8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 V9 (More than 180 owners), Jack of trades for phone

Josh_M
post Dec 22 2010, 02:32 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Dec 22 2010, 02:19 PM)
i is teh sad kitteh...

T.T

I dowant to flash my N900.............................
Y dun get you. blink.gif
Josh_M
post Dec 23 2010, 09:59 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 23 2010, 09:32 AM)
Just an opinion to improve this thread. For the sifu thats good in linux do provide a list of common codes you use in linux. Then in your tutorial remember to link the code back the the list of common codes that will help newbie or semi pro and even pro the remember the codes and a description purpose of the codes so people do not need to keep asking. Just my opinion to improve this thread.

my 2 cents and good luck.
this is a good suggestion. This will really help me a lot.
Josh_M
post Dec 23 2010, 10:19 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(mashimarow @ Dec 23 2010, 10:16 AM)
+1 for that, I would say the search method use in this forum is poor, it can't pinpoint to the thread for certain keyword, setting up a blog or other personal forum by breaking up to related title is great for all user old and new where they can refresh the memory or search for answer before asking.

I am sure all the sifu are very frustrated being asked the same question, but on the other hand, it is crazy to re-read 100 pages of thread (not to mention previous old thread) to look for one answer, just my point of view blush.gif
agree to this even sometimes when i have some question ill try to search for it .. if no luck ill try reading a couple of pages back.. in the end if no luck ill either shut up and wait for someone else to ask or google it or worse.. disturd our super bz sifu's
Josh_M
post Dec 23 2010, 06:34 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 23 2010, 06:16 PM)
Anyone got working FM Radio?

My Radio was not working.. trying uninstall and Reinstall back, but, still got problem..

Any solution sifu?
I removed that app since PR 1.2 guess tonite will reinstall and try it out.
Josh_M
post Dec 25 2010, 03:48 AM

1,604 posts

merry christmas guys.
Josh_M
post Dec 25 2010, 11:48 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 25 2010, 09:31 AM)
http://forum.nitdroid.com/index.php?topic=981.0

Nitdroid 0.0.9 is out........

but its based on froyo 2.2.1 and not gingerbread 2.3 as expected...
this is nice xmas gift...

guys do we have have follow FP method to install this if we have already have nitdoid 0.0.8 please advise..

super noob in this.

This post has been edited by Josh_M: Dec 25 2010, 12:03 PM
Josh_M
post Dec 28 2010, 11:18 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 28 2010, 11:10 AM)
guys... christmas is over...

everyone seems still on holiday....
Back to work still in Christmas mood anyway.. silently browsing the thread to see any updates on the Nitdroid thingy ..

Added on December 28, 2010, 11:19 am
QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 28 2010, 11:17 AM)
true enough...

malaysians are to blame... they're just stating the obvious...

who blinds people with laser pointers at sports events...  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
Off topic i own an Green laser pointer myself seriously it is damn good at blinding ppl.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Josh_M: Dec 28 2010, 11:19 AM
Josh_M
post Dec 28 2010, 11:22 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 28 2010, 11:20 AM)
yeah i got one too...

but i dont point it at people...
how much did you got for .. what is the wattage
Josh_M
post Dec 28 2010, 11:35 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 28 2010, 11:28 AM)
semua orang hendak habiskan cuti akhir tahun kot..hoho

btw guys, i'm planning to install nitdroid..

I already partitioning my mmc to 3 partition.. (using gparted)
1st  - fat32 - mmcblk1p1
2nd - ext3  - mmcblk1p2
3rd - ext3  - mmcblk1p3

can i proceed to use the autoinstaller method?
and i've read somewhere, to able install xmasdroid, i need to install 0.0.8 first..
is that rite?
blink.gif blink.gif

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 28 2010, 11:28 AM)
something like 30mw or 50mw type... cant remember...

uses one CR123 battery, not the cheap AAA battery type.

Added on December 28, 2010, 11:30 amthat nokia 3210 in front page is awesome...

i used that a long long long time ago...

first antenna-less nokia...

the sexy phone at that time before the ugly 3310 came out...
o0 ok. my CR123 batt kaput edy looking for a new one. BTW where is the Nokia 3210 on th FP.. i can find it.
Josh_M
post Dec 28 2010, 11:55 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(benji @ Dec 28 2010, 11:53 AM)
i still got and use my 3210 for my backup line.. got extra extended battery for it.. hehehe.. quite cool when bringing it..
i kept my old Nokia 8210 for the lulz... no idea Y it died now.

Added on December 28, 2010, 11:59 am
QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 28 2010, 11:48 AM)
err.... you might wanna try to refresh the frontpage...

Added on December 28, 2010, 11:51 amhere you go anyway....

http://dvice.com/archives/2010/12/party-like-its.php

Added on December 28, 2010, 11:52 amand something is wrong with maemo.org domain... its slow as hell...
awsum news..

This post has been edited by Josh_M: Dec 28 2010, 11:59 AM
Josh_M
post Dec 29 2010, 09:24 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(benji @ Dec 29 2010, 08:45 AM)
anyone can comment about this graff?

[attachmentid=1964031]
looks weird it either ur receiving a lot of calls or ur having some downloads or surfing done over there..

those spikes looks like there is constant activity.
Josh_M
post Dec 29 2010, 09:46 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(benji @ Dec 29 2010, 09:32 AM)
hehehe.. the sun global battery got extra power.. lol.. last charge 7am yesterday.. until today still can use..

