Nokia N900 V9 (More than 180 owners), Jack of trades for phone

jananan
post Dec 28 2010, 11:20 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Dec 28 2010, 11:18 AM)
Back to work still in Christmas mood anyway.. silently browsing the thread to see any updates on the Nitdroid thingy ..

Added on December 28, 2010, 11:19 am

Off topic i own an Green laser pointer myself seriously it is damn good at blinding ppl..  tongue.gif
yeah i got one too...

but i dont point it at people...
jananan
post Dec 28 2010, 11:28 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Dec 28 2010, 11:22 AM)
how much did you got for .. what is the wattage
something like 30mw or 50mw type... cant remember...

uses one CR123 battery, not the cheap AAA battery type.

Added on December 28, 2010, 11:30 amthat nokia 3210 in front page is awesome...

i used that a long long long time ago...

first antenna-less nokia...

the sexy phone at that time before the ugly 3310 came out...

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 28 2010, 11:30 AM
jananan
post Dec 28 2010, 11:48 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Dec 28 2010, 11:35 AM)
blink.gif  blink.gif
o0 ok. my CR123 batt kaput edy looking for a new one. BTW where is the Nokia 3210 on th FP.. i can find it.
err.... you might wanna try to refresh the frontpage...

Added on December 28, 2010, 11:51 amhere you go anyway....

http://dvice.com/archives/2010/12/party-like-its.php

Added on December 28, 2010, 11:52 amand something is wrong with maemo.org domain... its slow as hell...

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 28 2010, 11:52 AM
jananan
post Dec 28 2010, 12:27 PM

Android
1,513 posts

ah... no wonder...
jananan
post Dec 28 2010, 01:29 PM

Android
1,513 posts

http://git.videolan.org/?p=vlc/vlc-android.git;a=summary

very busy guys... VLC developers...
jananan
post Dec 28 2010, 07:30 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 28 2010, 04:39 PM)
To anyone that wants to change the NOKIA image before the bootscreen.
There is no solution to it yet.
Cause from what i know it is handled by the bootloader.
Bootloader gone means bricked n900
yeah like olden days change bios image...

its using hex edit method as well...

u cant simply edit - checksum no match - no boot...
jananan
post Dec 29 2010, 05:10 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Dec 29 2010, 12:01 AM)
guys.. i got two question here.

1- do you know the best music player for N900 that can change/adjust the equalizer? been searching around, all music player that i download only able to play music at all. sad.gif

2- can fmms send multiple image at  time?

thanks in advance guys.  smile.gif
Symfonie - music player with equalizer.

http://www.my-maemo.com/software/applicati...uto=1305&faq=34

i dont use fmms, so i cant answer your other question...

Added on December 29, 2010, 5:12 am
QUOTE(arcalius_7 @ Dec 28 2010, 10:57 PM)
to me, nitdroid quite usable but without fully functional send-receive sms&call, your n900 only works as a tablet. sometimes i face 3g data loss when im turn off data. and with bme experimental support i have to keep the screen lit when charging or else it charge a while.

one think 1 like about android is, number of apps available on market makes me smile albeit not as much as apple provide. plus, there's angry bird & seasons for free! drool.gif
i only use N900 as an internet tablet (wifi) - no SIM card inside...

so NITdroid is kinda fully usable for me...

Added on December 29, 2010, 7:31 ampatched wlan driver for injection is out and working

but the developer wants $donations$

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 29 2010, 07:31 AM
jananan
post Dec 29 2010, 10:02 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 29 2010, 09:11 AM)
maybe my terms not correct..but wut i mean was the original kernel..
U do not need to do anything to get it..  biggrin.gif
wow!! wut phone did u use for call?
i cannot afford to but any other phone after buying this phone..  sad.gif
Did u using the phone all 24hours (at hand) ??
Ur idle CPU "macam tinggi je"
i got a few nokia series 40 phones...

the newer series 40 is the best, battery lifetime is amazing... if i dont use much maybe charge once a week...

anyway to install the original kernel again if you dont want kernel-power

1) DONT click on "deinstall kernel-power", this will make your n900 kernel-less... meaning cant boot anymore... (soft bricked)

2) apt-get install --reinstall -y kernel kernel-flasher - (reinstall the standard nokia maemo kernel)

3) apt-get remove -y kernel-power kernel-power-modules - (remove kernel-power and its modules (optional))

Added on December 29, 2010, 10:04 amand yeah... the patched driver for maemo of course... maemo is full linux for ARM...

