14 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

chiahau
post Jun 12 2011, 05:42 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jun 12 2011, 03:00 PM)
is vari angle, but open to bottom. i prefer vari angle open to left
Then effectively, this proves that you are talking from a fanboy's point of view. Hurmp....

1st you said its not Vari angle, now its Vari angle....

QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 12 2011, 05:16 PM)
So the design that you 'prefer' is rightly called the 'latest design'? Right.
Lol.
chiahau
post Jun 27 2011, 08:28 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(sy3d_f3lla @ Jun 26 2011, 03:30 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories:  DSLR
Budget: RM2000-RM2800
Your Location:  Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Preferable brand:  Nikon & Sony Alpha
Type of photography u want to do:  Outdoor, People, Event...
Any specific models in mind?:  D3100,Sony A33/A55 (maybe all of you can suggest which model is good for my budget)Thx
Any specific features u want?: Im really2 like BOKEH..hehe~
A55 or A580 for that budget. Bokeh wise, prepare to save up for Tamron 17-50 f2.8

Awesome bokeh for the price of the lens biggrin.gif

QUOTE(evilguy @ Jun 26 2011, 09:02 PM)
Can someone suggest to me DSLR for beginner and price range ~rm2000.
1100D, D3100.

If increase abit, 550D, D5100 and A33/A55/A580

QUOTE(LonelyNeon @ Jun 27 2011, 08:22 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR

Budget: RM2400

Your Location: KL

Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon

Type of photography u want to do : normal or low light

Any specific models in mind? : 550d or  d5100

Any specific features u want? :good iso performance?
Good iso? A580/A55 from Sony has better/similar with the 2 models you have in mind.

But if you wanna choose between them, I rather 550D than D5100. But that's just me.
chiahau
post Jun 27 2011, 09:50 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(zergg @ Jun 27 2011, 09:41 AM)
hey guys sorry tumpang this thread for a while..
i was about to make a payment for my items in shasinki.com for my dslr camera with a sum of 6500++... cimbclick transfer required 2 days transection as my limit per day is 5000..
any gurus here ever do the same? it sound kind of risky..
Erm, rather you buy offline, rather than so much fuss.
chiahau
post Jun 27 2011, 11:13 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(zergg @ Jun 27 2011, 10:01 AM)
i know.. just that im staying in far district outskirt of sarawak now..and i need to camera by next week perhaps right at my front door (plus the price cheaper by 600 is a surplus to me)..
anny solution for me?
(stupid customer service suggested me to payeither extra 160 by using my credit card or pay using cimbclicks@maybank2u in 2 days transection!)
What camera you want? I am sure there are reputable shops that do postage too.

Like for example, Unker Chin for Sony often do postage to even Sabah Sarawak and so far, no dispute or any problem from him and his customers.
chiahau
post Jul 10 2011, 05:30 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ShinAS @ Jul 10 2011, 04:47 PM)
if u want upgrade ur camera, canon is the right camera for u..
if u want buy one time (1set, KIT lens n thats it.) u dont want upgrade anything in the future.. choose nikon.
if u want go to "PRO" level.. it means u cant use standard equipment.. sure u choose canon rather than nikon.
if u want natural picture (means similar what u see with ur eyes..) choose canon...
if u want people call it "sharper" the colour.. u choose nikon.

actually u cant compare between canon n nikon.. coz they have different market target.. if u are only want DSLR.. buy standard KIT nikon..
if u want really "pro" level image and looks natural... canon is the best..
but for who new in photography world..
i must say that.. good stuff never come with instant or short period use...
u must learn about  that stuff like u know well ur wife or ur gf.. then u can produce awesome picture from ur DSLR..
even u use 1D mark IV from canon that cost 1 car.. if u not know well, u never can produce better image than iphone 4 did...
so... every stuff has good n bad point.. depends on how u know the stuff so u can use it to the maximum potential.^^
QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Jul 10 2011, 05:08 PM)
Kinda agree on this. There's nothing like "which is better". Is all come back to you to decide which DSLR suits you. nod.gif

For people who want to start venture into the DSLR world, actually there's not much to choose in the entry level DSLR.
I guess it can be break down to a few simple decisions making level:

1. Budget - base on what you can afford, choose between the camera that you feels good about, don't care is Canon or Nikon or Sony or Olympus or what-so-ever. Specification don't really differ much.
2. Video - do you need to do video often? If not, there's no need to worry about those video features available.
3. Handling - if you don't feel comfortable, you will waste all your money and interest in photography
4. Future upgrade - yes, even if you just started, you have to think a little in future what you want or target to have. Your future of DSLR will very mcuh affect you gear collections for now. So think twice.

