Single 28-300mm when travelling for me.
Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V2, gold ring or f/2.8 and bigger !
Dec 26 2010, 09:03 PM
871 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Single 28-300mm when travelling for me.
Dec 26 2010, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Dec 26 2010, 09:26 PM) shit . my nikon bag drop . f*** up lor . my flash in mount on the hotshoe . Oh noess!!! Sorry for your loss... but...now the flash mount is broke . » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 1.) buy a metal mount flash. That means no 3rd party crap. I've dropped my camera and heavy lens and flash so many times, bumped here and there. Still working as though they're new, even though they don't look new. Metal body + metal lens + metal hotshoe = WIN. 2.) buy a proper bag, don't use that sorry excuse of a bag nikon/canon gives. Again, I bought one thinktank bag... used it for 3+ years already. The zippers still feel new, the straps and buckles are still solid as ever, though inside the bag is all yellowed and worn out, and the foam and velcro all busted. A little investment up front is usually more worthwhile. |
Dec 26 2010, 10:34 PM
Dec 26 2010, 10:43 PM
SC for the hotshoe? I dunno... But I know people with experience with Nissin is that its not replaceable, even if you're willing to pay. So... new speedlight! Might I suggest the nice, new SB700?
Dec 26 2010, 11:18 PM
I stand by my Thinktank(UD35v1) and my old Lowepro(Off Trail 1). Trashed, travelled round the world. On a river whitewater rafting, into the sea (yes, dropped into the sea, but luckily not much water went inside and everything survived), mud, desert sandstorm, savannah safari, arctic snowstorm, into caves, up to the mountaintops and they're still working fine.
A more friendly, casual photo encounter. ![]() Hello Kitty!!! |
Dec 26 2010, 11:34 PM
Dec 27 2010, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(thomaskhling @ Dec 27 2010, 12:00 AM) Holy Moses!! In any other country, you'd bring the bag back to nikon, they'd replace it, your camera and flash, and then issue a product recall because obviously its a product failure. In our beloved country... you suffer and buy a new flash... And many other people will suffer the same fate. Sad isn't it?Tuan tuan, puan puan, pakcik pakcik n makcik makcik sekalian, please be aware of this. It might happen to anyone of you... thanks |
Dec 27 2010, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Dec 27 2010, 12:15 AM) I don't think so... Its lighter and more powerful. You do however get commander mode, and easier to use controls. I'd say a true upgrade will be to SB900 and SB700 more of a side-grade since you win some but lose some as well.Added on December 27, 2010, 12:20 am QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Dec 27 2010, 12:09 AM) That's why I never use the Nikon bag. At least got lucky to get the leather type than the BIG Nikon words there. Lots of people complaining about the mount of Nissin flash. Need to handle with care. If i do get Nissin, it think i will break it at the early stage. I got the habit when i'm lazy, i will pick the camera up from the flash(flash attached). Not from the grip. : I pick up my setup by the lenses and flash as well. Thats why... metal metal metal!!! Can't stress enough on the need for metal stuff.This post has been edited by adriancs: Dec 27 2010, 12:20 AM |
Dec 27 2010, 12:23 AM
@eddy your body no commander mode? Uh... if not... then yes the SB700 would make for a nice upgrade. But get an extra unit, don't sell your SB600. The SB600 can be used in CLS as a slave unit.
Dec 27 2010, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(faareast @ Dec 27 2010, 12:24 AM) Uh... the plastic mount alone makes it not "worth it". All the other specs are irrelevant if you can't mount your flash on your camera.I've personally seen more broken mounts than I'd like to. IMHO SB800 was the "perfect" flash from Nikon. Even the SB900 is a downgrade if you ask me. Heavier, more expensive and less power. |
Dec 27 2010, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Dec 27 2010, 12:30 AM) it has a built in commander mode but i need to pop up the built in flash for it to work ... i dont know if there is a work around for this or not ... Yea, you'd use the pop up flash to "trigger" the rest of your setup. You can set your pop up flash to be trigger only and not have any effects on the subject. |
Dec 27 2010, 02:32 PM
I bought eneloops RM45 for 4 in Pg. And I use Sanyo's 2hr fast charger. Even if the batts die after 6mths or a year so what? Just buy a new set la. I've no time to babysit them overnight.
Dec 27 2010, 02:35 PM
Dec 27 2010, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Dec 27 2010, 02:30 PM) dunno , dont have other charger d , it is a panasonic charger , It could be that your batts are old and high internal resistance, hence the heat, and if your charger doesnt have a temperature controlled auto cutoff, they'll overheat. After charging does your batts run flat very fast, like they cant hold charge? If so, its time to get a new set of fresh batteries.sanyo charger good o , 2hour cn charge full . Be careful they might on fire if no cutoff... |
Dec 27 2010, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Dec 27 2010, 02:38 PM) NiMH cells hv memory effect. If you dont run down your cells everytime before you charge, eventually they lose the ability to hold charge. A reconditioning charger first drains all the charge from the cell, usually done overnight, before slow charging it back to full.I usually do that once every month or two when I charge my cells. |
Dec 27 2010, 02:43 PM
@KTCY is there a button on the side that says refresh?? Press and hold it for 3-5secs with your batts loaded and it will go into refresh cycle.
Dec 27 2010, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(laputa83 @ Dec 27 2010, 04:11 PM) Hi all, is minor creeping normal when the camera mount on the tripod? What do you mean by creeping? If its zoom creeping as in your lens gets an erection all by itself, then yes its normal.I experience minor creeping when i zoom to max on my 50-150 sigma on D90, attach to vanguard alta pro 264 tripod, SBH-100 ball head. Which is quite disturbing. If you're seeing camera shake while mounted on tripod, then no, thats bad. You have a crap tripod. To check, extend your zoom to max zoom, then look thru the viewfinder. Then tap on the end of your lens or lens hood. If you see movement thru the viewfinder, then that means that shaking will come up in your photos. Get a better tripod and head. |
Dec 27 2010, 05:55 PM
Means ur ball head cant really take d weight...
| Change to: | 0.1008sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:35 PM |