Investment banking/Corporate finance

entryman
post Nov 29 2010, 05:23 PM

2,179 posts

They only hire experienced professionals I believe. Malaysia's market is kinda small, they don't really need fresh grads..

For example, http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSSGE67U0AG20100831 Country head is Malaysian, and head of equity and debt is also Malaysian.

This post has been edited by entryman: Nov 29 2010, 05:25 PM
entryman
post Nov 29 2010, 10:23 PM

2,179 posts

Of course it's anyone's playing ground in foreign jobs that recruit fresh grads from an international talent pool.

Feynman was questioning about these foreign IBs hiring here in Malaysia itself. They most likely do not have fresh entry level jobs here, at least not in CIB or CF.

Anyway Macha mind sharing your experiences? Like.. what division & what size of bank.. and your route to entry.. etc?

This post has been edited by entryman: Nov 29 2010, 10:40 PM
entryman
post Nov 29 2010, 11:06 PM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 29 2010, 10:52 PM)
The foreign banks do hire locally.
Look at Jobstreet Malaysia and you will find Bank of America, Deutsche Bank, RBS and others with job ads every once in a while.
Credit Suisse, JP Morgan Chase, Barclays, and BNP Paribas don't have much.
Obviously Citi, HSBC, and Standard Chartered have bigger operations here and hire more than the rest.
You sure these are for Fresh Grad positions??

Added on November 29, 2010, 11:09 pmAnd in addition to that, hiring into the IB or CF division too?

This post has been edited by entryman: Nov 29 2010, 11:09 PM
entryman
post Nov 29 2010, 11:19 PM

2,179 posts

And your story macha?

This post has been edited by entryman: Nov 29 2010, 11:21 PM
entryman
post Dec 20 2010, 09:17 AM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Dec 14 2010, 09:40 AM)
my company got too many drivers and despatch, so they all drive me there to submit documents HAHA
mercedez, alphard, bmw, u name it they have it
Wah gloomberg nice to arrive in style everytime eh. rolleyes.gif

By the way, I've got something to ask all sifus here.

Applications to OSK IB Internships just opened.

The advert title is Internship Programme - OSK Investment Bank Berhad.

Didn't mention which division, not even IB, or PWM, etc.

And even if by luck or by request it happens to be their IB division, I probably won't want to venture in groups such as Islamic Banking / Private Banking (as categorised under IB on their website). Although yes these may be fast growing areas.

And in the job advert:

The OSK Investment Bank Internship programme provides opportunities for interns to gain practical work experience and enhance their skills, knowledge, competencies and employability in the job market. As part of the internship programme, you will be exposed to various processes and activities through on-the-job training in selected work areas within our Group of Companies. As an intern, you will be engaged to work for 2 to 6 months assisting in general administration and reporting functions

See highlighted text in red. Worthwhile to apply?

My applications toa majority of the BBs in their regional offices (SG/HK/CN) have not been answered to yet. However, also received about 30% rejection emails already. Also applied to a world renowned boutique with a branch in Malaysia, I guess you should know who (no reply from them yet).

All these were done through proper job application process to their 2011 internship openings. All the job titles were well defined, you get to choose from various divisions (e.g. IB, S&T, Research, Fixed Income, etc.), and of course, a clear cut title - Investment Banking Division (IBD), Summer Analyst.

Can recommend any other firms in Malaysia to apply to? Can't seem to find any that provide internships specifically in IBD. Probably send unsolicited emails (CV and Cover Letter attached) to the Recruitment email, seeking IBD-Summer Annalyst position?

Regards

This post has been edited by entryman: Dec 20 2010, 09:56 AM
entryman
post Dec 22 2010, 10:40 AM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Dec 21 2010, 09:23 PM)
Beggers can't be choosers mah.
Actually it's just an internship lar, no choice thattime justtake it lor, rather than sit at home mah.
evrybody knows trainees/interns just do photocopying so whichever dept no diff. no diff even if ur in bigger/famous banks.
most impt is attitude and patience. Dun look at the first few yrs so big, it's nothing, it's just ur general working experience and learn how to be adult, learn how to interact w serious ppl and how to b responsible.
Hmm, from reading intern experiences online, most internships at IBs in the US (specifically BB) will require you to work a lot with spreadsheets (preferable), or pitching (not so preferable). And the least preferred one: admin work, if you're not trusted/liked by the analysts.

