Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

Ryou
post Jan 11 2012, 10:17 PM

866 posts

Simple mathematics. By counting the advantages of both 60D and 600D, you should know what to choose.

Besides, I never trust websites which do not review cameras with samples but only specs. This is just like how normal DSLR owners (I do not mean photographers, there are difference) will simply tell you CXXXN or NXXXN are the best and only usable cameras in the earth.

If you know Canon EOS well, you should know all entry-level DSLR are named with a thousand/hundred digits models, intermediate-level DSLR are named with ten digits models and the professional-level DSLR are single digit named. So the current 1D, 5D and 7D will win 60D, and 60D will definitely win 600D and 1100D. That's simple.

Added on January 11, 2012, 10:21 pm7D VS A77

Added on January 11, 2012, 10:24 pmD7000 VS A77

If you read the 2 comparison above, you will see that the comparison makes no sense at all. A77 has more advantages but won 7D and lost to D7000, what kind of comparison is this? In fact, the "winning" factor is greatly decided by the votes gathered by the users. Apparently Canon and Nikon have MUCH MORE fans therefore it's not surprise for such result.

Anyway, just go for what you like. After all, the one using it is more important than the camera. You can always change when you feel you are ready for other camera.

This post has been edited by Ryou: Jan 11 2012, 10:38 PM
Ryou
post Jan 12 2012, 11:58 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(sharaeda @ Jan 12 2012, 03:03 AM)
Hi everyone.  biggrin.gif
Need some opinion here. I like beautiful pictures and I believe that I have no talent in photography. But I want to play around and buy myself a dslr and don't know which one should I choose. I'm not sure if this will gonna be a hobby or whatsoever interest that will make me upgrade the camera someday. And that's why, I don't know what to buy.  rclxub.gif

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : below RM2000
Your Location : Kuching
Preferable brand : -
Type of photography u want to do : err...kind of everything? tongue.gif
Any specific models in mind? : entry level dslr - sony alpha a290 & 390 ; canon eos 1100d ; nikon d3100
Any specific features u want? : no tongue.gif

thank you in advance!  wub.gif
Both Canon 1100D and Nikon D3100 will do excellent photography. Recently I saw shops selling RM1599 but normally RM1699 so it shouldn't be a problem for your budget. But if you could slightly top up your budget, Getting a Sony a35 will be the best in entry-level. In fact, if you always do HD movie recording, Canon and Nikon will have their limitations on Video especially AF and liveview. In the price range, only Sony allows you to shoot video in AF.

Olympus E510 and E420 are also good camera for lightweight. They are tough and produce good pictures as well. I especially like the blue colour produced by Olympuc Zuiko Lenses. Pentax k-r is a trendy model which has lots of colour to be chosen. If you used film Pentax lenses, you will know how good their lenses is. If my recall correctly, Pentax's kit lens is even weatherproof.

Anyway just go for any model you are interested in, as you can always later when you feel you need higher performance and are also interested in certain specific lenses in certain brands. Try to google into all models I recommended in above or you can personally pm me for details, I shall answer you if I have the knowledge you want. =)
Ryou
post Jan 13 2012, 12:06 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(lkhua79 @ Jan 12 2012, 09:55 PM)
Hi everyone,

Need some opinion from all the sifus here.  Basically I need a camera that is light weight, easier for me to carry around while going for my oversea trips, and at the same time can produce a good quality pic (like DSLR).  Any suggestions best on my criteria below and reason for that?

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Mirrorless/Micro
Budget : RM2k
Your Location : PJ
Preferable brand : Sony, Olympus, Panasonic
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, scenery
Any specific models in mind? : NEX-C3, E-PM1, GF3
Any specific features u want? : Nothing in particular

Thanks in advance
Sony NEX-5n or NEX-C3 with more lenses.
Ryou
post Jan 13 2012, 02:25 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(~ki3t~ @ Jan 13 2012, 12:58 AM)
Hi, i need suggestion for buying a digital camera~as long as the model is within my budget.

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact camera/point and shoot
Budget : RM1500
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : any brand
Type of photography u want to do : anything
Any specific models in mind? : -
Any specific features u want? : light weight and can zoom as far as possible
For that price, I believe Olympus XZ-1 will be a better performer. =)

Personally comapred S95 with XZ-1, S95 loses in almost every aspects except slightly faster operation time.
Ryou
post Jan 13 2012, 11:52 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(sharaeda @ Jan 13 2012, 11:21 PM)
Thank you so much! biggrin.gif
I'll check out the Olympus you suggested. Will be back to haunt you with some questions once I'm done googling & searching.  notworthy.gif
Most welcome, will help as much as I can. smile.gif
Ryou
post Jan 15 2012, 08:08 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 15 2012, 02:19 AM)
My local area all selling Nikon D5100 in the range of RM2500-RM2698,is it consider normal or expensive

RM2500 come with tripod,memory card and bag only
RM2698 come with tripod,memory card,bag,UV filter,LCD protector,Cleaning kit

Is the RM2698 best bang for buck?
Expensive

Added on January 15, 2012, 8:09 pm
QUOTE(joefacker @ Jan 15 2012, 08:24 AM)
Guys, need some help to get a camera for my gf, who wants the camera to be small enough to be carried around yet flexible enough to be fitted with various lenses for some serious photography when the need arises.

