4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

Ryou
post Jan 1 2012, 09:46 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(adiwarna @ Jan 1 2012, 08:50 PM)
thanks for your input  icon_rolleyes.gif

btw do u have any other recommendation for DSLR? (budget around 2.5k + beginner)
What kind of photography you do the most? And what is your requirement.
Ryou
post Jan 2 2012, 02:10 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(nooboy @ Jan 2 2012, 01:42 AM)
which is good investment for m43 camere n got wide selection of lens?

im thinking either this 3 brand..

panasonic gf3
olmypus ep3
nikon v or j version
any opinion guys?
Nikon 1 is not m34 formatted system, not even close to it. It has only a tiny sensor.

Since Olympus and Panasonic are both in m43 format, they actually share the same mount, so you can actually you a Lumix Leica on Olympus's Pen and vise verse. Panasonic has been emphasizing in simplifying so that customers will be happy shooting with its AiAF mode, (The new GX1, however, does focus more on manual controlling). While Olympus PEN offers you more variety. If you want more access to the camera, EP-3 will be good enough to grant you all the controls. EPM-3 and EPL-3 are simplified brothers of EP-3 so it's more like GF3.

To me, Olympus's lenses serves my photography purposes well, with smoother manual focusing and real metal finishing. Panasonic seems to offer much automated lenses like its recently announced Superzoom X line-up, (Olympus does that too with the new 12-50mm). But as I said, they are interchangeable so either brand you go into, you can use lenses from both brands.

If your need is just to get a camera with compact body and interchangeable lens, why not consider Sony NEX which offers you even more superior image quality? It has a DSLR-sized APS-C sensor and wide range of lenses from Sony A-mount via adapter and you can use many epic and classic manual lenses. Some people even said that Sony NEX-5n and NEX-7 is Leica M9 for poor man. You can use Zeiss lenses, Voigtlander lenses and Leica lenses on NEX via cheap adapers and turn than into superb manual camera.

Anyway, if you are keen in m43, take my 5 cents above and you should be able to see what's good in both brands.
Ryou
post Jan 2 2012, 11:31 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(nooboy @ Jan 2 2012, 02:21 AM)
ahh i tot nikon is m43

should read more bout new nikon 1
owh.. that mean m43 camera mount can use any m43 lens? correct?
so sony also can use pana n olympus lens?
Olympus and Panasonic shares the same mount so their lenses are interchangeable, but Sony's NEX APS-C sized so their lenses are best customized for APS-C. You can also mount a m43 lens on NEX via adapter but I believe it will be cropped.

Added on January 2, 2012, 11:37 am
QUOTE(-IceGlacial- @ Jan 2 2012, 11:21 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Mid-range DSLR (body).
Budget: Below 2.5k perhaps? I haven't really set a budget yet.
Your Location:   KL/Kedah.
Preferable brand :  None.
Type of photography u want to do :  Landscape mostly.
Any specific models in mind? :  Had an eye on the Nikon D90 for a while, but then, yeah, seeking opinion for other same-tiered cams.
Any specific features u want? :  Best sensor I can get for the price perhaps? Lens isn't a matter right now first -I'll maybe settle on the kit lens till I can start raking in some income. And oh, yeah, second-hand-sellers are welcome too.

Thanks guys biggrin.gif.
Perhaps you should have a look on Sony's A55 or Sony A65. Since you mentioned you are looking on D90, then you would probably know that D7000 and Pentax's K5 utilized same sensors manufactured by Sony, which Sony used on A55. It's rumored that the coming Nikon D800 will share the same sensor with Sony's future fullframe, which is manufactured by Sony as well.

Sensor plays an important role in landscape because of its dynamic range. Sony's sensor is well-known for its excellently performing dynamic range. You should get a very rich color, high details in both highlight and darkness from Sony's SLT.

Added on January 2, 2012, 11:44 am
QUOTE(adiwarna @ Jan 1 2012, 10:18 PM)
landscape and portait...no specific requirement as I'm newbie.
You asked about mirrorless at first, and you asked about DSLR. They are basically 2 different systems. Both and do well in landscape & portrait.