So based on what you've just said, I believe the "photocopying taking up the bulk of your experience" scenario applies to Asia as a whole? Meaning it's also the same if you're in a BB branch in Asia? And based on what you said, I guess it's a confirmed yes if I'm talking about Malaysian IBs.... yawn.gif

Well, I've been to a few internships and I never had to do any photocopying, lucky me sweat.gif

So you're recommending I just enter and take the photocopying job in a bank like OSK?
Not sure how it would help me, since I'll have nothing to talk about the role in future interviews. Considering I have some slightly solid stuff to talk that came from my previous internships (non-finance), could this role dilute my "net worth"?

Interviewer:"Hmm.., so tell me, what did you do during the internship at OSK?" rclxub.gif photocopying, and perhaps not even in the IB division.

Anyway, besides the internship, does the same scene apply to first year analysts at local IBs? I'm trying to weigh the options between (i) applying to local IB analyst roles as fresh graduate, or (ii) going for a pre-experience masters in finance at a prestigious biz school and apply to BBs as fresh graduate.

One of the decision factors is also whether I'm getting into a good internship programme or not. In the event that I don't get into any of the regional BB branches that I've applied to, and no good internship programmes are available in Malaysia, I'll probably just stay home and study for the GMAT which is a prerequisite to the masters in finance. Therefore if you can confirm, all internships in Malaysian IBs will only be focused on photocopying 99% of the time, then I guess that's one question eliminated.

What are your views/comments? Don't need to be modest biggrin.gif.

This post has been edited by entryman: Dec 22 2010, 12:58 PM
entryman
post Dec 22 2010, 06:33 PM

2,179 posts

Thanks to the both of you. Appreciate your viewpoints. Therefore I guess it's more of a place & time, rather than industry.

So the only way to confirm this is during the interview when they brief about the role? What if I find that (during the briefing) it's not what I want? How does one go about this? Sorry, never had a real interview before, for all my internships I knew what I would be going to do.

confused*88* do you mind sharing your internship experience?
which firm, which department, and what exactly did you do?
would like to know more.

This post has been edited by entryman: Dec 22 2010, 08:00 PM
entryman
post Dec 24 2010, 12:38 PM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Dec 23 2010, 09:14 PM)
ok, 99% photocopying is a bit exagerating and maybe not photcopying, but wat i meant is admin and mundane work.
Very low chances intern will get to do some value adding work, cos they dun have work experiences.

if the senior are free, then u may be lucky can give u some "important" work and guide u precisely.
Otherwise if they are busy (where hiugh chances they are), why give u do some important work, have to guide u, coirrect u, monitor, etc which takes about 2hrs of my time, while i do it takes 1 hr only. unless u convince ur senior u know how to do, u can complete it real fast and prove to them.

It's about taking chances on u.

i dun think it's industry or foreign or local.
its whether its busy environment/stress level + of course type of senior.

So stil, back to "beggers can't be chooser" let take wat u have. of course if u have foreign bank offering u, take it. if not osk beter than nothing.
Hmm, so what's best to leverage the internship?

Should I be learning up some important spreadsheet models and excel shortcuts before I attend any internship?

Asking because I read in a popular premium IB internship guide that you don't need to do that at all. Because when you enter, they're going to teach you what you need to know, and even after they teach you, they won't expect you to know much of anything. Therefore that coincides with what you mentioned about not being able to work on the actual work, i.e. the analysts won't give me any work.

So based on the above, it's pretty much a waste of time learning up stuff first. Might as well relax, prepare your clothing, look good, and perhaps do some networking. Also what was recommended was that I could learn some ppt and excel presentation skills, which would be much more worthwhile than learning spreadsheets and models.

What do you think? Back to the question of how best to leverage the internship.

0.0287sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:12 AM