If you are not sure whether you will fall into DSLR or not in the future... maybe you can try using some micro four third or prosumer first... get you photography skills sharpen a little... and if you really think that photography is going to be your thingy, then get a DSLR  brows.gif
Do you actually know what you are agreeing with?

That is actually nothing more than fanboy's talking. Now people wonder why others don't bother to give recommendations..

What he said was if you want go Pro, you should choose canon.. What bullshit is that lol?

Means if i want go Pro, I need get 1d Mark IV only can I become pro ??

Ridiculous theory.
chiahau
post Jul 10 2011, 07:52 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Jul 10 2011, 05:41 PM)
Chill bro.
None have said that you need 1D to become a Pro here.

ShinAS just stated his thought where he feels that Canon is a better camera in his opinion (and to his liking).
And I agree on this, as I do feel the same. But this doesn't mean Nikon camera is bad.
As I have been repeating many times here, there's no "better camera", buy what you feel comfortable with and exploit it's potential.
Do I sound like I'm not chillax-ing? Lolz.

Well, according to him, you need a "canon" to go pro.

Quoted -

if u want go to "PRO" level.. it means u cant use standard equipment.. sure u choose canon rather than nikon.

if u want really "pro" level image and looks natural... canon is the best..

"Pro" much?

Or maybe my English is too poor to interpret his sentences, which I doubt.

There is indeed no better camera, just whether there is a big fanboy, or a neutral fanboy.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Jul 10 2011, 07:54 PM
chiahau
post Jul 10 2011, 10:11 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Jul 10 2011, 09:43 PM)
you sounds like a Nikon fanboy to me... lol
just joking  icon_rolleyes.gif
Anyway, that's why I said kinda agree and not totally agree.

Got a fren using Nikon D90 and taking superb pics, but I kinda feel that the color for Nikon is more... neutral/cooler compared to Canon which is "warmer"... not sure, but I feel this way. I tried out the camera, but I'm not so comfortable with the handling, therefore choose to go for Canon.

And i got a fren using 550D and taking great shots as well.
So, it's all down to you guys to sharpen you skills in order to turn good shot to great shot!
And you, a canon fanboy? Thank god I am neither a nikon/canon fanboi. I don't even have enough $$ to own both system..

What you said at the last part, finally make sense.

It's not the camera, but the person holding the camera tongue.gif
chiahau
post Jul 11 2011, 01:49 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(MiseriGhost @ Jul 11 2011, 12:52 PM)
please help me.. still confuse what  dslr should i buy.. sweat.gif
550D, D5100, D3100, Sony if you want to look at it, A55, A33 and A580.

Which 1 fits your hands most and you like it most, then take it.

QUOTE(o.o @ Jul 11 2011, 01:12 PM)
thankz for the discussion so far  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

wats 'shaper colour'???
haiz, i like the turning screen from d5100, but i like canon photo colour..
haiz, if i choose 600d, totally OVER OVER budget (becaz for this moment, i just wanna learn how to capture a beautiful photo, but have no wish to b PRO level...)
if i choose 550d, no turning screen....  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
The colour is more bright? Lolz.

Actually, I give you 3 photos, you wont even know which camera took the photo unless you check the EXIF.

Stop talking like Canon produces such super unique color that others could not even match/similar to it.

Once you get over that mentality, then you can choose easily.

You want rotating screen, D5100, 600D or sony A55/A35 has it.

If you want "Canon" photo colour, then I guess, that's something I could not recommend.
chiahau
post Jul 30 2011, 05:19 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Ck1976 @ Jul 30 2011, 10:35 AM)
Hi All Experts,

Just wanna to ask you all opinion ,given a choice Nex 5 vs GF 3 which one will you choose ?
Btw nex 5 is $100 more exspensive than GF3.
Use for family and sometimes vacations camera.

Nex5 has an APS-C sensor, should be better for low light and image quality, if that is what you are looking

QUOTE(amani @ Jul 30 2011, 11:14 AM)
Wanna buy a dslr..budget is limited up to rm2.6k..in dilemma choosing nikon d5100 or canon 600d..frankly,i prefer nikon..but since d5100 doesnt hve built in motor, so i took 600d in my consideration..which is better?is built in motor really a matter?i might no upgrade the body within 2 years time..tq in advance..
600D has motor, should be better if you want upgrade lens, no need find Nikon AF-S lens that might cost a bit more than normal Nikon lens.
If you are willing, can look into Sony A55/A580 which offers nearly the same thing.

