4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V8, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 06:19 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Nov 25 2010, 05:30 PM)
Can't believe spending so many hours changing ROMs... give up BUJP8, gallery bugs, and i feel it is lag despite giving good Linpack and Quadrant. No choice been pampered by the supreme speed on the previous ROM, so i revert to JPO v8.

Guess i shall wait for v10, haa....

Oh.. what is zipalign?
whats wrong with v9?
i have flashed them when i was at Sogo n it is so smooth
the only problem i encounter is cant access samsung app

EDIT : ok no problem with samsung app. FIXED smile.gif

This post has been edited by GreenGoat: Nov 25 2010, 06:26 PM
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 06:22 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Nov 25 2010, 06:20 PM)
Hi sifus,

If I want to flash from current Doc's XXJPO 7.6.2 to Doc's ROM XXJPO 8.0, do I still need to do the K9 CWM Kernel Fix?

7.6.2 is bugged. follow this flash instruction

1. Download K9 CWM file, put it in your sdcard, also put Doc's ROM.
2. Boot into recovery.
3. Flash the K9 kernel, DO NOT REBOOT.
4. Go to Advanced ULK options -> reboot into recovery.
5. Now choose mounts and storage -> Format system
6. Now flash Doc's ROM, and immediately after, flash K9 CWM zip AGAIN! (Without a reboot in between)
7. Select reboot after flashing K9 CWM zip. Now if you had a lagfix applied before, you will get a prompt about change in config. Just select "remove new config" here.
8. DO NOT FLASH any bugged kernel after this, or you will have to repeat this process.

Added on November 25, 2010, 6:23 pm
QUOTE(angel-girl @ Nov 25 2010, 06:21 PM)
anyone faces the internet connection will auto turn off in a second everytime u turn it on?
on what rom/kernel?

This post has been edited by GreenGoat: Nov 25 2010, 06:23 PM
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 06:50 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Nov 25 2010, 06:35 PM)
v8/v9 docs rom,ya ok kernel & k9 oso same
all seems good to me till now..
did u follow the instruction given?

Added on November 25, 2010, 6:51 pm
QUOTE(Crossover @ Nov 25 2010, 06:32 PM)
Opps... it was lag and wasnt smooth.. so i thought was the fw problem, then read thro DOC's again.. realise i miss out a step.. update zipalign.

So now back to BUJP8, but | Kee | reported that there is sensor bug in gallery
will see later..
lol yesterday also u did skip 1 step rite? tongue.gif

flash zipalign when u finish all the flashes

This post has been edited by GreenGoat: Nov 25 2010, 06:51 PM
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 06:53 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Nov 25 2010, 06:51 PM)
v9 is smooth biggrin.gif  Doc says the sensor bug in gallery is a false alarm laugh.gif
+1 thumbup.gif
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 06:56 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(| K e e | @ Nov 25 2010, 06:53 PM)
false alarm ? but my battery do drain very fast ...  ==
how fast?

i usually calibrate n give a day or two to determine the batt life
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 07:02 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 25 2010, 06:58 PM)
so the doc v9 is better?
much better IMO

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Nov 25 2010, 06:58 PM)
hmm, is it just me or u guys hmm.gif  when I zoom in my photos in gallery, it appears the photos are not pixeled up.. hmm, how to say, like when u zoom in the picture becomes blur blur. as if the picture's resolution is low
blur? i dont see any different.. how high resolution u dealing with now?
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 07:15 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Nov 25 2010, 07:07 PM)
5mp. as if the resolution is low.. is this normal when u zoom in? or am I thinking too much biggrin.gif

Added on November 25, 2010, 7:08 pm
definitely for me. smoother rclxms.gif those Germans know what they're doing tongue.gif

Added on November 25, 2010, 7:13 pm
u can oways backup ur apps data smile.gif
IMO u think too much biggrin.gif

its normal to zoom a 5mp pic n the blur is there. u can try zoom a 5mp on ur laptop with the same result icon_rolleyes.gif
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 08:26 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Fornx @ Nov 25 2010, 08:17 PM)
ok confused here. both are lagfixes right? when i install k9a over voodoo, will voodoo still work? and why should i pick voodoo in the lagfix option hmm  hmm.gif

need to disable voodoo before installing?
if u have voodoo installed, just to be safe, disable it first n flash k9a kernal
restart to CWM mode.. there will be another universal lagfix which also include voodoo, oclf n other kind of lagfix..

u free to choose whatever u want (no-RFS ext4 is recommended)
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 08:39 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Fornx @ Nov 25 2010, 08:32 PM)
CWM = recovery mode? after choosing no-rfs ext4, do i hav to enable voodoo back? what will be the kernel displayed in 'About' of the phone? speedmod?
-CWM = ClockWorkMod where u can do recovery there.
-once u choose no-rfs, BINGO! u phone is now applied with lagfix
-No, u dont need to enable voodoo bck
-as for me who use Doc's v9 ROM and speedmod k9a 500Hz, my 'about' is

