7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V2, gold ring or f/2.8 and bigger !

edwardgsk
post Dec 12 2010, 04:04 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Dec 12 2010, 03:48 PM)
No, the surrounding when I took the second photo really as dark as what you see... The model was not in the car display region, she was giving handouts in the middle of the walk way~ no spotlight~

But General_Nic's photo has brighter background because he used f2 + flash T___T

Teach me the solution la  brows.gif
Perhaps you should include some lighted OOF background in the picture, can add contrast to your photo. Honestly your photo looks too "bulleye" already. Whole photo overly filled with your subject. Too tight cropping sometimes will make your photo looks flat/no depth. yawn.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 12 2010, 04:22 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Dec 12 2010, 04:08 PM)
hmm.gif true... I also found out too tight, unless I have lighted bokeh like celciuz's one.
I can't "include" lighted oof background in the 2nd photo simply because I can't take it lighted that time.

Unlike my another photo, better? posted few pages before

BTW you haven't taught me how to fix the demb panel dropping down tongue.gif
Nope, this is worse. Her elbow and sleeve is cropped away. Like I said, don't crop it too tight. sad.gif
Always include some space around your focused subject.

user posted image user posted image

For the dropping demb, slit 1 or 2 pieces of tiny cut manila paper or card paper in between the hinge, it will become tighter already lo. dry.gif

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: Dec 12 2010, 04:32 PM
edwardgsk
post Dec 12 2010, 04:38 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Dec 12 2010, 04:33 PM)
Hmm yea cropped elbow... but personally I prefer half body shots rather than almost full body shot like yours. Not that it's not nice but personal preference. Maybe I should leave space for the elbow but still I prefer half body. Hmm need more practice haha.

You know, I only get to shoot portrait during such events =S Need to improve in composition  nod.gif

Thanks for the tips, I already have an idea but since you said you have it working so I ask you first. ^^
Already thought you would prefer half body shot, as observed from your photos in flickr and previous posted shots, so I included another picture in my previous reply. rolleyes.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 12 2010, 04:41 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Dec 12 2010, 04:40 PM)
I saw that already, just now visited your flickr. Nice shot!
When shooting I didn't leave space, ended up like this. Next time will try to improve my compo ^^
thanks  smile.gif
Thanks for visiting my flickr. biggrin.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 12 2010, 05:20 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Dec 12 2010, 05:12 PM)
Copy from the wanna buy a camera thread since no one response there..

Hi guys, im planning to buy either one of the following:

Nikon d90 + 50mm lens - price arnd 2.8k
Nikon d3100 + 35mm lens - price arnd 2.5k

I dont hv any specific style of photography. Which one is the best bang for buck for me to use it for 2-3 yrs from now. Most of the research i done for the last few days is to go for d90 because of the internal motor, can do wireless flash and so on while ken rockwell suggest to buy the d3100 and the 35mm lens for normal daily use..

Why i choose nikon is because my dad is using it and i can borrow his flash and lens later on lol
It's up to your justification for the camera body, because both D3100 and D90 is equally awesome in producing nice photos.
D3100 is cheaper, but with new sensor and EXPEED2 processing engine, ISO performance is superb and you get fullHD recording. biggrin.gif

D90 losing in terms of video recording, but you get more accessible buttons to change settings on the outside, which I personally can't live without it seriously. nod.gif
Built in motor gives you ability to autofocus with older lens without built in motor, but heck, how many people here still thinking of getting old lens?! doh.gif

As for lens, 35mm is more useful then 50mm on crop sensors for daily usage for most people, but I always complain I don't get enough zoom! That's why I use 50mm myself most of the time. 35mm f2 is in drybox most of the time. It's up to your own preferences, go try both them yourself and see which focal length you are more comfy to work with. wink.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 12 2010, 05:38 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Dec 12 2010, 05:28 PM)
You forgot to mention the top LCD. it's convenient and more battery saving when changing the settings, since you no need to use the 3inch LCD to adjust.

And yea the D300/D90 like buttons are easier to access. ISO, WB, quality etc has its own buttons.
Oh yeah the mightly top lcd rclxms.gif
But I seldom use that. I always using the info panel inside the viewfinder for my settings, so I won't miss too much chances of capturing the moments brows.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 12 2010, 06:25 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Dec 12 2010, 06:14 PM)
hi bro,actually i saw the D3100 does not come with built in motor right?

So the only advantage is that it D90 allows u to use older lens without built in motor?

I am considering D3100 or D7000.

