Your picture is shot using JPEG with NR during PP?
Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher
Jan 25 2011, 10:51 PM
12,573 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
ISO3200 la..
Your picture is shot using JPEG with NR during PP? |
Jan 25 2011, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 25 2011, 10:57 PM) Nice thing about JPEG is that one doesn't have to see all the tons of noise during PP and it's so much faster to edit I might consider shooting RAW+JPEG in the near future, so that when I can straight away view the pictures, after a photoshoot This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jan 25 2011, 11:07 PM |
Jan 30 2011, 02:26 PM
Lens doesn't affect ISO performance
There are several factors as to how noticeable noise is: 1) What ISO are you shooting at? ISO3200 or ISO6400 is very challenging to many APS-C cameras already. 2) Lighting conditions! Noise is more apparent in darker areas compared to well-lit ones 3) Post Processing! If you''re editing a very underexposed picture.Increasing the brightness, to give it a more optimum exposure, will also make noise more noticeable 4) RAW or JPEG? JPEG is a processed image from your camera. Noise Reduction is already applied, thus sometimes you notice pretty usable shots at high ISO also. RAW on the other hand is just like the name, a raw image file. No Noise reduction is applied, so there's much more noise than JPEG.Advantages of noise in RAW, is that you can have the total freedom as to how much Noise Reduction you want to apply on it. Also, the quality of NR applied during PP on RAW files if better than the NR applied on JPEG in the camera. From my experience, RAW noise is very smooth and very consistent. JPEG on the other hand, has so much chromatic noise, and sometime very patchy and ugly noise lol 5)Size of your picture. The smaller the size you resize your picture at, the less noise you will "see". The more you pixel peep, the more noise you will see This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jan 30 2011, 02:26 PM |
Jan 30 2011, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Jan 30 2011, 02:51 PM) TQ all for your education, tqtqtq. I learn everytime i come into forum. Yes. Depending also how much NR you apply to it. The more you apply, the less details and sharpness One more question pls: If we shoot RAW, and then PP to reduce noice, it will reduce image sharpness a bit right? |
Feb 8 2011, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(inyourheart @ Feb 8 2011, 04:11 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR+lens 60D is a good choice for Videography since it has the variable angle screenBudget: <RM4000 Your Location: Klang Valley Preferable brand : Canon Type of photography u want to do : Video Any specific models in mind? : Canon 60D 18-55mm OR Advice Any specific features u want? : HD/ FullHD Vid Basically I need it for video shooting. Please advice :-) RM4k is a good budget for the whole DSLR set, as the 18-55 set costs roughly RM3.3k iinm. Add in a bag, some other accessories also. And you might want a LCD Viwefinder as well.Helps in video work QUOTE(desmond099 @ Feb 8 2011, 08:26 PM) Thank you everyone in this thread, i am a newbie DSLR user. Just realize i have so much more to learn. We're all learning here. So don't hestitate do pose a question or two. In the respective brand thread lar Alternatively, you can post it here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1719575&hl= |
Feb 8 2011, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(D_s_X @ Feb 7 2011, 08:04 PM) Hey guys, I need help here in a very big dilemma. Compact vs. DSLR Pretty simple question eh: Compact or DSLR?I've been thinking of getting a camera for ages but I can't seem to figure out whether to get a DSLR or Compact. Functionality wise, obviously I would use a compact more due to it's ease to carry but DSLR provides stunning photos (not saying compacts don't), the size might hinder me though to bring to everywhere I go. Time is another factor, due to my course resuming soon, the hectic schedule might not allow me to fully utilize my (imaginary now) DSLR so if I get a DSLR, would it be better to get a cheaper one? Or just go for compacts. The DSLR I have in mind are 550D, D3100, K-x, D90. The Compacts S95, LX-5 and those in the same range... You know it yourself already. DSLRs produce much better image quality,better low light quality, better versatility for upgrade(lenses,accessories as such), more responsive. Compacts on the other hand, are light and easy to carry around. Image quality I would say decent for its size. Tell you what: If you're buying a DSLR, you're actually investing into the camera If you're buying a compact, you're just buying a camera So my take is that, if you're serious about photography and really want take excellent pictures in the future, DSLR is the way to go If you're just casually taking pictures here and there, more of like "snapshots", then compacts should be the way. Cheaper alternative also, easy on your wallet. Well, you can always get a compact first. If you're not satisfied of the performance, you can always upgrade ma |
