CSL MI300, Low budget android with high spec

benny888
post Mar 12 2011, 11:09 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

saya_zharif : you can follow salimbest instructions at post # 2360.

However I'd like to say, if you have make a backup of the CSL rom using rom manager, you can also just use rom manager to restore back your CSL rom
This is what I did
Using SUT to restore is more tedious way

If you have make a restore using SUT, do remembeer keep a backup copy using rom manager - is very useful when you need to go back to stock rom when you want to try flashing other roms
benny888
post Mar 12 2011, 01:11 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jasonkhoo87 @ Mar 12 2011, 01:04 PM)
I found this MI-300-Eclair-Software-Updater-Tool.zip from the SPICE website... Is it not the same as the CSL using??
This tool update the Eclair v2.1 to the SPICE. I havent tried it yet since I didnt root my phone.
You will not see the CSL splash screen and missing the CSL customized apps
benny888
post Mar 12 2011, 06:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Do not flame me. It is just my opinion. If you are worry about warranty DO NOT root and flash any rom

Seriously for a 600 ringgit phone, which is infact a budget phone - the value you get out of rooting and flashing froyo rom is many more times the value of RM600. Once you have done it, you will ask why I never do it earlier and why was I ever concern about warranty

If you are happy with your current rom ( 1.6 or 2.1) , there is actually no need to flash to 2.2. Don't do it just because most of us are doing it. Look at what Froyo offers - if you need those features than root/flash. If you worry about warranty, DO NOT do it. Of course if you can get back a stock rom fully , it is better but this lack should not be a deterrent

What are Froyo's benefits : ( summarized excerpts )

- Froyo uses a new super-fast version of its Dalvik Java Virtual Machine that features a highly optimised Just In Time compiler. In English, this speeds up Android apps by 2 to 5x. And that’s not just some apps – that’s all apps, all at least twice as fast and as much as 5x as fast as they were on Android 2.1!

- Android’s Web browser has been given a new JavaScript engine (Google’s V8), which speeds up JavaScript execution time by 2 – 3x and is claim to be one of the fastest mobile browser in the World.

- The result of all this speed increase is a drastically improved phone with enhanced performance, superior responsiveness, and all for free!

Uber-Connectivity
Android 2.2 doesn’t just provide tethering (which turns your phone into a modem, enabling you to connect to the Internet on your laptop via your phone), it also acts as a WiFi hotspot, letting several laptops (or other Wifi-equipped devices) connect through the Internet using your Android phone.

User Interface Tweaks
Tonnes of little user interface tweaks make the whole Android experience much better, including:

New Gallery lets you view stacks of pictures using a zoom gesture
Updated onscreen camera controls let you adjust zoom, flash, white balance, geo-tagging, focus and exposure, all from the screen

Slight tweaking of GMail navigation

Much better looking Google Calendar

Enterprise features
Remote Wipe feature lets you wipe the device if it’s ever stolen or lost
Auto-discovery and configuration of Microsoft Exchange accounts. Simply enter your username and password and Android 2.2 will automatically connect and sync with your Exchange server, pulling in your emails and Exchange calendar onto your Android phone

Integration with Exchanges Global Address Book

Device backup now backs up your whole device, including all data from your third party apps

Cloud-to-device messaging
Cloud-to-device messaging lets you push commands (Google calls them Android Intents) to your Android phone via your desktop browser. So, for example, you can find a location in Google Maps and push it to your phone, which will then open the phone’s map at that location automatically.

This works not just with maps but with pretty much anything. Web pages, for example: if you’ve started reading an important Web page on your desktop, but then have to leave in a hurry, you can push it to your Android phone, where it’ll pop up on your phone without you having to do anything. Genius!

New Over The Air Android Marketplace
Google have built a brand new Android Marketplace site on the Web, which lets you see apps, read reviews and try the apps out.

Not by downloading them on the Web – using Cloud-to-device messaging, you can select your app and push it to your phone over the air with a single click. The app is pushed to your phone and automatically installed immediately.