Baseband : I9000BUJP5
Kernel : 2.6.32.9 hardcore@speedmod-k9a-500hz #186
Build : Doc_V9_BUJP8

GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 08:59 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Fornx @ Nov 25 2010, 08:52 PM)
CWM is in the recovery mode by default? so basically speedmod itself smoothens the phone wif the lagfix? 500Hz is the best among all? no issues with it?
CWM can be installed using 2e recovery. what fw u using now? and what exactly u want for ur sgs?
i will try to help u from here smile.gif
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 09:14 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Fornx @ Nov 25 2010, 09:02 PM)
im using dxjpa.. what if i use odin to flash.. i dun need CWM right? i realised voodoo aint tht smooth enough.. thought of trying speedmod smile.gif
to enable the lagfix, the option can only be selected via CWM.. so yes u need CWM
mby u can try this http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=788108
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 09:17 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Nov 25 2010, 09:05 PM)
Is it "Use NO-RFS overkill JFS (a=e4+e2;binds)" ?
JFS is unstable and i rather not use that for now

Added on November 25, 2010, 9:18 pm
QUOTE(Crossover @ Nov 25 2010, 09:14 PM)
yup
where to check the sensor?

This post has been edited by GreenGoat: Nov 25 2010, 09:18 PM
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 09:27 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Fornx @ Nov 25 2010, 09:19 PM)
ok then.. which one should i pick? 200, 256, 300 or 500 Hz lol

and how to uninstall speedmod to flash back to original kernel jz in case?
here for ur reference smile.gif im trying 500hz now

500HZ - Smoothest, Very slightly worse battery life (?).
300HZ - Slightly smoother than default.
256HZ - Samsung default, recommended.
200HZ - Very slightly better battery life (?).

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Nov 25 2010, 09:19 PM)
So which one inside lagfix options?  rclxub.gif
There are also 8 included pre-defined schemes:

1. OCLF: /data stays at rfs, but has an ext2 loop device on top of it
2. Voodoo: /data is ext4, all others are kept at rfs
3. JFS Voodoo: /data is jfs, all others are still rfs
4. No-RFS Standard: /data is rfs+ext2, all other partitions are ext4
5. No-RFS Advanced: all partitions are ext4
6. No-RFS Advanced JFS: all partitions are jfs
7. No-RFS Overkill: turns on all options: everything is ext4+ext2 and /data/data is bound to /dbdata
8. No-RFS Overkill JFS: turns on all options: everything is jfs+ext2 and /data/data is bound to /dbdata

OCLF and Voodoo is not recommended on this kernel as far as i remember. i tend no to try JFS yet altho they report to have the most excellent in speed. 4th option haunted me this morning tongue.gif so i choose the 5th since ive been using it from the beginning i start using custom ROM and it gives me no problem at all thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by GreenGoat: Nov 25 2010, 09:29 PM
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 10:54 PM

364 posts

hmm i found this one bug with no solution..

anyone on v9? i found i can unlock using menu button from lockscreen..

anyone have the same problem?
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 11:03 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Nov 25 2010, 11:02 PM)
if voodoo is the king of no-lag, axura is the queen
LOL biggrin.gif
GreenGoat
post Nov 25 2010, 11:10 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Nov 25 2010, 11:06 PM)
biggrin.gif  im serious man...

so far it all superb, even got cosmetic changes beautiful just like a queen
leh la pasni tambah make up sket bagi nampak ayu tongue.gif
GreenGoat
post Nov 26 2010, 07:50 PM

364 posts

seriously.. speedmod 500hz + v9 + no RFS ext4 works like wonder!
everything become very fast n very neat. no FC what so ever except for the batt drain but cant comment very detail on that yet. no proper test has been conducted
GreenGoat
post Nov 26 2010, 09:10 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Nov 26 2010, 09:07 PM)
anyone know what the name of apps that change the lock screen?
it has many type of lock screen such as motorola style, htc style, iphone style..

i have it before.. but forgot it name now.. biggrin.gif
widgetlocker smile.gif
GreenGoat
post Nov 27 2010, 07:15 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Nov 27 2010, 10:00 AM)
I'm on k9a-256hz, as I mentioned. The thing about battery life is that it depends on many things (network, apps, usage etc). Generally, for me, my phone just makes it thru the whole day for me (8am to 10pm) with about 15% of juice remaining when I get home. Have uninstalled k-9 mail client (big batt sucker) and am considering to remove bloody Tweetdeck too. Still on Launcher Pro Plus, though..

Note : I don't do GPS at all, and neither do I play much of videos or music while I'm outside. Plus, I am not a gamer.
for that k9 mail client, what is its name in system data?

This post has been edited by GreenGoat: Nov 27 2010, 07:15 PM
GreenGoat
post Nov 27 2010, 07:42 PM

364 posts

method on page 1 about duplicate media wont work (for me)
any other method?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0463sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:42 PM