53 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Dec 16 2007, 12:54 PM
125 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: 2°49'8"N 101°44'1"E |
BT make HDD load 24/7 and hot.. thats make its spoil.. give a good cooling la..
btw, power supply also important.. incorrect power factor n unstable power also can shorten hdd life read this www.adrc.com/ckr/hdd_myths.html |
Dec 18 2007, 10:36 AM
41 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
I ve got a 320 gb of ext hdd standin alongside my laptop, vertically, is it better to lay it down? I ve put it standing cos the casing was design to be standing..... (nexstar3 by vantec)
Any suggestion? And by the way how do u know if ur hdd is overheating, esp if u r using an external hdd? how do u judge it? by touching the covering???? I m cant bear the idea of my ext hdd died with all the animes n series inside...... X( |
Dec 26 2007, 11:38 PM
1,281 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
What is the ideal temperature for HDD and is there any programme or software that detects the temperature of the HDD? I think I need to install some fan into my pc as it always heats up pretty quickly. Not a good thing I suppose.
Dec 27 2007, 09:19 PM
558 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Lowyat.Net |
Power Outages In The Midst Of Defragmentation? Lol...if anyone ever experienced it...mmg very badluck
QUOTE("spartacvs") What is the ideal temperature for HDD and is there any programme or software that detects the temperature of the HDD? I think I need to install some fan into my pc as it always heats up pretty quickly. Not a good thing I suppose. Try downloading "Hard Drive Inspector Pro" Hope this helps EDIT: One more thing, if I on the PC 48 hours non-stop, the temperature does not really increase...So far it has only reached up to 115 Fahrenheit. And btw, I'm using 80 GB x 2 Western Digital HDD My previous PC used Maxtor but it gets too hot pretty easy...so I'd recommend everyone to use Western Digital HDD's if you are a hardcore downloader This post has been edited by ibnuasad: Dec 27 2007, 09:28 PM |
Dec 27 2007, 11:01 PM
1,281 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Hey, thanks for the suggestion and on another note, will installing more fan actually help to cool the hdd? I did that for my uncle's computer and though with six fan installed, of course with the proper air-flow, the hdd just seems to be hot (based on my itchy finger on the physicality of his hdd) and noisy too.
I thought by installing the fan, it should be make it cool even physically but in my uncle's case, it just doesn't seems so. |
Jan 8 2008, 07:06 AM
757 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
My data is corrupted...
I ran check disc , The first time : Just check the system error check box Errors found and fixed , but data still showing CRC error The second time: Check both boxes No problem is found , the data is still showing CRC error Will copy from the source again fixed the problem? ( BTW , is this normal? My data is still corrupted after " fixing" ) |
Jan 8 2008, 11:23 AM
1,047 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: GKL/KV |
QUOTE(paynelsg @ Dec 16 2007, 12:36 PM) Answered by haneve Added on January 8, 2008, 11:25 am QUOTE(spartacvs @ Dec 26 2007, 11:38 PM) What is the ideal temperature for HDD and is there any programme or software that detects the temperature of the HDD? I think I need to install some fan into my pc as it always heats up pretty quickly. Not a good thing I suppose. Ideal I'd say below 40C. Slightly above 40C around 41C or 42C is still acceptable. Even 45C can be acceptable but not on 24/7 operations I suggest. You can use Everest Ultimate. It'll read every sensor on your motherboard including GC, and HDD Added on January 8, 2008, 11:27 am QUOTE(spartacvs @ Dec 27 2007, 11:01 PM) Hey, thanks for the suggestion and on another note, will installing more fan actually help to cool the hdd? I did that for my uncle's computer and though with six fan installed, of course with the proper air-flow, the hdd just seems to be hot (based on my itchy finger on the physicality of his hdd) and noisy too. Yup, installing fan will surely cool you HDD. Try to provide good airflow and make sure the air is going through your HDD and not by pass it. I'm surprised the heat still rising up even with fans on your system. What HDD are you using?I thought by installing the fan, it should be make it cool even physically but in my uncle's case, it just doesn't seems so. This post has been edited by skymyxe: Jan 8 2008, 11:27 AM |
Jan 9 2008, 08:00 AM
786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
better carefull la..
Jan 11 2008, 02:26 PM
6 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: KL |
i would like to ask, what is "HDD Low-Level Format"? i heard my friend's said that it will decrease ur HDD's life if u doing this with FDISK? is it right?
Jan 11 2008, 07:15 PM
638 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
d topic of tis thread makes me wonder why u ever want 2 do tht???
Jan 13 2008, 10:21 PM
4,947 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Will sudden blackout kill our HDD too?
Jan 24 2008, 12:25 AM
827 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
my laptop's HDD is always displaying 'SMART failure' when it starts up now. no idea what is that, but according to the HP technician, i'd need to change my HDD.
any recommendation as to which brand or how many GB should i get? mine is currently 80GB, but i want a bigger capacity one. i'm super noob when it comes to pc stuff. |
Jan 26 2008, 12:15 AM
558 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
i use 500gb external hdd so far ok leh.
Jan 26 2008, 10:16 AM
28 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(subpar @ Jan 24 2008, 12:25 AM) my laptop's HDD is always displaying 'SMART failure' when it starts up now. no idea what is that, but according to the HP technician, i'd need to change my HDD. For me HDD now is considerable Cheap edi lor! for me any brand of HDD still the same la.. as long as it can store my files enof edi.. any recommendation as to which brand or how many GB should i get? mine is currently 80GB, but i want a bigger capacity one. i'm super noob when it comes to pc stuff. |
Jan 31 2008, 09:04 PM
587 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Miri, Sarawak |
Is there any such hard disk enclosed that got fans?
Feb 1 2008, 01:46 PM
102 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: HeAvEn.. |
QUOTE(Aborden @ Jun 14 2005, 08:22 PM) Actually no, Magnets wont kill it. The HDD is magnetically sealed because it does not want interference and all the magnetic waves going throgh the computer. only the pallet inside the HDD u cant to repair it..if the pallet inside HDD is fine..u still can extract data inside it..P.S another way to spoil ur HDD is open its casing. This enables dust to get in between the contacts and the discs, which ruin the hard drive |
Feb 2 2008, 10:16 PM
70 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
This is from my own experience....
I seldom defragments my hdd..but at this once, i've decided to give a go... suddenly, there was a power blackouts at around 50-70% of defragment process.. When I turned the computer back, the hard disk was gone...no more in Windows...even in BIOS... that's when I've decided...NO MORE DEFRAGS!!Curse you for damaging my treasure of 80GB worth of data..... |
| Change to: | 0.0246sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:18 PM |