Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v2, All things Big 4 + others

CKJMark
post Jan 5 2011, 09:17 AM

579 posts

@ Topace111

Bonus is not obligatory, I agree. The quantum is not the issue, but the way it's paid compared to sister firms despite the regional centralisation. OT approval was a thorny issue in AABS since day 1 I joined the firm back in 2001. Lets not even go to the time eating issue coz that's just one big can of worms.

Labuan tax is RM20K or 3%, but there are issues in determining whether the activities and company itself will even qualify for the Labuan tax rules in the first place. At any rate, the reason I quoted that example was to illustrate to Taxman that he needs to promote more than his years of service to fight for an increment, not chastise the Labuan staff. Years of experience mean little if you don't have the right experience in the first place (e.g. 6yrs in Labuan vs 2 yrs in KL)

This post has been edited by CKJMark: Jan 5 2011, 09:22 AM
mqlim1
post Jan 5 2011, 08:17 PM

Hi there,

I'm kinda new in this forum. Anyway, I submitted my application as audit associate in kpmg singapore few weeks ago and had done my reasoning tests online on the 17th of Dec. I have not received any replies from the HR till now. Does that mean that I had failed the test and cant get an interview chance? I tried calling up HR and all they told me is to wait as they are looking through the applications. Thanks
SP1R1T
post Jan 5 2011, 08:17 PM

83 posts

The moment has come! I can start to feel about the stresses, pressures.....ahhhhh~

Really SALUTE to those seniors and people who can stay in Audit line for so many years.
-hannah-
post Jan 5 2011, 10:12 PM

QUOTE(mqlim1 @ Jan 5 2011, 08:17 PM)
Hi there,

I'm kinda new in this forum. Anyway, I submitted my application as audit associate in kpmg singapore few weeks ago and had done my reasoning tests online on the 17th of Dec. I have not received any replies from the HR till now. Does that mean that I had failed the test and cant get an interview chance? I tried calling up HR and all they told me is to wait as they are looking through the applications. Thanks
Hello may i know how did u apply?coz i tried applying it online but every time i clicked the submit button, an error page will pops out cry.gif
mqlim1
post Jan 5 2011, 10:21 PM

Yer, there something wrong with the online submittion. I asked my friend in singapore to submit for me.
QUOTE(-hannah- @ Jan 5 2011, 10:12 PM)
Hello may i know how did u apply?coz i tried applying it online but every time i clicked the submit button, an error page will pops out  cry.gif
-hannah-
post Jan 5 2011, 10:45 PM

QUOTE(mqlim1 @ Jan 5 2011, 10:21 PM)
Yer, there something wrong with the online submittion. I asked my friend in singapore to submit for me.
oh i c...too bad i dun hv any network in sg...anyway good luck to u ya! smile.gif
mqlim1
post Jan 5 2011, 10:53 PM

Thank you. good luck to ya too.
QUOTE(-hannah- @ Jan 5 2011, 10:45 PM)
oh i c...too bad i dun hv any network in sg...anyway good luck to u ya!  smile.gif
tambaididi
post Jan 5 2011, 11:41 PM

173 posts

this friday i am going to have a interview at BDO.
does anyone have any feedback?
what normally they ask in the interview?
do i need to equip myself with technical knowledge before i go there?
anyone can enlighten me?

thank you in advance~
jae
post Jan 6 2011, 12:28 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(mqlim1 @ Jan 5 2011, 08:17 PM)
Hi there,

It was the Christmas and New Year holiday season around that time, so things kinda get processed slower due to many staff being on leave.

mqlim1
post Jan 6 2011, 09:49 AM

QUOTE(jae @ Jan 6 2011, 12:28 AM)
It was the Christmas and New Year holiday season around that time, so things kinda get processed slower due to many staff being on leave.
Oh thanks for the info.
fastreader
post Jan 7 2011, 09:03 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(CKJMark @ Dec 27 2010, 09:42 AM)

Advisory is a very broad category of services.  Basically its about providing "advice" to clients or providing answers to difficult questions they have on specific issues (corporate restructuring, tax issues, financing, risk management, infrastructure, anything under the sun lol).  Is there a particular type of advisory work you are interested in?
what about internal audit?..is it under advisory too?...cos in some parts of the country in KPMG, their advisory is more like internal audit...is this true?..and what aptitude is needed in being in the advisory?...please advise me,.,, icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Topace111
post Jan 8 2011, 12:33 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(SP1R1T @ Jan 5 2011, 08:17 PM)
The moment has come! I can start to feel about the stresses, pressures.....ahhhhh~

Really SALUTE to those seniors and people who can stay in Audit line for so many years.
Can and willing to stay.
Happy peak period everyone. Mine start next week.
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 8 2011, 11:42 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Good luck guys. H&S is number 1 priority. tongue.gif
fastreader
post Jan 8 2011, 12:23 PM