Depends on what brands you prefer. I would personally recommend you into Sony since I'm a Sony user, but some sifu in forum will also recommend others like Canon and Nikon. All can do landscape and portrait well. Some claims that Canon performs better in portrait and Nikon performs better in landscape. I would say that no such thing exist, as all are digital cameras which its colors are actually digitally processed. So if you are going into DSLR (DSLT for Sony), I would say all brands are good.

But if you want to graba mirrorless. I will only recommend Sony NEX and m43 from Panasonic and Olympus. Nikon 1 is just not worth the money.

This post has been edited by Ryou: Jan 2 2012, 11:44 AM
Ryou
post Jan 2 2012, 03:20 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(mengher @ Jan 2 2012, 10:25 AM)
Shi fu, need advise..

is it worth to trade in Nikon d3000 for nikon J1?
Not worth AT ALL. You can get good image from D3000 with the APS-C sensor. And you want to trade it for a tiny baby sized sensor?

Added on January 2, 2012, 3:21 pm
QUOTE(ken_zie @ Jan 2 2012, 12:21 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : m43/mirrorless
Budget : RM3000 and below
Your Location : Penang
Preferable brand : Sony or Olympus
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, Travel, Leisure
Any specific models in mind? : Nex 5N, Olympus P3
Any specific features u want? : Sharp and vivid image, art filter
This is quite personal. Both will produce great picture. Depends on whether you want more speed or image quality.

Image Quality= NEX-5N
Speed= P3

This post has been edited by Ryou: Jan 2 2012, 03:21 PM
Ryou
post Jan 2 2012, 03:52 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(mengher @ Jan 2 2012, 03:49 PM)
Hmmm... but prob is d3000 too bulky for me.... ;(
mayb i shld consider & weight the need of camera type for me..tks..
If weight is a problem and you are considering a smaller body, go for Sony or m43 instead.
Ryou
post Jan 2 2012, 04:01 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(mengher @ Jan 2 2012, 03:57 PM)
but if i get other brand, i may not get that high value to trade in my d3000.... hmmm....
Then it all depends. whether you want to keep your value of D3000 but get a so-so Nikon 1 or top up some to get a camera which can perform as good as your D3000 is totally up to you. =)
Ryou
post Jan 2 2012, 10:47 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(fm_hyudin @ Jan 2 2012, 09:27 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Not sure
Budget:  RM 1500
Your Location:   Penang
Preferable brand :  Any brand
Type of photography u want to do :  Using digital camera Nikon L16. Find it picture not good. Want to use it for clear and sharp picture and the picture should be very clear and functions suitable for beginners. 
Any specific models in mind? :  No.
Any specific features u want? :  Clear and sharp.

Hi..

I'm totally new to photography and have no idea about camera.I have a nikon L16 and the picture quality is bad.Sometimes ok and most of the time the picture is very bad.I want a good camera which able to take photos very clear and basic video recording.If DSLR suits within my budget also would be ok. Please recommend me a good model. I'm sorry if I written something wrongly.As I had mentioned, I don't really know much about this camera.

Thank you in advance.
If your budget can be a bit higher, RM1900 should get you a Sony NEX-C3 with decent image quality.
If that's your only budget, you should be able to grab a Olympus XZ-1 with RM1200~1300. Both will give you excellent image quality. Sony NEX-C3 can deliver nice video but XZ-1's video is so-so only (But still considered HD).
Ryou
post Jan 3 2012, 09:19 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(citybug2000 @ Jan 3 2012, 07:02 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion.  Will look it up and see if this suits me. 

If i want DLSR, which one would be recommended?
Like sifu Zhao, I will recommend Sony for DSLR. Although I myself am highly interested in Olympus and Pentax as well. But Sony is my main choice.

But if for mirrorless sysmtem, both NEX and m43 will be my recommendation. biggrin.gif
Ryou
post Jan 4 2012, 09:05 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(citybug2000 @ Jan 4 2012, 08:18 PM)
LOL, to be honest i never thought of getting SONY.  It was always Nikkon or Canon! Have to seriously look into Sony cameras since both you and Ryou sifu recommends Sony.  Is it user friendly since my experience previously were all with Canon and Nikkon compact cameras!
Sony is always a brand ignored when one is choosing. Years ago, I was also considered only Canon and Nikon. Only after shortly I encountered Sony and learned that it has the highest Cost:Price ratio. And the whole system is complete enough from entry level to professional fullframe with wide range of lenses.