Better still, Android marketplace is no longer limited to apps – you can download music in exactly the same way as well. Find the tune you want in your desktop browser and push it to your phone over the air with just a single click.

Full support for Flash 10.1. Not Flash Lite, but the full Adobe Flash experience that Apple’s so at odds with

App storage on an SD card lets you finally install your apps on an external SD card, which is typically hundreds of times larger than your phone’s internal storage. Result? You can install many more applications, and your phone won’t slow down when you install hundreds of apps

Improved voice recognition
PIN codes now accepted to lock the device as well as the existing pattern lock

New car dock feature rearranges the interface to make it easier to use while driving (the music control and lighting features that is – not necessarily the browser or video player!)

Dedicated shortcuts for the phone, apps Launcher and browser now on all 5 Home Screens

LED flash enabled for the Camcorder, letting you shoot videos in low light

Enhanced support for OpenGL ES 2.0 for improved graphics capabilities

New ability to update all installed apps at once, or have them update automatically

Added on March 12, 2011, 7:09 pm
QUOTE(jasonkhoo87 @ Mar 12 2011, 06:18 PM)
do you read the comment at that forum?? im the one who asking in the forum. the guy said that it will backup everything.. of course, i read all the resource in the internet.

but, the important for our spice is the boot logo. CSL one. if we can revert back to official rom without the CSL boot logo, we also void the warranty. that why im waithing for the guy comment my post there.. if really can backup boot logo as well. i will root my spice.. smile.gif
I am now answering specifically this question. I have posted earlier, if one has NEVER yet flash any rom - use ROM MANAGER to do a backup of your original rom.
You can always go back to this backup - it restore 101% if 100 % is not good enough, meaning you will get to see the original CSL splash screens

I have only been on the i300 for 3 days only. In these 3 days I have tested 3 roms. And I discovered one thing

Once you flash a cook rom ontop of stock, even after you reflash back stock you will see splash screen of the previous rom ( just a brief 1-2 seconds ) before the CSL splash screen. The best way to remove this previous rom splash screen is to clear cache partition, clear dalvikm cache, clear data and factory reset before you flash back stock. When the stock rom is successfully booted. go back to recovery and clear all cache partition, dalvik cache again

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 12 2011, 07:09 PM
benny888
post Mar 12 2011, 07:15 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jasonkhoo87 @ Mar 12 2011, 07:10 PM)
I agree with you.. For what u bought this kind of phone without tweaking to the maximum limit right.. smile.gif

I used to be Symbian lover before. until now..  but, i want to play with android also..

Now i get confuse.. I know rooting the phone is easy. But, choosing the right custom firmware are difficult..

As I google many, i found there several custom like

1. firetrap twonight
2. cyanogenmod nightbuild
3. firetrap jellybean
4. froyo phantom king sky fish
5. bakpia cokelat
6. superbler
7. cmeclair

these i found compatible with the spice mi-300 (correct me if im wrong).. I know there diffrerent between power usage, keyboard, interface.
can i have some info through this?  i read the previous post but, what i get only tye benchmark about some of the custom above..
Actually no one can really tell you which is the best rom. The only way is to test it yourself. If majority of users are cursing a certain rom, then you could safely conclude it is not worth trying

Different people has different needs of their smartphones -and different roms has their own strengths and weakness. A rom which is good for example gaming will lose out on its battery usage. If battery usage is critical, then avoid those which majority users is complaining about this. Example for me, battery usage is the last of my worry cos I always have up to 2 spare batteries for ALL my smartphones. It is never a fctor for me when comes to roms. Some people wants a responsive browser while some feel is not important. Some people like certain roms cos it comes builtin with additional apps. Some like certain roms cos of its UI design etc etc
A important factor for me in selecting my rom is how the rom installs apps onto the ext SD card . This is important cos of limited memory in the mi300. The present rom Phantom KIng v1 which I am now using installs apps onto the hidden EXT4 partition which is very much better than other roms that install on the open FAT32 partition. Installing apps directly onto ext4 also means releasing a lot of extra space on internal-storage memory. For the same no of apps, I save back close to 70 MB

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 12 2011, 07:19 PM
benny888
post Mar 12 2011, 07:27 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jasonkhoo87 @ Mar 12 2011, 07:19 PM)
sorry bro.. smile.gif  releks a bit. i want to ask.. instead of using the z4root which need online to root my spice. can i use the "super oneclick v1.7"to root my device. then install the "ROM Manager" and do the backup of original ROM??

