14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

chiahau
post Jan 31 2011, 09:21 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Malcom522 @ Jan 31 2011, 09:13 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM2000 to RM3000 with lens
Your Location : SABAH
Preferable brand : Canon, Nikon & Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : D3100 / D90 / A33
Any specific features u want? : Photo & video
Either d3100 or A33. I recalled that A33 has a stronger video recording functions though.
chiahau
post Jan 31 2011, 08:09 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(azim61 @ Jan 31 2011, 07:38 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget : RM2.5K below
Your Location : Selangor
Preferable brand : Canon, Sony, Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, Video Recording
Any specific models in mind? : Canon 500D and Nikon D5000
Any specific features u want? : Features that should have on DSLR
Top up 200 to get 550D would be better or get Sony A33 with twin kit at that price.
chiahau
post Feb 1 2011, 10:12 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(demonicbeing @ Feb 1 2011, 09:20 AM)
A friend of mine told me D90 have a motor inside it that makes it compatible with lens that have no motor.

does D7000 also have this feature?.

thank you really much for your help here.
D7k also has the built in AF motor, no worries.

QUOTE(amir_zohaib @ Feb 1 2011, 09:30 AM)
Okay I need some Help
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  (USED)DSLR camera
Budget : RM1000 including kitlens
Your Location : ShahAlam
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait, with awesome DepthOfField!
Any specific models in mind? : 1000D, 550D,D90,D3000,D3100,D60,D40
Any specific features u want? :i need CHEAPEST with Movie recording feature, and a CHEAPEst without Movie recording,but i need Full control on all the parameters, ie Shutter speed, aperture,..etc

now Please tell me 2 models, 1 with movie feature and 1 without movie
and the budget i have is for USED camera only..
USED? And you want to spend only 1k? You might as well get a PnS.

1000D used perhaps possible. 550D impossible, D90 impossible, D3100 impossible. The rest, you ownself dig la.

Sony A100 or A230 or stg maybe possible.
chiahau
post Feb 1 2011, 11:14 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(demonicbeing @ Feb 1 2011, 10:38 AM)
so it is safe to say that anything that is inside of D90 is also available inside of D7k blink.gif ?.
d7k newer model. Of course everything inside and outside D90 also D7k ada lol......
chiahau
post Feb 2 2011, 01:14 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 2 2011, 01:12 PM)
I wanna ask, I am stuck between compact interchangeable lens camera like gf2 nex5 and some entry level dslr like d3100 or Sony a33. The thing I love about those gf2 camera is tat they are compact enuf to bring around. But I scare I will have to sacrifice alot of image quality for it.
NEX 5 is comparable to A33's performance, only lesser lens support for it lol.

Compact interchangeable cant really match DSLR but it can perform almost similar to it.
chiahau
post Feb 2 2011, 02:06 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 2 2011, 01:24 PM)
I see, how about can they compare to those entry level dslr like d3100? So hard to choose becos I am buying my 1st camera..
Frankly, I feel that A33 pawns D3100 in terms of specs sheet and performance. But then again, you can't simply go to a conclusion like that.

I prefer the A33 over the D3100 based on my own preference la. Others maybe prefer D3100.
chiahau
post Feb 5 2011, 12:28 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(qdipanda @ Feb 4 2011, 11:17 PM)
hi,

if i buy a new Canon 550D body + 18200 tamron lens is it worth to buy?
Might as well get 18-55 n 55-250 instead of 18-200.

I heard 18-200 lacks IQ, despite more convenient all around travel lens.
chiahau
post Feb 5 2011, 10:11 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Feb 5 2011, 01:57 AM)
If you intend to buy 18-200mm, why not consider tamron 18-270mm?
I am not buying 18-200. He's buying it XP
And 18-270 is quite soft from 200 onwards.