User friendly or not, it's quite personal. But I believe it's not very difficult to learn. In fact, I think Nikon has the most complicated layout. smile.gif
Ryou
post Jan 4 2012, 09:31 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(bladekiller @ Jan 4 2012, 09:21 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: minimal
Your Location:   Selangor
Preferable brand :  Pls recommend
Type of photography u want to do : Casual 
Any specific models in mind? :  X
Any specific features u want? :  X

I'm a newbie in cameras...clueless rclxub.gif
Please recommend me a unit suitable for a starter/beginner, with basic functions...
the camera comes with lens right??  icon_question.gif
if budget suits, might get 1 to play for fun! 2nd hand unit is also OK as long as it is working and no damage.
Canon EOS 1100D or Nikon D3100 should be affordable. Both are around RM1699 with kit lens and basic accessories. If really want cheaper, get the Sony a290, but the functions are indeed, really basic.

If you can have a better budget, get the Sony a35 and you will have almost the best in entry level.
Ryou
post Jan 5 2012, 01:00 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jan 5 2012, 12:48 PM)
Owner FFKed me already. Wasted my time and effort.  vmad.gif  mad.gif
Nevermind, you should be able to hunt one in the garage sales or and relevant forums. good luck!
Ryou
post Jan 5 2012, 09:19 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(bladekiller @ Jan 5 2012, 08:22 PM)
btw Ryou, do u recommend buying 2nd hand unit? I mean for a starter to play about...maybe the Sony a35. Saw the brand new is like rm2099 in the website.
Any good deals that are recomended?  unsure.gif
If the price is reasonable and the unit is well maintained, why not?

But if you can afford, get a brand new unit for peace of mind. =) Sony a35 is not the cheapest entry level DSLT in the current market. Nikon and Canon are selling theirs in RM1699 but I would say if you can afford, get the a35. It has more functions and better cost/price ratio.

Anyway, since this could be your very first investment. I would say go for Canon or Nikon if you only have budget of RM1700+. You can always change to other brand/system since you haven't invested too much into one brand.
Ryou
post Jan 6 2012, 05:20 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(bladekiller @ Jan 5 2012, 10:20 PM)
ya, i would like to know too

Added on January 5, 2012, 10:23 pmbtw, wat about olympus? is their product good?
apart from the ongoing news about their management in japan i think...
@Bladekiller, since you mentioned Canon EOS 1100D and Nikon D3100. In my opinion, both are very basic entry level DSLR. So go with either one you are most interested in. Both are more or less the same. D3100 doesn't have a built-in AF motor so some old lenses will not do AF on D3100. Although Nikon has released new version of the lenses such as 50mm f1.8 and 35mm f1.8, but they are relatively pricier. EOS 1100D on the other hand, will do AF with most lenses. However, if I were you, I will go for Nikon although the new G lenses are pricier, but their optics are improved, thus deliver better image.

Anyway, since this might be your very first DSLR, you can always change brand when you learn more and know what you prefer. It's easy to change when you haven't invested too much. If I were to recommend other beside these 2 models, I will recommend Sony a35 though.

@addedon, Olympus is another story already. They do produce DSLR, but in another format, called Four Third system. Four Third is a bit smaller than normal APS-C size featured on Canon/Nikon/Sony. But according to Olympus, they claimed that Four Third is best optimized for Digital. They claim that normal Fullframe lenses when used on APS-C sensor, will not deliver the greatest result. And Four Third lenses are specifically designed for Four Third system to avoid some imaging flaws such as flare and low dynamic range. You may notice that Four Third lenses (both Olympuc and Panasonic) have different focal length. For example, their kit lens is normally 14-42mm compared to normal 18-55mm on other system. This is because smaller sensor size, has larger crop factor, which is 2.0 instead of 1.5/1.6 on other APS-C sensor. so 14-42mm is basically equivalent to 18-55mm. So this is basically what's Olympus.