Thanks for the useful reply..
If you are using a Malaysian CSL spice mi300 -use z4root : it is the fastest and easiest - rooting just takes 2-3 seconds ONLY. Use Superoneclick only if z4root doesn't work. I use z4root and root my phone after 5 minutes buying it - it is so freaking unbelievably easy

After root, than install rom manager. I have some problems flashing the clockwork recovery but thanks to forumer zyulander he gave his solution. You can use his solution if you have problems flashing the recovery

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 12 2011, 07:28 PM
benny888
post Mar 12 2011, 07:31 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jasonkhoo87 @ Mar 12 2011, 07:26 PM)
i has one battery only which the battery life time is crucial for me.  Thanks for the explanation. From the statement above. I want to ask you more about this. hopefully u dont mind to answer me. smile.gif

i know that our mi300 only 150mb. then, if i install the phantom king. it will make a hidden partition on sd card? I have read about making partition on the sd card for storing the application. This useful when we want to mount the sd card to laptop. then only the fat/fat32 will be read by windows while the ext4 partition will not be read.
You need to install the ext partition first before installing any rom. Use rom manager to do it. You can select 256, 512MB or even 1GB space and swap size up to 128MB. As I have a 16 GB class 10 card - I choose 1GB and swap size 128 MB. You will remove ALL data with partitioning, so remember to make a copy of whatever data you have on the PC. You CANNOT view contents of the ext partition on the PC. You also cannot see this partition using the normal file explorer. You can view the utilisation of this partition using a free app call QUICK SYSTEM INFO on the phone

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 12 2011, 07:34 PM
benny888
post Mar 12 2011, 07:39 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Mar 12 2011, 07:30 PM)
can i press like on ur post? your are right, waranty is just nothing compare with what u have learn, rooting, play around with the phone, i think 599 for all these fun is already too much fun
You are absolutely right. This is the cheapest android phone I have ever bought. It is really value for money. In terms of performance it does not lose out greatly to my other more expensive Androids I have used . If you are a serious gamer, this phone is not suitable - go for those with at least 1 GHz and price range in region RM 1.5 to 2.0K

Added on March 12, 2011, 7:40 pm
QUOTE(jasonkhoo87 @ Mar 12 2011, 07:38 PM)
Thanks to Benny888 for its deep explanation..
eg: i choose 1gig as my ext partition.. what would be my swap size recommendation?  because i new in the term swap size and what its for..

im asking all this because i later after rooting, i know all the procedure needed until i finish configure all the custom firmware..

thanks again.
64 MB is good enough ; 128 MB is ideal and it is no harm going for the maximum if you wish

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 12 2011, 07:40 PM
benny888
post Mar 12 2011, 09:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(lauyah @ Mar 12 2011, 08:45 PM)
Think of getting one tomorrow, look like a good bargain. Just want to ask, this phone is comparable with which other branded phone?
You might not believe me ; this phone on Froyo ( not on stock rom ) is equally comparable in performance to samsung Galaxy S on Eclair 2.1

My friends were shocked when they see me using this phone. They are so use seeing me with high end smartphones ( average RM 2 to 2.5k range )that they were critical of me keeping it for long. I only can say, for its asking price it is a bargain ; infact I'd say it justify its initial asking price of RM 1 k.
Having used the higher end Androids, I must say I am impressed . The brand CSL is nothing much to shout about. But cheap does not necessary equate to poor performance and poor quality. Anyway this is not really a Malaysian designed/manufactured phone - it is just a spin off of Spice models and just branded Msian and some apps customized to CSL

