6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Nokia N900 V9 (More than 180 owners), Jack of trades for phone

jananan
post Dec 21 2010, 12:28 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 20 2010, 11:14 PM)
Got a working GUI VLC now rclxm9.gif

GUI wise it's much different from iOS version.But this is a fully working version.
what we need is hardware video acceleration...

not a GUI... i can live without GUI...
jananan
post Dec 22 2010, 08:51 AM

Android
1,513 posts

good news folks....

gingerbread based nitdroid coming soon... drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
jananan
post Dec 22 2010, 09:00 AM

Android
1,513 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 22 2010, 09:03 AM
jananan
post Dec 22 2010, 11:07 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Dec 22 2010, 10:24 AM)
by the way, i asked about my home router not allowing my n900 to run the app manager nor faster app manager... it seems that it allows me to go online with microb and even with pidgin or online conversations but not the app managers...

even feedingit doesn't look for feeds...

tried resetting router, turning off the router's firewall...

read somewhere in maemo.org, something to do with the DNS address or something is it?
proxy ? firewall ?
jananan
post Dec 22 2010, 01:50 PM

Android
1,513 posts

GLBenchmark - modern ARM/GL capable graphics chipsets tested

i wonder if the N900 results are HW acclerated GL or software rendered...

and secondly, why they never OC the N900 and benchmark... it would have kicked at least some ass...
jananan
post Dec 23 2010, 01:12 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(benji @ Dec 22 2010, 09:01 PM)
got this battery from 1 of the seller here.. Clareen i've use this battery with my previous phone (other model) before and it last extra 40% time from the original battery. it fit perfectly in the battery bay, and this battery is oso a little bit heavier then the original.. manage to get 1272mAh just now.. want to try till discharge.. then full charge back a few times.. maybe it's work..

u cant expect 1800mah to fit in 1320mah space.

it is impossible unless the battery is not lithium ion technology

jananan
post Dec 24 2010, 06:50 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 23 2010, 08:31 PM)
I'll see what I can do...

I received some pm's asking why NITDroid calls not working.
1st of all,I'm not involved with NITDroid project.Merely an interested spectator.Anyway I'll try to explain a bit on this part.

NITDroid team is using ofono application for the phone functions.But ofono is actually build & tested for MeeGo & it's actually not easy to port it.Also this application is not mature enough
The last build of MeeGo I tested suffered from some broken calls too.NITDroid v0.0.8 use ofono v0.2x while eyes recently updated the ofono version to 0.36.There are still some audio routing issue with this version.

The part which I marked "This 1" could be the 1 with the issue.

But there is good news.Ofono actually works for MeeGo which is build with kernel version 2.6.32 and Android 2.3 build with same kernel version 2.6.32 also(modified abit by Google).So it might be possible that latest ofono will make calls works with NITDroid 2.3 build for N900.

In order for the calls functions to work we have to hope that MeeGo project mature fast enough.Because basically the NITDroid team is "lending" MeeGo's technical knowledge.

Unfortunately I don't think any of Google employee supports this project.For the CyanogenMod project there are some Google employee who are contributing for it which produce excellent firmware result.
with ofono... finally nokia phones, at least some, will move away from the closed source nokia voice call software/firmware.

no modifications can be done to the voice call section of mobile phones, be it in symbian or maemo, because nokia has closed source it.

with migration to ofono, we can hack the hell out of voice call software modules....

Added on December 24, 2010, 6:55 ami, for one, support nokia's decision to create a new line of windows phone 7 devices.

they are just expanding their market and range. can't blame them.

but i wish they created android phones first before looking in windows phone 7,

imho, android is a superior platform, somewhat open source and can be easily integrated into nokia's portfolio than windows phone 7.

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 24 2010, 06:55 AM
jananan
post Dec 25 2010, 07:51 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Dec 24 2010, 11:40 PM)
Oh, I chose +2 =)
Don't want to stress my eyes too much. Thank you..
you might find some special characters missing if you switch to non-nokia fonts... usually its the silent symbol (yes, silent profile)

Added on December 25, 2010, 7:54 am
QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Dec 25 2010, 12:18 AM)
Ok.. Will try it asap smile.gif Tak faham apa2, I ask you ok sifu meli?
I've read somewhere that there are two versions of this app.
One with GUI, the other one without it. Hm which version is better? Any difference in terms of stability?