I am a beginneer so if theres not much difference.I must as well get the D3100.Heard loads of good reviews about it.
Correction made to prevent misunderstanding.

D3100 does not come with built in motor, therefor you can't autofocus with older lens like AF-D 35mm f/2D or 50mm f/1.8D, which don't have built in motor in the lens. You only only auto focus with new AF-S lens like AF-S 35mm f/1.4G or 50mm f/1.4G.

If you have the budget, D7000 is definitely better to go with. nod.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 12 2010, 06:28 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(akagidemon @ Dec 12 2010, 06:14 PM)
guys a question. how do u clean beach sand that get into a ball head?

now my ball head not smooth already.
Use concentrating high pressure water spray to push it out icon_rolleyes.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 12 2010, 07:30 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

^It helps. smile.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 12 2010, 10:35 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Some shots from photography class, taken in studio the other day. biggrin.gif

user posted image user posted image

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: Dec 12 2010, 10:36 PM
edwardgsk
post Dec 12 2010, 11:04 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(kaizenng90 @ Dec 12 2010, 10:48 PM)
bro, where did you go for the photography class?
mind to share??
smile.gif  smile.gif
My college sweat.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 12 2010, 11:29 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(wp188 @ Dec 12 2010, 11:19 PM)
Upload some pictures from KLIMS
C&C are always welcome  smile.gif

Noise quite visible to me.

Added on December 12, 2010, 11:44 pm1 spam before continue assignments rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: Dec 12 2010, 11:44 PM
edwardgsk
post Dec 13 2010, 10:46 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Dec 13 2010, 10:06 AM)
Seriously, I also have been shooting non stop for 3 Saturdays since 31/11/2010. But overall, it's an enjoyable thing to do lar. smile.gif

Comic Fiesta cosplay shooting this Saturday, anyone? tongue.gif
I will be working there as event photographer dry.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 13 2010, 11:31 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Dec 13 2010, 10:51 AM)
With your D3s + 70-200mm VRII prowess? brows.gif

Maybe I'll try to look for you this Saturday when you're *free* if you don't mind smile.gif
Hope the D3s doesn't cry when I use it. It's my dads' btw sweat.gif
Doesn't want to accept this job at first. Low pay and tiring sad.gif

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: Dec 13 2010, 11:36 AM
edwardgsk
post Dec 13 2010, 11:32 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Dec 13 2010, 11:15 AM)
got media pass? get 1 for me can?  laugh.gif

may not be able to go, even if can go can go 1 day only  sad.gif
Nope. I'm using normal pass only.
End of the event only claim from my friend, who is my client wink.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 13 2010, 11:52 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Dec 13 2010, 11:45 AM)
what time is it starting? Is it possible for me to find a sweet spot to shoot without having the photographer's pass?
10am-9pm for saturday, 10am-8pm for sunday.
Sweet spot? I don't think there's any restriction area lah. Maybe the VIP seats near the stage there outside people cannot enter only lo.

Bring a telephoto lens with you just in case. smile.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 13 2010, 12:33 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Dec 13 2010, 11:56 AM)
Ouch! I do not know whether my 18-105mm kitlens is good enough or not. sweat.gif

Maybe just go for wide angle lar.. if not close enough. tongue.gif
Can gua, but you will need a flashgun. The ballroom is quite dark. sweat.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 13 2010, 11:56 AM)
Don't know got time for CF or not hmm. LOL. Probably gonna go with 85 and 1635 again xD. Bag can either fit 2 lens LOL~
Lets poison people with FXs together brows.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Dec 13 2010, 12:03 PM)
u go CF with 85mm i DEFINITELY will go  laugh.gif
Any celciuz-rob-plan, pm me. I'm interested whistling.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 13 2010, 12:49 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Go buy 1 lah. I got my second SB600 from a friend who just jumped ship recently for RM370 brows.gif
This coming weekend gonna carry D3s, D300, 17-35 f/2.8, 70-200 f/2.8, SB900 and SB600.

Die la my neck. cry.gif cry.gif

edwardgsk
post Dec 13 2010, 05:26 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Dec 13 2010, 04:42 PM)
If want save $$$, never play technology stuff. Go play real estates. 101% gain !
Play film la then! FM2 FTW!! lust.gif
edwardgsk
post Dec 13 2010, 05:39 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Dec 13 2010, 05:29 PM)
DSC_1639 by elainor91, on Flickr

manuka tree this is what they produce manuka hooney from...
Messy bokeh, I think it will be nicer if you go nearer and composition offset it a bit smile.gif

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0571sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:29 AM