For its price, I don't think you can get a better alternative.

benny888
post Mar 12 2011, 09:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Mar 12 2011, 08:22 PM)
MEMORY 256 RAM, 512 ROM
guys, our phone got 256 ram and 512 rom?
256 MB is Memory ( about 175 MB ) and balance is System Cache . 512 MB rom is split into internal storage, example on mine ( about 170 MB available to install apps ) and system storage ( default apps built in about 160 MB). The balance is used by the phone itself. These figures will vary with the rom
If you remove builtin apps, you see the free system storage figure increased. Similarly when you install apps, the internal storage figures will reduced
As the memory available to install apps is low, that is why highly recommended to upgrade to Froyo as apps can than be install or force move to SD card
For such a low memory smartphone, if you do not upgrade to Froyo you are limited to number of apps you can install. It is like buying a 40 seater bus but only can seat 10 passengers only
benny888
post Mar 12 2011, 09:58 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Mar 12 2011, 09:55 PM)
hi..
if u can hit 1.24k budget..
i suggest go for Moto Defy®

much2 better at extra 600 ringgit..
but surely wil last u almost forever..
hehe nod.gif

played with my fren's .
its sooo sooo smooth, memory (ram also big)
even my fren desire not that nice..
Lagi it is waterproof. Buy it , dip into your cup of kopi or teh tarik and showoff to your kawan esp those iP*** ones, they will faint !!
benny888
post Mar 12 2011, 10:00 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Mar 12 2011, 09:50 PM)
thx 4 ur explaination! smile.gif

guys, im ready to flash now, 1 last question, what is the difference between flash through clocwordkmod and SUT?
Use SUT for nbo rom files. Clockwork only for roms in actual zip format. And please read the developer log/specs before you start - the answer is there
benny888
post Mar 13 2011, 12:06 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Mar 12 2011, 11:59 PM)

Added on March 13, 2011, 12:12 am
QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 13 2011, 12:06 AM)
This is spb mobileshell 5 still in beta for android. Not available yet. But i can tell you it will work poorly on mi300 as it demands high memory and a faster chip.
I am their long time customer and also beta tester for android. It is still buggy and on my 1 ghz android with 512mb memory it is still unsatisfactory
This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 13 2011, 12:13 AM
benny888
post Mar 13 2011, 10:04 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shift @ Mar 13 2011, 08:08 AM)
Do u all know how to turn off vibration when we using the Home, Menu, Back & Browser button/menu?
Settings/Sound - scroll down and disable those you don't need
benny888
post Mar 13 2011, 11:02 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(lance888 @ Mar 13 2011, 10:43 AM)
hi! just wana ask for help in flashing my phone. currently im at original csl stock rom. i need a complete guide to flash it to android 2.2 because all the apps and sms is sucking all the memory now and i cannot move apps to sd card  cry.gif . Please also tell me how to flash it back to csl stock rom(with csl boot screen) just in case my handphone crashes and i need to ask for csl technician help.

sorry if i did repeat the topic again,i read all the pages but was confuse as there are so many reply on flashing but i don noe which 1 to use. so please all the sifu, can anyone teach me?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Install rom manager and backup your rom first. Read salimbest tutorial - he has written a very good summary, compiling all the resources you need . You will not go wrong - just follow his instructions
http://techupdatetoday.blogspot.com/2011/0...g-me-today.html

Added on March 13, 2011, 11:05 am
QUOTE(HelloBaby @ Mar 13 2011, 10:31 AM)
problem .
after rooting,the phone is clean,166mb.
but i installed some apps and used up 60+ mb,
but why now my phone memory shows that left 12mb only,what used up the other 60+mb??
now my phone is in low phone memory,and the icon is annoying
help thx
Root. Upgrade to Froyo. Depend on rom you choose :
- either force move apps to SD
- or allow install apps to card using settings by rom or you can install various apps to enable this
- OR Partition SD card to have hidden EXT partitions and have apps installed it there.\