Feb 17 2011, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(rocks&bones @ Feb 15 2011, 10:42 PM) hey guys! i'm deciding to get a 'semi-pro' or a compact with manual controls. want to see where my new interest in photography will lead me to but at the moment, not considering to buy a dslr yet (unless price is right ) anyways, i was thinking maybe the panasonic lumix LX5 is the one to go for? luv the retro-ish design n the manual controls. but of coz i do wish it comes with higher megapixel, full HD video instead of HD & further zooming. So perhaps you camera kaki's here got better recommendations. I guess my budget will be abt (rm1.6k+). Btw, RM1.6K can get you Canon,Sony or Nikon entry level DSLR already. So you might want to think twice? Type of camera/lens/accesories: 'semipro'/ compact with manual controls (aperture/shutter priority)/ dslr (if my budget allows) [B]Budget: RM1.6k+ [B]Your Location: Penang Island [B]Preferable brand : Open to all brands janji camera bagus [B]Type of photography u want to do : new in photography, so i would say an all rounder shooting [B]Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic Lumix LX5 [B]Any specific features u want? : Full HD (1080) video recording, manual controls. Thanks! QUOTE(nickelkadmium @ Feb 15 2011, 10:56 PM) Hi guys need help here Specifications wise, LX3 is better than the other 2 since it's positioned as a "higher end" camera.Type : compact/semi-pro Budget : 1k - 1.5k Your Location : PJ, subang (Please recommend place to purchase as well =)) Type of photography : potrait/landscape prefer smthg tat can take gud pics in low light condition (night mode) Pls help me chose between the lumix lx3 or lumix tz-10 and also the sony wx5..i have tried all and all are great..just cant decide to buy which one Anyway, LX3 is old and already replaced by the LX5. Canon also has the awesome S95 which is pocketable yet, deliver good results. Both are awesome stuff Else, there's the Olympus XZ-1 iinm, with has slightly better specs than the two. But function/ergonomics wise, I can't say much since I've yet to test it personally. But reviews seems promising! QUOTE(LazyChildren @ Feb 15 2011, 11:12 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR Camera For your first recommendation:Budget: <4k Your Location: KL Preferable brand : Nikon or Canon Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, potrait Any specific models in mind? : Any specific features u want? : with this budget which model I can get and which kit i should go for?? just recommend me.. I know with this budget able to get 550D, 60D, mayb D7000.. or i just wait for 600D?? when it will launch in malaysia?? so which got competitive advantage?? Type of camera/lens/accesories : Semi Pro Camera Budget: <2.6k Your Location: KL Preferable brand : Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, potrait Any specific models in mind? : Any specific features u want? : besides DSLR.. Im thinking semi pro camera also.. currently in my mind got Lx-5, GF1, GF2, Nex3, Nex5.. which better?? thx in advance.. First of all, what is it that you seek from a camera? You're mentioning many models there... And if you should also allocate budget for lens purchases.Let's say 60:40 for DSLR:Lens Second recommendation: LX5 is not an interchangeable camera while the rest are. I'd suggest you get a cheaper PnS instead? |
Feb 26 2011, 12:58 AM
QUOTE(jacq330 @ Feb 26 2011, 12:54 AM) PnS is Point and Shoot. Your regular small camera, normally fully Auto mode, You just click the button and it snaps. Relatively cheap, you can easily find one below RM1k.DSLR is Digital Single Lens Reflex. The big huge chunky with big big lenses. Normally full manual, you get full control over your camera. Relatively much more expensive than PnS, normally costing at least RM1.5k to RM20k ++ Micro Four Thirds is something in between the PnS and DSLR |
Feb 26 2011, 01:28 AM
QUOTE(jacq330 @ Feb 26 2011, 01:05 AM) PNS is digital camera? All cameras nowadays are digital lar, hence the names digital camera. Still got use film meh? micro four thirds still not really understand To put it simply: 1) Size: Normally bigger than PnS but smaller than DSLR 2) Image Quality: Better than PnS but below DSLR( due to sensor size being in between). Same goes to Low light performance 3) Price: Somewhere around RM1.5k to RM2.5k 4) Functionality: They usually have full manual controls, but not as versatile as DSLRs Yes, Micro Four Thirds cameras can change lenses but there's limited choices to begin with This post has been edited by -kytz-: Feb 26 2011, 01:29 AM |