Coolness! That turkey makes me hungry drool.gif
the non-gui version selects the settings for you automatically if i am not mistaken...

the gui version lets you adjust the parameters as the screenshot few posts above...

also the swappolube program is not compatible with BoostN900! script, it tinkers with the same settings actually.

another program that you might want to check out is transitioncontrol - lets you adjust level of eye-candy on screen

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 25 2010, 07:54 AM
jananan
post Dec 25 2010, 09:31 AM

Android
1,513 posts

http://forum.nitdroid.com/index.php?topic=981.0

Nitdroid 0.0.9 is out........

but its based on froyo 2.2.1 and not gingerbread 2.3 as expected...

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 25 2010, 09:48 AM
jananan
post Dec 25 2010, 11:31 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 25 2010, 10:16 AM)
I'm only using ubuntu/fedora with vmware.Can't help you much with it.
meLis's setting very similar to mine.
2.3 version will follow very soon.

I have to wait till tomorrow to try out latest 2.2 build.Visiting my cousin who's celebrating christmas.
Anyone who have tried 2.2 build do share whatever improvement you can find.

Merry Christmas to everyone.Hohoho...
i wanna wait for 2.3... i am sure there are performance boosts from 2.2 to 2.3, since 2.2.1 are just bugfixes.

and i hope all the hacks and tweaks that e-yes implemented in 2.2.1 works in 2.3 flawlessly as well.

let me see how itchy my hands get and see if i can keep away from 2.2.1...
jananan
post Dec 25 2010, 12:12 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Dec 25 2010, 11:48 AM)
this is nice xmas gift...

guys do we have have follow FP method to install this if we have already have nitdoid 0.0.8   please advise..

super noob in this.
mount your nitdroid partition as /and - should be either mmcblk1p1 (card) or mmcblk0p5 (emmc)

remove everything in /and - i think rm -rf command should wipe all contents

bzip and extract the contents of NITDroid-0.0.9.tar.bz2 > you'll end up with NITDroid-0.0.9.tar

then extract all the files from NITDroid-0.0.9.tar using tar xvf commands into /and

dpkg the nitdroid kernel again

check in multiboot if entry is still there, it should not change actually cos everything else is still the same

unmount /and

reboot

voila

Added on December 25, 2010, 12:15 pm
QUOTE(arcalius_7 @ Dec 25 2010, 11:58 AM)
crap,

i tried to run nitdroid-0.0.9 with emmc tuto but got hit with guru mediation error despite i edited the .item files already..maybe i have to untar old popov and overwrite with 0.0.9.
maybe....

i haven't tried yet.

overwriting should work as well....

maybe e-yes forgot to include some file from nitdroid 0.0.8 in nitdroid 0.0.9...

but i am not sure if tar xvf will overwrite... is there any other switch to the command to enable overwrite (i am not at any linux machine now)

Added on December 25, 2010, 12:17 pm- also try to dpkg the nitdroid kernel again after extracting the files. i know its already there and the kernel e-yes is using is same for nitdroid 0.0.8 and 0.0.9 as well...

it might work *

Added on December 25, 2010, 12:22 pmthere are several OC profiles in system/etc

no more power.conf

Added on December 25, 2010, 12:30 pmah found out....

just rename the OC profile that you want to power.conf and it should work after reboot...