QUOTE(~AarDwOlF~ @ Jul 30 2011, 05:01 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM2600 max
Your Location : JB
Preferable brand : Sony/Canon/Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Sports, animal...
Any specific models in mind? :D5100, A33
Any specific features u want? : Fast focus

D5100 better or Sony a33 better? just wan to get some opinion.. cos some says a33 is nice to use but some says it is not good/.\ i dont know which is true?? i like a33 cos it's DSLT but if it is not good to use maybe i would choose d5100

any other models that is nice to use and below my budget?

it will be my very first dslr so.. i dont really know how to choose

pls reply me thanks biggrin.gif
Sports/Animal? I think you need something more powerful to shoot sports or animal lolz.

But I think you can either go with A35/A55 or A580 which has normal DLSR mirror than the Nikon D5100.

Lack of AF motor is a no no, esp if you love to buy lens.

chiahau
post Jul 30 2011, 08:18 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(~AarDwOlF~ @ Jul 30 2011, 05:38 PM)
but too bad a55/a580 is over budget.. sports/animal just say say only hah.. btw a33 still available or not? a35 dont have flip screen thats too bad cos i think i will need that
A55 is around 2.6k? And A580 is also around 2699?

Unless I looked at your budget wrongly la.

I can tell you la, the flip screen is a gimmick one, how often did you really use that kinda flip screen? Although I have it, I hardly bother 2 use it unless for videography la.

Added on July 30, 2011, 8:22 pm
QUOTE(cyberixus @ Jul 30 2011, 07:05 PM)
Try out the NIKON P300. It shoots 1080p videos. And it also has 120fps video option. Jpegs straight out of camera not too bad. Price should be slightly below RM1k now.

Added on July 30, 2011, 7:22 pm

Nikon D90 body only second hand. + New lens 18-105VR. is within your budget. It is more responsive than NEX5.
But high ISO D90 wise, D90 almost similar with Nex 5.. Roughly according to review, at least.

D90 already old, D7000 is more worth it if you want look Nikon lolz.

D90 vs 600D/D5100/Sony A55/580/33, Iso performance of D90 will be outclasses by these newer generation bodies.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Jul 30 2011, 08:27 PM
chiahau
post Jul 30 2011, 10:24 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(~AarDwOlF~ @ Jul 30 2011, 09:56 PM)
sony style here in jb sony a55 and a580 rm2799 wor ><

Added on July 30, 2011, 10:00 pmor maybe 2899
So many outside seller selling below 2899 or 2799.. Why go Sony Style? No diff with seller at lowyat also one.. Lolz.
chiahau
post Jul 31 2011, 12:05 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(~AarDwOlF~ @ Jul 30 2011, 10:31 PM)
cos my dad trust sony store more than other sellers :3
Lol, then you can enjoy paying for overpriced camera for the same thing you can get outside, but cheaper.

Trust is not an issue here, unless you don't do your research well.

QUOTE(cyberixus @ Jul 30 2011, 11:19 PM)
Nikon P300

Added on July 30, 2011, 11:31 pm

lwk523 's budget is only RM3k. Second hand D90 is around RM1800 now. That leaves RM1200 to get a lens.
D90 is a better option compared to D5100 although D5100 is cleaner at higher ISO and has more megapixels.
D90 has better controls over White Balance. You will be frustrated with D5100's WB control in about 8 months.
I noted the budget is 3k.

But rather than taking D90, he can also opt for 600D or A580/A55 of the same price range (below 3k) n still get better performance than D90....

QUOTE(pziv2 @ Jul 30 2011, 11:32 PM)
I doubt people are still shooting JPEG most of the time after 8 months...
GOTTTTTTTTT.. Sure got one such ppl laugh.gif
chiahau
post Jul 31 2011, 05:57 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Haneda @ Jul 31 2011, 11:42 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact DSLR
Budget: RM2-3k
Your Location: PJ/KL
Preferable brand : Panasonic, Nikon or Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Point n shoot, landscape, potrait, model kits
Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF2 or similar models

Camera noob here, so far GF2 caught my attention but i'm not sure what are the difference between 14 and 14-42 lens kit option.
GF2 is a micro 4/3 eh? Not a compact DSLR. Heck, i wonder if there is any compact DSLR at market or not....

Nex series by Sony is the closest thing 2 DSLR, due to the APS-C sensor..