Seriously as highlighted B4 my standard is up and alive for 1.8 days with one single charge.

with moderate usage of course..
Josh_M
post Dec 29 2010, 10:11 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(benji @ Dec 29 2010, 10:10 AM)
wah.. my standard one cannot last that long..
moderate usage.. plus im not OCed yet.. since i flashed to PR 1.3
Josh_M
post Dec 29 2010, 11:54 AM

1,604 posts

[quote=sk8pass1,Dec 29 2010, 10:59 AM]
Android 2.3.1 'Gingerbread' on Nokia N900

AWSOMEEE!!!!! rclxms.gif

[/quote]

nice find.

[quote=jananan,Dec 29 2010, 11:10 AM]
There you go...People are really demanding & selfing when it comes to things that they want even though it's free doh.gif
I've explain in a quite long post on why I think the voice transmission on NITDroid might take some time to develop.

[/quote]
yeah you can specify --kernel-only when flashing the fiasco (if its soft bricked)

and i dont understand why people want NITdroid to be perfect... its just an experiment for gods sake...

i want it to be bleeding edge stuff and full of bugs... even if they had honeycomb pre-alpha stage 001 - i want it on my N900 now.

i dont want developers wasting their time perfecting something that is not meant to be perfect.

i'd rather let them (the developers) work on other stuff like graphics acceleration or more tweaking and optimizations than making sure you can make a one hour call without the phone disconnecting or making sure your voice is angelic to the other side...

if you complaining guys want voice call and sms to work perfectly - get a nokia 1110 or something...

[/quote]

lol thumbup.gif
Josh_M
post Dec 29 2010, 12:14 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(sk8pass1 @ Dec 29 2010, 11:56 AM)
You know, as for them developers... I do agree that all these are all experimental. But i have to disagree with your comments because' as developers, they have to push themselves to go beyond the limit to succeed. With people like what you've mention "have telephony available etc." .... is a form of motivation for em, lets see..if everyone doesn't care whether it has those functions or so whatever...do u even think these developers will be pushing themselves to develop & improve the 1st place. We are not complaining, we are just pushing to go beyond the limit as "consumers"....... it is consumers that 1st complains like b****es thus wanting improvements in products & the developer's / inventors creates it due to demand wink.gif ....... so it's sorta like a win win situation

Peace  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 29 2010, 12:12 PM)
its just an experiment.

its not an effort to create a fully working alternate OS for N900.

i reiterate again, the time wasted to perfect voice call and sms could be used for something else.

dont forget we still have maemo, the default OS still running fine, and able to make voice calls perfectly.

voice call and sms in NITdroid is developed using ofono, which is from meego, which in turn is still in alpha/beta stage.

imho, voice call and sms should be the last thing the developers should be working on, they should in fact wait for ofono to mature.

but thats just my opinion.
Reading this both comments makes me understand that the process of having fully functional alternate open source OS is not that easy.

Josh_M
post Dec 30 2010, 02:10 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 30 2010, 01:59 PM)
I'm not quite sure on the unmounting part also...

I think it's about time I move to my ubuntu/fedora combo to my netbook on full time.Virtual mode isn't that usefull all the time.

After messing with Maemo -> Android -> iOS,now I'm messing with Symbian pulak doh.gif
Cousin asked me to buy 5800 for him & install stuff.Have to say after using Maemo/Android for a long time & I really dislike this version of symbian.

My download folders full with deb,apk,ipa & sis files now doh.gif

@one1002
pm me with the full repartitioning guide.I've plan to update some stuff on fp soon.
Hopefully I'll be free next week to do all this pending work.

This is kinda great news for me.

Josh_M
post Dec 31 2010, 07:15 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Dec 31 2010, 03:29 PM)
I received my screen protectors and leather case from this website:

http://nokia-n900.com/store/white-leather-...-shipping-1027/

user posted image  user posted image

Everything's fine, however, am not using it since it made my N900 bulkier sweat.gif
I bought a pouch which fits my phone perfectly. (and I'm so over the over-worried phase on this phone).
My baby is tough. icon_rolleyes.gif

Willing to let go of the pouch at RM25 with Poslaju..
it looks nice but im ery sure it is very bulky... btw any pics of the pouch dat ur using.
Josh_M
post Jan 2 2011, 04:23 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Jan 1 2011, 09:19 AM)
Can somebody update the GPS guide with the installation guide for Sygic 10? Still stucked with outdated map for sygic 9 atm. Help will be greatly appreciated <3
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=36650631

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=36656577

This post has been edited by Josh_M: Jan 2 2011, 04:26 PM
Josh_M
post Jan 2 2011, 05:47 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Jan 2 2011, 12:08 AM)
finished extracting... booting gingerbread now...
sifu very bz to update us ... tongue.gif

any screenshots to racun us.
Josh_M
post Jan 2 2011, 06:03 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Jan 2 2011, 05:55 PM)
gingerbread vibrates all the time when keylock and unlock...

and its damn slow to be usable... but i havent OC yet...

its the same old android actually... i dont see any eye catching new stuff...

the only thing you notice is when you scroll a list and it hits the first or last entry, the edges light up a little...

Added on January 2, 2011, 5:59 pmusb charging and usb mass storage still does not work....

some people are saying it works but it does not with my n900...

Added on January 2, 2011, 6:01 pmand it vibrates like hell when shutting down too...

mind you, all strong vibrations. i cant seem to turn it off, i've already switched off haptic feedback.

they should call it gingervibrate instead or gingerbread...
i sense the tense in ur reply.. anyway thanks for the update sifu.
nod.gif

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0390sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:05 PM