17 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Investment banking/Corporate finance

TSconfused*88*
post Nov 28 2010, 12:47 PM

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 27 2010, 09:50 PM)
you dont expect much info from msians.... not too many of these in msia... come to sg, and you will see a whole new world..
Mind telling more about the investment banking scene in Singapore?

gloomberg
post Nov 28 2010, 03:11 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 27 2010, 09:50 PM)
you dont expect much info from msians.... not too many of these in msia... come to sg, and you will see a whole new world..
Very, u sounded like an expert in this field. mind telling about them in singapore?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 28 2010, 06:01 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(confused*88* @ Nov 28 2010, 12:47 PM)
Mind telling more about the investment banking scene in Singapore?

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Nov 28 2010, 03:11 PM)
Very, u sounded like an expert in this field. mind telling about them in singapore?
actually term investment bank is very vague.... each bank is diff, must look at how they divide their divisions...

some have prop trading, some brokerage, some long term investment, some in house hedge fund, some financial services.... all diff.. unlike msia, just retail banking and minor corp banking

just look at these banks.

bank of american - meriyll lynch
bnp paribas
barclays capital
citigroup
credit suisse
deusthe bank
goldman sachs
hsbc
jp morgan chase
morgan stanley
nomura
rbs
ubs
societe generale
standard chartered

all in sg, some even make sg their asia pacific hq

btw, i am not working in a bank...
gloomberg
post Nov 28 2010, 09:01 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 28 2010, 06:01 PM)
actually term investment bank is very vague.... each bank is diff, must look at how they divide their divisions...

some have prop trading, some brokerage, some long term investment, some in house hedge fund, some financial services.... all diff.. unlike msia, just retail banking and minor corp banking

just look at these banks.

bank of american - meriyll lynch
bnp paribas
barclays capital
citigroup
credit suisse
deusthe bank
goldman sachs
hsbc
jp morgan chase
morgan stanley
nomura
rbs
ubs
societe generale
standard chartered

all in sg, some even make sg their asia pacific hq

btw, i am not working in a bank...
u certainly love to talk sh1t right? u think malaysia is small? can't blame u since u're not in an IB. So, don't talk male chicken if u know nothing. most of the names u've mentioned are in malaysia, in case u've never met them.
kelvin_tan
post Nov 28 2010, 09:07 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@gloomberg
lols look like someone inflated cause they are in IB?
Yes I agree that most of the banks listed are here in malaysia BUT most of them are not a fully fledge bank in malaysia. Some of them are only representative offices or taking a minor role in IB / treasury dealing.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 28 2010, 09:25 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Nov 28 2010, 09:01 PM)
u certainly love to talk sh1t right? u think malaysia is small? can't blame u since u're not in an IB. So, don't talk male chicken if u know nothing. most of the names u've mentioned are in malaysia, in case u've never met them.
just sharing what i know... no need to period doh.gif u can share too..

having an office with a name doesnt mean anything... look at the volume of business they have in msia...

like proton in england or aus... just because they managed to sell a few cars there doesnt mean they are a player

that's why you have to look at what kind of division they have in msia... prod trading? brokerage?
feynman
post Nov 29 2010, 05:20 AM

4,781 posts

The relevant question here is do they hire locally? Presence doesn't mean a thing if you can't get hired in Malaysia, in effect, they are not here at all.
Aloong
post Nov 29 2010, 07:36 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 28 2010, 09:25 PM)
just sharing what i know... no need to period  doh.gif  u can share too..

having an office with a name doesnt mean anything... look at the volume of business they have in msia...

like proton in england or aus... just because they managed to sell a few cars there doesnt mean they are a player

that's why you have to look at what kind of division they have in msia... prod trading? brokerage?
One thing u are totally wrong is bank in msia dun just do retail bank and minor corp bank. Msia have prop trading, hedge fund, brokerage, and a lot others.
The only diff between foreign bankers is they have larger balance sheet and better brand names. In terms of coming out with practicle fund raising solutions for clients, they still have to ride on local banks who knows better.

gloomberg
post Nov 29 2010, 08:29 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Nov 29 2010, 05:20 AM)
The relevant question here is do they hire locally? Presence doesn't mean a thing if you can't get hired in Malaysia, in effect, they are not here at all.
They do hire local, as in malaysian, but usually they are from overseas. For eg, at UBS, most of them are from Stanford, LSE, Oxford, etc etc...
sembilan
post Nov 29 2010, 12:20 PM

644 posts

^experience counts as well. A guy i worked with on a project just got headhunted by one of them banks. IB is not all that people, it's just a lot of smoke and mirrors thrown into it.
feynman
post Nov 29 2010, 04:01 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Nov 29 2010, 08:29 AM)
They do hire local, as in malaysian, but usually they are from overseas. For eg, at UBS, most of them are from Stanford, LSE, Oxford, etc etc...
Hiring locals and hiring locally are different things. Go figure it out first.