QUOTE(ILECHZ @ Jul 31 2011, 05:12 PM)
Wanted To Buy canon 1100 D and im a newbie . can somebody tell me what this mean? ( EFS- 18-55 IS ) and recommended me a good  and cheap seller biggrin.gif
EF-S 18-55 IS = Kit lens.
chiahau
post Jul 31 2011, 10:36 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(wke002 @ Jul 31 2011, 10:21 PM)
Here is mine.

Location shah alam
Camera prefer : nikon, canon, Sony
Budget : rm3300 incl.lens or lenses exl. Flash
For : mainly indoor to capture children action. if outdoor, also children holidaying.

Have not really surf the net for more comparison as most jargon words I dun understand. Have target nikon d5100 with 50mm n 18-105mm. I know no in motor but I dun think am going to change lens that often. Also am greedy on 1080 video which d5100 has for that shot 2-5mins kids action.
Well, since your mind is set on D5100, might as well get it, right/

If not, 600D or Sony A55 has the same thing, plus 1080p for kids action shot.

For 3.3k, I think you can get A55 + 17-50 f2.8 or A55 + 50mm + 18-250 or something else.
chiahau
post Aug 1 2011, 09:29 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Aug 1 2011, 09:03 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Dslr
Your Location: PJ/KL
Preferable brand : Nikon or Canon
Type of photography u want to do : potrait, landscape and maybe a little of sports
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon d7000 and 60d

Can't really decide between these 2, being a canon user i kinda like canon but the only things that caught my eyes are the turning lcd screen and the video capabilities of the 60d, is it worth to stay with canon?
Or go for the d7000 which offers slightly more features?
You already like canon 60D, why not just take it? Since you are indeed familiar with the system and etc.
chiahau
post Aug 1 2011, 11:21 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Aug 1 2011, 11:18 PM)
I can use both systems, no problem with both, i mean i wanna know more on why 60d> d7000 and vice versa besides the comparisons on technical sheet
Technical wise, you can slowly go online and research bout the specs lol.

Both system have advantage or disadvantage.
chiahau
post Aug 5 2011, 09:52 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 5 2011, 09:05 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR complete with lens kit.
Budget: max 2.5k
Your Location:   Jitra Kedah (prefer "postage")
Preferable brand :  Sony/Nikon/Canon
Type of photography u want to do :  Indoor, outdoor, casual.
Any specific models in mind? :  Prefer for newbie.
Any specific features u want? :  Nope.

Extra info:
1 - I hope some reputable seller can PM me for deal.
2 - I will purchase via credit card (not installment)
3 - Only brand new.
AW sifu looking for DSLR now? Lol~"

There are quite plenty good rep seller at Lolyat garage sales but since you are at Jitra, why no go Penang and get it for slightly lower price? Plus can COD, rather than postage.
chiahau
post Aug 13 2011, 06:14 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Wai @ Aug 13 2011, 03:34 PM)
Wanna to ask, if between 550D, 600D, & D5100, y u suggest to take 550D? i am thinking to buy D5100, but i have inquiry here, what is the important of Build In motor?
I rather take Sony A580 for the price and the performance, rather than all the 3 stated above except for D5100 maybe.

Built in Motor allows Auto-focus, some cheaper Nikon lens have no built in motor, thus you have to manual focus.

Performance wise, I think Sony or Pentax perhaps is better than 550D at that price range? Lolz.
chiahau
post Aug 14 2011, 01:15 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Wai @ Aug 14 2011, 11:51 AM)
hmm...how much the price for Sony A580? but how if compare Sony A580 VS Nikon D5100?

hmm, how much different with the one have built in motor & dont have, but within same range lense ?
Sony A580? Around 2699 or less? I got mine for 2599 that time.

If direct compare, maybe people think D5100 more worth coz got the flippy screen thingy.

Performance wise, well, I somewhat favor Sony with stabilization + motor built in....

Maybe its the Ergonomics, something that Nikon is still somewhat trying to do.

QUOTE(BanG_DeaD @ Aug 14 2011, 12:16 PM)
Built-in is more quiet while the non built-in is noisy. And the one without motor is cheaper biggrin.gif

I take the 50mm f/1.8 as an example.. (Price from official site, you can get it cheaper now)

AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G (With motor) = RM798
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II (Without Motor) = RM350

Well, this is at least accurate to some point.
chiahau
post Aug 14 2011, 03:54 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Wai @ Aug 14 2011, 03:22 PM)
Thank you for the info...
i check info and realize that IT fair will organized in Midvalley on 2-4 September, do u tin is it any special discount to buy at thr or just can buy from Lowyat ? any opinion?
Lowyat will be cheaper, i mean at garage sales here, some of the seller's price is very good.

14 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:31 PM