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 5 2011, 07:07 AM)
I prefer D3100. tongue.gif
can as well consider D3100/any other model + 18 200 Nikkor. <- I bet a way better compare to Tamron
550D alone would've been better for D3100 tongue.gif

Unless you wanna go Sony, 550D any given day is better than D3100. With 18-55 n 55-250, it would be awesome too.
chiahau
post Feb 5 2011, 08:17 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 5 2011, 01:56 PM)
awww.. don't be like that lar bro..
I found out 550D ISO performance is worse to D3100. tongue.gif
yesterday test it out with my friend 550D, I guess it's because the sensor size.

come la jump ship to nikon tongue.gif hahaha..
just my 50 dollars tough brows.gif
if you are videographer go for 60D.
else go for 7D, budget problem? 550D.
else 1000D will serve you right as well.
Nvm. Shall not feed the troll hmm.gif

Btw, get 60D dun get 18-200. Might as well get kitty 18-55 n 55-250 n 50 f1.8 XP Most people like this combo much. Unless you can afford L's la then that's another story.

If not, 550D with such lens would be an awesome learning curve as well lol.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Feb 5 2011, 08:33 PM
chiahau
post Feb 5 2011, 08:27 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 5 2011, 08:22 PM)
Photographing is not how expensive your tools are but how creative and skill you are as well.

This sifu take all his photos with a canon 550D
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kytz/with/5397847260/

When u think ure up to another standard considering a better body is not too late. Like the video i posted above cheap body + pro lens = ownage

If u are new to photography best i recommend get 550D at least comes with video recording as well. No point get mid class then few months later sell. Most important are the lens
I see kytz's name~! Lol.

Those shots are taken with 50mm, if I am not mistaken ....

550D's awesome lol. 60D's better with the articulating screen and videography, but if you hardly use video like me, maybe the 550D would be better.
chiahau
post Feb 5 2011, 08:45 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 5 2011, 08:39 PM)
He sifu ma. Haha u see his photos quite nice even from canon 550D somemore with 50mm F/1.8 lens only.

Honestly i hardly use the articulating screen at direct sunlight u cant see anything on the screen hahaha.

I see alot ppl as beginner straight go for canon 60D already.
He learn from me de leh XP

LOL. Later he sure kill me de tongue.gif

Articulating screen quite useful, if you use it for video, or perhaps some tight angle shots. I would not say its useless. Its a good feature to have, albeit the price.

If you want to shoot a model from above, then the articulating screen is a plus to have lol.
chiahau
post Feb 6 2011, 11:16 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lightonokira @ Feb 6 2011, 11:05 AM)
Hoooh, i've heard of 60D,

but how is it in comparison with

Nikkon D90 and 550D?

any reason for it to win over these?
60D is the bigger brother of 550D. It has the articulating screen, quite useful when shooting tight angle.

D90 is already old, compared to 60D. I would not say that its bad, but 60D is the newer tech so it might be better to get the newer ones? Lol.
chiahau
post Feb 6 2011, 11:42 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lightonokira @ Feb 6 2011, 11:27 AM)
okay, that concludes..
can someone pls state the normal pricing for 550d and 60d thanks!
2.7k with kit for 550D, 2.9k++ body only for 60D. I not sure the kit price for 60D though.
chiahau
post Feb 8 2011, 01:35 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lightonokira @ Feb 7 2011, 11:03 PM)
hi

im still in a dilemma

Sony A580, Canon 550D, D5k, D7k

DxOmarks says the A580 is a great deal for the price..

can someone please entertain me

If can go D7000, why not? But A580 is more than capable to be a good match-up with it. Having almost all feature and lesser price. Value for money?

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 8 2011, 12:52 AM)
I believe you will forget about your kit lens when you have 17-50mm tamron.
forget about tamron 70-300 its IQ sucks. IMHO
get the proper lens. what is your budget and your purpose anyway?
I will go for D7k at anytime. tongue.gif
if I have the budget of course.
What crap you talking now?

Tammy 70-300 produces decent image for a 7xx bucks tele lens la.

Nobody ask you compare with a 70-200 f4L lens or some G lens ma.

If you never use before then lens, no need act smart and give unnecessary comment.

Tammy 70-300 produces decent IQ for its low price. Sharp and quite ok toward the 300 end.

chiahau
post Feb 8 2011, 01:43 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 8 2011, 01:39 AM)
I said IMHO <- In my humble opinion.
I played with it on futuromic and it doesn't please me. so what?
should I lie and say it is a very good lens??  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
Yea. Your honest opinion beats out many happy user of 70-300 lens right?

