Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

KVReninem
post Feb 15 2012, 02:16 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(positive energy @ Feb 15 2012, 05:03 PM)
dude, those HR in OnG handling thousands of application per day, regardless of fresh / experienced candidates. What qualities u believed u have to stand out from the crowd? u have to ask urself that question.
+1, I like this words.
KVReninem
post Feb 16 2012, 11:35 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(lovelyduckling @ Feb 17 2012, 02:19 AM)
Hey guys. I am kinda shortlisted to attend my first ever job interview around KL areas for an O&G company. The thing is, I am kinda "overseas" which requires me to fly to KL to attend the job interview (the flight tickets can go up to a few hundreds, if I book at last minute). So I am wondering,

- is it possible to ask or negotiate with the HR to reimburse (part of) my flight expenses? Or it is something ridiculous? Or any other ways to minimum the expenses I have to fork out as I am still a student?
Congrats and all the best with ur future smile.gif
Request them to give you Phone interview or skype conference, thats another solution.

Added on February 16, 2012, 11:37 pm
QUOTE(weedox @ Feb 14 2012, 09:12 AM)
is it possible for degree holder in aviation engineering to join oil & gas? did learnt about gas turbine, sheet metal works n basic NDT..if possible then what position can suit? interested to join oil&gas lah..
possible in air logistic services. Transporting Riggers/offshore people from base to platform. smile.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Feb 16 2012, 11:37 PM
KVReninem
post Feb 16 2012, 11:59 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(lovelyduckling @ Feb 17 2012, 02:54 AM)
Both tongue.gif Sorry, but what is T&A? I tried to google but it came up with a few findings
Term & Agreement. -T&A

If this was your first job; you better fly in for you interview & impress them; if you are the case of working offshore-platform; better arrange a phone interview with them.

im sure you dont wish to screw up your chance to be in a good sector. smile.gif
KVReninem
post Feb 17 2012, 02:08 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(lovelyduckling @ Feb 17 2012, 03:06 AM)
Noted.

Ya I also prefer face-to-face interview so that I can impress them better. tongue.gif Just that I am nervous that I have to fly to KL, arrange my transports and accommodation etc on my own when I am there as I am unfamiliar with KL. Of course, the costs worry me as I am afraid there will be few more rounds of interview in order to get that job.
are you from east Malaysia? tongue.gif Gd luck with it biggrin.gif
KVReninem
post Feb 29 2012, 01:22 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Feb 29 2012, 02:03 PM)
hehe my apology on the size & rotation. I snap it with my phone & direct uploaded it.
feekle; you related with O&G also? unsure.gif
KVReninem
post Feb 29 2012, 05:30 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Feb 29 2012, 08:25 PM)
Don't know how to say. Just working with construction contractor (on land) with o&g client. not really o&g

Added on February 29, 2012, 5:28 pm

yes it was  tongue.gif
in office or shipyard or stock-yard?
KVReninem
post Feb 29 2012, 05:35 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Feb 29 2012, 08:33 PM)
mostly site..seldom in office. Doing normal civil & construction..
Icic, pretty stag yeah atm. icon_rolleyes.gif

KVReninem
post Feb 29 2012, 05:40 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Feb 29 2012, 08:39 PM)
I don't get what u mean bro..
I mean your sector- civil & constru. smile.gif

O&G will come on-line soon thumbup.gif

KVReninem
post Feb 29 2012, 06:05 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Feb 29 2012, 08:42 PM)
yea..will try my luck in 'real' o&g after this..
real O&G, how about Brunei? rclxub.gif

I looked up their vacancy stuff; lots of it.

Other shot is DAYANG or maybe LNG Bintulu, LNG train No.9 smile.gif

Added on February 29, 2012, 6:06 pmWelltec is very specialised right?

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Feb 29 2012, 06:06 PM
KVReninem
post Mar 6 2012, 01:02 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kiumo @ Mar 6 2012, 03:55 AM)
Hello all!

I am an Electrical Engineering graduate from RMIT University, Melbourne. Majoring in Power Engineering and High Voltage.

What are my chances of getting into Oil and Gas?

Thank you!
any experience?
KVReninem
post Mar 6 2012, 03:21 AM

IX
5,369 posts

O&G, HV- if you have technical skills in that; possible to path yourself in but paper wise position is pretty hard, cos they need peeps that know how right now; old days of paper can get in is not anymore

Petronas involvement is power generation might just be in Gas field site or power generation.. other than that; unless you have the guts to go offshore- which require your technical to work on.

Shell; now more focus on the upstream offshore work; not very sure if they going to expand n have the DS E&P type yet.

You might want to try power generation company - since you are in aus; why not work there? laugh.gif

Company in Aus power generation seems like they need alot; compare malaysia; which actually have it; but plan to develop further.

Advice: try to get instrumentation stuffs in you really want to go into O&G; really helpful ... um; ask empire23 abt why instrumentation; one of the forumer in /k/' he`s also same field as you but not power generation. smile.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Mar 6 2012, 03:31 AM
KVReninem
post Mar 6 2012, 11:16 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kiumo @ Mar 6 2012, 02:14 PM)
Really bad times in Australia. It may seem to be in demand and stuff but it is not as easy as u think

Bad economy, hard to get PR. to get PR, only way is to get all 8's for IELTS.

No PR no job, no Job No PR. Very sad
Are you sure bad economy? unsure.gif

0.0634sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:32 AM