4,554 posts

what about internal audit?..is it under advisory too?...cos in some parts of the country in KPMG, their advisory is more like internal audit...is this true?..and what aptitude is needed in being in the advisory?...please advise me,.,, icon_question.gif

somebody pls help me with this... icon_question.gif notworthy.gif
Topace111
post Jan 8 2011, 05:08 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Jan 8 2011, 12:23 PM)
what about internal audit?..is it under advisory too?...cos in some parts of the country in KPMG, their advisory is more like internal audit...is this true?..and what aptitude is needed in being in the advisory?...please advise me,.,, icon_question.gif

somebody pls help me with this... icon_question.gif notworthy.gif
Internal audit is audit done for the purpose of management. Meaning in lay man term, Me (as a boss) hire an internal auditor to check where my operations has gone wrong and rectify them. I determine their scope of work and what to check. They report to me. As such internal audit is rarely outsourced to other companies being nobody will do such a thing due to nature of job. Its rather they just hire the staff straight into their internal audit dept. Those firms you hear like Big4s are more into external auditing.

But internal audit is a non-obligatory job and if its part of the firm's offering it may fall under advisory.

Advisory is basicly a value added service which centres on advising client what to do, rectify problems and offer solutions. The post are normally suitable for experienced people as they are more mature in thinking and experienced in daily life and work. Do you want a 25 year old telling a 40 year old what to do even if he is a MBA graduate ? Some people can but due to egoism, this is quite difficult. This is where art of communication comes in which are advisors / consultants forte.

One advisor once told me what is like. Imagine a datuk/director/CEO ask you something like "What will happen to my company's profit if I implement this or that?" Consultants will need to think of something in less than 5 seconds and come out with an answer. Real time reaction he called it or bluffing skills. Act as though you know eventhough you may not know. A popular insider jokes circulating among consultants is the word consulting comes from the word "con".

And the first thing to become a good advisor/consultant you also need to be a good researcher. Your attitude evidently is uninspiring at the moment but things aren't easy anyway.
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 8 2011, 06:27 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jan 8 2011, 05:08 PM)
Internal audit is audit done for the purpose of management. Meaning in lay man term, Me (as a boss) hire an internal auditor to check where my operations has gone wrong and rectify them. I determine their scope of work and what to check. They report to me. As such internal audit is rarely outsourced to other companies being nobody will do such a thing due to nature of job. Its rather they just hire the staff straight into their internal audit dept. Those firms you hear like Big4s are more into external auditing.

But internal audit is a non-obligatory job and if its part of the firm's offering it may fall under advisory.

Advisory is basicly a value added service which centres on advising client what to do, rectify problems and offer solutions. The post are normally suitable for experienced people as they are more mature in thinking and experienced in daily life and work. Do you want a 25 year old telling a 40 year old what to do even if he is a MBA graduate ? Some people can but due to egoism, this is quite difficult. This is where art of communication comes in which are advisors / consultants forte.

One advisor once told me what is like. Imagine a datuk/director/CEO ask you something like "What will happen to my company's profit if I implement this or that?" Consultants will need to think of something in less than 5 seconds and come out with an answer. Real time reaction he called it or bluffing skills. Act as though you know eventhough you may not know. A popular insider jokes circulating among consultants is the word consulting comes from the word "con".

And the first thing to become a good advisor/consultant you also need to be a good researcher. Your attitude evidently is uninspiring at the moment but things aren't easy anyway.
How come you believe on MBA graduates without operating experience? Theory and practice is different, this is what I face in audit firm that seniority plays lots, although the junior members are better than the seniors.

Added on January 8, 2011, 6:31 pm
QUOTE(SP1R1T @ Jan 5 2011, 08:17 PM)

I stay in audit line and you know the jobs are relaxing, No OT. Got free acommodation and 4 stars hotel, meals are paid by clients. And visiting many good places when doing audit, travels a lot. Sadly, I am not that kind of type of person, I don't like communicating with people and travelling, I prefer stay at home and relaxing back office job. What is ur suggestion for me?

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 8 2011, 06:31 PM
imgeng
post Jan 8 2011, 07:43 PM

with only have diploma qualify , can i go for Big4? or ... its lower needs also need degree? can i use experience to cover up? =="
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 8 2011, 09:58 PM

1,569 posts

diploma can la.

http://www.jobstreet.com.sg/jobs/2010/12/e...447785.htm?fr=J
fastreader
post Jan 8 2011, 09:58 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jan 8 2011, 05:08 PM)

good explnation!!! {EDITED}

This post has been edited by fastreader: Jan 8 2011, 10:00 PM
lilster
post Jan 8 2011, 10:02 PM

636 posts

sigh, i've submitted my application for associate position(fresh grad) to PWC last december. around mid dec. but till now still no replies =(

203 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:27 PM