NITdroid is half-ass linux + JAVA applets... it does not have the complete linux environment to run apps for packet capture and injection.

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 29 2010, 10:04 AM
jananan
post Dec 29 2010, 10:14 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 29 2010, 10:11 AM)
U know wut, i just using the deinstall kernel-power icon..huhu (b'coz at that time,wiki power kernel cannot be accessed, and i don't remember the command)

And luckily it's works.
At 1st attempt, i using it w/o wifi enabled, failed..
2nd attempt, on wifi.. it take sometimes..(quite cuak) and ok after that..huhu
you probably installed the nokia ori kernel after that or the app manager pulled it down automatically and installed for you.

because if you removed the kernel-power, you're left without a kernel...
jananan
post Dec 29 2010, 11:10 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 29 2010, 10:21 AM)
^There is also way to flash kernel file onlt from firmware file.
Haven't got to this part yet but possibly I'll never have solve this because my NITDroid partition is 5GB.Enough to install majority of apps I want.
N900 is designed to run Maemo.As such Maemo should always be a primary OS for N900.No other OS will run as well as the default OS on a particular device.
But yes,Android 2.2 runs fairly well on N900.Good enough to play majority of games such Asphalt5.

If you want a fully working Android with proper hardware support why don't you consider buying a Android phone?
1)Symfonie

2)No idea.Seldom receive MMS.
Recently made it 2 1/2 days...Forgot to bring my charger during Christmas & I thought my phone battery will die on Saturday evening.To my surprise there was still 9% of the battery left when I reach my hostel back.
I don't even have to view your image at full size to know that your phone have some issue.

You CPU usage is high even on the idle state.Try installing "HTop" from App Manager to know what are the application which are taking the most resource in your device.

QUOTE(eyes,)
Trust me, when voice/calls will be close to be rdy, I'll tell about it. Good news: I'm on holidays from 31.12 till 10.01.

There you go...People are really demanding & selfing when it comes to things that they want even though it's free doh.gif
I've explain in a quite long post on why I think the voice transmission on NITDroid might take some time to develop.
yeah you can specify --kernel-only when flashing the fiasco (if its soft bricked)

and i dont understand why people want NITdroid to be perfect... its just an experiment for gods sake...

i want it to be bleeding edge stuff and full of bugs... even if they had honeycomb pre-alpha stage 001 - i want it on my N900 now.

i dont want developers wasting their time perfecting something that is not meant to be perfect.

i'd rather let them (the developers) work on other stuff like graphics acceleration or more tweaking and optimizations than making sure you can make a one hour call without the phone disconnecting or making sure your voice is angelic to the other side...

if you complaining guys want voice call and sms to work perfectly - get a nokia 1110 or something...
jananan
post Dec 29 2010, 12:12 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(sk8pass1 @ Dec 29 2010, 11:56 AM)
You know, as for them developers... I do agree that all these are all experimental. But i have to disagree with your comments because' as developers, they have to push themselves to go beyond the limit to succeed. With people like what you've mention "have telephony available etc." .... is a form of motivation for em, lets see..if everyone doesn't care whether it has those functions or so whatever...do u even think these developers will be pushing themselves to develop & improve the 1st place. We are not complaining, we are just pushing to go beyond the limit as "consumers"....... it is consumers that 1st complains like b****es thus wanting improvements in products & the developer's / inventors creates it due to demand wink.gif ....... so it's sorta like a win win situation

Peace  biggrin.gif
its just an experiment.

its not an effort to create a fully working alternate OS for N900.

i reiterate again, the time wasted to perfect voice call and sms could be used for something else.

dont forget we still have maemo, the default OS still running fine, and able to make voice calls perfectly.

voice call and sms in NITdroid is developed using ofono, which is from meego, which in turn is still in alpha/beta stage.

imho, voice call and sms should be the last thing the developers should be working on, they should in fact wait for ofono to mature.

but thats just my opinion.
jananan
post Jan 1 2011, 06:12 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Jan 1 2011, 05:08 PM)
Really? I've installed it, but the package reads (matroska files unsupported).
I haven't tried playing any .mkv on this phone yet sweat.gif Will try.
any one of these methods plays mkv...

mplayer - launch video from terminal

kmplayer frontend (uses mplayer)

smplayer frontend (uses mplayer)

Added on January 1, 2011, 6:14 pm
QUOTE(gyianz @ Jan 1 2011, 04:09 PM)
hmmm but it is frustrating rite sometimes?
must find out the tv model then hope for it to appear in qtirreco.
but what i realised sometimes 2 diff model uses same frequency but not that effective in terms of range and power. my fren were like damn you hacked my tv. lol

hw to check any hardware issues?
any camera would be able to pick up N900's IR output.

just point any camera at N900's IR and press some buttons in qtirreco.

you should see some faint light from the IR transmitter.