Ok, now if you look deeper inside Olympus DSLR, you may notice that Olympuc E-system have lighter ans smaller body. And they tend to produce camera which are tougher and more promising quality. Even some weather resisting lenses are made better in quality than many other brands. They are like real steel. That's why Olympus is another brand that NASA brought to the space beside Nikon. Image quality wise, Olympus is as good as other brands. I don't know why, but Olympus tends to render blue colour in a special way and nicer way. It's so special that people can easily recognize that's Olympus Blue. To be honest, Olympus is a good brand to be looked inside if you are interested.

Added on January 6, 2012, 5:22 pm
QUOTE(leerave @ Jan 6 2012, 12:50 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  ILC/DSLR
Budget: around RM2000
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand :  SONY, NIKON
Type of photography u want to do :  DSLR quality
Any specific models in mind? :  Sony nex c3 or Nikon d5100
Any specific features u want? :
NEX-C3 and Nikon D5100 are both differently designed for different purpose. What's your most interested aspect and the requirement?

This post has been edited by Ryou: Jan 6 2012, 05:22 PM
Ryou
post Jan 6 2012, 08:47 PM

866 posts

[quote=bladekiller,Jan 6 2012, 08:08 PM]i look through the website for Nikon, a brand new D3100 is almost 2k? rclxub.gif almost the same as the Sony a35 right?
EOS1100D is 1699 i saw in shops.

[/quote]

Nope. Street price is just about RM1699. Shops normally tend to hardsell 1100D and D3100. They will try to convince you not to buy Sony alpha. So they usually sell 1100D and D3100 with the same price.

Added on January 6, 2012, 8:48 pm[quote=leerave,Jan 6 2012, 08:27 PM]

Added on January 6, 2012, 5:22 pm

NEX-C3 and Nikon D5100 are both differently designed for different purpose. What's your most interested aspect and the requirement?

[/quote]

Actually, i think that nex c3 already can fulfill my requirement, with function similar to dslr but much lighter than a dslr and it is even better than the basic dslr like the nikon d3100 and canon 1100d. I just want to take picture like the dslr where i can manually choose which to focus, adjust the aperture size, shutter speed, etc. Sony nex c3 already can do this right? but i am not sure is it better to get a d5100 instead?

[/quote]

If you have the budget for D5100, go for Sony NEX-5n as well.

But if you are interested in Nikon lenses, then go for D5100 but expect some limitation of D5100 such as no AF on old lenses and can't AF during Video shooting.

This post has been edited by Ryou: Jan 6 2012, 08:48 PM
Ryou
post Jan 7 2012, 01:23 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(bladekiller @ Jan 7 2012, 08:56 AM)
Ryou, i got an offer for a D3100 with 18-105mm vr lens, priced at 1450

Like new condition....shutter count baru 8K
Camera bought on 27/11/2010, lens bought on 31/1/2011 (still under warranty)

the shutter count is quite high issnt? do u reckon its a good deal? icon_question.gif
If the lens is included, then it's considered cheap already. go and try how is it. =)

Added on January 7, 2012, 1:26 pm
QUOTE(VCBlogger @ Jan 7 2012, 09:19 AM)
Hi Bros,
I am also looking to get a new camera next month..

Based on the above it seems

Top Recommended DSLR for beginners : Sony A35
2nd Recommended DSLR for beginners : Nikon D3100
3rd Recommended DSLR for beginners : Canon EOS 1100D

How does the DSLR compares to those ...A Mount or PEN Series

Sony Nex 5
Olympus PEN Series E PL3

Would the Nex 5 or E PL3 be a better choice for someone with no experience in photography?

i am looking to spend max Rm3k ( prefer Rm2K) for a new camera..

Any advise appreciated
My advise is, you can even get a A900 or D4 no matter beginner or what. As long as you are really into learning photography.

Anyway, mirrorless although has got their advantage of being compact and high in image quality, it has their limitation as well. DSLR will be a safer inverstment if you want more speed and more lenses to be chosen from. But please think carefully for what you really want. Ask yourself whether you are going deeper into photography or just need a camera for taking photos. Then you shall know what to buy. =)

This post has been edited by Ryou: Jan 7 2012, 01:26 PM
Ryou
post Jan 8 2012, 07:29 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jan 8 2012, 06:49 PM)
Anyone know which budget family camera with adjustable flash light ?
Something like you are able to adjust the flash upwards or downwards or even left right ?
Megapixel > 8mp

Btw,  nikon said it bankrupt , is it true ? will there any cheap camera for sale ?
Very sorry to say but no budget camera comes with adjustable light.