Apr 18 2011, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(Mie131085 @ Apr 18 2011, 12:15 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera Budget : Below RM3000 Your Location : KL, Melaka Preferable brand : Canon Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait, people, environment... Any specific models in mind? : 600D (recommend me others, & state your reasons) Any specific features u want? : HDR image QUOTE(juniorkeat @ Apr 18 2011, 12:15 AM) Har?? |
Apr 19 2011, 01:25 AM
QUOTE(FcukChick @ Apr 19 2011, 01:19 AM) Guys please help me: Canon IXUS series.. i think the one with f/2.0 lensType of camera/lens/accesories :Â Compact Budget: >RM700 Your Location:Â KL Preferable brand :Â Panasonic?? Type of photography u want to do : people, scenery Any specific models in mind? :Â no ideas Any specific features u want? : pink. have great experience using panasonic (forgot what model, was being stolen) Btw, your nickname sounds offensive to me. Mau kena report? This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 19 2011, 01:25 AM |
May 3 2011, 05:12 AM
QUOTE(kaffra @ May 2 2011, 07:08 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : point and shoot How about the IXUS 300HS? It's featuring the f/2.0 lens which is good for low light Budget: ~1000 Your Location: Penang Preferable brand : canon, sony Type of photography u want to do :general photos on vacations etc Any specific models in mind? : cybershot DSC-WX7 Any specific features u want? : image stability, hd video, ease of use Need some recommendations for a decent pns for general family use, an image stabilizer would be great as my mum doesnt have much strength to hold the camera very steadily. thanks QUOTE(gcth1122 @ May 2 2011, 06:51 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : mirrorless camera You want a Hybrid Rangefinder? *hints*Budget : RM4000 include kitlens Your Location : KL Preferable brand : Sony , Panasonic , olympus Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and Portrait Any specific models in mind? : nex5 , lumix gf2. pen epl2 Any specific features u want? : - please comment tq =) QUOTE(sebastianchan @ May 2 2011, 09:04 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR Else you might want to consider a cheaper body+ better lens? That will give you better Image Quality Budget: RM4500 and below including kit lense (prefer 18-135mm) Your Location: KL Preferable brand : Nikon / Canon Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Macro, Night, Indoor, Full HD Video (with high fps) Any specific models in mind? : Nikon D7000 / Canon 60D (open to other suggestion) Any specific features u want? : Full HD Video with high fps, sharp photo & colours I am open to any other models... Need your help to suggest where to buy too. Thanks =) For example would be a 550D(1.8k) + Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 VC(1.7K) + Canon Speedlite 430EXII(1k) combo. You're good to go for street, event, wedding and portraiture photography QUOTE(alfvin @ May 2 2011, 11:50 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR I'd take the 550D since I do not have much use for the variable angled LCD screen Budget: around rm2500 Preferable brand : Nikon and Canon Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, Night photography Any specific models in mind? : Canon 600d, 550d, Nikon d3100 Any specific features u want? : I am a beginner and i dont think i need too pro of a camera. i was comparing nikon d3100 and canon 550d. however i was tempted by 600d's vary-angle LCD that can swivel into every angle. do u think it is worthwhile to buy the 600d? almost rm400 more expensive than 550d. one of my main concerns is also to take clearer night view pictures when i go traveling especially scenery. i heard nikon's lenses are more expensive although the d3100 is cheaper than 550d. i cant decide. btw, how much roughly are these cameras selling in KL now? might check them out in kl soon. appreciate your kind recommendation. QUOTE(xHj09 @ May 3 2011, 04:53 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR That will do. But yeah, you will need better lenses to give better Image Quality Budget: ~RM2000 Your Location: Kuala Lumpur Preferable brand : Nikon > Canon Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and Portrait. no fix. Any specific models in mind? : D3100 Any specific features u want? : none, but preferably not to pay extra for something i dont really use like videocam in D3100... thanks a lot guys hope to get a reply soon.. anyways, for now i'm getting this camera for assignment purposes.. in the future i'll invest on it with good lens and so.. so the budget is a little tight as i aint financially independent yet.. |