Oh I forget! You are sifu ma.

Aiyo sorry. Noob people like me will refrain posting anymore against your "pro" insights.

It does not please you also but it does not suck what?

Sometimes, it the skills of the photographer that is lacking till they have to critic the lens being "sucky" for their use.

I rest my case. Most reviews about this lens plus user experience said its a cheap, decent tele lens. I choose that and got it happily.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Feb 8 2011, 01:45 AM
chiahau
post Feb 8 2011, 03:40 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lightonokira @ Feb 8 2011, 03:14 PM)
yes ive heard alot on 580

seems like its a good choice to go for that..

how about the lense?

should i go for kit.. or aftermarket lense?

can someone entertain me
Kit or 3rd part if you can afford it.

Tammy 17-50 or CZ16-80 is good choices for kit replacement lens. There's few options out there so go research and check your budget lol
chiahau
post Feb 9 2011, 12:17 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Corrupted Spirits @ Feb 8 2011, 11:51 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact/SLR
Budget : RM3000 include kitlens
Your Location : Penang
Preferable brand : Sony or Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Normal shoots for now
Any specific models in mind? : Sony TX-9, NEX 3/5
Any specific features u want? : Pink color?

My girlfriend planned to get one which is either the Sony TX-9 or NEX 3/5. One of the reason she prefer Sony is because of the color  sweat.gif

Her plan was to get the NEX 5 but I'm trying to persuade her in not getting that one. She is still a beginner and I think it would be a waste for her to spend so much on a camera now. Any sifu can recommend compact camera's that fit the criteria above?
Why not NEX? Its a good camera, with few nice features and things to play with. She's a beginner means she can't learn how to use good camera fast? Lol.

Your budget is around 3k. That's enough for some entry level DSLRs already. Just let her get the Nex 5 and learn lo. Nothing is impossible.
chiahau
post Feb 9 2011, 04:42 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(sashik @ Feb 9 2011, 11:19 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM3000
Your Location : Kedah/Penang
Preferable brand : SONY
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape/Wedding/Potrait
Any specific models in mind? : A33 (twin lens) - RM2,799 (SONY online)
Any specific features u want? : with video mode.

Actually I fixed my mind on getting the A33 but I was wondering if I can get it cheaper elsewhere. Please kindly advice.
Erm, can get around 2.1k lowest from forumer here. Try searching a few. XP

QUOTE(accitzone @ Feb 9 2011, 02:24 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact + changeable lens.
Budget : MYR2.5k below.
Your Location : old klang road.
Preferable brand : Panasonic or Sony
Type of photography u want to do : day to day photography.
Any specific models in mind? : Pana Lumix DMC GF2 or Sony NEX 5
Any specific features u want? : as light a spossible
Nex 5 is quite decent for its price tag.
chiahau
post Feb 9 2011, 05:20 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Corrupted Spirits @ Feb 9 2011, 05:11 PM)
I'm not saying a beginner means that can't learn how to use a good camera fast.

What I'm trying to say is wouldn't it be better for her to learn from basic? I've read somewhere here where people asked beginners to learn from bottom with a compact camera until their skill > camera ability before stepping into SLR/DSLR.

And also perhaps some might suggest me with other camera's that would fit in the budget. I've got friends who said with the price of NEX, I would be better getting other models. And also I know nothing about photography, that is the reason I asked here.
For me, there is no such thing as learn with beginner's tool. I started photography with Nikon D90 and went further b3fore due to some shrewd reason, quit for a while.

There is no difference learning with a higher end camera compared to a basic camera. All you will get is improvement still.

Thus, if your girl is a smart and the type of person to advance herself in this field, Nex5 might suit her need and help her go far in this field. All depends on interest. If wanna use day to day shoot and dun care about how 2 improve, get a simple PnS hmm.gif
But if there is an interest to learn and advance herself, then why not a SLR / Nex / others? nod.gif
chiahau
post Feb 15 2011, 12:59 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jawa @ Feb 14 2011, 11:34 PM)
The lens that come together with the kit is AF-S lens?
Yeap. It comes with AF-S lens.

14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0444sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:16 AM