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  mirrorless / micro 3/4
Budget: 3.5k
Your Location:  pj
Preferable brand :  any
Type of photography u want to do : still learning so basically all types
Any specific models in mind? :  pana gx1, nikon j1/v1, olympus ep3 series
Any specific features u want? : 

any suggestions?
Forget about Nikon 1. Get either Sony NEX-5N, Lumix GX1 or Olympuc EPL/EPM-3

This post has been edited by Ryou: Jan 15 2012, 08:09 PM
Ryou
post Jan 15 2012, 10:34 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 15 2012, 09:18 PM)
So what price should i grab on it? I have no idea why my local store all sell so expensive :S
The fact is that they are taxed by Government and local retailer.

Normal price should be RM2399 but they are of course some grey set from online store such as T-dimension which I believe will have a better price but more complicated warranty issue.
Ryou
post Jan 15 2012, 10:38 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Moiteser @ Jan 15 2012, 08:42 PM)
hi guy.. wanna ask is panasonic G3 worth buying?? thinking of get 1
I remembered Lumix mirrorless are priced a bit expensive in Malaysia. If you can get a reasonably priced unit, Lumix is a good system with lots of potential.

But I would rather recommend Sony A77 if you want the similar advantages featured on G3. You can google for more information and pm me if you need more details on why I recommend it. I will try to answer if I can. =)

Added on January 15, 2012, 10:49 pm
QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 15 2012, 10:36 PM)
How to differentiate a original set and grey set?
Anyway got any forumer that can be trusted selling in cheap price at LYN?
Basically it's difficult to differentiate original and grey but I believe that each brand should have their authorized distributor in Malaysia. So checking the sticker of the distributor will be the direct way to differentiate.

This post has been edited by Ryou: Jan 15 2012, 10:49 PM
Ryou
post Jan 17 2012, 11:00 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Fizzy-Fiz @ Jan 17 2012, 07:17 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact/MILC/DSLR
Budget: 0-4k
Your Location: Kuantan
Preferable brand : Anything with good local support, trade value, community. Nikon?
Type of photography u want to do : In order of importance; Portrait, Macro, Landscape, wildlife, video.
Any specific models in mind? : no
Any specific features u want? : not sure how to say. but i do love good battery life and ergonomics.

so guys, basically just getting into photography. I was afraid if i just went 4k, I'll regret it. I heard that investing in lens is more worthwhile. I initially just wanted to get a prosumer, but someone pointed out it's just another step up for DSLR. Anyhow, I'd prefer the best bang for bucks camera, the rest of the money should go for lenses. I've no training in photography, shops that offers them would be a good plus, a camera with a low learning curve and decent functionality would be a home run.

thanks smile.gif
Since you get the budget, Sony a77 will be a very good investment for you. =)
Ryou
post Jan 18 2012, 09:54 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Fizzy-Fiz @ Jan 18 2012, 08:39 AM)
Whaddabout lenses?
You can either get a cheaper 18-55mm or spend more on better lenses such as 16-105mm, 16-80mm and 16-50mm f2.8. But their prices will vary, can always survey around garage sales. =)
Ryou
post Jan 21 2012, 12:56 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(cobray @ Jan 21 2012, 11:24 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Micro 4/3
Budget: RM 1400 - RM 1800
Your Location:   Johor Bharu
Preferable brand :  Panasonic
Type of photography u want to do :  Product Photography, Daily Usage
Any specific models in mind? :  GF2 or GF3
Any specific features u want? :  Fast autofocus, 14mm lens, Manual Control

I have been jumping thoughts between the GF2 or GF3 for my girlfriend. We will soon be opening an online shawl store and I figure a Micro 4/3 is perfect for her. We are on a really tight budget and I'm wondering if both of these cameras work well under artificial lighting. From reviews online ISO 3200 is very usable.

I'm leaning more towars the GF2 since I don't really like the near buttonless GF3. I was wondering how is the touchscreen on both of these models? I'm planning tu buy a Fuji X100 for myself and does the GF2/GF3 complements the Fuji x100? As in let's say when I want to go out shooting with her, does the GF2/GF3 give as much manual freedom as the X100? I want her to learn as much about photography as possible (she's interested in it.)
GF3's m4/3 will not be the same with the APS-C sensor on X100. Sony NEX-5N does.
Ryou
post Jan 21 2012, 07:43 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(GagaRemix @ Jan 21 2012, 01:32 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Compact digital camera
Budget:  RM 100 - RM 200 (Budget!)
Your Location:   Subang Jaya
Preferable brand :  Preferably Panasonic, but open for other better brands
Type of photography u want to do :  Daily usage (mostly for travelling purpose)
Any specific models in mind? :  No, I'm not an expert in this area
Any specific features u want? :  I don't know what this feature call, but I used to have one camera...every time when my hand move a little, the picture taken will have the blur blur effect. Or let's say im taking a pic of a car moving at fast speed, it will turned out to be very blurry. So please recommend me something that can avoid this. TQTQ!
Autofocus is a must of course biggrin.gif
That's image stabilization. But I'm afraid that RM200 will not give you any digital camera, not even without IS.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.6776sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:15 AM