......
positive energy
post Aug 30 2011, 06:25 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Aug 29 2011, 12:46 AM)
Hi guys, need some advice.  icon_question.gif
I have only 3 years experience in OnG company as a scheduler (distribution), its a office base job.

Interested to know,
Do contractor like Schlumberger, Baker Hughes and etc hiring schedulers?

Do I have chance to get  into upstream business in operator or contractor companies?

(im not from engineering background)
scheduler means planner? so u r in a equipment manufacturing based company in Oil & GAs industry?

positive energy
post Sep 4 2011, 12:04 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(Engineer1992 @ Sep 1 2011, 04:52 PM)
i don know..what is bocad

Added on September 1, 2011, 4:53 pm
english please..i don think everyone know what u talking about
This is Sarawak language, i dun think there's anything wrong having sarawakian language in this forum since i observed there cantonese direct translate term like one leg kick which might confused other also.
positive energy
post Sep 9 2011, 07:25 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Sep 8 2011, 10:26 AM)
Welding engineer, go the NDT route and abseiling then go freelance, u get daily paid and get onto contracts. A friend of mine who went that route a few years ago after i advised him is drawing in above of 370k per annum and he is only 27 yrs old.

As for entry into the OnG sector, ESPECIALLY in miri, Yes you do need someone on the inside, preferbly not family. I only decided to work in Miri after more than 15yrs after my dad retired, and STILL i have to live up to his name. Every marine contractor and even shell still remembers him DAMN!. But if you guys are looking for a way in, do drop me an e-mail with ur resume of course and i'll ask my friends and see if they're in terested. I'm not offering anything solid, but just to get you noticed. I have a very large network, where even shell n petronas staff ask me to help them get jobs elsewhere. I should open a head hunting agency! lol. but i love my job here! If you are interested in short term projects also I can arrange, I do not burn bridges and always keep in touch with my former colleagues as I was freelancing till a few years ago.

So let me see where I can help. Oh yeah send ur c.v.'s to zyon55@gmail.com
Hi, I sent my resume to you already.
positive energy
post Sep 12 2011, 07:29 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Sep 12 2011, 05:07 PM)
@hitsugaya Yep. Chemical-gas engineering, UTM. UMS, are you from KML?
hi preakzz, u're SKG huh? i;m SKB....
positive energy
post Sep 13 2011, 04:22 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Sep 13 2011, 03:14 AM)
@noyze thanks a lot for helping us here. smile.gif

@positive energy convo coming in 2 weeks! Skb? Can't recall anyone I really know from skb. I heard one of u got into haliburton months back. wink.gif

@hitsugaya those big companies came to utm each year fr recruitment. But I never hv d chance since they want a 3.50 and above. I've applied for so many companies I can't list them here. A lot. Fr slb u hv to register first n then use the job search.
@preakzz, yea, several of my juniors got into SLB, haliburton. haha. seldom saw a sarawakian + FKKKSA student here.
positive energy
post Sep 13 2011, 04:36 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(judeultimate @ Sep 13 2011, 04:29 PM)
erm...actually i'm not choosing lar...wrong usage of word...  wink.gif  i'm actually intending to apply for internship...dunno whether intern in an MNC is better... i'm staying at Labuan, so i plan to intern there...

btw, what is skg and skb?  rclxub.gif

n u said ur results are not that good? hope u dun mind if i ask izzit below 3.00?

and also, MNC O n G companies all want cgpa above 3.5? omg...
SKG, SKB is course code of UTM, nvm then. Result is not an important aspects in terms of screening. I'm getting above cgpa 3.5 but still i find it hard to go into those MNC oil companies. i applied hundereds application , both local and overseas OnG but no news. what i do now is keep trying.....
positive energy
post Sep 14 2011, 11:22 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Sep 14 2011, 08:52 PM)
Come fetch me at the airport tmrw. hahaha. Done with 1st stage interview today. The recruiter is very nice. smile.gif
u mean SLB interview in kch??? they got office in kch???
positive energy
post Sep 15 2011, 07:19 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Sep 15 2011, 07:17 PM)
Haha.Not back for holiday, I'm back from holiday. smile.gif

@positive energy, pls update me yr situation, didn't u get an email,calls n sms frm slb abt the venue? Did u make it there?
Hi preakzz, so far no reply yet.....my relatives send me there.
positive energy
post Sep 18 2011, 10:59 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Sep 18 2011, 10:34 AM)
I was asked the same question and I thought legal right to work means you own a working permit/visa so I said no I dont have any. sad.gif
I encountered such email before. Obviously they are looking for local candidates prior to international candidate, if you are really excellent in terms of academic (if u apply for fresh grad) and ur personality is suitable . i dun think they dun mind hire international candidates, provided they hire local candidates also. My junior who wents to baker hughes final assessment in labuan told me that there's a brunei candidates in his group. so it is possible.
positive energy
post Sep 19 2011, 01:39 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(rhaizo @ Sep 18 2011, 10:01 PM)
Yup i told them that im only holding malaysian citizenship. probably no chance ever getting hired now sad.gif
Im not sure how 'excellent' i am in academic but i guess im ok. But im guessing there would rather hire locals than outsider couz it may incur cost to hire outsiders..

anymore vacancies? im an electrical grad.

they say contractors pay more? i wonder hows the benefits?
I'm also looking for an opportunity to get GREASY.as all gurus in this thread agreed, networking is important. Maybe this is something can work on.
positive energy
post Sep 19 2011, 07:54 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 19 2011, 07:44 PM)
so, we are from the same Corporation  rclxms.gif  . EM r0x !
you're in EM SG? wah....good
positive energy
post Sep 20 2011, 11:30 AM

212 posts

hi, ch_teo

u're working in oil operator side or contractor side?
positive energy
post Sep 20 2011, 12:17 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Sep 20 2011, 11:42 AM)
Thank you. But fluid mechanics..  cry.gif
So SGS is a good company? I will be based in labuan IF i get the job..
What's the problem?? got job in OnG do first, then if you really not suitable for you, then find others. u have no idea how many ppl 'r after ur position nowadays.

This post has been edited by positive energy: Sep 20 2011, 12:22 PM
positive energy
post Sep 24 2011, 08:35 AM

212 posts

@preakzz

Good luck in ur last stage of interview then.
positive energy
post Oct 5 2011, 10:11 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Oct 5 2011, 09:40 PM)
Because my friend already Got called. He is much better than me. Already at the final phase then failed. Sad, right?
life goes on, keep trying, knocking enough door, expanding more networking....
positive energy
post Oct 10 2011, 01:50 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Oct 10 2011, 01:44 AM)
Why do you think Petronas is suffering so much right now? We have sooo many young engineers but no one to train them. You have the senior managers, the general managers and then nothing in between. My ex GM keeps asking me to come back and train the new kids ...

Added on October 10, 2011, 1:46 am
7 years I know of but not 5. I have a couple of ex Petronas with 7 years that joined my company. Then again, they are really excellent candidates (both of them worked under me smile.gif )
why not going back to petronas? upon ur Ex GM request?
positive energy
post Oct 10 2011, 02:35 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Oct 10 2011, 02:21 PM)
Not the time yet lah. The kids are small, they are enjoying the international school here. I get to spend a lot of quality time with them. Once they go to college, then I'll most likely return.
ur employer pays for ur kids school's fees? wow! i got it then.....
positive energy
post Oct 11 2011, 03:44 PM

212 posts

Thank You Guru Azraeil for your insightful opinions, it sure did expand my views on the entire OnG operator company in upstream operations.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0571sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:16 AM