Jun 21 2011, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(Pinoy_Ako @ Jun 19 2011, 05:36 AM) Hi everyone, Go for the 550D, or even better the 600D if you have the budget. The 600D is the latest model and features the variable angle LCD screen I hope someone will have some time to advise me on this. I am just new to photography and I am planning to buy either 500d or canon 550 d. I'm still in dilemma on picking which model. This will be my first time in buying DSLR Hoping someone will have some time to reply. thank you QUOTE(chow1942 @ Jun 20 2011, 01:42 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : canon 60D with kit lens 18-135 or nikon D7000 with kit lens 18-105 With a RM4k budget, you can actually get a 60D/D7000 with a Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 Budget:3k+ to 4k Your Location: Penang Preferable brand : either 1, but have more friend using canon... Type of photography u want to do : mostly at night day only free... Any specific models in mind? : got a friend using canon 60D with kit lens 18-135 Any specific features u want? : i might buy more lens other than kit lens so... QUOTE(Norameen @ Jun 21 2011, 05:46 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR with kit lens 18-55/18-250/18-200 Are you taking long exposure shots?Budget:1.5-2.5k... Your Location: Sabak Bernam, Selangor Preferable brand : Canon because many of my friends use CANON... Type of photography u want to do : mostly at ASTROPHOTOGRAPHY and night scene only..Sky Image....Low light situation.... Any specific models in mind? : No Any specific features u want? : Perform good in low light situation... |
Jun 24 2011, 01:00 AM
Jun 24 2011, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(sheknow9 @ Jun 24 2011, 04:07 PM) I want to buy a camera The truth is that we're not so informed about cheaper cameras. One reason being, is that there's hardly much differentiation between camera models of that price range.Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digital camera Budget: RM500-RM800 Your Location: KL & KT Preferable brand : Canon Type of photography u want to do : sharp picture. Any specific models in mind? : dont know Any specific features u want? : I just want the camera which has at least 5 optical zoom, smart design, at least 10 megapixel, has special function like can easy sharing to social network/ touch screen/ waterproof or anything else ( if the features didnt has at the camera i am not frustated, i only want to know the suggestion camera. If you're talking about RM1k onwards, then yeah. That's where all the nice features come into play: f/1.8 or f/2.0 lenses, full manual control, good ISO performance which means good in low light. So best bet, is to visit some camera shops and ask recommendations directly from the sales personnel. They'd probably know what's best to fit your needs. Cheers |
Jun 26 2011, 01:03 AM
Jun 26 2011, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Jun 26 2011, 11:04 AM) Actually i can't find any thread discussing on the memory card performance and I did open a thread at Hardware Q n A, and by their advice, I came here to ask for more info. Sorry if i put it in wrong thread. Can you recommend me the correct place to ask for memory card? Are you talking about memory cards for mobile phones or Cameras?Because usually Micro SD is used for HP, SDHC for cameras |
Jul 20 2011, 04:58 PM
Looks like only the VC version is affected?
http://www.canonrumors.com/2011/02/canon-o...s-lensid-issue/ |
Jul 20 2011, 06:05 PM
Get the non VC version then. The VC sucks so badly, especially if you're shooting subjects that require fast AF performance
Jul 28 2011, 07:11 AM
QUOTE(alister88 @ Jul 27 2011, 01:02 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact You want the cheapest possible camera, but want good low light performance(clear pictures at night, no blur pics). Even RM1.5k+ cameras would struggle Budget: below 500 (cheapest as possible) Your Location: kl Preferable brand : Any as long as cheap and good to use Type of photography u want to do : Casual use, can take good pic at night. Any specific models in mind? : Currently looking at Canon A2200 (is there any brands about that range/specs with similar price?) Any specific features u want? : Nothing much as long as it can capture pic clearly at night(concerts,partying) wont get blur pic at night. Thanks! =) RM500 I don't know what to recommend. Reckon it's better to get recommendations from camera shops QUOTE(zaxwin @ Jul 28 2011, 03:21 AM) i wanted to buy a digital camera and looking for some suggestions.i realized that this thread is mainly for dslr.do anyone of u mind to share any links regarding digital camera?or may be u can give some suggeations?btw,my budget is around 1k...thank you... Try looking up at those f/2.0 Canon Compacts in their website. Can't quite remember their specs and pricing though |
| Change to: | 0.0251sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:09 PM |