Added on January 1, 2011, 6:18 pm
QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Dec 31 2010, 09:39 PM)
Oh, my pouch is just a simple one, the Golla pouch =) Malas snapping pic.
It's something like this:

guess what... that is the 100% exact golla case i am using now... haha.... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jananan: Jan 1 2011, 06:18 PM
jananan
post Jan 1 2011, 11:11 PM

Android
1,513 posts

gingerbread anyone ?

http://forum.nitdroid.com/index.php?topic=1044.0
jananan
post Jan 2 2011, 12:08 AM

Android
1,513 posts

finished extracting... booting gingerbread now...
jananan
post Jan 2 2011, 05:55 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Jan 2 2011, 05:47 PM)
sifu very bz to update us ...  tongue.gif

any screenshots to racun us.
gingerbread vibrates all the time when keylock and unlock...

and its damn slow to be usable... but i havent OC yet...

its the same old android actually... i dont see any eye catching new stuff...

the only thing you notice is when you scroll a list and it hits the first or last entry, the edges light up a little...

Added on January 2, 2011, 5:59 pmusb charging and usb mass storage still does not work....

some people are saying it works but it does not with my n900...

Added on January 2, 2011, 6:01 pmand it vibrates like hell when shutting down too...

mind you, all strong vibrations. i cant seem to turn it off, i've already switched off haptic feedback.

they should call it gingervibrate instead or gingerbread...

This post has been edited by jananan: Jan 2 2011, 06:01 PM
jananan
post Jan 2 2011, 06:11 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Jan 2 2011, 06:03 PM)
i sense the tense in ur reply.. anyway thanks for the update sifu.
nod.gif
nah... i just haven't had the time to play with it yet...

and one more thing, the on-screen keyboard, you have to see it.

its out of proportion.

keying in numbers works though...

Added on January 2, 2011, 6:12 pmanyway, there is a new update for codecs from e-yes.

http://downloads.nitdroid.com/e-yes/ginger...update1.tar.bz2

hopefully media files will work ok with this patch...

Added on January 2, 2011, 7:04 pmgingerbread a bit faster now with all the new patches installed.

at least it does not vibrate and suck my battery dry anymore...

micro-usb charging works now... mass storage is still not working...

Added on January 2, 2011, 7:28 pmmicro usb charging works - but stay awake during charging does not seem to work...

keyboard still looks out of proportion with the keyboard patch.

This post has been edited by jananan: Jan 2 2011, 07:28 PM
jananan
post Jan 2 2011, 10:57 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Jan 2 2011, 09:39 PM)
i like this. she ask,then she answered for herself..huhu
Gud2..
U now can be promoted to sifu level..hee
thats what people say 'talking to yourself'
jananan
post Jan 3 2011, 02:10 AM

Android
1,513 posts

battery too low... now in reboot loop...

use usb cable charge still looping saying 'battery empty'...

battery empty even before the bootmenu comes up... damn

it wants a real charger... sad.gif

Added on January 3, 2011, 2:11 amanyway, after a bit of tweaking, gingerbread is getting smooth...

not as smooth as froyo yet... a few more bugs to be squashed...

This post has been edited by jananan: Jan 3 2011, 02:11 AM
jananan
post Jan 3 2011, 06:10 PM

Android
1,513 posts

no one try gingerbread ?

brows.gif brows.gif

no one dare to ?

brows.gif brows.gif
jananan
post Jan 3 2011, 06:13 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(vaizard @ Jan 3 2011, 06:11 PM)
hello sifus...
got 2 ques here....
1)how to view file properties such as video or mp3 properties?
2)can we use open office on n900?
tq.....
go to file manager, touch and hold the file you wanna check.

a 'magical' menu will appear...

details... i guess...

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0486sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:03 AM