In fact, the cheapest model to feature a flash which is available for external flash, will be the Olympus XZ-1 (RM1200~1300). and the additional flash itself costs another RM400.
Ryou
post Jan 9 2012, 11:41 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(superific6 @ Jan 9 2012, 03:30 PM)
But it's kinda expensive (RM1 549). Any camera else can you suggest? Thanks smile.gif
S95 is only selling at about RM1100-1200+-

Added on January 9, 2012, 11:44 pm
QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jan 8 2012, 08:19 PM)
Sorry , my mistake , Kodak sorry , thanks for correcting  notworthy.gif
so pricey  sweat.gif
What about accessories cover to reduce the flash light ? becayse using an old old olympus model which the flash is too bright .Family complain that the flash make their eye uneasy (bright spot in vision for long time 5 min or more)
I hope to reduce it , using http://www.olympus.co.uk/consumer/29_mju_digital_600.htm old camera.

Thank you . notworthy.gif
You can get a compact camera with large aperture such as Olympus XZ-1. Large aperture with slightly higher ISO should help you to get images clear enough with using flash. But night time is another issue.

There is a trick, diffuse your light with a piece of tissue. It often works!

This post has been edited by Ryou: Jan 9 2012, 11:44 PM
Ryou
post Jan 10 2012, 07:04 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(mdlan @ Jan 10 2012, 12:19 AM)
is this camera good?? just want to ask some opinion..
http://www.groupon.my/deals/national-deal/...amera/715938594

Samsung SH100
A good camera. biggrin.gif
Ryou
post Jan 11 2012, 05:02 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Jan 11 2012, 04:26 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : around RM3000-4000
Your Location : johor
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape,macro shots,portrait, all la..
Any specific models in mind? : undecided...want good ones...
Any specific features u want? : i dunno...newbie here...
Since you have such a high budget. Getting a Nikon D7000 or Canon EOS 60D shouldn't be a problem. I personally recommend D7000 for its toughness and the sensor. Since Sensor in D7000 is manufactured by Sony and Sony's sensors have recently received positive reviews. They are good for its dynamic range and high ISO performance. Those who claim Nikon has the best performance in these 2 aspects, some might not know the fact of Nikon sensors being manufactured by Sony, and little tweaked by Nikon.

60D in my opinion will win with some prime lenses in Canon EF, EF-S line-up such as 50mm f1.2, 85mm f1.2 and many other excellent prime lenses. But I believe Nikon will have better zoom lenses. It's 70-200mm f2.8 VR II being a very good example. For APS-C DX format Nikon, there is a Nikkor 16-85mm which is a very good APS-C zoom lens, and it arguably one of the best among all brands for its sharpness, built quality and focal range.

But I will also personally recommend you to consider DSLR from other brands too. Sony Alpha a77 will be my top recommendation. You can read more from the internet and should be very well impressed! biggrin.gif
Ryou
post Jan 11 2012, 09:14 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Jan 11 2012, 05:08 PM)
not quite into sony...
d7000 and eos 60d include lens??
i saw the 600d and quite like it... icon_rolleyes.gif
Lol. No harm having a look into Sony although people in Malaysia are majority C/N. I'm one of the proud user of Sony and also having a great interest in Pentax and Olympus for their superior quality. This may be personal but I gave up Canon and Nikon after years of using it and changed ship liao.

Anyway no fanboyism here so let answer your question.

Both D7000 and 60D should come with 18-105mm and 18-135mm respectively as their kit. If you dare to bare the risk of not under local warranty, Online shop T-dimension are selling 60D in a very reasonable price. Cheaper than what the local shops can offer. I don't think you should go for 600D since you can afford 60D.

Do you shoot much video? Be noted that Canon and Nikon can't do AF during Video shooting.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0271sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:22 AM