The questions remains that if they hire locally. Something which I think they do not.....unless you are sourced from contacts.
entryman
post Nov 29 2010, 05:23 PM

2,179 posts

They only hire experienced professionals I believe. Malaysia's market is kinda small, they don't really need fresh grads..

For example, http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSSGE67U0AG20100831 Country head is Malaysian, and head of equity and debt is also Malaysian.

This post has been edited by entryman: Nov 29 2010, 05:25 PM
gloomberg
post Nov 29 2010, 10:03 PM

510 posts

Errr.... I'm referring to foreign IBs? Obviously they hire malaysians... =,= but usually from top class unis.
entryman
post Nov 29 2010, 10:23 PM

2,179 posts

Of course it's anyone's playing ground in foreign jobs that recruit fresh grads from an international talent pool.

Feynman was questioning about these foreign IBs hiring here in Malaysia itself. They most likely do not have fresh entry level jobs here, at least not in CIB or CF.

Anyway Macha mind sharing your experiences? Like.. what division & what size of bank.. and your route to entry.. etc?

This post has been edited by entryman: Nov 29 2010, 10:40 PM
Aloong
post Nov 29 2010, 10:32 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Nov 29 2010, 10:03 PM)
Errr.... I'm referring to foreign IBs? Obviously they hire malaysians... =,= but usually from top class unis.
no offence, but u guys are stating the obvious. of course they hire experiences ppl and ppl from good uni.
anyway, the reason 'these foreign IB', like merrillynch, jp, (im not talking bout those OCBC, DBS, Stanchart, hsbc, etc) still nid locals Ibankers are because of networks and contacts. knowledge, skills, experience is given.
Bear in mind for very good local deals, not easy for foriegn IB to penetrate, cos political factors is in place. Having Big money just aint good enuf.At the same time a lot of these foreign monies are pouring in. Huge supply. So they nid ppl who can cakap sama bahasa, so to speak, whileof course knows his stuff as well.
Of course that's the reason they invest here in the first place rite? for local big attractive deals to invest in.

This post has been edited by Aloong: Nov 29 2010, 10:34 PM
LightningFist
post Nov 29 2010, 10:52 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

The foreign banks do hire locally.
Look at Jobstreet Malaysia and you will find Bank of America, Deutsche Bank, RBS and others with job ads every once in a while.
Credit Suisse, JP Morgan Chase, Barclays, and BNP Paribas don't have much.
Obviously Citi, HSBC, and Standard Chartered have bigger operations here and hire more than the rest.

entryman
post Nov 29 2010, 11:06 PM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 29 2010, 10:52 PM)
The foreign banks do hire locally.
Look at Jobstreet Malaysia and you will find Bank of America, Deutsche Bank, RBS and others with job ads every once in a while.
Credit Suisse, JP Morgan Chase, Barclays, and BNP Paribas don't have much.
Obviously Citi, HSBC, and Standard Chartered have bigger operations here and hire more than the rest.
You sure these are for Fresh Grad positions??

Added on November 29, 2010, 11:09 pmAnd in addition to that, hiring into the IB or CF division too?

This post has been edited by entryman: Nov 29 2010, 11:09 PM
gloomberg
post Nov 29 2010, 11:14 PM

510 posts

Easiest way to get there? Get into some powderful uni, or start from local big big IB. Like CIMB. It's really easy these days to get into local IBs, provided there are openings. But don't kena con by those mgmt trainees, ask properly whether they provide opportunities for u to get into IB, cuz most of them are for Commercial Banking.
entryman
post Nov 29 2010, 11:19 PM

2,179 posts

And your story macha?

This post has been edited by entryman: Nov 29 2010, 11:21 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 29 2010, 11:26 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Nov 29 2010, 07:36 AM)
One thing u are totally wrong is bank in msia dun just do retail bank and minor corp bank. Msia have prop trading, hedge fund, brokerage, and a lot others.
The only diff between foreign bankers is they have larger balance sheet and better brand names. In terms of coming out with practicle fund raising solutions for clients, they still have to ride on local banks who knows better.
what's the volume... not much...

anyway feel free to cont discussion, would like to learn a thing or two...

17 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:13 AM