Added on December 25, 2010, 12:34 pmah crap...

i'll just wait for 2.3 ( nitdroid 0.1.0 ???? )

not much changes in 2.2.1 it seems.... (nitdroid 0.0.9)

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 25 2010, 12:34 PM
jananan
post Dec 25 2010, 02:05 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Dec 25 2010, 01:53 PM)
--- 2010-12-25 13:51:16 ---
/usr/bin/apt-get -q update -o Dir::Etc::sourcelist=/opt/fapman-cache/sources.list -o Dir::State::lists=/opt/fapman-cache/lists -o Dir::Etc::sourceparts=""
E: Archive directory /var/cache/apt/archives/partial is missing.
--- 2010-12-25 13:51:35 ---
/usr/bin/apt-get -q update -o Dir::Etc::sourcelist=/opt/fapman-cache/sources.list -o Dir::State::lists=/opt/fapman-cache/lists -o Dir::Etc::sourceparts=""
E: Archive directory /var/cache/apt/archives/partial is missing.

Guys,what's happening to my app manager?
Can't update,download. sad.gif
Hot to solve this? Please,please...
ur n900 storage got corrupted...

try closing fapman > delete that sources.list file > start fapman again > it should be able to generate a new copy of that file

sudo gainroot first > cd /opt/fapman-cache > rm sources.list > the file seems corrupted

you also might need to create the folder partial in /var/cache/apt/archives > becauses it says its missing too

if cannot, try uninstalling and reinstalling fapman....

fapman = faster application manager...

* this usually happens when you OC, and you set voltage too low... the phone crashes and reboot > everything seems fine until you notice some files missing, folders missing and in some cases the file is there but contents blanked out...
jananan
post Dec 25 2010, 02:39 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Dec 25 2010, 02:26 PM)
hildon-application-manager 2.2.71
E: Unable to write to /var/cache/apt/
E: The package lists or status file could not be parsed or opened.

Help me..
var/cache/apt is a folder thats shared by fapman as well as the normal application manager

did u try the normal application manager ?

try

apt-get -f install

then

apt-get autoclean

but i am pretty sure that your problem is much more severe than that...

one final thing you can do though... ask someone to upload their contents of var/cache/apt and try placing those in your folders.

the files in there are not really huge...

but that is going to mess up your list of installed / removed / updated apps.... so its not a good idea.

if course flashing the N900 will solve this as well...

Added on December 25, 2010, 2:43 pmone more dumb reason is - your root folder is full....

Added on December 25, 2010, 2:47 pmalso compare the permission of the folders / files in var/cache/apt

if the permissions got changed accidentally, fapman would not be able to read from there as well...

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 25 2010, 02:47 PM
jananan
post Dec 25 2010, 03:58 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Dec 25 2010, 03:12 PM)
Yes, I already tried the normal app manager, still the same log error is shown.
I'm going to flash it.

=)

Hoping everything will be fine. You are still online right?
In case I have anything to ask?
yea, still here... no xmas for me...
jananan
post Dec 25 2010, 04:05 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Dec 25 2010, 03:34 PM)
guys.. i always encounter internal error.. application 'web' closed.. any clue what is going on?
try disabling plugins in microb...

Added on December 25, 2010, 4:07 pmalso remember to temporarily disable any widgets that gets online...

try killing browserd, or any rogue browser processes in background that might have stuck...

reboot is best option of course...

Added on December 25, 2010, 4:09 pmand who change thread title, its 'jack of all trades' not jack of trades...

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 25 2010, 04:09 PM
jananan
post Dec 26 2010, 02:01 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 26 2010, 01:40 AM)
I will always choose IMAP over pop3
if you have bandwidth limitation, pop3 is better...
jananan
post Dec 27 2010, 08:04 PM

Android
1,513 posts

anyone tried this ?

someone did newer build vlc in scratchbox...

http://whoknowsmy.name/stuff/vlc/
jananan
post Dec 28 2010, 06:53 AM

Android
1,513 posts

out of topic...

http://gizmodo.com/5718382/malaysia-defeat...r+shooting-fans

embarassing as shit...
jananan
post Dec 28 2010, 11:10 AM

Android
1,513 posts

guys... christmas is over...

everyone seems still on holiday....
jananan
post Dec 28 2010, 11:17 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 28 2010, 11:11 AM)
yawn.gif
Gizmodo run by bunch of morons anyway...Stopped browsing that site long time ago...
true enough...

malaysians are to blame... they're just stating the obvious...

who blinds people with laser pointers at sports events... shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0519sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:38 AM