Widgets and system utilities must be in phone memory

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 13 2011, 11:07 AM
benny888
post Mar 13 2011, 01:39 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(waigsr @ Mar 13 2011, 01:20 PM)
Guys downloaded  Phantom Sky
1)Before flashing just want to know anyone using with chinese keyboard and handwriting?
2) Google apps need to download and install?
3) I can partition sdcard with window with Pri-Fat32,Pri-ext2,Swap,after flashing phantom can it detect,or have to use rom manager to partition?Check  the rom manager partition 512mb only
sad.gif
Thanks Guys
1. Use Google PinYin, a free app for Chinese keyboard input
Rom Manager allow you to partition up to 1 GB - I did it using rom manager - just key in 1024 MB
benny888
post Mar 13 2011, 01:42 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shift @ Mar 13 2011, 01:33 PM)
Guys, after I flash to Phantom Sky, when I power off the hp to install the sim card. It stuck a boot picture......happens 2x already. Any ide why it happen?
Any picture - don't understand what you are saying here. What do you mean install sim card ? You mean boot into recovery and you wish to partition sim card ?
benny888
post Mar 13 2011, 01:56 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(waigsr @ Mar 13 2011, 01:54 PM)
Google pinyin Thanks
Rom manager sd partition only 3 selection,menu got noting ,only 128,256,512 only,where to get option to key in?
Using RommanagerPremium V3.0.1.2
Thank for the replys
Mine have ; maybe is because mine is a paid version which I bought. I think the free version is limited features

I wish to add also, if you have downloaded the app from elsewhere which is cracked - the cracked releases only the licence not the full features of rom manager

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 13 2011, 02:03 PM
benny888
post Mar 13 2011, 02:01 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 13 2011, 01:42 PM)
Any picture - don't understand what you are saying here. What do you mean install sim card ? You mean boot into recovery and you wish to partition sd card ?

Added on March 13, 2011, 2:09 pm
QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Mar 13 2011, 01:32 PM)
actually what are difference between those ext's?and effect to SD card?
ext2 stands for 'second extended file system'. It replaced the original 'extended file system', which was in itself, a replacement for the Minix filesystem, which was Linux's first 'default' filesystem. Minix only allowed 14 character file names and had a maximum of 64 megabytes for file size. The first ext filesystem overcame these limitations (255 char. file names and 2 GB file size), but still suffered from other problems related to file access. ext2 corrected these problems and raised the file size bar to 4 gigabytes.

The main advantage to the ext2 filesystem is its speed. It's considered fast and other filesystems use its speed as a base for doing benchmarks. It's also extremely robust.

Infact for the mi300 with a slower processor and low memory, install a rom that allows you to have apps installed on the ext partition. It will save you more space in memory and a quicker execution of apps. So far based on my tests, Phantom KIng v1 meet this requirements compared with SuperBler and Cyanogen RC2

ext3 comes with added journaling file systems. This helps with data corruption after a crash. Basically, a journaling filesystem logs changes you make to your files to a 'journal'. This is a file that resides in a separate portion of your disk. Instead of doing a lengthy filesystem check, a journaling filesystem just reads the contents of the journal to make sure that the files are in the state that they're supposed to be. This saves time and prevents file corruption.

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 13 2011, 02:09 PM
benny888
post Mar 13 2011, 02:28 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(lance888 @ Mar 13 2011, 02:14 PM)
salimbest tutorial is quite confusing too. swt.but thanks any way. hope some 1 come out with a step by step rom flashing
It is not confusing. Be patient and read it slowly. Disregard those sections which you think is superflous and you dont need it
Credit should be given to salimbest for doing up such a good summary. I just follow what he has written and I successfully did my first flash 4 hours after I bought my unit
benny888
post Mar 14 2011, 07:59 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I suggest salimbest or zyulander to start official thread v2

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0567sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled